East Demerara Estates

Wales

251 +   [124 ,Court Challenge on Employment]

Total

4,763    + 124 = 4,887

House approves $1.93 billion for sugar severance

-over 1,600 workers to get full amount by end of month

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...for-sugar-severance/

The Minister was however clearly able to state that a total of 4,763 sugar workers have been severed. Of that number 1,851 are from the Skeldon Estate, 1,181 from Rose Hall, 1,480 from the East Demerara Estate and 251 from Wales. He later indicated that as of December 29th, all sick-leave and overtime payments have been paid to the workers while sickness benefits and holiday with pay would be paid after the first crop.

Challenged by opposition parliamentarian Komal Chand, who is also President of the sugar union GAWU, as to whether the number of severed workers from Wales was not 375 rather than 251, Holder noted that the 375 was not referenced as that matter was currently sub judice (before the court).

How many more dependent businesses were affected? 100 retrenched workers from a village can bring hardship to the people of that village. Regardless of the numbers, this was payback. Granger was hellbent on showing the PPP supporters how nasty he can get.

In 1992 , GUYSUCO operations ,  8 sugar factories with  28,081 employees. That amount was reduced in 1998 to 18,873 employees.

Can you tell what happened here ?

How many more dependent businesses were affected? 100 retrenched workers from a village can bring hardship to the people of that village. Regardless of the numbers, this was payback. Granger was hellbent on showing the PPP supporters how nasty he can get.

In 1992 , GUYSUCO operations ,  8 sugar factories with  28,081 employees. That amount was reduced in 1998 to 18,873 employees.

Can you tell what happened here ?

Maybe they moved to Merika and Kyannaduh. If that is what happened then it is fine as that would be their will. To kick them out in the middle of the week Christmas season is heartless and calling it redundancy is disgraceful especially since the Coalition created two minister jobs when one was more than enough. And to add insult to injury, they didn’t pay them their severance for a whole year and only did so after Jagdeo juk the NCV up their asses.

Over 7000 GUYSUCO workers were laid off and NOT 4763 as claimed by Django. Those 4763 were left to be paid their full severance and the national assembly approves of this, hence that number appears. All these information is on the internet, it is pathetic for someone like Django to ignore the true numbers and posted only what he wants, but we know he ignore the true numbers by trying to prove Jagdeo is wrong on the numbers of workers out of a job. 

In another thread, Django calimed he paid to get Figures from Guysuco website, but it didn't prove anything to justified what he paid for,  this esteem brother would have better donate his paid guysuco subscription to one of those starving Guysuco family.  

According to this news clip. 

However, back in January, Government secured $.93 billion from the National Assembly to pay some of the ex-sugar workers from those three estates.

After two long years of waiting for their severance, some 460 retrenched workers attached to the Wales Estate will finally receive their payments before the end of this year as the National Assembly on Wednesday evening approved $2.4 billion in severance payments for over 4000, Wales, Berbice and East Demerara sugar workers who were sacked when Government closed several sugar factories.

The monies were approved when all 62 Members of the Parliament on Wednesday evening voted in favour of $3 billion in supplementary funds under the Agriculture Ministry’s current expenditures.

Government requested and received approval for a total of $7.5 billion in supplementary funds. This includes $4 billion in current estimates and $3.4 million in capital.

Of the entire supplementary funds, the Agriculture Ministry requested $3,051,000,000 of which $2.451 billion is to meet final severance payments to some 4733 former workers of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo).

In responding to questions from Opposition Parliamentarian Gillian Burton, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder disclosed that the monies being requested include funds to also pay the retrenched Wales workers.

Wales ended operations in December 2016 and some 375 workers who refused to take up employment at Uitvlugt, West Coast Demerara, remained without severance payments, putting hundreds of families on the breadline and causing economic crisis to surrounding communities.

The workers have been taking to the streets, protesting for their severance to be paid.

According to Minister Holder, a total of 460 workers from Wales are to get their severance monies.

However, despite being asked repeatedly by Opposition MPs, Burton, Komal Chand and Gail Teixeira, about when these payments will be made, the Agriculture Minister could only assure that the payments will be made before the end of the year.

“[They] certainly will get it before the end of the year,” Holder posited, while adding that as soon as the money is available after approval by the House, efforts will be made to disburse same to the dismissed sugar workers.

When the supplementary request was put up for voting, the Opposition members were silent when Speaker, Dr Barton Scotland asked if any oppose the additional monies. However, the Government’s side called for a division, which was allowed, the People’s Progressive Party MPs having to voting “yes”’ to the Government’s requests.

On Wednesday the opposition called for immediate disbursement of payments. However, despite asking the Government several times about date for payments none was forthcoming.

Only last month, President David Granger assured a gathering at Rose Hall, Corentyne, that those dismissed sugar workers will receive the balance of their severance payment when Parliament comes out of recess. The announcement came after months of protest by the workers, who are facing difficulties as a result of the closure of sugar estates.

As part of its plans to bring the heavily indebted and cash strap GuySuCo back into profitability and efficiency, Government fired thousands of workers in an effort to downsize the sector leaving a mere three-estates – Albion, Blairmont and Uitvlugt – in operation.

