CCJ has failed Guyana, it’s now up to Gecom Chair

Declaring that the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has failed Guyana in ensuring that general elections were promptly held in accordance with the December 21st, 2018 motion of no confidence, former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran says it is now up to the GECOM Chair to uphold the constitution.

In his column which appears in today’s Sunday Stabroek (see page 7), Ramkarran described the CCJ’s July 12th, 2018 orders on the no-confidence motion case as timid and ineffectual.

He noted that in countries with a Westminster constitution there is a long-standing convention that when a no confidence motion is passed against the Government, elections are promptly held. He pointed out that in 2001 the Parliament accepted the recommendation of the Constitution Reform Commission to include article 106 in the Constitution to provide for elections in three months if a no confidence motion is passed. Ramkarran, who had played in an integral part in that constitutional reform process, said that Parliament must have taken into consideration that if there is no constitutional provision and a no confidence motion is passed, the Government might ignore it. He said that Parliament also provided for the resignation of the Cabinet adding that the obvious reason was to institutionalise the caretaker status of the Government by confining it to largely administrative functions until the elections are held. In the absence of the Cabinet no major decisions could be taken, he said.

“What the Parliament sought to prevent has in fact occurred. A no confidence motion was passed on December 21, no elections have been held in the three months and the Cabinet has not resigned. The timid, indecisive and ineffectual decision-making of the CCJ has brought elections no closer, has left the Guyanese people defenceless in the face of an egregious assault on their constitutional rights and has left open its decision to more than one interpretation. The Caribbean Court of Justice has failed Guyana”, Ramkarran declared . . .

It is sheer malpractice for Ralph Ramkarran to pretend in public fora that Guyana functions under a "Westminster" system . . . especially after adoption of the 1980 Burnham Constitution.

"Westminster" PROPERLY applies to those jurisdictions with constituency elections among other obvious and important things ABSENT in Guyana.

The 'original sin' corrupting the the CCJ and lower Courts' decisions was the sanctioning of NCV based on a poorly-written, copy and paste Guyana Constitution that would require exceptional Talmudic scholarship to make sense of loose ends, out-of-place elements and contradictions on important aspects.

Alas, we have no Talmudic scholars, only an overmatched CCJ and political operators jockeying for power sporting the camouflage of "Civil Society."

the agonized stitching together of consensus on the way forward is a surprise ONLY to those opportunist who counted on surrender to their dark machinations by a caught-off-guard, naive Coalition Gov't.

The no-confidence vote was a naked FRAUD that we now know had NOTHING to do with the Democratic will of the People but the wish of the PPP to foist early elections on the Nation before planned House to House registration cleansed the current, expiring Voters List of phantom and other ineligible 'electors.'

Now, there are only 5 Commonwealth countries that elect a House using a "List" or hybrid "List" . . .

Fiji
Guyana
New Zealand (mixed PR/FPTP)
South Africa
Sri Lanka

I rebut Ralph Ramkarran [apologies if this was already done before the Courts] by all the above and a referencing of relevant authorities in the New Zealand example:

https://www.parliament.nz/e...

"A confidence vote must, by definition, be a party vote, with the party whips operating to ensure a turnout of members to support or oppose the Government. “Conscience” votes, where members are left to make up their own minds on an issue free of party discipline, cannot involve questions of confidence."

Again, please note that the 'gotcha' deception by Charrandass Persaud had NOTHING to do with DEMOCRACY and the will of the electors who voted the AFC and APNU parties into office,

only the WILL of Charrandass [and the PPP].

What a travesty.

Mr.Ramkarran and team are responsible for the botch gob, amending Article 106 the Constitution by adding (6) and (7) to remove an elected President.

These Lawmen don't seem to understand, the sort of Government, The 1980 Constitution of Guyana stipulates.

CHAPTER V
SUPREME ORGANS OF DEMOCRATIC POWER
50. The supreme organs of democratic power in
Guyana shall be –
(i) the Parliament;
(ii) the President; and
(iii) the Cabinet.

Amendment 2000

Supreme organs of democratic power [14 of 2000]

THE PRESIDENT
 89. There shall be a President of the Co-operative
Republic of Guyana, who shall be Head of State, the
supreme executive authority, and Commander-in-Chief of
the armed forces of the Republic.

The English language can't be any simpler so it must be something despotic why some fools pretend not to understand it.

Nandlall said that the President is ill-advised and, as such, he and his advisors are deliberately omitting from that provision of Article 106 (7) the line that says "that the election must be held within three months."

Election of the President.

