Happening Right Now!!!

It is 5:45pm in the Parliament... There was a lunch break at 4:00-5:10pm.

Currently, Charrandass Persaud MP; Basil Williams AG, MP; Khemraj Ramjattan Vice Preaident and Min of Public Security MP; Catherine Hughes Min of Public Telecommunication and Tourism MP; Winston Felix Min of Citizenship MP are all ASLEEP...

Very good going Honourable Ministers of the APNU+AFC....
Your bellies are full and you're fast asleep; the country is in racial turmoil and the economy nose-diving...

Update at 5:55 pm: George Norton Min of Public Health; Valerie Garrido-Lowe Junior Min Indigenous Peoples Affairs; Rupert Roopnarine Min of Education Culture Youth and Sport are now relaxing with their eyes closed.

Rupert apparently came from a medical facility just to vote because he has his IV drip port still strapped to his left hand..

Update at 5:55 pm: George Norton Min of Public Health; Valerie Garrido-Lowe Junior Min Indigenous Peoples Affairs; Rupert Roopnarine Min of Education Culture Youth and Sport are now relaxing with their eyes closed.

Rupert apparently came from a medical facility just to vote because he has his IV drip port still strapped to his left hand..

These people have transformed the National Assenbly into a GRAVEYARD. Like Grave. they are into a long sleep. I wish dem rass don't wake up. This is what they do to qualify for hefty raises.

I am guessing that the MPs are unfazed by comments that they are sleeping. Many MPs in many other countries sleep away happily in Parliament. In Guyana they really just have to ensure that they are awake to make their own presentations, to vote and to heckle sometimes. Most laws and motions need only a simple majority to be passed and they have that simple majority. They can get away with dozing at times in parliament. My concern is that those who are Ministers or hold public office deliver in their jobs.  

susan posted:

I am guessing that the MPs are unfazed by comments that they are sleeping. Many MPs in many other countries sleep away happily in Parliament. In Guyana they really just have to ensure that they are awake to make their own presentations, to vote and to heckle sometimes. Most laws and motions need only a simple majority to be passed and they have that simple majority. They can get away with dozing at times in parliament. My concern is that those who are Ministers or hold public office deliver in their jobs.  

Talking share crap here Susan.  Nobody should literally sleep on the job.  Not because the opposition is presenting means they have nothing good to say.  If that's the case Parliament is meaningless, which might be the picture the Association wants to project while still calling for social cohesion.

VVP posted:
susan posted:

Talking share crap here Susan.  Nobody should literally sleep on the job.  Not because the opposition is presenting means they have nothing good to say.  If that's the case Parliament is meaningless, which might be the picture the Association wants to project while still calling for social cohesion.

I say it the way it really is. They have a majority and they know that they have the power that goes with  that simple majority. Tell me, what good does  fretting over their sleeping in parliament do? Will it make them stay awake? I doubt it. I prefer to keep an eye on what they do in their regular jobs as Ministers and public officers. 

These are the people who will be moving our country forward.  They will be representing us in the international arena.  They will be negotiating million dollar contracts with the attorneys and management team of Exxon.  These are are the people who will be making decisions regarding health care and education for an entire country.  Take a good look!!  These are the low level type of people some of you wanted to run the beautiful country of Guyana.

VVP posted:
susan posted:

she is dough, sour dough!!

susan posted:
VVP posted:
susan posted:

I say it the way it really is. They have a majority and they know that they have the power that goes with  that simple majority. Tell me, what good does  fretting over their sleeping in parliament do? Will it make them stay awake? I doubt it. I prefer to keep an eye on what they do in their regular jobs as Ministers and public officers. 

What will happen if you are caught sleeping on the job? Why don't they sleep while they are driving their cars. What happens if you fall asleep working with or feeding a conveyor belt? I am truly amazed that some in this Board think that because it happens in other countries, that it is the right thing to do. When these idiots go in their graves they can sleep how long they want.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:
susan posted:

Base, make a right turn and exit Women's Abuse Avenue. Take the high road yonder, just past Tolerance Street. 

susan posted:
VVP posted:
susan posted:

As far as I am concerned they are still doing part of their regular jobs, as Ministers when they sit in the National Assembly. They do not give up or leave their Minsterial posts when they go to Parliament and sleep. 

Dondadda posted:
susan posted:
VVP posted:
susan posted:

As far as I am concerned they are still doing part of their regular jobs, as Ministers when they sit in the National Assembly. They do not give up or leave their Minsterial posts when they go to Parliament and sleep. 

Did President Ganger not give them enough money (Billions) to properly execute their jobs and responsibilities with honesty ?

