Former Speaker of the National Assembly and PPP executive Ralph Ramkarran today called for the government to take determined action against corruption.

He said that he knows of enough verifiable instances of corruption to satisfy himself that it was a pervasive problem.

In a column in today’s edition of the Mirror newspaper, Ramkarran noted that he had written about the issue of corruption last year and it was a matter that can no longer be ignored by the government.

Noting a large number of corruption reports in the media, many of which he said were exaggerated or frivolous, Ramkarran said nevertheless that there were some that were serious enough to make the government take note.

“Corruption and allegations of corruption are not going to disappear if we do nothing else other than call for proof, claim that we now have regular reports from the Auditor General, or that we declare our assets to the Integrity Commission while the Opposition members do not. The time has come to take action”, he asserted.

Observers have noted that the standard defence by the Jagdeo administration to charges of corruption was to call for proof of this.

Ramkarran said that victims of corruption do not wish their identities or the circumstances revealed to the public and as a result while many incidents are known, disclosure of evidence is a major problem.

He charged that unless something is done about corruption it will become a monster if not so already.

He pointed out that since 1992 infrastructure and procurement spending has multiplied rapidly in a country with historically weak systems and a sharply divided and adversarial political system and added that it was not surprising that corruption exists.Noting that the Constitution Reform Commission report of 2000 recommended a Procurement Commission as a constitutional body to deal with corruption, he lamented that it had not yet been activated since the legislative changes were made since 2001.

“It is a shame and a disgrace that ten years on the Procurement Commission has not yet been established. For years it has been held up by one of the most ridiculous excuses that can be imagined – the rejection by the Opposition of the Government’s proposal that they nominate some members and the Government nominates the others”, Ramkarran said. He charged that the opposition demand that all the members be agreed has created gridlock that aids only the corrupt in society. He said both the opposition and the government should be aware of this and that they have failed the country. He declared that a procurement commission cannot take more than 72 hours to name if the tripartite political discussions are serious.

He also said that President Donald Ramotar needs to promulgate “new, more advanced and comprehensive legislation and administrative programmes to be implemented in a timely manner which would strengthen transparency and accountability”.

Ramkarran further argued that broader areas such as the payment of taxes by the self-employed and accountability by political parties for donations must be areas that are eventually included. He added that the expertise for dealing with corruption may not exist here but that organisations like the United Nations and the Carter Center can help. He advised that the government should not wait for more allegations but should begin the process of seeking help from international agencies.

Said Ramkarran “A crusade against corruption by the government will introduce a new dimension to its agenda. It will demonstrate to the public that it means business. It can pay great political dividends because it will silence the Opposition and the press and will be a major mobilizing factor for the next elections”.

Ramkarran’s column is the latest in a series on which he has taken forthright positions on challenging topics.

Grudgingly,  a  top brass of  the PPP bravely sallied forward to acknowledge what  has been so  obvious  to  the rest of  society.  Better late  than  never! However if "... political dividends because it will silence the Opposition and the press and will be a major mobilizing factor for the next elections...” is  the motivating factor  behind  such  acknowledgement,  then  God  help us  all.

“It is a shame and a disgrace that ten years on the Procurement Commission has not yet been established. For years it has been held up by one of the most ridiculous excuses that can be imagined – the rejection by the Opposition of the Government’s proposal that they nominate some members and the Government nominates the others”, Ramkarran said. He charged that the opposition demand that all the members be agreed has created gridlock that aids only the corrupt in society. He said both the opposition and the government should be aware of this and that they have failed the country. He declared that a procurement commission cannot take more than 72 hours to name if the tripartite political discussions are serious.

He also said that President Donald Ramotar

Let's now sit down and watch the cards tumble!

The other day, on one of the threads, I stated that accountability was on the track of a head on collision. Well, there yuh have it in Mr. Ram Karran's article.

Said Ramkarran “A crusade against corruption by the government will introduce a new dimension to its agenda. It will demonstrate to the public that it means business. It can pay great political dividends because it will silence the Opposition and the press and will be a major mobilizing factor for the next elections”.

Ramkarran’s column is the latest in a series on which he has taken forthright positions on challenging topics

SO TRUE!!! AND I OPE AND PRAY THAT PRESIDENT RAMOTAR WILL PAY KEEN ATTENTION TO THIS. MR PRESIDENT DONT BE A COWBOY LIKE PREZ JAGDEO AND BRUSH ASIDE THIS IMPORTANT MATTER!!

Yes Nehru, this has to be done. We here who were in opposition to the PPP, said this time and time again....the PPP backers never listened.

Ramoutar now has to unplug his backside off the hand of Jagdeo, free himself from the clutches of a corrupt exleader, become a real man and do the right thing.

Ramkarran’s column is the latest in a series on which he has taken forthright positions on challenging topics

SO TRUE!!! AND I OPE AND PRAY THAT PRESIDENT RAMOTAR WILL PAY KEEN ATTENTION TO THIS. MR PRESIDENT DONT BE A COWBOY LIKE PREZ JAGDEO AND BRUSH ASIDE THIS IMPORTANT MATTER!!

