Ramjattan bypassed board to approve firearm licenses – Robeson Benn

Sep 22, 2020 News 0 , Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...censes-robeson-benn/

Minister of Home Affairs, Robeson Benn, has put the former Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, on blast for single-handedly issuing gun licenses.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/09/Robeson-Benn-1.jpg

Minister of Home Affairs, Robeson Benn

During his budget debate presentation, Benn stated that Ramjattan was issuing firearm licenses without any engagement with the Firearm Licensing Board, and more so, while his government was in caretaker-mode following the no-confidence motion.

The usual process for obtaining a firearm license involves the application first being sent to the Divisional Commander where a rank is tasked with checking the individual’s character within his or her community. The application is then sent to the Commissioner’s Office to ensure the applicant possesses no convictions or interferences with the law and once the applicant is cleared the application is then sent to the Minister and the final stamp of approval is given.

Minister Benn said, “It appears as though 2020 was a banner year for the issuance of firearms at the hand of the Minister without the engagement of the Firearm Licensing Board. Sixty-one percent of all firearms issued in 2020 were issued at the hands of the Minister without the engaging of the Firearm Licensing Board.”

The Firearm License Board would have been bypassed by other officials in the past, including former Commissioner of Police, Seelall Persaud.

The former commissioner had attempted to grant himself a license to open a firearm dealership and he also sought to upgrade the calibre of weapons he was allowed to carry but Ramjattan had stripped him of the license when what he did was revealed.

Following this, Ramjattan decided to open talks about amending the regulations on firearm licenses. “We are giving that serious consideration as we speak. It has been a situational problematique… I had really thought that there were regulations already made that it has to come to the Ministry,” Ramjattan had told the media. He even stated that he believed the regulations regarding gun licensing could have been amended without going to Parliament, but noted that he was unsure and asked the former Attorney General, Basil Williams, for his opinion.

“I was trying to find the recent edition of the regulations but did not, so I will have to check it…I believe we do not have to go to Parliament because it can be done in regulation and not an amendment of the Policing Act,” he said.

Minister Benn in his presentation said that there were many complaints regarding the granting of firearm licenses after he took office, but he assured that these practices will not be continued by his administration and there will be accountability.

@Mitwah posted:

Minister Benn should recall all 60% that he is talking about and let them follow the established procedures. It's a mistake that can be rectified. It's not spilt milk.

yes....they should publish the names of those people also..

I have spoken to some of those white Hindus and white Muslims that live in Jammu.  They told me that they are left unarmed by the Indian state to face the Kashmiri pro-Pakistani terrorists. The Indian state wants all sorts of licenses and permits for them to get weapons.  While Pakistan makes sure that the Pro Pakistani Kashmiris are well trained and well-armed.  While in Jammu pro India Hindus and Muslims are only being taught how to march by the Hindu RSS. It is as if the Indian state wants these Jammu people to be murdered so as to parade them as martyrs.  Every person should have a gun and a backup gun together along with a good knife.

Prashad is preaching violence, murder and mayhem. A jail cell awaits him.

The best defense is a good offense. Just ask the West Indies cricket team from the 1980s and the Australian cricket team from 2001.

@Ramakant-P posted:

If Ramjattan committed a felon, then Robeson Benn should have him charged. If he took bribes to hand out those licenses, then he should also be charged.

I wonder how ignorant / stupid are you?

@Prashad posted:

I have spoken to some of those white Hindus and white Muslims that live in Jammu.  They told me that they are left unarmed by the Indian state to face the Kashmiri pro-Pakistani terrorists. The Indian state wants all sorts of licenses and permits for them to get weapons.  While Pakistan makes sure that the Pro Pakistani Kashmiris are well trained and well-armed.  While in Jammu pro India Hindus and Muslims are only being taught how to march by the Hindu RSS. It is as if the Indian state wants these Jammu people to be murdered so as to parade them as martyrs.  Every person should have a gun and a backup gun together along with a good knife.

This is pure conjecture.

@cain posted:

Oi, yall stop fite over stupidness nuh man Leh we gyaf about Ramjattan an Benn an the wutlissness going on.

F...O...C...U...S......focussssssssss

Okay Cain .... F...O...C...U...S......focussssssssss   

Now ... what level of jhaaaattttt is Rumjhaaattaan.

@Prashad posted:

You are going from one extreme to another.  Please stick to the topic on hand.