ba$eman posted:

All these Castro admirers, yet they will never go close to anything Castro.  They all ran to Castro nemesis to find a new life away from Castro's wannabes, Burnham and Jagan!

Isn't it funny seeing these people tooting Castro's horn when they would never go close to his Socialist utopia!

Image result for cubans rush to leave

Leaders pay tribute to Fidel Castro, but critics scathing of “tyrant”

November 26,2016

MOSCOW/CARACAS, (Reuters) – World leaders paid tribute on Saturday to Fidel Castro, the Cuban revolutionary leader who built a communist state on the doorstep of the United States, but in death just as in life he divided opinion, and critics labelled him a “tyrant”.
Castro died on Friday aged 90, his younger brother and successor Raul Castro announced on state television.

Mikhail Gorbachev, the final leader of the Soviet Union which had long acted as an economic and political prop for Cuba, said Castro left a lasting mark on his country and on world history.

“Fidel held his ground and strengthened his country at the time of the harshest American blockade, at the time of massive pressure on him,” Gorbachev was quoted by Interfax news agency as saying.

“Nevertheless he led out his country from the blockade to the path of self-sustained and independent development.”

In a telegram of condolence to Raul Castro, Russian President Vladimir Putin called the late leader an “inspiring example for many countries”.

“Fidel Castro was a frank and tried and true friend of Russia,” the Kremlin quoted the message as saying.

In Venezuela, a long-time ally of Cuba and staunch opponent of the political stance of the United States, President Nicolas Maduro said Castro had inspired and would continue to inspire his country.

“We will keep on winning and keep fighting. Fidel Castro is an example of the fight for all the people of the world. We will go forward with his legacy,” Maduro told television station Telesur by telephone.

In Bolivia, where Ernesto “Che” Guevara died in 1967 in a failed bid to export Cuba’s revolution, President Evo Morales said in a statement: “Fidel Castro left us a legacy of having fought for the integration of the world’s peoples â€Ķ The departure of Comandante Fidel Castro really hurts.”

Ecuadorean President Rafael Correa said: “A great has left us. Fidel has died. Long live Cuba! Long live Latin America!”

ROLE IN AFRICA

South African President Jacob Zuma had warm words, thanking the Cuban leader for his help and support in the struggle to overthrow apartheid.

“President Castro identified with our struggle against apartheid. He inspired the Cuban people to join us in our own struggle against apartheid,” Zuma said in a statement.

French President Francois Hollande mourned the loss of a major figure on the world stage and welcomed the rapprochement between Havana and Washington, while noting concerns over human rights under the Castro regime.

“Fidel Castro was a towering figure of the 20th century. He incarnated the Cuban revolution, in both its hopes and subsequent disillusionments,” Hollande said in a statement.

“France, which condemned human rights abuses in Cuba, had equally challenged the U.S. embargo on Cuba, and France was glad to see the two countries re-establish dialogue and open ties between themselves,” added the Socialist party leader.

Hollande met Fidel Castro in May, 2015 during the first ever visit by a French head of state to Cuba since the Cuban revolution.

“TYRANT” IS GONE

In contrast, the reaction from some Cubans living in the United States was scathing and celebratory.

U.S. Congress representative Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, a Cuban-American Republican from Miami, said in a statement: “A tyrant is dead and a new beginning can dawn on the last remaining communist bastion of the Western Hemisphere.”

In Miami, in the area surrounding the Versailles Restaurant where many exiles who fled the Cuban revolution live, people took to the streets in their cars in the early hours of Saturday morning to celebrate Castro’s death.

Hundreds of people gathered waving flags, banging pots and pans and carrying umbrellas to shield them from steady rainfall.

“This is the happiest day of my life, Cubans are finally free,” said Orlidia Montells, an 84-year-old woman.

The highlighted reminds when King Kong [Burnhan] kicked the bucket, a breath of fresh air passed across the country.

Strange you saying this and now you'reGranger's hired goon!

You got it wrong i am an "Independant" i don't suck up to no political party,for example in Guyana INDIAN=PPP,AFRO=PNC,etc....alyuh try deh and mope on "when abe kind nah rule abhe a prappa punish"

Further more an "African head Gov't" have the same right as an "Indian head Gov't" to manage the affairs of the nation,let the cycle continues it's healthy for democracy,no party should anchored in for lengthy years,that's done Indo Guyanese are 40%,all the racist PPP..ite will have to lick their wounds.

Like him or hate him, Fidel Castro was one of the most inspirational figure that lived on earth.  Viva la revoluciÃģn! RIP Fidel.

