Remembering the ‘hero’ of the Republic 

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

FOR most of the year 1763, Berbice was embroiled in a massive struggle. More than 2500 enslaved Africans on Plantation Magdalenenberg on the Canje River in Berbice revolted against the injustice meted out to them. At the forefront of this was Cuffy, who later became Guyana’s hero of the Republic.

Examining historical records and accounts, Kofi Badu or “Cuffy” as he is better known, was a ‘house slave’ at Plantation Lilienberg, another plantation on the Canje River. Throughout my years as a history student, I recall being told that house slaves were the ones that were often more loyal to the colonial masters because of the special privileges they enjoyed from living closely with the enslaver. Cuffy, clearly, felt disinclined to be loyal to his master, or any colonial master for that matter.

On February 23, 1763, the catastrophic events began. The enslaved persons who were brought together into a ‘military unit’ of some sort by Cuffy, burnt structures and wreaked havoc on the then colony of Berbice, in an attempt to dislodge the white ruling class. This was their way of resisting and revolting against the injustice that had been meted out to non-white people throughout the Caribbean at this point.

For about a year, this group managed to dislodge the white ruling class and establish some degree of governance over themselves. A collection of circumstances and occurrences, including internecine strife, however, led to the failure of the 1763 revolt.

But, in my opinion, Cuffy’s story is not an isolated event of just an African man getting people to come together to fight against the injustice meted out to him and people like him. Rather, Cuffy’s struggle is microcosmic of the wider struggles that have characterised much of Guyana’s history- as a developing nation. Cuffy was willing to lead his people towards a common goal, aimed at enabling a more just life for them all. It was this same impetus that was reflected in the 1823 Uprising in Demerara, where about 10,000 enslaved persons tried to fight the system of injustice.

And though the circumstances are definitely different, Cuffy’s struggle was intrinsically reflected in the struggle of Cheddi Jagan and Linden Forbes Burnham as they fought for Guyana’s independence. The nation’s patriarchs recognised that the masses of people living here ought to have the autonomy to have their own decisions, in the best interests of themselves and thus, the nation came together to push for independence. Years later, now, we are celebrating the action taken to solidify our independence by becoming a Cooperative Republic.

But did you know that Cuffy also influenced revolutionary action throughout the rest of the Caribbean?

“The Berbice Revolution of 1763 struck the first blow for Guyanese independence. It was a blow that the theoreticians of human subjugation will never forget,” Eusi Kwayana (formerly known as Sidney King) wrote. However, he added that this event was also “part and parcel” of the Caribbean movement of disbanding penetration and domination.

Occurring in 1763, this revolt preceded the Haitian Revolution (influenced by the French and American revolutions which both occurred after the Berbice Revolt), and the other major revolts that took place across the various Caribbean islands. Kwayana contends that Cuffy’s revolt was the nexus between the Maroon and Bush Negro movements, and the revolution and revolts of the Caribbean. It was a watershed movement for Guyana and perhaps influenced the wider Region.

Cognisant of his role in Guyana’s history, when Guyana became a Cooperative Republic on February 23, 1970 (the same day the Berbice Revolt began!), Cuffy was declared the Hero of the Republic.

“Cuffy was the first revolutionary in our land and of our nation, and though his struggle then ended in failure, his courage, his vision and his example marked the beginning of success and stamped him as worthy of recognition as the Hero of this Republic,” Former President Burnham posited.

As we are exactly one week away from our 50th Jubilee celebrations for our anniversary as a Cooperative Republic, I believe it is important to remember this hero and all those who functioned to create the Guyana we live in today. This country is still undergoing its development, and perhaps it has a long way to go, but our history illustrates that we have been able to effect changes through collective action.

Totaram posted:

So this PNC problem of burning other peoples' properties started with Cuffy? 

Surely you are not suggesting that Cuffy's fight against the slave owners was not justified.  

My comment was about people burning other peoples' properties.

Gandhi won justice for his people but he never resorted to burning properties.

Comrade Cuffy hero for all Guyana black and other. Comrade Cuffy fight back on slavery and was right to burn and kill all men women and children and take the pretty white girl. Comrade Burnham was like Cuffy. One day comrade Fineman will also get statue for fight against oppression. Black Country stolen away.

