Gladys Benedict

Karl Singh

July 23 ,2021

The case file on the investigation into the shooting of a 25-year-old woman by Region Nine Regional Executive Officer Karl Singh has been sent to the Chambers of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for legal advice.

This was disclosed by the acting Commander for Region Nine Raphael Rose.  The victim, Gladys Benedict is in a stable condition at the Lethem Regional Hospital.

Last night the police said that their investigation had revealed that the shooting was allegedly accidental.

Singh who has been in police custody since his arrest, was yesterday placed on bail and is to return to the police at Lethem today.

The police in a statement on Wednesday, said that around 11 pm on Tuesday at the Commercial Zone, Lethem, Singh and Benedict were in a motor vehicle belonging to Singh, when he allegedly shot her in the abdomen.

Benedict was taken to the Lethem Regional Hospital by Singh where she immediately underwent surgery. According to police, Singh was subsequently arrested and escorted to the Lethem Police Station where his licensed firearm was seized and lodged.

The victim’s father, Dennis, told Stabroek News that Singh offered to take Benedict and two others home. They were all under the influence of alcohol, he said.

They agreed and Benedict jumped into the front seat of the vehicle while the other two sat in the rear.

She said that Singh mumbled something about someone removing his gun from the car. He then bent to retrieve it and while cocking it, allegedly shot her.

Benedict blurted out that she had been shot and she was rushed to the hospital. At around 12:45 am yesterday, Dennis said they received a call that his daughter had been shot. He said that by the time they arrived at the hospital, she was already being prepped for surgery.

Investigations into the matter are continuing.

Statement by Hon. Geeta Chandan-Edmond, MP,
Shadow Minister of Home Affairs
on shooting incident involving Mr. Karl Singh, Region 9 REO
I vehemently condemn the abhorrent and abominable shooting of 25 year old indigenous woman Gladys Emmanuel.
I have taken note of the official report by the Guyana Police Force on this shooting in which Mr. Karl Singh, Region 9 Regional Executive Officer and PPP regional executive was involved and is in custody.
According to the report, Mr. Singh, is being investigated for allegedly attempting to murder Ms. Emmanuel in a vehicle in Lethem.
The report also indicates the incident occurred at about 1am in his pickup on the main access road at Lethem in the vicinity of Kanuku Lodge.
Every life is precious in our dear beloved Guyana and the attempt to end the life of one of our precious citizens, especially a young promising woman, is sadistic and inhuman.
Though far less significant, I also note that this incident occurred in breach of the COVID curfew measures.
This development is symptomatic of the breakdown in law and order in our society since August 2nd, 2020. The Guyanese people have witnessed a significant increase of violence against women and this latest heinous violation of one of our young indigenous women allegedly hands of a high-ranking PPP official must be condemned by all Guyanese.
I call for the following:
(i) a thorough investigation of this incident, free from political interference. The investigation must be concluded speedily so that the all wrongdoing must be dealt with condignly to the fullest extent of the law.
(ii) Mr. Singh, a public officer, to be suspended from all official duties as REO forthwith and for the duration of the investigation.
(iii) women’s organizations, indigenous organizations and all right thinking Guyana to stand up and speak out against the unwarranted violence meted out against our indigenous sister Gladys Emmanuel and on the relentless attacks on our womenfolk.
(iv) on the PPP and its leadership to resist any temptations or entreaties to intervene or to pervert the course of justice in this grave matter and allow the law to run its full course without let or hindrance.

25-Y-O Gladys Emmanuel (Left) and 33-Y-O Regional Executive Officer (REO) Karl Singh (Right)

Mother of woman who was shot by REO says it was β€œaccidental”

The mother of 25-year-old Gladys Emmanuel, who was shot on Tuesday at Lethem Central in Region Nine by the Regional Executive Officer (REO) of Region Nine, Karl Singh, has claimed that she was accidentally shot.

During an interview with They Break News, the woman’s mother, Valerie George, relayed that she was at home when she received the dreadful news that her daughter was shot and is at the Lethem Regional Hospital.

β€œAfter I received the call, I rushed to the hospital, and they were taking her into surgery at the time, so I grabbed onto her hand, and she said mom, mom, and they took her into the theatre,” the victim’s mother recalled.

This publication understands that Emmanuel, who is the daughter of former Toshao Dennis Benedict, is employed as a Pharmacist with Singh’s sister.

β€œThe next day when I go I saw her, I asked what really happened, and she said that she and her sister was getting ready to go home and REO offered them a drop, so she said her sister didn’t want to take the drop because she wanted to go with another girl. She agreed, and they went into the REO vehicle, and they waited for the REO to come; when he come, she said he come into his vehicle, and he had his gun, and he cranked it, and it went off, hitting her in her abdomen.”

