Originally posted by sachin_05:
Originally posted by Nehru:
Bhai, Dat is your opinion and I respect it but I AM an AMERICAN and they would have to take me out in a Body Bag and it aint gonna be fun.
Originally posted by Wally:
Nehru, sorry to burst your dream ball. But in the majority people eyes you will always be a guest in their country no matter how rich you are or how much taxes you pay.

You are not a real Yankee nor are you a Good old boy from the South. You will always be like Rudy when he ran for the Republican party presidential nomination "An ethnic guest".

Just ask Mr. Mohammed Al Fayed. He will explain it to you in detail.

Guyana sweet sweet...but the only way he is going back is in body bag...what a bharwa Big Grin

Great advertising for Guyana's state of affairs eh?
JacAS, i LIVE HERE WHY SHOULD I BE TAKEN THERE AGAINST MY WILL PERMANENTLY???
Bhai, Dat is your opinion and I respect it but I AM an AMERICAN and they would have to take me out in a Body Bag and it aint gonna be fun.
Nehru, sorry to burst your dream ball. But in the majority people eyes you will always be a guest in their country no matter how rich you are or how much taxes you pay.

You are not a real Yankee nor are you a Good old boy from the South. You will always be like Rudy when he ran for the Republican party presidential nomination "An ethnic guest".

Just ask Mr. Mohammed Al Fayed. He will explain it to you in detail.

Guyana sweet sweet...but the only way he is going back is in body bag...what a bharwa Big Grin
It look like the Sheik is staying at an expensive hotel. I hope the Sheik is not the door man at the hotel. He would have got a good soak with the rain when the paying guess arrive.
lol no sir, I'm not a guest nor a doorman. But I am in the guest relation business and I like what I do.
I get to meet interesting people.
Originally posted by marlon:
And about the smell of the food. Indian/caribbean cusine is loved by people from all over the world.

marlon. Let me help you here. Very few people like teh smell of curry embedded in their clothes, skin, hair, and homes, even if they might on occasion like a curry meal. I am not even sure that many IndoGuyanese do.
Originally posted by caribj:
Originally posted by marlon:
And about the smell of the food. Indian/caribbean cusine is loved by people from all over the world.

marlon. Let me help you here. Very few people like teh smell of curry embedded in their clothes, skin, hair, and homes, even if they might on occasion like a curry meal. I am not even sure that many IndoGuyanese do.

but alyuh always coming to RH or indian eateries in NYC to relish the odors and dine on the cuisine . eh ? eh ? rass bai how yuh beat a nice duck curry with roti rice and dhal eh ? eh ? rass to play bai !
kiddie just arrive smelling of curry at some venue where people are not eating and watch while people question your hygiene. Its not customary to smell of the food that you eat.

maybe you might tolerate that but most people dont.

I also dont eat curry every day so if you smell like you do you dont get too many fans.
Those guys are covered with spice smells far worst than Guyana curry. er.

Quite true which is why smelling like food is a bad idea. A smell liked by one mightnt be by another, plus it conveys the notion that either one doesnt bathe or one doesnt wash one;s clothes.

I dont think an American will appreciate some one walking around smelling like KFC or Pizzahut either.
Originally posted by kidmost:
Nah worry with caribj he backside would walk in ah restaurant and walk straight to the indo Guyanese buffet table ..

Its amazing how all those people know what I wil and will not do.

FYI its been many years since I have eaten a roti. The PPP has made me lose appetite for those things. Sorry.
YUh gone back to Foo Foo and dry coconut.
Nah worry with caribj he backside would walk in ah restaurant and walk straight to the indo Guyanese buffet table ..

FYI its been many years since I have eaten a roti. The PPP has made me lose appetite for those things. Sorry.

I like fu fu, you just have to do it right.
Originally posted by baseman:

I am not even sure if fu fu is entirely a black people thingy, we had a mata carve out of a solid tree trunk with a solid wood mata stick that weigh probabaly about 20 pounds...use to turn out some awesome fu fu..
You like yuh gun hang yuh mouth weh deh soup deh??? yippie yippie
Originally posted by baseman:

[I am not even sure if fu fu is entirely a black people thingy, we had a mata carve out of a solid tree trunk with a solid wood mata stick that weigh probabaly about 20 pounds...use to turn out some awesome fu fu..

fufu comes right out of West Africa. Its not a creole dish.

fufu,foofoo, foufou, foutou comes from west and central africa where they grind veggie roots . Bannnas and green plantain originated from south east asia and the british took these plants to all their tropical colonies including subtropical USA . The africans used to grind this as well as cassava which is indegenious to SA to duplicate the roots they used to motar grind in Africa . So fufu plantain is in fact a creole dish . Sorry to bust yuh bubble Caribj
[I am not even sure if fu fu is entirely a black people thingy, we had a mata carve out of a solid tree trunk with a solid wood mata stick that weigh probabaly about 20 pounds...use to turn out some awesome fu fu..

fufu comes right out of West Africa. Its not a creole dish.

fufu,foofoo, foufou, foutou comes from west and central africa where they grind veggie roots . Bannnas and green plantain originated from south east asia and the british took these plants to all their tropical colonies including subtropical USA . The africans used to grind this as well as cassava which is indegenious to SA to duplicate the roots they used to motar grind in Africa . So fufu plantain is in fact a creole dish . Sorry to bust yuh bubble Caribj

fufu is a dish created in West Africa. All your rambling does nothing to offset that fact. That is unless you are about to tell me that Frech Fries is a Peruvian dish because potatoes were brought from Peru to Spain and then spread to other parts of Europe.

BTW the British did not take plantains from south east Asia to Africa. It spread through migrations of peoples many thousands of years before. Just as sugar cane eventually spread to North Africa.

Rice, which did not originate in Africa, was an integral part of the diets of peoples in what its today Liberia and Sierra Leone that planters in South Carolina SPECIFICALLY imported slaves from those regions of West Africa to plant rice, which was then use dto feed slaves throughout the Caribbean. Why in 1620 would they have importe dpeople who would have only known rice through the British, using your logic.

Kiddie people take raw materials acroos cultures and geographic regions. They then utlize these items in their own way. So Joloff rice is African as is fufu.

In fact platanos is an integral part of the diets of Latinos from the Caribbean and Brazil. And were long before the British reached Asia. It is considered an African influence, given its absence in places where few slves were brought. Puerto Ricans know about fufu. Very few slaves were brought into PR after the British became influential in global trade.