September 25 ,2021

Features / Columnists, Freddie Kissoon

Kaieteur News – My interest is in the various disciplines that make up knowledge centered on history. From 14 years old I loved reading history. It was therefore not accidental that my entry into university was to study history.There is a different feeling a historian has about his/her country than any other profession. There is always the temptation of the history student to put down what he/she sees so it can become history. Someone like the surgeon, accountant, economist, banker, etc., is not driven by that relentless urge.

When I received an email last week about my columns from US-based Guyanese economist, Dr. Tarron Khemraj, and what he went on to state, I replied asking permission to quote.

I know the young social scientists and historians of Guyana should know these things and these things should be part of the recording of Guyanese history.On reading what Dr. Khemraj wrote about Khemraj Ramjattan my mind flashed back to my conversation on the lawns of the Arthur Chung Conference Centre one night with young politician, Kian Jabour from the political party, ANUG. This is the third occasion I am making reference to the event. I told young Jabour that because of my age, I would know negative and uninspiring things about prominent people who this society thinks highly of.

When I read Dr. Khemraj’s email, I know there were things to be published. I never joined a political party so I could never have been a threat to any leader. I am essentially an anarchist in the philosophical sense so I could never be a successful organisational animal.
I long suspected that Ramjattan was not comfortable with his high profile Indian colleagues in the AFC’s leadership, especially Gerhard Ramsaroop. I was an outsider contributing to the dialectics, which had nothing to do with party politics but everything to do with love of country. I chose to help the AFC over the PNC and WPA for one fundamental reason; it was more multi-racial.

After the moral collapse of the AFC when it went into government and its support for electoral criminality, I thought I would do a column on Ramjattan’s insecurity because I saw it. He was always in confrontation with top Indian names in the AFC but got along excellently with his African colleagues including Raphael Trotman with whom he had tempestuous quarrels in 2011. Trotman was one half of the leaders of the AFC and not seen as a competitor to Ramjattan. The Indian leaders in the AFC were.After doing an interview with Rajendra Bissessar, in which he intoned that Ramjattan wanted to chop down every high profile Indian personality in the AFC (see my column of August 26), I decided to analyse Ramjattan’s relation with these Indian figures (see my column of September 2).

Here is what Dr. Khemraj wrote, “It is true that Khemraj feared Indian competition in the AFC. There was very unfair and unfortunate treatment of Gerhard. He also had a bitter falling out with Sase. It is true that Khemraj protected his turf. In 2010 Khemraj and his very wealthy cousin (Dr. Somar) from New Jersey interviewed me in a hotel suite in Orlando. They wanted to make sure I would not challenge Khemraj. Challenging and undermining Khemraj was the last thing I had in mind. During the interview, they asked several times what I wanted. I thought it was a crazy question because the AFC would not win the election.”

I write these things because there are gaps that must be filled. We have seen a constant outpouring of condemnations of the PPP and the PNC the past 70 years. The paradigm we used to study Guyanese politics and have been using has to be replaced. It has become outdated because of dialectical currents that took us to 2011 when the PPP lost a majority and in 2015 when the AFC and WPA acquired state power.Researchers then need to focus on the changing nature of Guyanese politics since 2011. The configurations, permutations and variable have changed. Guyanese politics have become more dangerous and more unpredictable because the mainstream players – PNC and PPP – have been sharing space with other political parties whose capacity to shape events have led to more deleterious effects.

The AFC and WPA have played no small part in taking us to the uncertain stage we are at. It is for this reason I took trenchant umbrage at the implausible analysis of Drs. Alissa Trotz and Arif Bulkan who wrote a long letter during the election fiasco blaming the PPP and PNC for where we are today. Nothing was said about the AFC and WPA that were in government for five years.

two grown men gossiping

mini-skirt-and-lipstick-blowing-kisses, exposed in holey red lace panty flashin at ppp mouthpiece freddie

yuh gon get ali size 10 shoe soon. yuh like a good kicking, don't you. lil prostitute

lol

Last edited by Spugum
@Spugum posted:

two grown men gossiping

mini-skirt-and-lipstick-blowing-kisses, exposed in holey red lace panty flashin at ppp mouthpiece freddie

yuh gon get ali size 10 shoe soon. yuh like a good kicking, don't you. lil prostitute

lol

Gurl yuh know all yuh ways and does think other people like perform and flounce up like yu