The mother said that Emmanuel told her that after Singh realised that she was shot, he said, β€œOh shit, I shoot you,” and he immediately rushed her to the hospital. The woman noted that it was an β€œaccident.”

When asked if Emmanuel and Singh shared any relationship, George said β€œno, they don’t” while noting that her daughter only works with his sister.

Nevertheless, Singh is currently in police custody, assisting with the investigations.

Propagandist at work !!!
@Spugum posted:

He could hardly string a sentence together but he's the PPP (clown) REO.

Apparently there's no curfew in those parts, he drives around the place with a gun in the middle of the night offering young indigenous girls a lift home. She ends up accidentally getting shot and is now fighting for her life. You couldn't make this shit up!

George Bush jr. could not string a sentence together either but he was commander in chief for the the most powerful nation on earth..what’s your point?
If the intention was to murder that young lady, would he take to a hospital? Doesn’t make sense but nothing makes sense in that shithole place where almost 50% of the people believe 32>33.
The notion that that ppp dude should not be out because of curfew, ask yourself why those girls were out there, had to be some party they had that no one is talking about.
It is well known that robbery in Guyana streets more rampant than anywhere in the Caribbean. That said, what’s wrong with taking precautions driving around with your license gun in the middle of the night? You blurted out that unconsciously but it actually revealed your conscious thinking that a gun would hinder your boys chances to prey on their victims...hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Last edited by sachin_05
@Django posted:

25-Y-O Gladys Emmanuel (Left) and 33-Y-O Regional Executive Officer (REO) Karl Singh (Right)

Mother of woman who was shot by REO says it was β€œaccidental”

The mother of 25-year-old Gladys Emmanuel, who was shot on Tuesday at Lethem Central in Region Nine by the Regional Executive Officer (REO) of Region Nine, Karl Singh, has claimed that she was accidentally shot.

During an interview with They Break News, the woman’s mother, Valerie George, relayed that she was at home when she received the dreadful news that her daughter was shot and is at the Lethem Regional Hospital.

β€œAfter I received the call, I rushed to the hospital, and they were taking her into surgery at the time, so I grabbed onto her hand, and she said mom, mom, and they took her into the theatre,” the victim’s mother recalled.

This publication understands that Emmanuel, who is the daughter of former Toshao Dennis Benedict, is employed as a Pharmacist with Singh’s sister.

β€œThe next day when I go I saw her, I asked what really happened, and she said that she and her sister was getting ready to go home and REO offered them a drop, so she said her sister didn’t want to take the drop because she wanted to go with another girl. She agreed, and they went into the REO vehicle, and they waited for the REO to come; when he come, she said he come into his vehicle, and he had his gun, and he cranked it, and it went off, hitting her in her abdomen.”

The mother said that Emmanuel told her that after Singh realised that she was shot, he said, β€œOh shit, I shoot you,” and he immediately rushed her to the hospital. The woman noted that it was an β€œaccident.”

When asked if Emmanuel and Singh shared any relationship, George said β€œno, they don’t” while noting that her daughter only works with his sister.

Nevertheless, Singh is currently in police custody, assisting with the investigations.

Propagandist at work !!!

Seems like you have the intell on what really happened, who or what  stopping you from posting it?  

@sachin_05 posted:

George Bush jr. could not string a sentence together either but he was commander in chief for the the most powerful nation on earth..what’s your point?
If the intention was to murder that young lady, would he take to a hospital? Doesn’t make sense but nothing makes sense in that shithole place where almost 50% of the people believe 32>33.
The notion that that ppp dude should not be out because of curfew, ask yourself why those girls were out there, had to be some party they had that no one is talking about.
It is well known that robbery in Guyana streets more rampant than anywhere in the Caribbean. That said, what’s wrong with taking precautions driving around with your license gun in the middle of the night? You blurted out that unconsciously but it actually revealed your conscious thinking that a gun would hinder your boys chances to prey on their victims...hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

He makes George Bush look a genius. There's a video with him holding some kind of meeting outdoors talking about being in government, making money and getting multi-million dollar contracts. Try to have a look at that to see what we're dealing with here. A jackass who thinks it's his time to mek money

As l said before, you don't understand law and the courts so take your little PPP sound bite and run with it - it was made for simpletons like you - not too complex, not too taxing. You couldn't understand the nuance of the 33/32 argument even if you tried to. Yuh head hard!