Hmm.  Funny he says it will silence the opposition.  In other words, the noise of the opposition is paying dividends.  This is also an admission of pervasive corruption within the PPP, something which you all have been cussing the opposition over.  It's a vindication of the opposition, AFC in particular.

Maybe when people (other than PPP insiders) talk of corruption, you may want to stop, listen and evaluate before placing them in your "neemakaran" book.

Let's now sit down and watch the cards tumble!

The other day, on one of the threads, I stated that accountability was on the track of a head on collision. Well, there yuh have it in Mr. Ram Karran's article.

We may be witnessing the resurgence of another camp in the PPP ranks.  Jagdeo's fingers is in every decision and Ramotar needs friends to confront this.

Hmm.  Funny he says it will silence the opposition.  In other words, the noise of the opposition is paying dividends.  This is also an admission of pervasive corruption within the PPP, something which you all have been cussing the opposition over.  It's a vindication of the opposition, AFC in particular.

Maybe when people (other than PPP insiders) talk of corruption, you may want to stop, listen and evaluate before placing them in your "neemakaran" book.

Read carefully before you start celebrating. Mr Ramkarran is NOT, DID NOT speak of pervasive Corruction of or within the PPP. Reading and understanding is not that difficult. Mr Ramkarran is acknowledging that there IS Corruption and claims of Corruption and is certain of Corruption in Govt Contracts by some, this could incluse Govt Employees, Office holders at Management level and perhaps a few Ministers.

Hmm, somehow your response does not surprise me.  Learn to use inductive reasoning and read between the lines.  A "Crusade" against corruption, almost all most likely born under the PPP 20 year watch, is a very strong term if it's not "pervasive" and endemic.  This is a tel-tale negative assessment of the effectiveness of the govt and the institutions over which they have mandate. But then again , why be surprise.

By your own words paraphrased, "don't brush aside like Jagdeo did"!  Are you implying he did just that and, if so, do you really think Jagdeo just "brushed aside" endemic corruption?  But then again, why be surprised at your take.

Hmm, somehow your response does not surprise me.  Learn to use inductive reasoning and read between the lines.  A "Crusade" against corruption, almost all most likely born under the PPP 20 year watch, is a very strong term if it's not "pervasive" and endemic.  This is a tel-tale negative assessment of the effectiveness of the govt and the institutions over which they have mandate. But then again , why be surprise.

By your own words paraphrased, "don't brush aside like Jagdeo did"!  Are you implying he did just that and, if so, do you really think Jagdeo just "brushed aside" endemic corruption?  But then again, why be surprised at your take.

Go light  on  Pandit  Nehru. His  grudging admission of "...Mr Ramkarran is acknowledging that there IS Corruption and claims of Corruption and is certain of Corruption in Govt Contracts by some, this could incluse Govt Employees, Office holders at Management level and perhaps a few Ministers..." should  in  fact be  seen and  accepted  a  seismic  shift from  his hereto unyielding and  rabid  defense of  everything PPP.

Ramkarran says that there is corruption and he is right. Ramotar said the same thing in Florida before the elections. He pledged to fight corruption. And Ramotar will do so because he knows that the people and the country deserve a a leader that keeps his promise.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

Ramkarran says that there is corruption and he is right. Ramotar said the same thing in Florida before the elections. He pledged to fight corruption. And Ramotar will do so because he knows that the people and the country deserve a a leader that keeps his promise.

I actually do believe this to be the case.  I hope he could make the necessary moves and changes needed as the suffering and lawlessness is a daily occurrence.

Corrupyion is not a new thing in Guyana and it did not start or will end with this Govt. Ramotar will have to show that he is serious about it and take steps to fight it. At times it may involve sacking people in his own Party.

The opposition is doing their best to weed out the corruption, what has Ramotaur done so far, what?

tHE oPPOSITION CANT HELP BUT BEING WHO THEY ARE" thieves and hypocrits!!!!!

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

Corrupyion is not a new thing in Guyana and it did not start or will end with this Govt. Ramotar will have to show that he is serious about it and take steps to fight it. At times it may involve sacking people in his own Party.

Martin, this is clear and true about the whole world.  No one expects no corruption, it's a part or human nature.  In China where you get shot in the head, they still do it.

The question is the timely actions taken, transparency, accountability and the rule of law.  I do hope Ramotar takes up the challenge of Ramkarran and that he established this as an ongoing norm rather than a once-in-a-while "crusade".  Ramotar still have a high degree of goodwill and should capitalize on this before it subsides.

I've been saying all along that corruption exists in every government and the Guyana gov't is certainly no exception. This is precisely the reason why the UN reports on corruption speaks of "levels of corruption".  Ralph spoke of corruption in the government and "exaggerated and frivolous" charges of corruption by the opposition and the media. Ramotar has a burden on his shoulder. Bharat inherited a throne and had little to worry about when took over from the Jagans. It's to time to clean out the cobwebs and rub the walls with tamporline. Phagwah is coming!