In remembrance of Cde. Michael Forde, who on the morning of July 17, 1964, lost his life due to the explosion of a lethal bomb.

Forde was a 22-year-old Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO) activist and was one of the leaders of the historic Freedom Marches in February of 1964. On July 17th, 1964 it was reported to the police that a young man went into the Progressive Bookshop, housed in the Freedom House building with a small carton. He placed the box on a bookshelf, purchased a book and without waiting for his change, hurriedly left the shop leaving his box behind. Seconds after the man had left, Forde, an employee, called out to the manager, Miss Euna Mulzack, an American citizen residing in the country, and informed her that the young man left hurriedly without collecting his change and also left a box behind.

Becoming suspicious, she told him to throw the box out of the building. Forde responded and was rushing through the eastern side door of the shop when there was an explosion. The lower part of Forde’s left hand was hurled some 50 yards away back of the pit entrance of the Metropole Cinema. His mutilated body was found face upward lying across the entrance of Freedom House with just strips of clothing dangling around his waist.

At the time of the explosion there were around 40 persons in Freedom House, some of whom were injured. Among the wounded were Mrs. Mary Nunes, wife of Minister of Education Mr. Cedric Nunes, Mrs. Patricia Christian, Miss Euna Mulzack, with a damaged eye and Miss Bispat with a suspected fractured spine. The Premier’s wife, Mrs. Janet Jagan, General Secretary of the PPP, escaped with slight injuries to her hands.

We shall never forget.

Progress Youth Organization

ba$eman posted:

Many of the posters on this site do not know their history.  Many of the young people of Guyana do not know their history.  Many turn a blind eye because the truth is scorching.

I forgive the youth who do not know however, how about these who know better but chose to turn a blind eye!!

Is the PPP any different? what kinda a eye they turn to the killing of their own even when BJ come out and says he knows who did it...

Chameli posted:
Kari posted:

Satdeo Sawh and family were gunned down execution style. Let's have a remembrance page just for that.

In fact let'ds have a remembrance page for all those killed in the drug turf war of the aughts.

The SONS and Wife (family) of the late Brother Satyadeow Sawh (aka Sash) were not killed. 2 of his siblings died with him, along with his guard. One shot sibling survived.  Does he know who killed his siblings???? 

I'm sure not, but jackazz Kari knows it was drug related, not PNC inspired!!

Thanks for posting this recollection, Miss Haniffa. I remember Friday July 17, 1964 very well. It was supposed to be my last day at Central High School but I had already gotten my school report so I didn't bother to go there. I was staying at my uncle's home in Princess Street near Cemetery Road. Even from that distance, I heard the explosion and another bomb blast a few minutes after. Michael Forde was killed at the Progressive Bookshop in Robb Street. The other blast occurred at the PPP-run GIMPEX store in Regent Street and killed a security guard named Griffith. It is fitting that the PPP remember Michael Forde year after year but I don't know why the party doesn't mark Griffith's death too.   

Thanks for correcting 1967 to 1964 my dear Anscale Fish.  You notice I had the decency of giving you time to correct it before I attack you on wrong date and thing.

Anyhow, me want you to explain something to me.  How can someone who had first hand experience like this still want the PNC to come back and rule the country in 2015?   My grandfather only told me this story many years after the fact when I couldn't even conceive in my head who Michael Forde was.  And I decided, right there and then,  that I wanted to become Little Miss Revolutionary!!

I never wanted the PNC to rule again!

Today July 16 marks 45 years since that bloody infamous rigged election in 1973. I've already explained how my name was crossed out with a pencil on the voters list at my polling station and I was told that I had already voted. I had to argue before getting a ballot paper.

History will repeat itself as we gear up for rigging again in 2020.

Many of the posters on this site do not know their history.  Many of the young people of Guyana do not know their history.  Many turn a blind eye because the truth is scorching.

since you know your history so well . . .

what the hell are you doing clapping yuh backside down hea living in the anti-communist USA?

frothing HYPOCRITE!

RIP Michael Forde