Ramjattan willing to serve as AFC Leader

PDF

| Print |

Written by Kwesi Isles

Wednesday, 18 January 2012 17:16

Khemraj Ramjattan and Raphael Trotman

AFC Chairman Khemraj Ramjattan is not dealing himself out of the equation of becoming the party’s new leader later this year with the incumbent Raphael Trotman’s recent indication that he will not be contesting the post.

Addressing reporters on Wednesday at the AFC’s weekly news conference Ramjattan noted that he is eligible to run for the position and would serve if so chosen by the party delegates.

“I don’t want to exclude myself; I think the party would require some persons of experience now that Raphael has gone to be the Speaker,” he said.

Trotman was this week reported in the press as saying that he will not contest for the leadership post at the party’s biennial conference in March.

He told reporters on Wednesday that the posts of party leader and Speaker are both time-consuming and the latter post demands that the holder be impartial.

“One has to look at tradition, one has to look at time constraints; but in any event our constitution does say that as far as possible we should vacate positions. I’ve been the leader of the party since 2007,” Trotman stated.

He too said that the delegates will decide his future in the party while adding that he would like to play “a very active role.”

Meanwhile, Ramjattan said that there is little likelihood of former PPP stalwart Moses Nagamootoo becoming an AFC executive this year since the party’s constitution requires that an individual be a member for at least one year in order to be considered.

“That depends on whether we’re gonna alter the constitution and all of that and I don’t think it will.”

Nagamootoo, who cast his lot with the AFC just before the November 28 elections after leaving the PPP, is

He told reporters on Wednesday that the posts of party leader and Speaker are both time-consuming and the latter post demands that the holder be impartial.

Is this for humor?
TI
Originally posted by TI:

Is this for humor?

maybe! If Moses is going to take over in a year's time..
Why do you think that Trotman isn't resigning as leader of the AFC yet? He wants to do it March, so that he will get all the time he wants to work underhandedly to undermine Ramjattan from becoming the AFC leader. See wat he did when he said that he didn' want a seat in the National Assembly and then talked about his illness. He used this time to work with APNU, unknown to the others, to get their endorsement for speaker. Later , a miracle happened, he got cured and decided to throw his name in the hat to be speaker.

Remember when the time came for Trotman to step aside for Ramjattan as AFC’s presidential candidate he bluntly refused. He would not serve “under” Ramjattan.

Trotman hates East Indian people. Remember that Ramjattan and Trotman did to Nagamootoo what they did to Gomattie.

He (Trotman) too said that the delegates will decide his future in the party while adding that he would like to play “a very active role.”
I am a poltical analyst. I don't belong to any political party PPP/C; AFC or APNU/PNC. I want to keep my nose clean but at the same time undertsand that when good people remain silent, evil rears its ugly head and survives. I smell corruption from far.
Trotman like so many of us taught that the PNC was dead and had no way of returning but the past election proved us all wrong. The Blacks voted race and the PNC was able to make a good come back...now poor Trotman wants to go back home
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Trotman like so many of us taught that the PNC was dead and had no way of returning but the past election proved us all wrong. The Blacks voted race and the PNC was able to make a good come back...now poor Trotman wants to go back home

Anybady who tink da PNC was dead, wah stupid. Dem Afro tek a break, but dem man na nevva gon leff da Afro party. AFC gatt lil vote cazz dem had wan Afro man fa prezzy. Me always suspeck dem nah vote foa no coolie.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
, but dem man na nevva gon leff da Afro party. AFC gatt lil vote cazz dem had wan Afro man fa prezzy. .

Indos voted for Ramotar and Nagamootoo, so how come you dont accuse them also of racial voting?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dondadda:
Trotman hates East Indian people. Remember that Ramjattan and Trotman did to Nagamootoo what they did to Gomattie.

He[QUOTE]

So Ramjattan hates Indians too?

Anybady who tink da PNC was dead, wah stupid. Dem Afro tek a break, but dem man na nevva gon leff da Afro party. AFC gatt lil vote cazz dem had wan Afro man fa prezzy. Me always suspeck dem nah vote foa no coolie.

this pass election is proof that black people voted race whiles Indians voted all over the damm place..no wonder we in the mess now
Originally posted by caribj:
, but dem man na nevva gon leff da Afro party. AFC gatt lil vote cazz dem had wan Afro man fa prezzy. .

Indos voted for Ramotar and Nagamootoo, so how come you dont accuse them also of racial voting?

Naga bin bring dem votes, even if was Trotman foa prezzy and he come ova, he wodda bring da votes. Mi cyan tell yuh, nuff indos like da Granger, but dem afraid di GDF and dem racist bais in da PNC. Dem Afro racist baad, dem a sing dem waant feed coolie to daggs. Datt seal ting foa di nex' 20 years. Abie trust some Afros, but we nah trust alyuh politics.

this pass election is proof that black people voted race whiles Indians voted all over the damm place..no wonder we in the mess now

We're in what mess?
This is probably the best Government that Guyana has ever had, one where there will be checks and balances, so we hope.
Originally posted by cain:

We're in what mess?
This is probably the best Government that Guyana has ever had, one where there will be checks and balances, so we hope.

cool well let's wait and see what they will do for Guyanese

Yuh rass stupidy or wah, lass time afro wonder, diss time coolies did, but dem kech qik sense.
Originally posted by Dondadda:
I am a poltical analyst. I don't belong to any political party PPP/C; AFC or APNU/PNC. I want to keep my nose clean but at the same time undertsand that when good people remain silent, evil rears its ugly head and survives. I smell corruption from far.

Then act like a real political analyst and not write like a cow.

One of the reasons, Trotman formed the AFC with Ramjattan and Sheila, is to mend the great race divide. Note the AFC is the only party that address this chronic problem in their Action plan. I don't think you read it.