Hundreds of public sector workers not paid

Hundreds of public servants protest Budget cuts that put them out of jobs

Hundreds of public servants protest Budget cuts that put them out of jobs:

Cabinet Secretary, Dr Roger Luncheon has expressed concerns over the large number of workers in the public sector who have not been paid as a result of disapprovals to estimates in the 2014 National Budget.

Speaking at his post-Cabinet media briefing on Wednesday at the Office of the President, Dr Luncheon said the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) Government would not sit idly by and allow workers to suffer as well as struggle as a result of actions taken by the Opposition parties during the 2014 Committee of Supply proceedings.

“It is not the intention of this administration to sit idly, talking about what to do as the livelihood of employees, many of them, pensionable civil servants appointed by the Public Service Commission are adversely affected,” Dr Luncheon said.

He also pointed out that the Government will be taking steps in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana and in conjunction with rulings that were made by the High Court and Court of Appeal.

He noted that it is “our contention that leads us the expected course of action” as he explained that the Constitution and court rulings “point literally and unambiguously to the solution” to the current problem faced by the Government.

Dr Luncheon said the Finance Minister will soon be approaching the House with a supplementary budgetary paper so as to restore funding to entities such as the Office of the President, the Government Information Agency (GINA), the National Communications Network (NCN) and the Public Works Ministry.

Public servants to those bodies have not been in receipt of salaries as a result of the budgetary disapprovals, made by the Opposition in the National Assembly.

“My anticipation is that the Minister of Finance buttress by the powers and the authority conferred in him in the Constitution, armed with the ruling of the constitutional courts would be providing a response in what essentially we hope would be a short-lived denial,” the Cabinet Secretary said.

Both of the Opposition parties, the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and Alliance For Change (AFC) had previously established that it would support a supplementary paper coming from Finance Minister, Dr Ashni Singh that does not include funding for a few projects that were voted down by the Opposition.

No support

However, it must be noted that the Opposition parties have expressed disapproval for the monies that were going to NCN, GINA and the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project.

They have repeatedly said that they will not support funding for NCN and GINA, contending that these are propaganda machines of the Government.

With respect to the University of Guyana (UG) Student Loan programme that was also disapproved by the Committee of Supply, Opposition Leader David Granger and AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan said their actions were not premeditated.

They indicated that if the Government brings a Supplementary Bill to the House, they will most willingly reinstatement funding for the university.

UG’s Vice Chancellor, Dr Jacob Opadeyi also weighed in on the issue, stating that if the Government of Guyana fails to return to the National Assembly for the restoration of the $450 million for the Student Loan Programme, the UG Administration will have no other choice than to shelf programmes.

“If we are not able to attract the more than 3000 loan students, it therefore means enrolment would be affected, and if enrolment is affected, income will be affected and if income is affected, expenditure will be affected,” he posited.

In no uncertain terms, Dr Opadeyi said if the Government fails to return to the National Assembly for supplementary funding for the Student Loan Programme before the House goes to recess in August, the stated line of action will be taken.

But University of Guyana Senior Staff Association (UGSSA) President, Dr Patsy Francis; Vice President Melissa Ifill; and University of Guyana Workers Union (UGWU) President Bruce Haynes, in a united voice condemned the planned action by the university administration during a press conference held on Friday at the Senior Common Room (SCR), Turkeyen Campus.

The unions said that they will shut down both the Turkeyen and Tain campuses if there is any programme cut.

The joint opposition is causing unnecessary burden on the civil servants and the country. Granger and Ramjattan will have a tough time selling their excuses to the same people on election day in 2016.

I don't care who salary is higher or lower, the civil servants are still without pay due to the budget cut. Pay the frigging people and let's move on.

You expectto get any message to that thick skull of his??

I don't care who salary is higher or lower, the civil servants are still without pay due to the budget cut. Pay the frigging people and let's move on.

Why did the ministers take their pay first? If the civil servants were paid first then there would have been money left to pay the ministers and the president afterwards.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Why did the ministers take their pay first? If the civil servants were paid first then there would have been money left to pay the ministers and the president afterwards.

HEHEHEHEHEHE Mr Calculus himself. What a FOOL

Hello you drunk already?

How do you know that the ministers got paid in the first place? If they got paid first, then the opposition ministers also got paid before the civil servants.

Hello you drunk already?

Yes Girl and I only did it because last night you said you like it better when I am drunk. The Rocking does be good for you. That is what you said not me.

Hello you drunk already?

Yes Girl and I only did it because last night you said you like it better when I am drunk. The Rocking does be good for you. That is what you said not me.

Alcohol lead to impotence. 

Hello you drunk already?

can you take your chit chat somewhere else? Yall making every thread like a piece of shit.

Hello you drunk already?

can you take your chit chat somewhere else? Yall making every thread like a piece of shit.

Cobra, Yes but she hot like Fiah. Meh gun invite you one night to watch uncle Nehru in Action. She cant do without me when the night comes.

One moment you are gloating about the fact that the PPP ministers take their pay and leave civil servants with nothing and the next moment you are on about Granger and the election. Have you lost the plot, or trying to avoid drawing attention to the fact that the money was there but has been syphoned away by the PPP ministers in a great hurry?

The joint opposition is causing unnecessary burden on the civil servants and the country. Granger and Ramjattan will have a tough time selling their excuses to the same people on election day in 2016.

The joint AFC/PNC party is causing themselves further harm politically due to their reckless actions. Civil servants will now park their votes with the PPP due the recklessness of the joint AFC/PNC party.

Mr T

Granger and Ramjattan are doing everything in their power to hurt Guyana and the working class and they're succeeding in doing so. You want to give them credit for cutting the civil servants pay? They will have to answer to the same people at the poll.

Mr T

Granger and Ramjattan are doing everything in their power to hurt Guyana and the working class and they're succeeding in doing so. You want to give them credit for cutting the civil servants pay? They will have to answer to the same people at the poll.

Come, come. You are giving far too much credit to APNU for the sins of the PPP. Any sensible person with knowledge of accountancy would have been able to tell you that the figures don't add up. There was ample enough funds at hand to pay the wages of the civil servants. Once again the PPP has used their political agents like you to offer distraction with Ba Anansie stories, whilst the PPP callously raided the salaries of the civil servants in order to enrich themselves.