91. The President shall be elected by the people in the manner prescribed by article 177.

Tenure of office of President

92. A person assuming the office of President in accordance with the provisions of this Constitution shall,unless his or her office sooner becomes vacant under
article 178, continue in office until the person elected to the office of President at the next election held under article 91 assumes office.

Removal of president on grounds of incapacity.

93. The President may be removed from office if
he or she becomes physically or mentally incapable of
discharging the functions of his or her office. The
procedure for removing him or her and for ensuring the
continued discharge of the functions of his or her office is
prescribed by article 179.

Removal of President for violation of Constitution or gross misconduct.

94. The President may be removed from office if
he or she commits any violation of this Constitution or any gross misconduct. The procedure for removing him or
her is prescribed by article 180.

Article 180.

(1) If notice in writing is given to the Speaker of the National Assembly, signed by not less than one-half of all the elected members of the Assembly, of a motion alleging that the President has committed any violation of the Constitution or any gross misconduct and specifying the particulars of all the allegations and proposing that a tribunal be established under this article to investigate those allegations, the Speaker shall –
(a) if Parliament is then sitting or has been summoned to meet within five days, cause the motion to be considered by the Assembly within seven days of the notice; or
(b) if Parliament is not then sitting (and notwithstanding that it may be prorogued) summon the Assembly to meet within twenty-one days of the notice and cause the motion to be considered at that meeting.

(2) Where a motion under this article is proposed for consideration by the National Assembly, the Assembly shall not debate the motion but the person
presiding in the Assembly shall forthwith cause a vote to be taken on the motion and, if the motion is supported by the votes of not less than two-thirds of all the elected members of the Assembly, shall declare the motion to be passed.

(3) If the motion is declared to be passed under paragraph (2) –
(a) the Chancellor shall appoint a tribunal which shall consist of a chairman and not less than two other members selected by the Chancellor from among persons
who hold or have held office as a Judge of a court having unlimited jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters in some part of the Commonwealth or a court having
jurisdiction on appeals from any such court;
(b) the tribunal shall investigate the matter and shall report to the National Assembly whether it finds the particulars of the allegations specified in the motion
to have been sustained;
(c) the President shall have the right to appear and be represented before
the tribunal during its investigation of the allegations against him or her.

(4) If the tribunal reports to the National
Assembly that the tribunal finds that the particulars of any allegation against the President specified in the motion have not been substantiated no further proceedings shall be taken under this article in respect of that allegation.

(5) If the tribunal reports to the National Assembly that the tribunal finds that the particulars of any allegation specified in the motion have been substantiated, the Assembly may, on a motion supported by the votes of not less than two-thirds of all elected members of the Assembly, resolve that the President has been guilty of such violation of the Constitution or, as the case may be, such gross misconduct as is incompatible with his or her continuance in office as President and, if
the Assembly so resolves, the President shall cease to hold office upon the third day following the passage of the resolution.

The English language can't be any simpler so it must be something despotic why some fools pretend not to understand it.

Nandlall said that the President is ill-advised and, as such, he and his advisors are deliberately omitting from that provision of Article 106 (7) the line that says "that the election must be held within three months."

Will break my silence to respond !!

There is nothing Despotic, the amendment is a botch gob. Read the post on The President, tell how the amendment applies.

Nandlall says things to suit himself, some folks swallowed it.

Declaring that the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has failed Guyana in ensuring that general elections were promptly held in accordance with the December 21st, 2018 motion of no confidence, former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran says it is now .... The Caribbean Court of Justice has failed Guyana”, Ramkarran declared . . .

The will of the people is the constitution. She should get off her backsides and do her duty to the people and not to Granger et all. We are 8 months on since an NCV and in the annals of the Westminster type constitution,  this is the only regime that has resisted the process to remain in office  in full defiance of the will of the people with no end in sight. 

It is not the CCJ that failed Guyana but the Granger regime and their obfuscation and prevarication when faced with the option to do the right thin. From day one they should have initiated H2H if a clean list was their need. It also does does not make sense to anyone but to geniuses like your self that you get the best result by building on historical data...the old list as your guide!

Instead they dragged us through the court to invalidate a parliamentary decision, created bogus math as evidence and barefacedly resorted to denying something that they tacitly agreed to, dual citizens in parliament just to spite the PPP, If they find themselves on their asses when force to a plebiscite it is a consequence of their own political dark craft practices. 

We are 8 months on since an NCV and in the annals of the Westminster type constitution.

Guyana 1980 Constitution is not wholly a Westminster Type.

