Reputed wife being forced out of family home

What happened to me should be a wake-up call for women ….

By Latoya Giles, May 6, 2014 | By | Filed Under News, Source

After living with her reputed husband for over 30 years, one Mocha Arcadia woman is at the centre of a battle for a home the two shared throughout their union. According to the mother of five, Brenda Williams, she’s being forced out of a home she helped purchase with her reputed husband who migrated to the United States several years ago.

Brenda Williams

Williams told Kaieteur News that about six years ago her husband with whom she had lived since she was 17 years old, asked her to press his clothing because he was going to a funeral. “He got up good….asked me to press his clothes and I did because he was going to a funeral.”

The woman said that unknown to her, her reputed husband got married that same afternoon to a woman he had shared another relationship with. “He got married behind my back I knew nothing about it,” Williams said.

Months passed before the woman had any knowledge that the father of her children was married. Six months after the wedding, a letter from the US Embassy was delivered to the house.

“When I saw the letter it had a stamp…I went to him and asked what it was about and he denied that it was for him…I even collapsed in front of him in disbelief”, Williams told Kaieteur News. The woman said that it was in 2006 that she realized that his sister had filed for him and four of her children.

According to Williams when her reputed husband and the four children migrated in 2006, she was shocked to find out that he had secretly married someone in Guyana. “After the children just go up to the US…they called and told me that their father had married someone and she came up to the States,” Williams said.

The woman said that her entire world came crashing down. “How could people be so heartless…I really can’t get that part,” Williams said.

Williams said that after migrating, her husband would call periodically to talk about the children. However on his return to Guyana in 2008, Williams said that he informed her that she needed to vacate the house they once shared.

According to Williams, she immediately asked why she had to vacate the house since they both paid for the house and land.

Williams said that after her husband made the threat to her, she went to the Deeds Registry only to find out that he had failed to put her name on the Transport for the property. A few days later after her visit to the Deeds Registry, her husband came and tore down the front steps to the house.

The woman said that she made a report to the Providence Police Station and her husband was arrested, but later released. Upon his release, Williams said he returned to the US.

The woman said that the bickering between them continued over the years up until present day. According to her, the man returned to Guyana recently and intensified his attempts to get her out of the house.

The house which the woman is being asked to give up.

“He sent me a lawyer’s letter which requested that I leave April 31, 2014….but I not moving because April ain’t got 31 days,” the woman told Kaieteur News. Williams said that her reputed husband along with lawyers are continuously calling and trying to get her out of the home.

She said that she intends to fight the matter until the end, because she had gone through so much with her reputed husban

Another one get chap by she sweet man and she afraid that the sweet man might want to finish she off. The sugar daddy kill the husband. The husband family know she was fooling around when she husband does go sea fuh catch fish, and now she admitting she get a sugar daddy. Now she crying. When she bin ah teck am she nah been a cry, she been ah ball with pleasure. Guyana, sweet sweet, Nehru. Sugar daddy in demand.  

That's not the same story I read yo rass. You rass musbe blind as dat dam Nehru. He does miss whole articles an mek up he  own story.

Originally Posted by Amral:
Eventually these types of problems turn into tragedy. I feel sorry for her but she has to watch out. Cant figure out why the man wants the house. He living in US now

She could always get a Baacoo to bruk up de house.

Eventually these types of problems turn into tragedy. I feel sorry for her but she has to watch out. Cant figure out why the man wants the house. He living in US now

I agree. 

Did any Baacoo exist where you lived in Guyana ? Ask Skeldon, there were some in Corriverton.

I agree. 

Did any Baacoo exist where you lived in Guyana ? Ask Skeldon, there were some in Corriverton.

There were lots. We used to feed them bananas.

I agree. 

Mits

I experienced an encounter with a few Baacoos when I was about 18.

I was returning around 1:00 am in the morning from a wake house. They were playing Banga (awara seed) under a Mango Tree closet to my home. At first I tought that it was a group of children playing late at night until I got really close and took a look.

Very Scary.

Greed might be the motivation for wanting the house.

it goes to show that you can't say you "know" the person with whom you living. 

Given Guyanese laws she can never be evicted even if she does not have title, transport or could not verify a common law marriage...Even if she ignores all the legal letters and go to court she will be in court for the next 20 years.

The primacy of a democracy is the protection of property rights. The PPP has failed completely here. I am of the opinion they are like Mugabe in this respect and have lax enforcement because they encourage the squatting on lands as a means of land distribution.

Press meh clothes Gal, meh ah go get married.  I feel for this woman. some men are really DOGS. WE gat some here on GNI.

Your honesty is refreshing Pavi....after the way you treat JB......

I agree. 

Mits

I was returning around 1:00 am in the morning from a wake house. They were playing Banga (awara seed) under a Mango Tree closet to my home. At first I tought that it was a group of children playing late at night until I got really close and took a look.

Very Scary.

Will the PPP/C set up an arrival day for Baacoos?

Have you ever had an encounter with the Moongazer who use to troll the #19 road?

I agree. 

Mits

Very Scary.

Have you ever had an encounter with the Moongazer who use to troll the #19 road?

I have heard of people talking about baacoos. I have never seen one. There was a pandit who use to tell us some really hair raising jumbie and baacco stories. I have also heard of moongazer; never seen one. A lot of stories about dutchmen spirits by the silk cotton trees. Remember the days when you saw a large alligator where someone drowned and the "people" say dah ah "jagoo" or "anwar"(names of the dead) spirit? We were told not to stay around the area

I agree. 

Mits

Very Scary.

Whenever I meed someone who claims to be a medium I always know I just met a liar and a con artist. When someone said they saw "bacoos" I always know I met some susceptible to delusions.

I agree. 

Mits

Very Scary.

We used to get a lot of bacoos in Wakenaam. And Leguan is the place for Moongazers - by Amsterdam koker.

I agree. 

Mits

Very Scary.

I have heard of people talking about baacoos. I have never seen one. There was a pandit who use to tell us some really hair raising jumbie and baacco stories. I have also heard of moongazer; never seen one. A lot of stories about dutchmen spirits by the silk cotton trees. Remember the days when you saw a large alligator where someone drowned and the "people" say dah ah "jagoo" or "anwar"(names of the dead) spirit? We were told not to stay around the area

As for Dutchmen, ask anyone from 69 - 70 Village, to this day they perform "village work". I witnessed a man who did the "work" speaking dutch when they "called up" the village master. This was an Indo man who spoke broken English and never knew a word of Dutch.

I cannot explain these thing and I do not endorse it.

I agree. 

Mits

Very Scary.

Mits,

My friend from West Africa confirmed that Baacoo is from there. They may have been brought during they days of slavery. I am not sure.

As for moon gazer, I heard about it but never seen one.

Carib can chime in here since he may have some information on this matter. I hope that he reads this thread and can chime in.

Calling Carib.

No politics please.