He's the PPP's (clown) REO so he's allowed to act irresponsibly re the curfew - the "installed" VP and the President does anyway. But I hope the young girl and her family gets justice. l understand he behaves like a tyrant. Hope she finds the courage to speak out about what actually happened. Wonder if Shuman will make a statement on the matter - lol

#PPP/Failed State/Shithole Country

@cain posted:

So, tell us who shot the girl?

The initial news, before that interview the trigger happy PPP guy was taken into custody for shooting her. Why or how was not mentioned until the mother told the interviewer what her daughter said, which differ from the stabbing herself version she claimed the shooter told her. I did not see any statement from him directly that he denied or admitted it...

APNU+AFC MPs call for thorough probe of REO shooting

July 24, 2021

APNU+AFC Members of Parliament (MPs) on Friday called for a thorough investigation of the Region Nine Regional Executive Officer Karl Singh’s shooting of a woman.

During an APNU+AFC’s press conference yesterday, a number of women MPs from the coalition took the opportunity to condemn the shooting, which the police have labelled accidental based on statements it has received.

β€œI wish to condemn the actions of the Regional Executive Officer of Region Nine,” said Natasha Singh-Lewis, the opposition MP with responsibility for women affairs.

Singh-Lewis further stated that while the most recent reports suggest that the incident, which occurred on Tuesday, was accidental, the perpetrator of an act of that nature should not be given a free pass.

β€œIt is not for the police to decide whether the shooting was accidental or not but it is for the court to decide that. It is important that we focus on the facts of this case and call it out for what it is,” she said.

The MP added that she had seen reports of the victim’s mother stating that she observed other signs of physical abuse on her upper body.

β€œI join with my colleagues to call for a fair investigation… free from political interference, free from all interferences,” Singh-Lewis stressed.

Former minister Dawn Hastings-Williams stated that the opposition and more specifically the women parliamentarians of the APNU+AFC have taken a strong stand to condemn the incident. She then called on the numerous women’s organisations and the women parliamentarians from both sides to speak up and stand against all acts of violence.

Hastings-Williams said during the press conference that she was told that the victim’s mother was told that the gun went off and as a result she was shot in the abdomen.

Against this background, she said there are a number of questions that need to be answered as it relates to the incident. β€œI’m calling on the Guyana police force to do what is right, investigate and give us a true report. I am calling for justice…,” she said.

Meanwhile, the MPs called on the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security to assist and provide the victim and her family with psychosocial support.

On Thursday the police had said the file on the investigation into the shooting of the 25-year-old woman by Singh had been sent to the Chambers of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for legal advice.

Singh, who had been in police custody since his arrest after the shooting on Tuesday, was on Thursday placed on bail.

The police in a statement on Wednesday had said that around 11 pm on Tuesday at the Commercial Zone, Lethem, Singh and the woman were in a motor vehicle belonging to Singh, when he allegedly shot her in the abdomen.

He took her to the Lethem Regional Hospital, where she immediately underwent surgery. According to police, Singh was subsequently arrested and escorted to the Lethem Police Station where his licensed firearm was seized and lodged.

The victim’s father had told Stabroek News that Singh offered to take the woman and two others home. They were all under the influence of alcohol, he said.

They agreed and the woman jumped into the front seat of the vehicle while the other two sat in the rear. She said that Singh mumbled something about someone removing his gun from the car. He then bent to retrieve it and while cocking it, allegedly shot her.

@Django posted:

APNU+AFC MPs call for thorough probe of REO shooting

July 24, 2021

APNU+AFC Members of Parliament (MPs) on Friday called for a thorough investigation of the Region Nine Regional Executive Officer Karl Singh’s shooting of a woman.

During an APNU+AFC’s press conference yesterday, a number of women MPs from the coalition took the opportunity to condemn the shooting, which the police have labelled accidental based on statements it has received.

β€œI wish to condemn the actions of the Regional Executive Officer of Region Nine,” said Natasha Singh-Lewis, the opposition MP with responsibility for women affairs.

Singh-Lewis further stated that while the most recent reports suggest that the incident, which occurred on Tuesday, was accidental, the perpetrator of an act of that nature should not be given a free pass.

β€œIt is not for the police to decide whether the shooting was accidental or not but it is for the court to decide that. It is important that we focus on the facts of this case and call it out for what it is,” she said.

The MP added that she had seen reports of the victim’s mother stating that she observed other signs of physical abuse on her upper body.

β€œI join with my colleagues to call for a fair investigation… free from political interference, free from all interferences,” Singh-Lewis stressed.

