Georgetown, Guyana – (August 3, 2018)

First Lady, Mrs. Sandra Granger, today, attended the closing ceremony of the Information Communication Technology (ICT) Training programme in Leonora, Essequibo Islands-West Demerara Region (Region Three), where she emphasised the importance of robotics and computer science to the 36 graduates. The programme, which is executed through a collaborative effort between the Office of the First Lady, the Ministry of Social Protection and the Board of Industrial Training (BIT), seeks to provide youths with skills in the areas of information technology, literacy and numeracy, entrepreneurship, sexual reproductive health, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) subjects, and other skills.

“Robotics and computer science are the future of education and any job you go into now, you will need to know it. Take in your ICT, take in your knowledge of robotics because, as I’ve mentioned before 60% of the jobs will be done by robots. So if you are the persons writing the programmes for robotics or making the robots, you know you have employment,” the First Lady said.

Mrs. Granger also used the opportunity to express her desire to expand the reach of these ICT workshops to rural parts of Guyana. As a matter of fact, the First lady will be opening a similar workshop at the St. Ignatius Secondary School on next Monday while a Robotics camp will be held on Tuesday and Wednesday at the West Demerara Secondary School.

Regional Executive Officer, Mr. Denis Jaikaran, in his remarks, commended the First Lady for developing a programme of this nature, which contributes to youth development as he noted that the programme is ‘rounded’. “We have completed this course of study. We have been engaged in a number of activities and this course of study provided an opportunity for us to explore a number of areas, some of which you were able to do for the first time. And therefore, having said that, that can only have been possible through the intervention of our First Lady, Her Excellency, Sandra Granger… Education is dynamic and once we would provide that education to our young people, we are helping to mould this nation,” he shared.

Also speaking at the ceremony was the Board of Industrial Training’s Vice Chairman, Mr. Donald Ainsworth, who congratulated the graduates and highlighted benefits of working and studying in the ICT field.

“ICT opens all kinds of opportunities and what you have here [makes] the world become your playground. You have to be prepared to work hard and explore what is there. We are members of an ulterior society and the more knowledge and information you have, the greater are your opportunities for success. And the wonderful thing is we’re on the cusp of joining the modern, global economy with all this oil and gas and the concomitant service industries that will come on board. There all kinds of possibilities out there for you and you need to take advantage of it,” he urged.

The 36 graduates all received certificates that have been accredited by the Board of Industrial Training and accepted locally and regionally. Additionally, the graduates also received backpacks with stationery and other essential school supplies.

Hey hey hey...dem need de CXC maths foh rise from 18% pass fuss...hey hey hey...

I hope that you know that this is what it was under the PPP.  Guyana was LAST among the CXC nations.

Hey hey hey...dem need de CXC maths foh rise from 18% pass fuss...hey hey hey...

I hope that you know that this is what it was under the PPP.  Guyana was LAST among the CXC nations.

Hey hey hey...bai abie down know dat because abie clannish. Abie clannish cause abie na marry abie daughta to blackman...hey hey hey.

Unbelievable idiots. They can't even provide affordable electricity to operate a fridge much less operate Robotic models. Dah lady gat plenty powah in she words.

Are these ppl for real.

Instead of criticizing, what would you suggest? What direction should education in Guyana take?

Let's be fair. In other group photos the government was justly criticized for paying attention only to Afros. But in the Leonora photo above I notice plenty Indos. That's progress. I'm sure these youths are glad for the skills training.

Yes uncle Gilly, you rite. I man notice 3% Indian 

Unbelievable idiots. They can't even provide affordable electricity to operate a fridge much less operate Robotic models. Dah lady gat plenty powah in she words.

Are these ppl for real.

Agreed.  You start with the simple, NEEDFUL things first. When will these kids practice what they learnt in Guyana.  Watch them all run away overseas where they can use the skills they learnt here.

Last edited by alena06
alena06 posted:

Are these ppl for real.

Agreed.  You start with the simple, NEEDFUL things first. When will these kids practice what they learnt in Guyana.  Watch them all run away overseas where they can use the skills they learnt here.

Let me ask you the same question I asked Seignet. What would you suggest? Before you answer that, let me also ask you this. The contracts with Exxon were signed years ago before this administration. What initiatives were proposed then to start preparing Guyanese for jobs in the oil industry? Now, we are caught with out thumbs up our asses and Exxon has every excuse to hire Guyanese only for manual labor.

alena06 posted:

Are these ppl for real.

Let me ask you the same question I asked Seignet. What would you suggest? Before you answer that, let me also ask you this. The contracts with Exxon were signed years ago before this administration. What initiatives were proposed then to start preparing Guyanese for jobs in the oil industry? Now, we are caught with out thumbs up our asses and Exxon has every excuse to hire Guyanese only for manual labor.