I am not a communist but this man and his people stood up to the mighty USA which killed democracy in many countries including Guyana.

Castro began his political career with noble intention but soon became blinded by the power he once fought against. His country and its people became his victims except those willing to toot his horn. Hopefully his passing truly opens up freedom for the people of Cuba. 

Castro was not blinded by power; he was forced to react to the evil that was visited on his country by the USA !

These wannabe Commie clowns from Guyana fled from a brutal dictatorship in their own country and now praising another dead dictator from the sanctity of their homes in the West. Oh the irony of it all.

Knucklehead,

you clearly do not understand Castro's legacy, good or bad, and the influence he had on Guyanese politics. 

There are still many who continue to praise Burnham and Cheddi, both of whom were close friends.

If it wasnt for them Cuban doctors who helped out in Guyana during the Burnham years, and the scholarships Guyanese received, you would be singing a different tune.

Castro's legacy will be read by many politicians...he was in many ways a pawn of the Cold War.

These wannabe Commie clowns from Guyana fled from a brutal dictatorship in their own country and now praising another dead dictator from the sanctity of their homes in the West. Oh the irony of it all.

Knucklehead,

you clearly do not understand Castro's legacy, good or bad, and the influence he had on Guyanese politics. 

There are still many who continue to praise Burnham and Cheddi, both of whom were close friends.

If it wasnt for them Cuban doctors who helped out in Guyana during the Burnham years, and the scholarships Guyanese received, you would be singing a different tune.

Castro's legacy will be read by many politicians...he was in many ways a pawn of the Cold War.

You must be a special kind of stupid, Numpty, to flee from one dictator and now worshiping one of the longest serving, most brutal dictators in the history of mankind. The Kool Aid must have overwhelmed you Commie Fools. Why didn't you run to Cuba or North Korea if Communism was so great.

Fidel Castro could not allow elections because he would have been undermined by the USA like they did in many countries.  Burnham was a Made by America dictator.  Two different things.

Not because I live in America I cannot speak about the ills of America.  Many born Americans do that and a great many respect Castro also.

VVP posted:

Fidel Castro could not allow elections because he would have been undermined by the USA like they did in many countries.  Burnham was a Made by America dictator.  Two different things.

Not because I live in America I cannot speak about the ills of America.  Many born Americans do that and a great many respect Castro also.

Made by America or made by Russia, they were both brutal dictators in their own right. They were just puppets to different masters.

Castro could have instituted reforms without being a brutal dictator. How ironic that you demonize Burnham as a dictator and hug up the one of the longest serving dictators in the history of mankind. Ask those Cubans who floated to Miami in car tire tubes about their respect for Castro.  

Castro could have instituted reforms without being a brutal dictator. How ironic that you demonize Burnham as a dictator and hug up the one of the longest serving dictators in the history of mankind. Ask those Cubans who floated to Miami in car tires about their respect for Castro.  

Castro is loved the world over.  He must have done something right.  Who loved Burnham except his cohorts?

The Cubans fleeing thought they would get a better life in the USA just like most that emigrate here do. Many were criminals let out of jails.

VVP posted:

Castro could have instituted reforms without being a brutal dictator. How ironic that you demonize Burnham as a dictator and hug up the one of the longest serving dictators in the history of mankind. Ask those Cubans who floated to Miami in car tires about their respect for Castro.  

Castro is loved the world over.  He must have done something right.  Who loved Burnham except his cohorts?

The Cubans fleeing thought they would get a better life in the USA just like most that emigrate here do. Many were criminals let out of jails.

He's loved the world over by fools who would never live a day in their life under his dictatorship. 

Knucklehead,

You must be a special kind of stupid, Numpty, to flee from one dictator and now worshiping one of the longest serving, most brutal dictators in the history of mankind. The Kool Aid must have overwhelmed you Commie Fools. Why didn't you run to Cuba or North Korea if Communism was so great.

Numbnuts,

If the man lived this long you cant find anything positive that he did for the Cuban people?. He had almost 100% literacy rate and he was helpful to the Guyanese people, especially when the Burnham dictatorship imposed his iron fist on the Guyanese people. Even as a dictator, Burnham was a nationalist (a good thing), though his evil outdid his good deeds.

Yes, he was a dictator, whose regime lasted more than it should, but he was a victim of Cold War politics. 

The only cool aid drinking pepole here is the likes of folks like you who fall in line with the anti-Castro crowd...the man is still revered in his country. 

We are not defending a dictatorship...