Rohee announces… New anti-narcotics strategy master plan being draftedPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Michel Outridge   
Monday, 17 September 2012 22:08

HOME Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee announced yesterday that this country is currently working assiduously to draft a new Drug Strategy

Master Plan that would be used to guide its current and future anti-narcotics activities.

alt

(seated in front row) Minister Rohee, Acting Police Commissioner Leroy Brumell, Deputy Police Commissioner, Seelall Persaud, CANU Head, James Singh, US Ambassador, Brent ,Hardt, and US Programme Coordinator, Heather Brooks with participants of the GPF/DEA Drug Investigators Course which opened yesterday.

He also disclosed that, in Guyana, the drugs that are mostly seized by law enforcement agencies are cocaine and marijuana. However, because of globalisation, the possibility of synthetic drugs and heroin finding their way into the country in larger quantities cannot be discounted, Rohee said.
“As a consequence, I call upon our law enforcement agencies to be on the alert for other types of illegal drugs arriving on our shores, and be prepared to take preventative action to restrict their entry into the country,” Rohee said.
“With our expanding import and export trade, more emphasis has to be placed on the movement of shipping containers to prevent their use for illegal purposes. I therefore again welcome the recent initiative where the Container Control Programme was launched in Guyana by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) and the World Customs Organisation, with financial support from the Government of the United States of America,” Rohee emphasised.
However, the success of this programme in Guyana will depend, to some extent, on the reinforcement of the concept of inter-agency co-operation, and the dedication of the persons who will be trained to operationalise it, Rohee maintained.
His remarks were made at the opening of a drug investigators course, begun yesterday by the Guyana Police Force (GPF) in collaboration with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA).
Rohee took note that the handover of drug fighting equipment by the U.S. Government to Guyana, through the GPF and Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU), was part of the ceremony.

Trends
For the duration of the course, 24 persons from the GPF, Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) and CANU will undergo training to enhance their knowledge and techniques in drug enforcement, and to make them aware of current trends in trafficking.
Rohee said the Government of Guyana considers it a very timely initiative.

“Our deep appreciation is extended to the Government of the United States of America for the efforts that it continues to make to forge close bilateral collaboration with Guyana to combat the scourge of illegal drugs.”
Rohee added that the Government of Guyana fully supports the spirit of international cooperation that has been further strengthened between the two countries through the Caribbean Basin Security Initiative (CBSI).
He acknowledged that this collaborative effort through the CBSI has seen many steps being taken by the two countries to build the capacity of the principal law enforcement agencies in Guyana, and launch a programme aimed at addressing problems related to youths at risk.
“This is an indication that a holistic view is being taken of the issue of public security in Guyana by our two countries,” Rohee said. He pointed out that the international drug trade is posing a threat to the stability of many countries in the world, and to the welfare of their citizens.
The tentacles of the drug trade are long and far-reaching; and it is an undisputed fact that because of the way the drug trade is organised, no single country could successfully suppress it single-handedly, the minister admitted.

Incumbent
“It is therefore incumbent upon all countries of the world to work together to combat illegal drugs. Guyana has recognised that it is important to work with our neighbours, members of Caricom, and other countries of the hemisphere to facilitate a coordinated approach to suppress the illegal narcotics trade,” he said.
The minister added: “With that in mind, we have signed bilateral agreements to co-operate in the fight against drugs with our three neighbours -- Brazil, Venezuela and Suriname; and in addition, at the Caricom level, we have been actively co-operating at the political and law enforcement levels to ensure that there is synergy in tackling the problem of drugs.  Greater and more effective inter-agency cooperation is vital if Guyana is to succeed in this fight at the national and international levels.”
Rohee said Guyana actively participates in the activities of the Organisation of American States (OAS)/Concise International Chemical Assessment Documents (CICAD), through its various programmes and membership of the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR), being a party to the UNASUR Plan of Action to address the world drug problem.
He said that further afield, this country has established links with countries of Europe and Africa in efforts at combating illegal drugs; and a critical issue in its strategy to fight the drug trade is the need for capacity building in the local law enforcement agencies.
“If we are to be successful in our quest to reduce drug smuggling and consumption, our law enforcement agencies must have the capacity to conduct good investigations,” Rohee disclosed.  “I am thus pleased to know that this training course, which involves members of the Guyana Police Force and CANU, includes subject areas such as narcotics investigations, legal updates, and case development,” he said.
Minister Rohee observed that all three of those topics are vital to the successful prosecution of persons who are charged with narcotics-related offences; and while the Government of Guyana has been investing significant sums of money to fight drugs, it welcomes this additional specialised training that is being offered to the staff of CANU and the Police Narcotics Branch.