I think cussbird Seignet and Alena are not necessarily disagreeing with the robotics thingie, but there are more BASIC areas to be focused on first. Our system of education is broken and producing dunces. A far cry from our days when we went to school there. Can we get that fixed first?

Can we get the blackout situation under control and cheap, reliable electricity before we start talking about robots?

These clowns still need the "imperialist powers" to oversee elections. SMFH

alena06 posted:

Are these ppl for real.

I think cussbird Seignet and Alena are not necessarily disagreeing with the robotics thingie, but there are more BASIC areas to be focused on first. Our system of education is broken and producing dunces. A far cry from our days when we went to school there. Can we get that fixed first?

Can we get the blackout situation under control and cheap, reliable electricity before we start talking about robots?

Also agree with your point to train people with an eye toward the future. BOTH need to be done. The PPP and PNC just like to blabber shyte. Neither has done anything to even supply basic infrastructure. They destroyed what the British gave them, all the while thumping their chests and proclaiming how smart  they are and defeated "imperialist" powers.

I asked them both to suggest where they thought Education should be directed. All I get is "basic" and "needful". By the way, the system of education worsened under the PPP. In our day, we could expect at least a basic education and write exams for scholarships to good high schools etc. In order to get a decent education now, my friends in Guyana are sending their children to private schools and those who can't afford private schools have to send their children to "lessons" taught by the same teachers teaching them in school.

Are these ppl for real.

FYI, Guyana’s team performed remarkably well at last year’s international robotics competition in Washington DC against teams from all over the globe. It is essential that we educate our children in fields such as Computer Science and Robotics regardless of our power supply situation. That is a major problem that has to be resolved but it should in no way deter our kids from being educated with the tools they will need to take our country ahead in the future. This type of education has lifted the standard of living in India and many other poor countries where the electricity supply is not so reliable. If I had made power supply a problem, I would have been just another Dumbass like you. Instead I studied many nights with either a Kerosene lamp or a candle in the years when the electricity supply was much worse in Guyana.

Re: current standard of education. The other day I watched a series of YouTube videos titled WHAT DO YOU KNOW GUYANA. The presenter asked adults on the street questions like "How many regions in Guyana? What are the three main rivers? What is the national bird? Name three new towns. Spell Kaieteur Falls." To me the answers were disappointing. The respondents were in the 20s to 40s age wise. Most were pavement vendors.

The kids in Guyana and clever and innovative.  If taught correctly and given the means to apply their knowledge, they will accelerate and do well.  I don't know why we need to knock them for pushing beyond the basics. 

I have a nephew in NJ running an IT outfit in GT and he said they are actually good and bring value.  The problem, pickings are thin as the best eventually leave for Caricom, they go due to security and better options.

Kudos to the GoG for doing this!

Re: current standard of education. The other day I watched a series of YouTube videos titled WHAT DO YOU KNOW GUYANA. The presenter asked adults on the street questions like "How many regions in Guyana? What are the three main rivers? What is the national bird? Name three new towns. Spell Kaieteur Falls." To me the answers were disappointing. The respondents were in the 20s to 40s age wise. Most were pavement vendors.

As expected!  Most are school dropouts!

During one of my visits years ago, a question on Cuba came up in a discussion.  I was surprised, one young man asked me, "Cuba, dah wah wan nadda country nuh?"

Nothing wrong if the First Lady is doing this but the composition of the participants should be more reflective of Guyana's SIX races.

Kudos to the First Lady.

Yuji, God gave some of us a head with a brain to think and he gave some of us a head with a brain to wear a hat. Not all of us are born equal.

During one of my visits years ago, a question on Cuba came up in a discussion.  I was surprised, one young man asked me, "Cuba, dah wah wan nadda country nuh?"

Gal told me the other day she never knew Leguan was an island. She thought when the boat left Parika and went to Leguan, that was the Essequibo coast. I then had to explain.

And does she think Hogg Island filled with hogs?

I only wish that I can go to one of the larger private sector companies and see similar diversity at the professional/management ranks.

When last you went back to Guyana?

The problem, pickings are thin as the best eventually leave for Caricom, they go due to security and better options.

And here you were screaming that blacks had to thank Indos for Guyana not being Haiti.  Here Guyanese of all ethnicities have to flee to coral reefs and volcanic peaks, enduring hurricanes, and the occasional earthquake, in order to enjoy a decent living.

Have the decency to tell those Bajan and "small island" blacks thanks for running decent countries that provide refuge to Guyanese.

Of what relevance is that question?  I asked a question and if you don't have the answer there is no need for you to say anything.

Muneshwars.  How many senior managers are blacks?

The problem, pickings are thin as the best eventually leave for Caricom, they go due to security and better options.

And here you were screaming that blacks had to thank Indos for Guyana not being Haiti.  Here Guyanese of all ethnicities have to flee to coral reefs and volcanic peaks, enduring hurricanes, and the occasional earthquake, in order to enjoy a decent living.