The Skeldon, Rose Hall and East Demerara (Enmore) estates were closed in December 2017 with no severance payments made to the workers. However, back in January, Government secured $.93 billion from the National Assembly to pay some of the ex-sugar workers from those three estates.

Those dismissed workers whose severance packages are $500,000 or less were paid in full by January 31, 2018, while those entitled more than that amount were only paid 50 per cent, with the remaining half to be paid in the second half of the year.

As such, since July, these workers and their families have been looking forward to the second tranche of the severance money from Government.(Vahnu Manikchand)

These are 5 thousand starving families.

The workers received their severance pay ,hopefully the used to turn around their lives.

A whole year later bai. And only after the Coalition lost the NCV.

January 20 2018

The National Assembly yesterday approved nearly $2 billion to facilitate full severance by the end of January for a little more than 1,600 of the 4,763 sugar workers that have been made redundant.

These workers represent those sent home by the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) who are entitled to severance payouts of $500,000 or less.

The other workers will receive 50% of their severance as previously promised by the APNU+AFC government.

A total of $2.431 billion is set to be paid by January 31st, with an additional $2 billion set to be paid by December 31st.

January’s payments will be made possible by the passage yesterday of the first financial paper of the year, a supplementary provision first laid for $1.75 billion but which after amendments were passed by the National Assembly was increased to $1.931 billion.

Well here you go.

These are 5 thousand starving families.

The workers received their severance pay ,hopefully the used to turn around their lives.

A whole year later bai. And only after the Coalition lost the NCV.

January 20 2018

The National Assembly yesterday approved nearly $2 billion to facilitate full severance by the end of January for a little more than 1,600 of the 4,763 sugar workers that have been made redundant.

These workers represent those sent home by the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) who are entitled to severance payouts of $500,000 or less.

The other workers will receive 50% of their severance as previously promised by the APNU+AFC government.

A total of $2.431 billion is set to be paid by January 31st, with an additional $2 billion set to be paid by December 31st.

January’s payments will be made possible by the passage yesterday of the first financial paper of the year, a supplementary provision first laid for $1.75 billion but which after amendments were passed by the National Assembly was increased to $1.931 billion.

Well here you go.

Did they make the payment in January? Regarding the payment in December, who can wait a whole year before being able to buy a loaf of rice flour bread for their family?

Over 7000 GUYSUCO workers were laid off and NOT 4763 as claimed by Django.

Those 4763 were left to be paid their full severance and the national assembly approves of this, hence that number appears.

All these information is on the internet, it is pathetic for someone like Django to ignore the true numbers and posted only what he wants, but we know he ignore the true numbers by trying to prove Jagdeo is wrong on the numbers of workers out of a job. 

Lying Skunk !! good at that !!

In another thread, Django calimed he paid to get Figures from Guysuco website, but it didn't prove anything to justified what he paid for,  this esteem brother would have better donate his paid guysuco subscription to one of those starving Guysuco family. 

Show the number of Sugar Workers severed, while you are at it , how many workers was employed by GUYSUCO at the end of 2016.

The figures posted was the number employed by GUYSUCO ,stated in their yearly reports ,from 1999 the employment figures are no longer stated. why ?

Bai Django. I am glad I don’t work for you because I cyant afford to wait a whole year for my paycheck. I got mortgage, cyar payments, food and clothes bills along with other financial obligations. 😀

The workers didn't had to wait a year for full severance payment. Please read the post .

The post stated that about a third of those made redundant will be paid in January. The other two thirds in December. There is no confirmation that the payment was actually made in January but last year we talked about no payments made before the passage of the NCV

The Coalition was saying last year that they did not have the money to make the payment so I am pretty certain the payment wasn’t made in January 2018.

Ex-sugar workers find holiday cheer with final severance pay-out

December 01 2018

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...l-severance-pay-out/

And that is what I have been saying all day. The payment came after the NCV. I need to make a correction. It came after the Coalition was walloped at the LGE. Until then, the Coalition MP were eating $900k lunches while me cane cutta families wuz starving.

The Coalition was saying last year that they did not have the money to make the payment so I am pretty certain the payment wasn’t made in January 2018.

December 01 2018

And that is what I have been saying all day. The payment came after the NCV. I need to make a correction. It came after the Coalition was walloped at the LGE. Until then, the Coalition MP were eating $900k lunches while me cane cutta families wuz starving.

December 1 2018

The payment of the remaining 50% of severance to ex-sugar workers, which commenced around the country on Thursday, will help to ensure a “merry Christmas,” some proclaimed yesterday after receiving their cheques.

In October, the National Assembly approved over $2 billion in supplementary funds for the payment of the remaining severance to over 2,000 sugar workers who were laid off by the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo).

Those 4763 were left to be paid their full severance and the national assembly approves of this, hence that number appears.

All these information is on the internet, it is pathetic for someone like Django to ignore the true numbers and posted only what he wants, but we know he ignore the true numbers by trying to prove Jagdeo is wrong on the numbers of workers out of a job. 

Show the number of Sugar Workers severed, while you are at it , how many workers was employed by GUYSUCO at the end of 2016.