One of de worse thing to happen to Guyana was to lose Gerhard. Aluh AFC souptunists...Spugum...muss always thank Khemraj for dat. Dat man has so many Jaganlike features but without de unrealistic commie agenda. Anyway...Freddie didnt know de ASCRIA descendants in AFC was against Khemraj for 2011. It was dem ROAR bais (and Sase who was not ROAR) who back him up. Khemraj was a good leader for 2011. Ramaaya (old ROAR man) helped a lot and bring in more Berbice vote. 2011 change history and give souptunists like Spugum wan shot for powah. Dem pan-Africanists like CaribJ and dry-out Guana would never say that. For pan-Africanists...30000 Indos didnt vote for de coalition. Lol. Dem does be on FB and here on GNI projecting dem racism pon others

The voters in Guyana do not consider political talent, leaders are their faces. In order for Gerhard to get to the leadership, it would have been difficult. The AFC was a split party-Blacks were pro-pnc and anti anybody who is not black.

Breaking news:Khemraj told Freddie that Khemraj and his cousin interviewed him in Orlando.   They wanted to know what Khemraj wanted.  Why is this important?  Maybe he wanted a life time supply of Kapadulla .  Freddie makes an easy living writing mainly crap on a daily basis.  If he wants a really big story he should investigate Irfaan Ali's hoodwinking of UWI and the role of some unprincipled academics in the fraud. 

@seignet posted:

The voters in Guyana do not consider political talent, leaders are their faces. In order for Gerhard to get to the leadership, it would have been difficult. The AFC was a split party-Blacks were pro-pnc and anti anybody who is not black.

There were too many factions or interest groups. In TO, there was the Muslim group. They abandon the AFC to support Ali for president.

@Totaram posted:

Breaking news:Khemraj told Freddie that Khemraj and his cousin interviewed him in Orlando.   They wanted to know what Khemraj wanted.  Why is this important?  Maybe he wanted a life time supply of Kapadulla .  Freddie makes an easy living writing mainly crap on a daily basis.  If he wants a really big story he should investigate Irfaan Ali's hoodwinking of UWI and the role of some unprincipled academics in the fraud.

Lol! Since yuh know bout de academics why doan you write about it in public using yuh real name?

@Totaram posted:

There might be more and Freddie goh release it later? After all yuh seh he has to write daily

after so many names, can he recall his real name.

I doan know why these chaps renaming demselves so regular. Dem opinions never changes. Exposed after in a short while.

Dem is smart people wid no ideas of moving from the systems we currently have.

Unless, people find the legal way to challenge Jagdeo's way of governance, they might as well give in. Throw in the towel.

Only the PNC is out there to mount the challenge, but not their present approach. The party needs to re-create itself. Very difficult for them to shed the blackness. It will bury them unless they change.

Being Black in Guyana is dead, Guyanese should be their branding.

Lol! Since yuh know bout de academics why doan you write about it in public using yuh real name?

Me name Totaram an me real.  Me uncle is Tularam fram tapside. You know am?

@seignet posted:

after so many names, can he recall his real name.

I doan know why these chaps renaming demselves so regular. Dem opinions never changes. Exposed after in a short while.

Dem is smart people wid no ideas of moving from the systems we currently have.

Unless, people find the legal way to challenge Jagdeo's way of governance, they might as well give in. Throw in the towel.

Only the PNC is out there to mount the challenge, but not their present approach. The party needs to re-create itself. Very difficult for them to shed the blackness. It will bury them unless they change.

Well yes--until Guyanese start being Guyanese there will be problem.  There are no Indians or Africans in Guyana (except those visiting ).  There are Guyanese in Guyana.  As an aside: some of the biggest advocates for Indianness in Guyana don't know a thing about India.  Even Totaram and his Uncle Tularam from tapside know more about India than the Indian rights activists.

And I know more about Africans and Afro-Guyanese culture than Blacks in Guyana. I write bout it whenever I can. Sometimes, I write only for Redux as a rebuttal to his false notions of Seignet.

God! give me patience wid him.

@seignet posted:

Save that advice for your Indo KKK friends who long wanted their separate country, away from blacks. Blacks identify with being GUYANESE. Indians like you want to make Guyana into your own little India where blacks, which a.k.a "the scourge of the earth" to alyuh, do not exist.

And the Indians who want to identify as Guyanese are considered "lesser Indians" by the likes of you.

