Presidential debate billed for early Nov; PPP yet to decide

Written by Denis Scott Chabrol

Friday, 07 October 2011 17:37

The Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) is yet to decide whether its presidential candidate, Donald Ramotar would join three other political organisations in a presidential debate, a spokesman said Friday.

Merundoi Incorporated, which is organizing the presidential debate, has confirmed the participation of the Alliance For Change (AFC), A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and The United Force (TUF).

The 90-min Debate is scheduled for early November at The Theatre Guild and plans are afoot to have it streamed live on television. radio and the internet, Merundoi said.

PPPC Campaign Manager, Robert Persaud confirmed receiving the request but said he has not had an opportunity to discuss the invitation yet with the presidential candidate or review it with other party strategists.

“Once the timing and the arrangements are convenient to our presidential candidate, we have always taken the position that we are open to debates,” Persaud told Demerara Waves Online News ( www.demwaves.com ). Merundoi’s invitation has been acknowledged.

He attributed the delay in considering the request to urgent matters associated with the campaign but “we will certainly get around to reviewing that request.”

Ramotar has so far appeared to have shied away from similar fora organised by the University of Guyana Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Guyana Workers Union (UGWU) and Face The Future, a coalition of civil society organisations.

Merundoi said it is collaborating with the Private Sector Commission, The Georgetown, Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Guyana Press Association, Guyana Media Proprietors Association and The Council of Organisations for Persons with Disabilities.

Technical Assistance is being given by The Centre for Communication Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Guyana and the Jamaica Debates Commission.

“Invitations have been sent to the Political Parties represented in Parliament and so far confirmation has been received from A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Alliance for Change (AFC) & The United Force (TUF),” Merundoi said in a statement.

Merundoi explained that the goals of the project are to provide a forum where the candidates can present their platforms to the public, enable citizens to have a greater understanding of the positions of the candidates on matters of national interest, facilitate greater public discussion on national and regional issues, create a forum for the public to be directly involved in the process , provide a forum where the candidates have equal access to the media while debating issues of national interest, contribute to a peaceful election process and encourage increased voter participation on Election Day.

The only Presidential Debate in Guyana was held for the 1992 Elections between President Desmond Hoyte and Dr. Cheddi Jagan, then Opposition Leader.

Ramotar has so far appeared to have shied away from similar fora organised by the University of Guyana Faculty of Social Sciences

You call that "nara" Faculty of Social Sciences
Who ducking the debate and get nara at the same time.

The one and only ........

Them a watch the AFC march on VICTORY as they bear their NARA.

VOTE AFC, VOTE FOR THE KEY

[/QUOTE]
Originally posted by Noel:
Ramotar said that he gun debate after the election and Robert Persaud agree

Berbicians realize this man is a dud, we aint voting for his lazy rass.

The PPP really let us down with this madness dem carrying on with, they totally bungle this whole election business, but that is consistent with everything they have been doing the past 8 years anyway.
J
Originally posted by Sanjay:
ow bhai,Dont' blame the duck for not going to the debate. All he gon do is Quack! Quack!. Ramjattan will just bunjay he tail.

The Duck is really a cowardChicken!
Originally posted by squingy:
Originally posted by Sanjay:
ow bhai,Dont' blame the duck for not going to the debate. All he gon do is Quack! Quack!. Ramjattan will just bunjay he tail.

The Duck is really a cowardChicken!

Oink ! Oink !
Ramotar don't need to debate wid these rejected bastards...yall focun on whining..complaining..protesting...supporters who lives in NA and cannot come back to vote whuiles Ramotar is busy presenting his case to the Guyanese people....who are turning up in the thousands to celebrate the success of the PPP. cheers cheers
On the debate
Question: What about Guysuco & the Sugar Cane?
Answer: Ramjattan, Ethanol
Donald Duck, Quack ! Quack!
Question: What about crime & Drugs?
Answer: Ramjattan,scotland yard and Dea office
Donald Duck:See if we can bail out Roger Khan And extend Uncle Henry Contract
Originally posted by creative:
Supermike Or SOUP=MOUTH,whatever you are the same,GO POUND YOU OWN COW .by the end of November you would be humming AFC;

hey yu gadaha..stop fraffing ok..the fct is yall getting 2 and 3 people at yall meeting whiles we slamming 30000..tek it easy..yu gun buss wan vein...and we now shiftng into fuss gear and yall geting shittings cheers
Originally posted by creative:
Supermike Or SOUP=MOUTH,whatever you are the same,GO POUND YOU OWN COW .by the end of November you would be humming AFC;

all yuh prappa gat soupah cussin rass, the poor man gonna get belly wuk if gerald keep posting dem pics of what going on in berbice.
J
As someone pointed out the other day, Ramjattan is miles ahead of these guys, they are not even in his league.

The PPP made a collossal mistake when they got rid of this man from the PPP. They were not thinking properly and strategically. Well they were thinking about how to solidify support around jagdeo but what they did was alienate a lot of people and they failed to create a pipeline of leaders in the PPP.

The PPP has some serious structural issues which I do not think they will overcome anytime soon.
J
In political parties if you have people seeing eye to eye daily then you dont have a political party what you have is a yes man club which is what we have now in the PPP.

Everyone is scared to speak up to jagdeo, well as of a few weeks ago that seems to have changed but it may have been a bit too late.

When you gut people like ramjattan from the establishment you are getting rid of diverse ideas and an exchange of ideas. This in a political establishment is suicide.

But dat is not how dese fools roll. Even in the Chinese communist party they have people that have very very different views. But they do not gut the party of these people why?
J
The low class jokes people make about the man and his physical features which was caused by a brutal accident shows you the kind of person Ramjattan is vs. Donald.

The way the AFC conducts themselves is something to be proud of. The AFC needs to continue maintaining that.

A few nights ago we were at a friends house nuff other rice farmers were there also and that was something that came up. It was important to hear the comments many die hard PPP man talking about how Ramotar mek himself low class by attacking ramjattan like that and of course Ramjattan dont even bat an eye at these guys he keeps cutting dem down day after day.
J
There is no one out there who can walk up to Ramjattan and say hey you robbed me, that is the kind of character the man has.

You are mistaking Ramjattan for jagdeo.

Ramjattan does not live in a palace built by tax payers.
J
the PPP has been trying dem try wid sasenarine singh dat gone fuh channa nobody believe dat.

dem cannot attack the AFC and this is the biggest frustration for dem i know, nuff nuff minister complain to me about this. Frank anthony and robert both complain dat dem cannot cuss the AFC like the PNC but all they have is to play up the race card.

Dis abee know bai.....PPP nah gat no card leff fuh play
J
first 2 rows 10 children and 4 adults. soup-mouth,we would accept you after the election,we will forgive yu.But make sure you take a shower and change you BUCK-TAH and by then you can leave you water bottle or toilet paper home(newspaper and leaves or dry grass)