Updated
Minister Rohee said the Government of Guyana is also conscious that, if its law enforcement agencies are to be successful in apprehending drug smugglers, there is also need for its legislative framework to be updated, and constant action is being taken in this regard.
U.S. Ambassador Mr. Brent Hardt, in his remarks, said that CBSI was established in 2010 with the joint pledge to create a strong partnership between the United States and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).
“We are bound together in this effort by our common geography, our close economic links, and the close ties and travel among our citizens. That is why we need to work together to achieve greater stability, security, and social justice for all of our citizens,” the diplomat insisted.
Hardt explained that the CBSI is built on three core objectives: To reduce illicit trafficking of counternarcotics and illegal weapons, advance public security and safety, and to promote social justice. He said those aims were developed and agreed jointly by the U.S. and CARICOM members as the key threats that are facing the Caribbean region.
“We recognised that the drug trade destabilises economic progress, threatens public safety, and makes it more likely that vulnerable populations may be lured into recruitment by criminal organisations.
“But CBSI isn’t just about drug interdictions. It is a regional initiative working to forge a range of long-term partnerships to achieve shared security and social objectives in the region.  We want the citizens of Guyana to see the benefits of improved security and social justice in a personal way in their neighbourhoods, in their schools and in the marketplace,” the envoy outlined.
He said that transnational trafficking, including in drugs, is a major threat to governance and security throughout the Caribbean.  The trafficking of drugs, arms people, and counterfeit medicine provides large profits to criminal networks.
These profits distort economies and undermine the rule of law, making it harder for countries to reach their broader social and economic goals.

Distortions
To prevent these distortions, the U.S. is committing funding, through the CBSI and the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement, to deepen its partnership with the Government of Guyana by providing training, equipment and other resources to help combat these key threats, Hardt said.
He remarked that this training programme marks the beginning of a new U.S. fiscal year, during which it will be working hand-in-hand with Guyana’s security forces, judicial system, correctional institutions and banking industry through an array of CBSI initiatives.
“This programme, conducted by our dedicated colleagues from the Drug Enforcement Administration, will continue DEA’s ongoing joint efforts to combat the illegal drug trade by working with the men and women of the Guyana Police Force and Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit to enhance investigation and ensure successful prosecutions.
“It is our hope that this course will lead to further training in other counter-narcotics specialties, such as digital forensics, case development, and court and legal skills. This training is also designed to complement and support the August 20 launch of the U.S-funded Container Control Programme, being implemented by United Nations Office of Drug and Crime.
“Guyana is one of the first countries in the Caribbean to participate in this Container Control Programme, which will enhance the ability of Guyana’s law enforcement authorities to intercept potential terrorist activities, combat the smuggling of narcotics and weapons, prevent the evasion of taxes, and address the smuggling of chemical precursors for narcotics production and illicit drugs.”
He added that the United States Embassy and the DEA are determined to ensure that the Guyanese partners have the necessary tools to do their jobs effectively.
After the course opening, Hardt made a presentation of equipment, valued US$44,560 or Gy$9M, to Deputy Commissioner of Police, Law Enforcement, Seelall Persaud, and CANU Head, James Singh, to boost their ability to conduct counternarcotics investigations.
Hardt said: “We recognise that the training being launched today and the equipment provided is only part of a broader and more comprehensive partnership, and we remain committed to working with you to deepen and expand this partnership to the benefit of all of our citizens.
“To ensure a safer and more prosperous environment for our citizens, we need to continue to work with all stakeholders to build your capacity to meet this challenge. May this training course prove to be another important step forward to achieving our mutual CBSI goals,” he hoped.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Meh belly guh bus wid laaf. LHM.

