Someone knew they were going to be fired, and asked me if he should resign before they fire him. I suggested that he resigns.

What do you think?

If they know they deserve to be fired, then resign.  If not, fight the Power!!!

fight the power??

If the boss seh yuh fired...yuh fired

Actually, the person is in charge of the Bookkeeping Dept, but he found out that an outside mgmt company hired by the company wants to take over the functions of that dept...the only way they will do this is if they fire him

* In that case he shouldn't resign. Let them fire him. He'll then be eligible for unemployment benefits plus whatever pipsqueak compensation the company may give him for letting him go.

Our chief welfare bum speaks.

Originally Posted by Villagebelle:

They must fire him 'with cause' though......or he has a good legal case.

* Looks like you have personal experience in these matters Belle.

Not really Rev.....

I lost my job once due to outsourcing of the accounting functions, and I recall that some of the wordings on the letter they gave me were......with cause and without prejudice.

I did consult a lawyer to test the waters for a better severance package.....but what they offered was much better than the Canadian law stipulated......and he said that they had cause (restructuring) and was without prejudice (I was not the only one being let go).....so I really didn't have a case

Villagebelle
Last edited by Villagebelle