Ramroop’s Learning Channel contract will not be renewed

September 15, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

NCN will fill the gap– Govt.  

By Abena Rockcliffe The benefits that some have been able to reap from possible insider trading will soon come to an end. Instead of paying Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop $3.6M per month to facilitate the Guyana Learning Channel, the government has decided to make the necessary investment to establish a satellite uplink facility.

Bobby Ramroop

The Learning Channel is intended to reach all communities in Guyana by way of satellite. But, apparently that is not what is happening. One of the reasons given by Education Minister, Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, for not renewing the contract, is the need for wider reach. The Learning Channel is transmitted by TVG at a monthly cost of $3.6M. TVG is owned by Dr. ‘Bobby’ Ramroop – former President Bharrat Jagdeo’s best friend. The Learning Channel initiative came into being four years ago, during the tenure of then President Bharrat Jagdeo. Even though it was lauded as a good initiative, many criticized the fact that Dr. Ramroop was the sole financial beneficiary. Last evening, Minister of Education, Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, indicated that Dr. Ramroop’s contract comes to an end in December and his government has no intention of renewing it. Dr. Roopnarine said that the matter has already attracted the attention of Cabinet. The Minister noted that it was at the level of Cabinet that “strong recommendations” were made to discontinue the relationship with Ramroop and move towards self- sufficiency. When Ramroop was given the contract, his television station was the only one in the country with the capacity to facilitate the Learning Channel. Therefore, the previous government, to which he had close ties, placed the hefty contract in his hands. Politicians, who were sitting on the opposition side at that time, had opined that Ramroop benefitted from insider trading. A Partnership for National Unity’s (APNU) Joseph Harmon had said that Guyana needs to move its legislation forward to prosecute those who use privileged information for the unjust enrichment of their friends.

Minister of Education, Rupert Roopnarine

He had said that the granting of the contract by Jagdeo to his best friend is a clear indication that Ramroop was privy to Government’s plan to establish the Learning Channel and as such made the necessary investments in the relevant technologies to air it via satellite. Harmon had pointed out that this is called insider trading and it is a criminal act in most developed countries. Either way it was put, the fact was that only TVG could have facilitated the Learning Channel, but that will be no more. Dr. Roopnaraine said that his government will make all necessary arrangements for the National Communications Network (NCN) to host the Learning Channel. He said that the PPP’s reasoning for giving Ramroop such a contract is not holding well with the new administration. “I am sure that whatever system Mr. Ramroop was able to take advantage of, we will also be able to take advantage of. So I do not see this absence of technology as an obstacle; whatever mechanism or technology is required to ensure that the Learning Channel reaches where we want it to reach will be utilized.” The Minister noted that the Learning Channel is not being accessed all over the country as it was intended to. He added that NCN is already able to reach all across Guyana so he can see no problem, with NCN being able to fulfill this mandate once the other facilities are put in place. Dr. Roopnaraine had previously indicated that he would have reviewed the contract for the Learning Channel. He said that the Ministry would have been looking at the contract with an aim to cut long term cost. Dr. Roopnaraine added that his administration will prefer to have the Learning Channel function in such a way that it can be deemed a government asset as opposed to a rented facility. When Dr. Ramroop was given the contract, the then opposition—APNU and the Alliance For Change (AFC), the parties now in government—had lauded the Learning Channel as a good initiative, but had labeled the deal behind it as “sour”. The AFC criticized the arrangement for the project. AFC leader, Khemraj Ramjattan had likened the contracting of TVG to air the Learning Channel for $3.6M monthly, to the Sanata Complex deal authorized by Jagdeo. He said that though separate deals, their similarities appear to be a mirror reflection. The primary beneficiary of these two deals is Dr. Ramroop. And, in both instances, the deals were specifically designed to suit Ramroop, said Ramjattan. Ramjattan said that it was a move by Jagdeo to further enrich his close friend. According to the AFC leader, contracting TVG for this multi-million-dollar project is a perfect example of how the “favoured ones” benefitted under the then PPP/C Government. He said that the PPP/C should have invested in the necessary technologies for the Learning Channel instead of contracting a ‘privately owned’ television station. This is actually what is now being done.

The Learning Channel is transmitted by TVG at a monthly cost of $3.6M. TVG is owned by Dr. ‘Bobby’ Ramroop – former President Bharrat Jagdeo’s best friend. The Learning Channel initiative came into being four years ago, during the tenure of then President Bharrat Jagdeo. Even though it was lauded as a good initiative, many criticized the fact that Dr. Ramroop was the sole financial beneficiary.

This man Roopnarine does not know how Business is conducted.  It wouldn't cost much to retransmit the Learning channel to all parts of the country. But I believe that this is very vindictive of a man who is supposed to be neutral. 