The people have no confidence in Clement Rohee. He is trying to show his relevance. The goat has already left the pen.  2 little 2 late after 20 years.

Action 1. Get rid of Rohee now.

Minister Rohee said the Government of Guyana is also conscious that, if its law enforcement agencies are to be successful in apprehending drug smugglers, there is also need for its legislative framework to be updated, and constant action is being taken in this regard.
U.S. Ambassador Mr. Brent Hardt, in his remarks, said that CBSI was established in 2010 with the joint pledge to create a strong partnership between the United States and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).
“We are bound together in this effort by our common geography, our close economic links, and the close ties and travel among our citizens. That is why we need to work together to achieve greater stability, security, and social justice for all of our citizens,” the diplomat insisted.

DEA investigators course for local law enforcement officers begins

Georgetown, GINA, September 17, 2012 -- Source - GINA

Twenty-four officers drawn from the Guyana Police Force (GPF), Customs Anti-Narcotic Unit (CANU), and the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) today commenced a Drug Investigators Course, which is being conducted by the GPF in collaboration with the United States Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA).

The aim of the course is to enhance the participants’ knowledge and techniques as it relates to drug enforcement and to educate them of the current trends in drug trafficking.

Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee delivering remarks at the opening ceremony of the Drug Investigators’ Course at Police Officers’ Mess, Eve Leary

A quantity of drug fighting equipment were also handed over to local law enforcement agencies; bringing the total value of equipment that was offered by the US in this fiscal year to about US $45,000 or G $9M.

Speaking at the opening ceremony at the Police Officers’ Mess at Eve Leary, Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee said that this training initiative is considered to be very timely and expressed the Guyana Government’s gratitude to the US for its continuous efforts to forge closer bilateral cooperation to combat the scourge of illegal drugs.

“The Government of Guyana fully supports this stir of international cooperation that has been further strengthened through the Caribbean Basin Security Initiative (CBSI). This collaborative effort has seen many steps being taken by our two countries to build capacity of the law enforcement agencies in Guyana,” the Home Affairs Minister said.

Look, let's not beat about the bush. This new strategy plan is being drafted in order to reduce the number of drugs interceptions by the police.

There has been a good response by the police lately as far as thwarting the drugs smugglers are concerned. This is obviously putting a massive dent in the finances of the PPP. They cannot after all blame the PNC and AFC for the success in the fight against drugs smuggling. That would be like shooting the PPP regime in the foot. So other ways are being developed that would put the police back in its fight against the PPP drugs barons. In case you wonder why the PPP would wish to undermine the police, the facts are out there. The police has long been seen by the PPP regime as a support base of the PNC. Every time a PPP high flyer get put under pressure by the police you hear it is the PNC that is giving the order. When the police do a massive drugs bust you hear whispers of a PNC attempt to play dirty with the PPP.

But you never see a Guyanese minister standing proudly next to the drugs haul shaking the hands of the police officers who did the bust. Thieves never thank the police for catching them.  

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Look, let's not beat about the bush. This new strategy plan is being drafted in order to reduce the number of drugs interceptions by the police.

There has been a good response by the police lately as far as thwarting the drugs smugglers are concerned. This is obviously putting a massive dent in the finances of the PPP. They cannot after all blame the PNC and AFC for the success in the fight against drugs smuggling. That would be like shooting the PPP regime in the foot. So other ways are being developed that would put the police back in its fight against the PPP drugs barons. In case you wonder why the PPP would wish to undermine the police, the facts are out there. The police has long been seen by the PPP regime as a support base of the PNC. Every time a PPP high flyer get put under pressure by the police you hear it is the PNC that is giving the order. When the police do a massive drugs bust you hear whispers of a PNC attempt to play dirty with the PPP.

But you never see a Guyanese minister standing proudly next to the drugs haul shaking the hands of the police officers who did the bust. Thieves never thank the police for catching them.  

Very imaginative indeed.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Meh belly guh bus wid laaf. LHM.