Have the decency to tell those Bajan and "small island" blacks thanks for running decent countries that provide refuge to Guyanese.

We was doing well and expanding under the PPP.  Since 2015 he downsized as the business environment went South, crime went North and the people went helter-skelter!

Of what relevance is that question?  I asked a question and if you don't have the answer there is no need for you to say anything.

Muneshwars.  How many senior managers are blacks?

Chinese whispers!!

We was doing well and expanding under the PPP.  Since 2015 he downsized as the business environment went South, crime went North and the people went helter-skelter!

Guyanese began to flee to Barbados and the small islands in huge droves after 2000.  This when Guyanese teachers found out that they could make MORE as a baby sitter in those islands that they could as teachers in Guyana.

The growth of the economy after 2007 came because of high gold prices and the multiplier impacts into the real estate and construction sectors.  It is known that many commercial buildings in GT are under utilized.

Lucky for Guyana that the PPP didn't control the gold sectors.  Given their track record with the Berbice Bridge (now technically bankrupt), Guysuco and the rice industry that would have been a disaster. 

The PPP admires Maduro.  Jagdeo screamed that Guyana should sell rice to Venezuela and here we see pictures of ordinary Venezuelans fighting with stray dogs to find food in the garbage dumps.

There is only one reason why you like Jagdeo.  He is Indian!

Guyanese began to flee to Barbados and the small islands in huge droves after 2000.  This when Guyanese teachers found out that they could make MORE as a baby sitter in those islands that they could as teachers in Guyana.

The growth of the economy after 2007 came because of high gold prices and the multiplier impacts into the real estate and construction sectors.  It is known that many commercial buildings in GT are under utilized.

Lucky for Guyana that the PPP didn't control the gold sectors.  Given their track record with the Berbice Bridge (now technically bankrupt), Guysuco and the rice industry that would have been a disaster. 

The PPP admires Maduro.  Jagdeo screamed that Guyana should sell rice to Venezuela and here we see pictures of ordinary Venezuelans fighting with stray dogs to find food in the garbage dumps.

There is only one reason why you like Jagdeo.  He is Indian!

Listen, the opened ops in 2013 and was doing well. They grew and moved to bigger offices with about 30 staff.  He had expected to be at 100+ by now, but ran into speed bumps after the election.  He has scaled back to approx 20. 

Stop with you mad ass rants about bj, Maduro and all that shyte.  It’s irrelevant.   

Are these ppl for real.

FYI, Guyana’s team performed remarkably well at last year’s international robotics competition in Washington DC against teams from all over the globe. It is essential that we educate our children in fields such as Computer Science and Robotics regardless of our power supply situation. That is a major problem that has to be resolved but it should in no way deter our kids from being educated with the tools they will need to take our country ahead in the future. This type of education has lifted the standard of living in India and many other poor countries where the electricity supply is not so reliable. If I had made power supply a problem, I would have been just another Dumbass like you. Instead I studied many nights with either a Kerosene lamp or a candle in the years when the electricity supply was much worse in Guyana.

Privilized kids spend their summers overseas and attend camps. The village kids doan have that opportunity. Would not be surprised those that participated in Washington were students of private schools and private tutoring. I know a few students. 

This Dumbass escaped Guyana since 1967 and Burnham's mayhem. 

I think different, none of that baggage of a typical Guyanese.

Are these ppl for real.

Privilized kids spend their summers overseas and attend camps. The village kids doan have that opportunity. Would not be surprised those that participated in Washington were students of private schools and private tutoring. I know a few students. 

Many of the students on last year's Robotics Team were from QC. Benschop's son was on the team last year and they are now preparing for this year's tournament. Nothing to do with private schools. Except for a few failures like the DumDum sisters, private schools cannot compete with the talent that QC churns out year after year.  

The reason for opening these ICT centers all over the country is to give the opportunity to children from various villages. Make them interested in the technology of the future and they will follow their dreams. 

You can take a Mudhead out of the backdam but you can't take the backdam out of him. If it were up to you, these children would be well equipped with a slate, a slide rule and an abacus just like you had many moons ago.

Are these ppl for real.

Many of the students on last year's Robotics Team were from QC. Benschop's son was on the team last year and they are now preparing for this year's tournament. Nothing to do with private schools. Except for a few failures like the DumDum sisters, private schools cannot compete with the talent that QC churns out year after year.  

The reason for opening these ICT centers all over the country is to give the opportunity to children from various villages. Make them interested in the technology of the future and they will follow their dreams. 

You can take a Mudhead out of the backdam but you can't take the backdam out of him. If it were up to you, these children would be well equipped with a slate, a slide rule and an abacus just like you had many moons ago.

There is an old adage that says, "it's easy to soar like an Eagle when you're flying with Turkeys". In order for some of these "Eagles" here to feel better about themselves, the "Turkeys" are necessary for them to compare themselves to. Otherwise, in the real world, they are insignificant.