Former minister Dawn Hastings-Williams stated that the opposition and more specifically the women parliamentarians of the APNU+AFC have taken a strong stand to condemn the incident. She then called on the numerous women’s organisations and the women parliamentarians from both sides to speak up and stand against all acts of violence.

Hastings-Williams said during the press conference that she was told that the victim’s mother was told that the gun went off and as a result she was shot in the abdomen.

Against this background, she said there are a number of questions that need to be answered as it relates to the incident. β€œI’m calling on the Guyana police force to do what is right, investigate and give us a true report. I am calling for justice…,” she said.

Meanwhile, the MPs called on the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security to assist and provide the victim and her family with psychosocial support.

On Thursday the police had said the file on the investigation into the shooting of the 25-year-old woman by Singh had been sent to the Chambers of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for legal advice.

Singh, who had been in police custody since his arrest after the shooting on Tuesday, was on Thursday placed on bail.

The police in a statement on Wednesday had said that around 11 pm on Tuesday at the Commercial Zone, Lethem, Singh and the woman were in a motor vehicle belonging to Singh, when he allegedly shot her in the abdomen.

He took her to the Lethem Regional Hospital, where she immediately underwent surgery. According to police, Singh was subsequently arrested and escorted to the Lethem Police Station where his licensed firearm was seized and lodged.

The victim’s father had told Stabroek News that Singh offered to take the woman and two others home. They were all under the influence of alcohol, he said.

They agreed and the woman jumped into the front seat of the vehicle while the other two sat in the rear. She said that Singh mumbled something about someone removing his gun from the car. He then bent to retrieve it and while cocking it, allegedly shot her.

β€œI’m calling on the Guyana police force to do what is right, investigate and give us a true report. I am calling for justice…,” she said.

This is hilarious, instead of calling/finance a commission of inquiry to investigate, this PNC idiot place her confidence in the hungry belly GPF fried rice police. She is either clueless or cheap to not know the police favor the better fried rice provider, regardless if you are coolie, blacks PPP or PNC doesn’t matter. She’s gona certainly get what she paid for...Hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

β€œI’m calling on the Guyana police force to do what is right, investigate and give us a true report. I am calling for justice…,” she said.

This is hilarious, instead of calling/finance a commission of inquiry to investigate, this PNC idiot place her confidence in the hungry belly GPF fried rice police. She’s gona certainly get what she paid for...Hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Commission of Inquiry for this?  You've got to be nuts--that explains the constant maniacal laughter.

@Totaram posted:

Commission of Inquiry for this?  You've got to be nuts--that explains the constant maniacal laughter.

Do you really believe that the Guyana police would tied them hungry belly, resist all that fried rice and truly investigate what really happened?
Oh I forgot. yuh probably would cause ...Yuh brain fart na gat cure...Hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Last edited by sachin_05
@Spugum posted:

He's not too bright

Calling black people hungry belly reveals his gutter mentality. He reaches desperately for relevance here but demnation has been his reward

Trying to play the race card huh? Nice try. But that would not work, go shake yuh battie and come again cause I said GPF hungry belly police which last time I check has not only coolies and blacks but also putagee and buckman....

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

Trying to play the race card huh? That would not work, go shake yuh battie and come again cause I said GPF hungry belly police which last time I check has not only coolies and blacks but also putagee and buckman....

Lie! Yuh like calling black people hungry belly. That's fine but don't pretend, be what you want to be

Last edited by Spugum
@sachin_05 posted:

Do you really believe that the Guyana police would tied them hungry belly, resist all that fried rice and truly investigate what really happened?
Oh I forgot. yuh probably would cause ...Yuh brain fart na gat cure...Hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

You mammy had a brain fart when she mek you.  She and you wud a been betta off if she had a real fart.  But, wait a minute, she get you--same thing.

@Spugum posted:

You seem fond of the acoustics that emanates from your empty skull whenever you burst into "manical laughter"

I have an idea that could vastly improve your status  here, you don’t have to try so hard to tell people daily how smart you are. All you have to do is change your name and come again. I suggest you change it to β€œshake batty”. It’s a niche you single handedly created that should give you the respect you truly deserve....try it..

@sachin_05 posted:

This is hilarious, instead of calling/finance a commission of inquiry to investigate, this PNC idiot place her confidence in the hungry belly GPF fried rice police. She is either clueless or cheap to not know the police favor the better fried rice provider, regardless if you are coolie, blacks PPP or PNC doesn’t matter. She’s gona certainly get what she paid for...Hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

Hastings-Williams  an Amerindian woman chose to belong to the Political Party ,does that make her an "idiot" ? the statement is considered to be condescending from the johnny come lately.