2011 change history and give souptunists like Spugum wan shot for powah.

from the very first day i started posting here i've been call all sorts of names. so far I've been call ronan, iguana, pnc man, sherod and now an afc member by idle clowns trying to figure out who i am. obsessed with the messenger and not the message

listen carefully. i'm posting here not because i have nothing better to do, but because of the overt racism and blatant lies posted here about black people by some posters. i believe ronan, iguana, caribj and others were/are here for that very reason. to confront racists and their lies

i dislike many of the current leaders in the ppp and the coalition but i wouldn't lie on them because of that

holey-red-lace-panty - i'm not sherod or a member of the afc. i chilling in guyana lil and seeing all them teefman living high on poor people money and it angers me. a young man was murdered in his home in front his wife and children, why you silent?

seignet - you're a notorious liar in my book. whether it's lies about african slaves, black people planning race war, black man gon rape indian women and the like, you are clearly up to no good as far as helping guyana become a just society. you talk about plans for race war; what about the murders of black people over the past year? what about justice for the henry boys, haresh singh and others? i will be a thorn in your side for the liar you are

Dem pan-Africanists like CaribJ and dry-out Guana would never say that. For pan-Africanists...30000 Indos didnt vote for de coalition. Lol. Dem does be on FB and here on GNI projecting dem racism pon others

It was the PAN AFRICANIST Dr. Walter Rodney who fought Burnham and lost his life in the process, leading up to world powers condemnation and the eventual Jagan presidency.

This is how yuh hero, the politically impotent lame Jagan became President, even though in his cowardice he never openly supported Rodney. Coward.

Suh tink about dat befo yuh run yuh mout about "pan africanist" and look up what the term really means.

@seignet posted:

And I know more about Africans and Afro-Guyanese culture than Blacks in Guyana. I write bout it whenever I can. Sometimes, I write only for Redux as a rebuttal to his false notions of Seignet.

God! give me patience wid him.

lol

It was the PAN AFRICANIST Dr. Walter Rodney who fought Burnham and lost his life in the process, leading up to world powers condemnation and the eventual Jagan presidency.

This is how yuh hero, the politically impotent lame Jagan became President, even though in his cowardice he never openly supported Rodney. Coward.

Suh tink about dat befo yuh run yuh mout about "pan africanist" and look up what the term really means.

it was david hinds and others - who they like to cuss and call racist - who were imprisoned for standing up to burnham dictatorship

@Spugum posted:

from the very first day i started posting here i've been call all sorts of names. so far I've been call ronan, iguana, pnc man, sherod and now an afc member by idle clowns trying to figure out who i am. obsessed with the messenger and not the message

listen carefully. i'm posting here not because i have nothing better to do, but because of the overt racism and blatant lies posted here about black people by some posters. i believe ronan, iguana, caribj and others were/are here for that very reason. to confront racists and their lies

i dislike many of the current leaders in the ppp and the coalition but i wouldn't lie on them because of that

holey-red-lace-panty - i'm not sherod or a member of the afc. i chilling in guyana lil and seeing all them teefman living high on poor people money and it angers me. a young man was murdered in his home in front his wife and children, why you silent?

seignet - you're a notorious liar in my book. whether it's lies about african slaves, black people planning race war, black man gon rape indian women and the like, you are clearly up to no good as far as helping guyana become a just society. you talk about plans for race war; what about the murders of black people over the past year? what about justice for the henry boys, haresh singh and others? i will be a thorn in your side for the liar you are

On Seignet, good. I enjoy a conversation. Decent, healthy or nasty I am in.

Are you hoping for me not to comment?

@Spugum posted:

it was david hinds and others - who they like to cuss and call racist - who were imprisoned for standing up to burnham dictatorship

Meh not saying David Hinds didnt oppose Burnham and was jailed, unlike dem PPP souptunists who got PNC facilitated scholarships to Soviet Union. Jagdoe got a job because of Hoyte. Hoyte give he a break at State Planning. He used de wuk to carry news to Jagan and that finance/economic illiterate woman Janet J thought he was financial wiz kid and mek he junior MOF and den Presi. De rest is history.

@Spugum posted:

Yes. Clive Thomas, Eusi Kwayana and a whole lot of black people, MANY lesser known ones who were fired from public sector jobs for their anti dictatorship sentiments and took a stand against the PNC.

It GALLS me, that these backwater, racist Indian pricks who were hidden in their racist enclaves in the backdams of Guyana, now have the temerity to openly insult black people, nay, victimize and openly discriminate against us.

These Indians never ask one question - WHY. Why did Hinds, Kwayana etc. who opposed Burnham now oppose the PPP. Why the sudden turn? These Indians never pause to think that it is because of the overt anti black racism espoused by the PPP and their supporters. Never occurs to them.

Yes. Clive Thomas, Eusi Kwayana and a whole lot of black people, MANY lesser known ones who were fired from public sector jobs for their anti dictatorship sentiments and took a stand against the PNC.

It GALLS me, that these backwater, racist Indian pricks who were hidden in their racist enclaves in the backdams of Guyana, now have the temerity to openly insult black people, nay, victimize and openly discriminate against us.