Moses, Khemraj and Rupert are being used to destroy Indo Guyanese. 

Rama it appears that you are a individual who just sit type and post with out any reasoning or self interpretation of facts. Many of you posters really lack a sense of reasoning but we have to forgive the majority of posters here have a sheltered indian mentality if the guy was Ronston or Rogers you would not have batted an eyelid but since it is Ramroop you have an issue. You see nothing wrong with him getting all the contracts through Jagdeo.......

Originally Posted by Onlooker:

Rama it appears that you are a individual who just sit type and post with out any reasoning or self interpretation of facts. Many of you posters really lack a sense of reasoning but we have to forgive the majority of posters here have a sheltered indian mentality if the guy was Ronston or Rogers you would not have batted an eyelid but since it is Ramroop you have an issue. You see nothing wrong with him getting all the contracts through Jagdeo.......

No! I see nothing wrong with that.  One more thing, have some manners, you crawling catapillar.

Bobby Ramroop's good living will soon end.

In the works: cessation of government advertisements in Guyana Times which is now playing the role of the PPP mouthpiece Mirror and running down the government.

Already decided: No sole sourcing contracts to Ramroop's New GPC to supply drugs to government hospitals.

Pending decision: The curtailing of Ramroop's disproportionate voting power in the Berbice Bridge Company.

Already decided: No renewal of contract to air The Learning Channel on Ramroop's TV.

Way to go, President Granger!!

In the works: cessation of government advertisements in Guyana Times which is now playing the role of the PPP mouthpiece Mirror and running down the government.

Already decided: No sole sourcing contracts to Ramroop's New GPC to supply drugs to government hospitals.

Pending decision: The curtailing of Ramroop's disproportionate voting power in the Berbice Bridge Company.

Already decided: No renewal of contract to air The Learning Channel on Ramroop's TV.

Al Yuh SHAMELESS DAAGS, when Jagdeo cut off KN Al yuh bin ah Bytch like the ho you are!!!!!!!!!  People like you will not be taken as a Pet in front of a SNAKE!!!!!!!!!!! Raw Sewage is more desired than a Slimeball like you!!!

Wrong move,that paper will crumble no need to cut ads.

What is not personal regarding what Jagdeo and Ramroop did to the Guyanese people ?

Which government in their warped mind would allow only one company to 'bid' for prescription drugs for all of Guyana.  

This action against Ramroop is personal. KNews always tie him to Jagdeo as his best friend and they called that good reporting. Bobby will survive.

When Jagdeo had diarrhea and had the gov't pay for his trip and hospital bill, Bobby accompanied him.  Something that spouses, kids, parents or sublings do.

Bobby is obviously "family"........Jagdeo's "husband" perhaps?

This action against Ramroop is personal. KNews always tie him to Jagdeo as his best friend and they called that good reporting. Bobby will survive.

When Jagdeo had diarrhea and had the gov't pay for his trip and hospital bill, Bobby accompanied him.  Something that spouses, kids, parents or sublings do.

Jagdeo and Bobby having a husband/wife relationship will not be great surprise to many.

In our town a businessman and politician have a same-sex relationship for years and it did not interfere with their careers.

Shut your damn mouth.  You racist bastard.

This man Roopnarine does not know how Business is conducted.  It wouldn't cost much to retransmit the Learning channel to all parts of the country. But I believe that this is very vindictive of a man who is supposed to be neutral. 

This and the whole e network infrastructure is a PPP Leech job. It was designed to enrich the PPP cronies. The government needs to reclaim public communications infrastructure and ensure we do not repeat the ATN fiasco or do not let it be dominated by one ethnic group.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

This and the whole e network infrastructure is a PPP Leech job. It was designed to enrich the PPP cronies. The government needs to reclaim public communications infrastructure and ensure we do not repeat the ATN fiasco or do not let it be dominated by one ethnic group.

So replacing one ethnic group with another is the answer. Are you insane?

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Lef we people in deh, deh work hard for what they tief....ai ai ai

You much prefer the status quo, have the one ethnic group now running it?

?

Shut your damn mouth.  You racist bastard.

You really should advocate for gay marriage to be allowed in Guyana so these two gentlemen don't have to live in sin.

Oh so you finally admit that PPP Guyana was dominated by Indians.  If mono racial domination isn't something which bothers you, why your angst if APNU also indulges in it?

Lef we people in deh, deh work hard for what they tief....ai ai ai

You much prefer the status quo, have the one ethnic group now running it?

Rama has gotten full permission from Kari, who has stated that he has no intention of addressing the repercussions of Indian domination, which occurred under the PPP.

He says blackman bruk it up, so must apologize first.