The people have no confidence in Clement Rohee. He is trying to show his relevance. The goat has already left the pen.  2 little 2 late after 20 years.

Action 1. Get rid of Rohee now.

bai meh bin ah laff meh ass aff too!

DEA with all their mouth only stops 15% of heroin and 25% of cocaine traffick into USA . Allow me to educate you. The only way to have a 90% or more effect is for nations of concern to create a joint military op to go into the source and take them out while at home dealers and users are arrested and put to do hard labor which means new legislation. A Govt has to be very acid about rooting drugs from it's system . They need to create seek & destroy missions based on reliable intel .

Originally Posted by kidmost:

Allow me to educate you.

You aren't even qualified to polish my shoes, let alone intelligent enough to educate me. Especially not when it comes to drugs. Regrettably I had to trade in the stuff to fund my education, got gunned down in the process and met a lot of big wigs along the way, one of whom even became president and another who became minister of defence in another country.

So I know the score both from a dealer's point of view and from that of politicians. No education from a layman is going to make amends.

Allow me to educate you.

You aren't even qualified to polish my shoes, let alone intelligent enough to educate me. Especially not when it comes to drugs. Regrettably I had to trade in the stuff to fund my education, got gunned down in the process and met a lot of big wigs along the way, one of whom even became president and another who became minister of defence in another country.

So I know the score both from a dealer's point of view and from that of politicians. No education from a layman is going to make amends.

Mr. T? ...Am reading this thing for real? Or is this just British humour at work?

Bai I had many friends in high places when I lived in Suriname. But I also had many enemies. My former brother in law was the capo di capo in the country. But it wasn't fun being married into a local mafia crime family. I got out whilst I could.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The government must be credited for putting steps in place to curb the drug problem in this part of the hemisphere

How about using its tax and racketeering laws to go after the known kingpins that Gail spoke of rather than Kissoon and other PPP gadflies if you really are serious.

DEA with all their mouth only stops 15% of heroin and 25% of cocaine traffick into USA . Allow me to educate you. The only way to have a 90% or more effect is for nations of concern to create a joint military op to go into the source and take them out while at home dealers and users are arrested and put to do hard labor which means new legislation. A Govt has to be very acid about rooting drugs from it's system . They need to create seek & destroy missions based on reliable intel .

Isn't that what the joint Columbians/US did in Columbia?  And the drug trade goes on, unabated.  Isn't that what the US Military did in Afganistan, where are we with that?

Guyana is 90% uninhabited with porous borders and lots of hiding places so you are asking the GoG to accomplish what the great USA cannot.

Bai I had many friends in high places when I lived in Suriname. But I also had many enemies. My former brother in law was the capo di capo in the country. But it wasn't fun being married into a local mafia crime family. I got out whilst I could.

for a man who been there and done that you should try to be more discreet about your past activities and relations. Maybe you been riding with ranch hands in Guyana and Suriname but when you ride with the Ranchers you don't dont live to talk about it . Now where were we on who can educate who ? as I was saying, countries should just legalize the shit , tax it and take crime out of it , save taxpayers money and create income. Mr.T drug trafficking in Guyana is still perhaps one of the easiest clean up missions but it is not the solution. The solution is to create seek and destroy missions against druglords factories etc . These guys are now using submersibles which can traverse the caribbean sea to USA without being detected . All the caribbeans islands are growing stop points for drug trafficking. Soon Guyana Suriname and other caribbean islands will be in the grips of mobsters from eastern europe who are fast becoming the traffick controllers of SA drug trade. You might have been a nickel bag pusher but I am talking about the TRADE .

Isn't that what the joint Columbians/US did in Columbia?  And the drug trade goes on, unabated.  Isn't that what the US Military did in Afganistan, where are we with that?

Guyana is 90% uninhabited with porous borders and lots of hiding places so you are asking the GoG to accomplish what the great USA cannot.

The US Govt was on a solo mission in a country where drugs was the sole industry , there were no other countries in the region on their side . All South American Govts have to create an anti drug war pact to be effective. Look at Suriname , the new top dog was the biggest drug trafficker and still is .