These Indians never ask one question - WHY. Why did Hinds, Kwayana etc. who opposed Burnham now oppose the PPP. Why the sudden turn? These Indians never pause to think that it is because of the overt anti black racism espoused by the PPP and their supporters. Never occurs to them.

Those people made choices of the times. They wanted better leadership which we still do not have.

You ought read Nelson Mandela.

Jagdoe got a job because of Hoyte. Hoyte give he a break at State Planning. He used de wuk to carry news to Jagan and that finance/economic illiterate woman Janet J thought he was financial wiz kid and mek he junior MOF and den Presi. De rest is history.

Yes, Hoyte, aka Desmond PERSAUD gave Jagdeo a start.

Earlier you wrote about Hoyte's black clothes police, who were bringing about law and order in the society (I don't know where you get the 50 killed piece from)

It was Hoyte who turned the economy around, under which Indian businesses grew (hence his nickname Persaud).

And after all this, alyuh turn pon he and treated him like a dog. Never wonder at why "slo fiyah mo fiyah" suddenly came about.

Look, black people in Guyana are a minority. And they KNOW that MANY (not all) of you Indians would like to see them driven into the Atlantic Ocean and never be a part of Guyana, a land their forefathers built.

They hear it everyday. They see it when they show up for jobs. And they read about it on the internet everyday.

Yes, Hoyte, aka Desmond PERSAUD gave Jagdeo a start.

Earlier you wrote about Hoyte's black clothes police, who were bringing about law and order in the society (I don't know where you get the 50 killed piece from)

It was Hoyte who turned the economy around, under which Indian businesses grew (hence his nickname Persaud).

And after all this, alyuh turn pon he and treated him like a dog. Never wonder at why "slo fiyah mo fiyah" suddenly came about.

Look, black people in Guyana are a minority. And they KNOW that MANY (not all) of you Indians would like to see them driven into the Atlantic Ocean and never be a part of Guyana, a land their forefathers built.

They hear it everyday. They see it when they show up for jobs. And they read about it on the internet everyday. This is what we see.

Hoyte turned de economy around for a handful of people. Perhaps he had to in order to get de debt write off...so cyant blame him for that. The point I mek is Burke was part of a govt that used extra judicial killings...so he not the credible crusader. If you go back to archive and count up you will get 50 people or little over. Guyana police was made foh repression and de brown/black people failed to reform it. And the present "businessmen" dem is mekkin it worse.

This is the first time I'm hearing about extra judicial killings of black people under Hoyte. I think yuh lie.

Suh when yuh lawl off in de private suite wid Sumdar, Whodar, Blowdar, and cack eye man, did yuh ask dem what the plans were fuh reforming the police force? Or alyuh was jus talkin perks?

This is the first time I'm hearing about extra judicial killings of black people under Hoyte. I think yuh lie.

Suh when yuh lawl off in de private suite wid Sumdar, Whodar, Blowdar, and cack eye man, did yuh ask dem what the plans were fuh reforming the police force? Or alyuh was jus talkin perks?

Hehehehe...where ignorance is bliss.... Hoytie was de fuss big extra judicial killer. It aint fit in wid yuh view...but dat is de historical FACT. You and Burkie muss get some student to go at National Libraray and go through de newspapers of dat era. Aluh will be shock . Or ask yuh bai Ogunseye.

The black clothes police use to catch the criminals, then tell dem to run.

Bam! Bam! bullets pan dem.

Moses play he part too in mekkin sure Gerhard didnt get an MP seat. Low quality coolie leaders of a bygone era...

Oiii Kapadulla Wood ---

Moses is on Mount Roraima desperately trying to part the Atlantic Ocean so that he can get to the North Pole.

I am so sorry Gerhard never got a good position with AFC, I woulda have a talk with him an see if he could put in a good word for let Iman be Minister within the Ministry of 'erb.

Lab..oops! Woody, was dah you I once saw in a pic at his place nyamin down on some curry an roti?

police killings are a fact all over the world. for example in the "good old usa" black people are killed at about 37 for every million anually - there are 42 million african americans in the usa

extra-judicial killings have to be kept in check. that's why they are recorded and monitored

hoyte was a "big extra-judicial killer"? where did you pull that claim from, yuh BT?

according to GHRA's figures from 1980 to 2001 police killings per year were almost 11 (the higest was 28 in 1997), 78% were black. police killings were the lowest in the years 1986 to 1992 - the highest 9 and lowest 3. this was the period hoyte was in charge

is this the kind of guess work you employ to write about guyana's economic situation? is it any wonder we're in trouble

lol

Last edited by Spugum