Zara posted:

Comrade Cuffy hero for all Guyana black and other. Comrade Cuffy fight back on slavery and was right to burn and kill all men women and children and take the pretty white girl. Comrade Burnham was like Cuffy. One day comrade Fineman will also get statue for fight against oppression. Black Country stolen away.

You are slowly exposing your naked ass. How about a statue for Neemakaram Nagamottoo with you standing beside him. Who did Fine man murdered , do you know??

Zara posted:

Eh-eh gyal Zara .. yuh prappa kno that "Burnham, like Cuffy, was right to burn and kill men women and children".

Zara ah 'hedukatin abbee 'bout Guyana history.

Zara posted:

A very sick and troubled individual. There is a good chance one day he might end up on suicide watch.

Comrade Prashad full stupidness man. All man want pum pum. Comrade Cuffy break slave man law and become law and want what he only watch. He take white pum pum and eat belly full like Congo man. Comrade Idi Amin feel same such too.. Many Cuffy comrades of Guyana today feel same too.

Zara posted:

Comrade Prashad full stupidness man.

All man want pum pum.

Comrade Cuffy break slave man law and become law and want what he only watch.

He take white pum pum and eat belly full like Congo man.

Comrade Idi Amin feel same such too..

Many Cuffy comrades of Guyana today feel same too.

Eh-eh Sara ...

Yuh ah tell ebery wan dat Cuffy prappa use yuh bum-bum an' pum-pum.

Chee .. chee .. chee ... gwan day side.

Zara posted:

Comrade Prashad full stupidness man. All man want pum pum. Comrade Cuffy break slave man law and become law and want what he only watch. He take white pum pum and eat belly full like Congo man. Comrade Idi Amin feel same such too.. Many Cuffy comrades of Guyana today feel same too.

You actually have a jackass to like your post. Rambling nonsense. 

Comrade KP is true Comrade Gwana post you boast say to take Comrade Burnham power for govern and use on India business comrades for wife and free food and free rum? Why talk bad about blacks when you take Blackman power for sex and food from own India comrades? You sick man comrade Kp.

Zara posted:

Comrade KP is true Comrade Gwana post you boast say to take Comrade Burnham power for govern and use on India business comrades for wife and free food and free rum? Why talk bad about blacks when you take Blackman power for sex and food from own India comrades? You sick man comrade Kp.

KP should hammer you good and prappa - Let’s see how admin deal with you  . 

Zara posted:

Don’t comrade me you low lifer. I think your sole purpose on this site is to solicit  a man to hammer your sour puss.. you are a dumb, illiterate crab dog smelling up this site, living hand to mouth. I doubt you don't wash your crutch. 

Comrade Dave you of small brain. Comrade Zara post only that comrade Gwana post that comrade KP post that boasting of free food from India business comrades for office favor. Comrade Zara innocent ask comrade Kp only for truthness of post..

Zara posted:

Comrade Dave you of small brain. Comrade Zara post only that comrade Gwana post that comrade KP post that boasting of free food from India business comrades for office favor. Comrade Zara innocent ask comrade Kp only for truthness of post..

If you want to do dutty work for someone else,  then prepare to pay the consequences. 

Zara posted:

Don’t comrade me you low lifer. I think your sole purpose on this site is to solicit  a man to hammer your sour puss.. you are a dumb, illiterate crab dog smelling up this site, living hand to mouth. I doubt you don't wash your crutch. 

That’s what she skont looking for. 

Comrade Zara’s grammar and writing skills are getting worse with each passing minute. By tomorrow comrade Zara wouldn’t be writing any more English. 😀

She is in the rum shop drinking and writing... she will soon start cussing Nagaaaa 

Comrade Zara’s grammar and writing skills are getting worse with each passing minute. By tomorrow comrade Zara wouldn’t be writing any more English. 😀

She is in the rum shop drinking and writing... she will soon start cussing Nagaaaa 

Yuh mean dis Nagaaaaa? 

Zara posted:

'tis true. He said it himself. He was King Perks.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/a...9#577211663021560299

Zara posted:

PPP comrades of India what come to colony is Chammar. PNC comrade was fighting army defeated like Cuffy. Guyana comrades today same to ancestors long time pass.

Zara posted:

Listen G/t choke and robber gay punk, read and comprehend what I posted bloody Zoo resident. Maybe you looking for a piece from Zara, play up some more, you lonely Bandit. Ass hole like you I spit on and piss over, in Guyana and more so in NA. 

I suggest you remain in the gutter, stinking "road kill".