@sachin_05 posted:

Your post doesn’t even make sense to reply to. You suck at even being vulgar...yuh brain fart na gat cure....

Let me explain--you don't understand because you are chupid.  You are chupidee Sachin.  I have told you before you shouldn't mention brain in your posts because you don't have one.  Regarding the post you seemingly don't understand--your mammy should have planted a banana tree instead of making you.  You are a waste of space.

@sachin_05 posted:

I have an idea that could vastly improve your status  here, you don’t have to try so hard to tell people daily how smart you are. All you have to do is change your name and come again. I suggest you change it to β€œshake batty”. It’s a niche you single handedly created that should give you the respect you truly deserve....try it..

Stop crying

The cesspool on the other side needs your special talents, "manical laughter" and all

@Django posted:

Hastings-Williams  an Amerindian woman chose to belong to the Political Party ,does that make her an "idiot" ? the statement is considered to be condescending from the johnny come lately.

For the record, for the past two years i have lived in Guyana more than in the US. I know from experience that GPF is corrupt from top down, every one has a price - from a fried for minor infraction to several heads cows or millions in cash.

Pnc was just to indicate which party this individual is rallying to gain political mileage for. Her request/demand to Guyana police to tasking them β€œto do what’s right” makes her an idiot to pretend ignorance as to how the GPF works. She can be coolie, black,putagee, chinee, buck or ppp, whatever, that doesn’t change the known facts...

@Prashad posted:

In high crime areas or if a person is in a dangerous situation a person may put a bullet in the chamber so as to be ready. I don't like doing that because guns can be unpredictable machines

Something tells me where this occured is not a high crime area, he probably just wanted to show off lil bit.

The mother mentioned marks on the daughter's body which could indicate something smells  a tad fishy with the gunman's story. Then again, two others were also in the vehicle so why have they said nothing?

@sachin_05 posted:

For the record, for the past two years i have lived in Guyana more than in the US. I know from experience that GPF is corrupt from top down, every one has a price - from a fried for minor infraction to several heads cows or millions in cash.

Pnc was just to indicate which party this individual is rallying to gain political mileage for.

Her request/demand to Guyana police to tasking them β€œto do what’s right” makes her an idiot to pretend ignorance as to how the GPF works.

She can be coolie, black,putagee, chinee, buck or ppp, whatever, that doesn’t change the known facts...

So what ?  Hasting Williams have a right to choose just like the people of other political parties.

Total nonsense , Hasting Williams asking the Police "to do what's right"  regardless of the Police corrupt behavior.

You are condescending to Hasting Williams an Amerindian Woman ,typical of johnny come lately ,high and mighty. You are no different than Region 9 REO and even a past PPP - President who disrespects the Amerindian people.

Region Nine Executive Officer sent on leave pending outcome of shooting probe

in Crime, News, Politics Monday, 26 July 2021, 13:23 0 Comments, Last Updated on Monday, 26 July 2021, 13:23 by Denis Chabrol, Source - https://demerarawaves.com/2021...e-of-shooting-probe/

https://demerarawaves.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/karl_singh-234x300.jpg

Karl Singh

Region Nine Executive Officer, Karl Singh was Monday sent on leave and he has already been replaced until the investigation into the shooting of a woman in his vehicle is concluded, sources said.

Police sources in Lethem have said investigators are awaiting advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP). The law enforcement agency officer said the vehicle in which 25-year old Gladys Emmanuel was shot on July 21 was still in the police compound as part of the ongoing probe.

Singh was sent on leave, based on instructions from the Ministry of Local Government. Already, his replacement, Deolall Rooplall, has been flown into Lethem, the administrative and commercial capital of Region Nine (Upper Takatu-Upper Essequibo).

Back in 2013,  The Region Four (Demerara-Mahaica) Council had recommended that Mr. Rooplall be fired from the post of Regional Executive Officer but Central Government had refused to do so.

https://demerarawaves.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/deolall-rooplall.jpg

Deolall Rooplall

Initially, police had treated the shooting of Emmanuel as an β€œattempted murder” but after investigations had scaled down the incident to one of accidental discharge of Mr. Singh’s firearm.

The incident had occurred at about 1 AM on July 21, 2021 on the Lethem Main Access Road near Kanuku Lodge.

Ms. Emmanuel, a pharmacist in  Lethem,  underwent emergency surgery for the gunshot wound.

Female parliamentarians of the opposition A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change had expressed outrage at the shooting and had called for an independent probe as well as the sending of Mr. Singh on leave.