The Richmond Hill enigma
By Paul Sanders, New York, June 2020
Let's get this straight up.
Who, in Richmond Hill, in their right mind would have the audacity to brainstorm a solidarity protest march to the memory of George Floyd? Floyd is a black American killed by police in Minnesota.
That's the first problem with this protest idea in Richmond Hill. Richmond Hill is a community with hostile attitudes about blacks. More so, this community is strongly affiliated with the pro-Indian politics of the PPP in Guyana. There is a powerful kinship between the diaspora and the party of Cheddi Jagan. So a protest march for a black man? No. Never. Besides, these folks are way too busy with the fight for "democracy" after the March elections in Guyana.
Go away. Don't cone back here.
Whoever advanced the hypothesis about a revolutionary zeal in this community is going ahead of himself. No, not here in Richmond Hill. No such protest. Phagwah parade? Yes. Chutney performance? Yes, yes. Festival of poojas and jhandis? Yes, yes and yes! Uncontrolled rum drinking and lots of spicy cutters? You got it. Shahrukh Khan? Yes, of course please!
But a protest in support of a black man murdered by police? No Sir. Can't do. Totally incongruous.
The Richmond Hill community is not psychological prepared for such a dramatic shift. A working class community that seeks solace in religion via pandits and imams have lots of bread and butter issues pressing their consciousness. Being semi illiterate on one hand is a thing in itself. So there is a visible alienation between Indo Guyanese and the history of black struggles in America - culturally and historically.
That explains why the protest march was an epic failure. It failed because business owners along the Liberty Ave stretch believed that busloads of black folks were coming to loot and destroy. It failed because people didn't care enough; some were willfully picnicking at the thought of police clashes. It failed because that chap who usually poses with celebrity politicians on social media was a major No Show in the community he posits as his battleground for empowerment.
That's why an approximate 30 people showed up. And it ended up as guys hanging out.
Next time, it's better with a Diwali parade. Go figure.
@Django posted:
Happy Thursday
The Guyana Diaspora Council will be hosting a Peace Rally in support of George Floyd
We will be in front of Sybilโ€™s on Liberty Ave from 11 am
Feel free to show your support by attending with your mask and gloves
Please bring your banners
We need to demonstrate our support for George Floyd and family
We also need to continue our demand for a Free and Fair Election in Guyana
Vishnu Mahadeo

Oh lord.  Dem Berbician will run out with their cutlass when they start to loot the Roti shap.

It's the bigot, Paul Sanders, again with his anti-Indian nonsense. 

Blacks like him think they have mastered the use of the English language and that alone has put them ahead of the semi-literates of Richmond Hill.  Indo-Guyanese are not perfect.  We have our problems and we do speak about it. However,  we are much more responsible, caring and intelligent that what this bigot is saying.

I just read the piece and agree with him.   I have seen the type of behaviour he describes right here on this forum.  On FB it is even more widespread.  The person who coined the phrase "Indian KKK" was spot on.  It is inevitable that with that kind of attitude they simply will not improve their lot in life.  I know for a fact that virtually everyone of them who spew hate against black people are terribly insecure and many of them have black blood or black relatives.  My experience during the current election has made me see the situation in Guyana more clearly.  Whatever fate awaits IndoGuyanese in Guyana and in the diaspora is of their own making.  What kind of people support an academic cheat with a shady past as their representative, especially in a racially bifurcated state? This will not end nice.

@seignet posted:

I think Rev. Sharpton should be quiet. For over 40 years he gets very excited when a black person get killed by the police-he has not made a change even with Obama.

Get some of the educated Black ppl to address the issues. Having the same person for 40 years DOES not have new creative ideas. He came in with dislike and he still the same way. 

He using Black folks.

The Floyd family selected Sharpton.  They obviously think highly of him.

It's the bigot, Paul Sanders, again with his anti-Indian nonsense. 

Blacks like him think they have mastered the use of the English language and that alone has put them ahead of the semi-literates of Richmond Hill.  Indo-Guyanese are not perfect.  We have our problems and we do speak about it. However,  we are much more responsible, caring and intelligent that what this bigot is saying.

That good fuh ayuh coolies trying to play Black.  Blackman more racist when given the chance.  And donโ€™t expect Blacks to come out against black racism.  They celebrate it as black power. 

I hope those cops are punished for what they did. Absolutely uncalled for. 

However, over the past 20 years, 5,240 Blacks died at the hands of police. A small portion unjustified. Same period, 148,700 died by black on black violence.

@Baseman posted:

That good fuh ayuh coolies trying to play Black.  Blackman more racist when given the chance.  And donโ€™t expect Blacks to come out against black racism.  They celebrate it as black power. 

I hope those cops are punished for what they did. Absolutely uncalled for. 

However, over the past 20 years, 5,240 Blacks died at the hands of police. A small portion unjustified. Same period, 148,700 died by black on black violence.

Hey hey hey...More red neck wite peopkle dead in hand of police. Black peopkle who dead get kill by black and white police. Wite red neck get kill by black and wite police. Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey...dem coolie a RH better na start blame police foh dem prablem in life. Hey hey hey...Dat is wan safe area foh wan big big city. If dem want see dem praperty price stay up. Dem NY police nat like de anti coolie apartheid police a Guyana. Dem in he pocket of Granja dem foh mek coolie get poor and suffa. But me guess dem musse a get bully foh go bad mout all de police dem. Hey hey hey...