The figures posted was the number employed by GUYSUCO ,stated in their yearly reports ,from 1999 the employment figures are no longer stated. why ?

You are a BIGGER SKUNK you Fcking JACKASS. Remove that mask you are wearing moron, you are a  hypocrite. no wonder most members slam you skonk, you pile of shit

You fcking moron quoted Jagdeo name on the 7000 workers, now you running with PNC maths to change the numbers, you fcking dunce.

December 01 2018

Bhai we both know what he is trying to do... try deh with he if you have time to waste. 

You are a BIGGER SKUNK you Fcking JACKASS. Remove that mask you are wearing moron, you are a  hypocrite. no wonder most members slam you skonk, you pile of shit

You fcking moron quoted Jagdeo name on the 7000 workers, now you running with PNC maths to change the numbers, you fcking dunce.

That's all you can do, typical PPP-ite ,when confronted with facts.

Lying thinking most people buying to it, any way keep on fooling the East Indians, they will revolt one day , it's not too far away.

Haul you ass , you are no match for Django.

My neighbour has a lil boy about 10 years old can do a better maths on his own.

Please don't buy that shit what DJ is told to post, it's coming from the rear end.

This fella is on GNI and Facebook to spread Fake News, look as election approaches he will get more nasty." Moscow Django".

You can help out with the correct figure.

What's posted are from no one , it's all my own.

My neighbour has a lil boy about 10 years old can do a better maths on his own. Please don't buy that shit what DJ is told to post, it's coming from the rear end.

This fella is on GNI and Facebook to spread Fake News, look as election approaches he will get more nasty." Moscow Django".

He selling PNC fake news bottled with snake 🐍 oil. 

My neighbour has a lil boy about 10 years old can do a better maths on his own. Please don't buy that shit what DJ is told to post, it's coming from the rear end.

He selling PNC fake news bottled with snake 🐍 oil. 

Ha..ha..you show up ,was going to give a shout out on GNI.

Bai me deh hay. Me peeping in, Na worry. That’s nice of you though. Lots of American relatives dropping in for Chrismuss. Me give dem rass Dhall and Rice. Me don’t drink either so dem mouth rass dry. 

We had a nice time though. Great to spend the holidays with family and friends. No political discussions were allowed. 

Typical PPP - ite... thats goooood, we are still better than the APNU/ AFC hooligan SKUNK... you stupid fool. 

There is a difference between facts and fabrication, and YOU are the king of fabrication . 

Lying thinking most people buying to it, any way keep on fooling the East Indians, they will revolt one day , it's not too far away.

I have no beef if i am no match with you, and I NEVER match myself with any one,  indirectly, you admitted the GNI crew who slams your stupid ass down are better than  your HYPOCRISY  ..

self praise are for low lifers 

Typical PPP - ite... thats goooood, we are still better than the APNU/ AFC hooligan SKUNK... you stupid fool. 

There is a difference between facts and fabrication, and YOU are the king of fabrication . 

I have no beef if i am no match with you, and I NEVER match myself with any one,  indirectly, you admitted the GNI crew who slams your stupid ass down are better than  your HYPOCRISY  ..

Don't care what you say  , had some respect for you , all gone.

When asked to debunked what presented, as usual throwing fits , cussing, calling names ..etc.

I will continue confront the LYING SKUNKS, any day any time.

Don't care what you say , had some respect for you , all gone.

When asked to debunked what presented, as usual throwing fits , cussing, calling names ..etc

I will respect anyone views irrespective of political views  but NOT when they are a HYPOCRITE.

and you are no saints when it comes to cussing... again you fail as a "pastor" for self praise. 

Don't care what you say  , had some respect for you , all gone.

When asked to debunked what presented, as usual throwing fits , cussing, calling names ..etc.

Look at u. All alone against dem PPP bais. Putting up a good fight tho. Gaffuh give lil credit. Not like the adda day when lil pressure brace yuh and yuh want quit. Keep on trucking my good fellow.

 I will respect anyone views irrespective of political views  but NOT when they are a HYPOCRITE.

and you are no saints when it comes to cussing... again you fail as a "pastor" for self praise. 

You surely don't know how to apply the word.

Show where on a daily basis , i cuss posters ,calling them names.

For the record when i say no match for Django , i am speaking of knowledge ,not boasting on material gains.

You surely don't know how to apply the word.

Show where on a daily basis , i cuss posters ,calling them names.

For the record when i say no match for Django , i am speaking of knowledge ,not boasting on material gains.

LOL . 

Bai Sheik, Django is a tough warrior. Only problem is he wasting he talents fighting fuh de wrong side. 😀

Is this true Django? Did the PPP hurt u in any way mek yuh batting for the odda team?

In the 70's was back stabbed  by affiliated organization , was a blessing in disguise. My supporters went went crazy ,i calm them down,told them don't worry i will handle the issue.Quit working in the sugar industry and was on my way to success in a different field. if not for the back stabbing ,probably i would have  worked and climb the ladder in the Sugar Industry. I still supported the PPP all the years ,until the bicycle riders get greedy. It was time to withdraw my support , would not give back my support under the current leadership.