The are making millions in their professions and still taking billions of taxpayers monies while they sleep in parliament and mock the taxpayers as if there is no accountability. 

No wonder the AFC/PNC MP's refuse to declare their incomes.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

Base, make a right turn and exit Women's Abuse Avenue. Take the high road yonder, just past Tolerance Street. 

Gilly, not sure what you getting at here.  This is not abuse or anything gender.  Stop overdoing it.  You, and others, make some sexually suggestive remarks to female poster as standard sport, baseman never does!  Being "dough" refers to someone who shapes or the moment!!  My saying that does not constitute anything insulting or abusive.

Dondadda posted:

Please excuse the quality of my pics.  These are real time pics from inside Parliament.  The Attorney General Basil Williams.

12798959_928792023907535_4472453656003411840_n[1]

Bibi, I suggest that the Guyana Newspapers print these photographs for the next day newspapers and keep a copy in their archives for release again 2020.

The young MPs are documenting this.  I have not seen the papers as yet but It's definitely on social media.  And this is not even the worse, yesterday they passed a Tax Amendment Bill with a 32 - 32 vote.  When the PPP guys start to fight with them then they brought in Roopnarine with his IV tube in his arm to tip the vote.  These are shameless, lawless people.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

Gilly, not sure what you getting at here.  This is not abuse or anything gender.  Stop overdoing it.  You, and others, make some sexually suggestive remarks to female poster as standard sport, baseman never does!  Being "dough" refers to someone who shapes or the moment!!  My saying that does not constitute anything insulting or abusive.

You think women should be molested for a raise. Shut yuh sahayak raas. Is why yuh referring to the lady as 'Sour Dough' eh Dough Boi?

Dondadda posted:

Please excuse the quality of my pics.  These are real time pics from inside Parliament.  The Attorney General Basil Williams.

12798959_928792023907535_4472453656003411840_n[1]

Bibi, I suggest that the Guyana Newspapers print these photographs for the next day newspapers and keep a copy in their archives for release again 2020.

The young MPs are documenting this.  I have not seen the papers as yet but It's definitely on social media.  And this is not even the worse, yesterday they passed a Tax Amendment Bill with a 32 - 32 vote.  When the PPP guys start to fight with them then they brought in Roopnarine with his IV tube in his arm to tip the vote.  These are shameless, lawless people.

Your disdain of the government is clouding your judgement to present the truth.

The Tax (Amendment) Bill 2016 was passed by acclamation last night even though the number of MPs on both sides of the House was equal.

Had a division been called for by the opposition, where each vote would have had to be registered, the bill would have failed as it required a majority. The failure would have been a major embarrassment to the government, which is nursing a slender one-seat majority. The bill pertains to tax measures announced in this year’s budget.

After the bill had been declared passed by the Speaker, there was an uproar as People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Chief Whip Gail Teixeira stated that the bill had been declared passed even though there were 32 votes on each side as Minister of Education, Dr Rupert Roopnaraine was not present at the point at which the question was put.

After the bill had been declared passed and Speaker Barton Scotland moved on to other business, Teixeira rose and said, “Sir, I need your help. When we took the vote just now there were 32 on this side and 32 on that side and therefore the bill was not carried. The bill was not passed because the vote between the two were equal.”

Leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo also stood up to address the matter. “In such a situation a vote was put, there was a yay and a nay. In the determination of the yay and the nay the Speaker had to make a judgment,” he said, stating that while a judgement was made there were equal numbers on both sides. “â€Ķ How could that judgement in this case be in favour of the government? If it was brought to our attention belated that the numbers on that side are equal to the numbers on our side, â€Ķit means that a vote which was equal, equally acknowledged on both sides has been ruled by the Speaker in favour of the government and I don’t know if we are in uncharted territories, we are in charted territories,” he added.

In reply, the Speaker said, “There was an opportunity to do then what we are doing now, all of us. It is not a question of voting in favour of the government, as we put it, it is a question of making a determination at the time it was made in one way or the other that is what happened,” Scotland said, adding that both sides of the House had the opportunity at the time to call for a division. “It seems to me somewhat convenient that at the end the declaration of something is then brought to the Speaker,” he added, stating that it was not convenient play but only fair play.

Django - do you realize that you arecontradicting yourself?  Read the article again!!!!!

I am not  "the bill was passed by acclamation"

The opposition lapsed in calling a division,they probably didn't pay attention that "Dr Rupert Roopnaraine was not present at the point at which the question was put."

"Had a division been called for by the opposition, where each vote would have had to be registered, the bill would have failed as it required a majority"