Zara posted:

PPP comrades of India what come to colony is Chammar. PNC comrade was fighting army defeated like Cuffy. Guyana comrades today same to ancestors long time pass.

I suggest you shut your Racist skont. You are writing as though you mentally handicapped. Perhaps Gay  Guana is your man?

Listen G/t choke and robber gay punk, read and comprehend what I posted bloody Zoo resident. Maybe you looking for a piece from Zara, play up some more, you lonely Bandit. Ass hole like you I spit on and piss over, in Guyana and more so in NA. 

You were a lower level punk ass "inspecting" business and bumming them for free fried rice, insomuch the chinese cookshops gave yuh the false name Kung Pao. Then you jumped in a hire kyar to your fowl coop in Uitvlugt. You wrote it punk. You had no authority in Guyana, you were an underling taking orders and a part of pilfering food just like your bosses. Painful memories, eh?

Zara posted:

APAN JHAT!

Zara posted:

APAN JHAT!

And come March 2 you go hold jhat

Zara posted:

APAN JHAT!

it is "Jat"..ask your resident balahoo brahmin scholar...it is "community"
 not "pubic" hair.

You were a lower level punk ass "inspecting" business and bumming them for free fried rice, insomuch the chinese cookshops gave yuh the false name Kung Pao. Then you jumped in a hire kyar to your fowl coop in Uitvlugt. You wrote it punk. You had no authority in Guyana, you were an underling taking orders and a part of pilfering food just like your bosses. Painful memories, eh?

I lived a life in Guyana and North America that will envy you and TEN generations after. Where as you survive on the  Welfare Crumbs offered by the American taxpayer and live in a Project Housing.

Them old ladies still looking for them bangles and gold rings that you stole when you were a professional Choke and Robber in G/T. 

Now in NA you selling your Batty for a jill, Dutty gay Rat.

Zara posted:

APAN JHAT!

Guyana we contry. Comrade Granger take back like comrade cuffy. Good Indian like comrade Nagamootoo can see enjoyment life in Guyana. We like he.

I lived a life in Guyana and North America that will envy you and TEN generations after. Where as you survive on the  Welfare Crumbs offered by the American taxpayer and live in a Project Housing.

Them old ladies still looking for them bangles and gold rings that you stole when you were a professional Choke and Robber in G/T. 

Fool, you NEED to make stuff up about me, but you clearly stated what a teefing punk you were in your own words. Never even tried to go back later on and pay for your food.

Yeah, you "lived a life" alright. lol. All at the expense of po people trying to survive and run an establishment. You stole people's food punk. Read it and weep. And when you're finished, take your PNC card, slide it in your ass crack, and see if you get some free fry rice, arite?

I worked at the City Engineer's Dept, it is the most political place to have a job and a place where the engineers abuse of powers. There was one engineer, Lloyd Alleyne [Happo}, him and I would go for lunch almost everyday at a different restaurant ,we would eat and drink and don't pay a dime, I asked him why he is not paying, he said he can shut them down in a minute, when I offered to pay he said no. But the owners would treat us very kindly and give the best, I guess out of fear.  I was one of the few Indians working there other than engineers Maitland, and John Pardasi.

Fool, you NEED to make stuff up about me, but you clearly stated what a teefing punk you were in your own words. Never even tried to go back later on and pay for your food.

Yeah, you "lived a life" alright. lol. All at the expense of po people trying to survive and run an establishment. You stole people's food punk. Read it and weep. And when you're finished, take your PNC card, slide it in your ass crack, and see if you get some free fry rice, arite?

I worked at the City Engineer's Dept, it is the most political place to have a job and a place where the engineers abuse of powers. There was one engineer, Lloyd Alleyne [Happo}, him and I would go for lunch almost everyday at a different restaurant ,we would eat and drink and don't pay a dime, I asked him why he is not paying, he said he can shut them down in a minute, when I offered to pay he said no. But the owners would treat us very kindly and give the best, I guess out of fear.  I was one of the few Indians working there other than engineers Maitland, and John Pardasi.

So bad. Every time read what PPP India comrade do wit other India comrades make mi mad.  They cuss Blackman for India comrade frustratedness but they bad.

Zara posted:

APAN JHAT!

it is "Jat"..ask your resident balahoo brahmin scholar...it is "community"
 not "pubic" hair.

Maybe Sean can help. All the time I thought it was black trouble. Not sure.