There is a President the supreme executive authority, there are methods stated in the Constitutions  for removal, not the botched amendments of Article 106 by inserting (6) and (7)

Declaring that the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has failed Guyana in ensuring that general elections were promptly held in accordance with the December 21st, 2018 motion of no confidence, former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran says it is now .... The Caribbean Court of Justice has failed Guyana”, Ramkarran declared . . .

Instead they dragged us through the court to invalidate a parliamentary decision, created bogus math as evidence and barefacedly resorted to denying something that they tacitly agreed to, dual citizens in parliament just to spite the PPP, If they find themselves on their asses when force to a plebiscite it is a consequence of their own political dark craft practices. 

yess . . . you would deny the Gov't their day in Court

what an every-which-way dunce you are

g'wan dahside you immature FRAUD and try handle the court matter involving dem "PNC" (Black?) people and yuh family powering your embrace of Jagdeo/Irfaan and the PPP criminals

What does the court has to do with the readiness of Gecom? It is Grainger hand pick a half dead idiot that fail to do his job to be ready for election within 90 days notice as require by the constitution.... 

Last edited by sachin_05
sachin_05 posted:

What does the court has to do with the readiness of Gecom?

"Instead they dragged us through the court to invalidate a parliamentary decision,. . ."

i responded:

"yess . . . you would deny the Gov't their day in Court"

so, what exactly is your issue again? you grazing donkey

non sequitur much?

There is nothing Despotic, the amendment is a botch gob. Read the post on The President, tell how the amendment applies.

Regardless of botched job or not, it is the current constitution which was recognized by the CCJ in their ruling as valid and to which Saunders emphasized demanded elections within 90 days. He strongly stated that there is no pause to the clock started on June 18, 2019 but even dug in deeper by lamenting that elections should have been held by March 22, 2019. Saunders stopped just short of usurping the powers vested in the parties in Guyana. The amendments during the PPP governments intended to return to the citizens some of the burdens imposed on them by the chief despot Burnham. No one argued about the amendments prior to December 21, 2018 and the ones swallowing it are those who have surrendered their good conscience to the PNC mischief.

We are 8 months on since an NCV and in the annals of the Westminster type constitution.

There is a President the supreme executive authority, there are methods stated in the Constitutions  for removal, not the botched amendments of Article 106 by inserting (6) and (7)

It is a a Westminster type. It is so defined by any scholarly commentary. No constitution on the planet are the same. Indian has a hybrid federal, parliamentary model as does Canada. We are more like most commonwealth type, unicameral and majoritarian. We do not have a queen who is merely ceremonial. Like all Westminster models the prime minister is supreme. 

sachin_05 posted:

"Instead they dragged us through the court to invalidate a parliamentary decision,. . ."

i responded:

non sequitur much?

They were never denied their day in court they got what they wanted. Now  use your shake battie Iq figure out  What does the court has to do with the readiness of Gecom?    Other than the barefaced douch bag tactic to delay and squat in office illegally... 

It is a a Westminster type. It is so defined by any scholarly commentary. No constitution on the planet are the same. Indian has a hybrid federal, parliamentary model as does Canada. We are more like most commonwealth type, unicameral and majoritarian. We do not have a queen who is merely ceremonial. Like all Westminster models the prime minister is supreme

ONLY the scaffolding of the Guyana Constitution is "Westminister" dating back to FPTP in colonial times

the disfiguring under Burnham was completed in 1980

only a determined jackass or political opportunist cannot 'see'

like you . . . so eager to show you 'smart' that you end up posting self-undermining crap like here:

"Like all Westminster models the prime minister is supreme."

smfh

The Coalition has so far lost every argument why they did not begin the process for elections by March 22, 2019 since December 22, 2018. They have no credibility and soon will also be stripped of the little legitimacy that they have left. They are classic despots.

sachin_05 posted:

i responded:

non sequitur much?

They were never denied their day in court they got what they wanted. Now  use your shake battie Iq figure out  What does the court has to do with the readiness of Gecom? 

that's called a non-sequitur

look it up or phone a friend, arite?

sachin_05 posted:

i responded:

non sequitur much?

The ground for their resort to the courts was laughable were it not with serious intent. There was the magical math, denial of  what they tacitly agreed to by practice not then clouding the issues with spurious claims about treachery and conspiracies. 

Yes. I think those piss poor reasons for a court process was more revealing of who they are than anything else....scatter brained rent seeking rats. They ought to have used their sense of astonishment at being bushwhacked to marshal their forces to win the office with gut level determination of redemption at the polls. But that party and elections is always about a plan B.

I do not give a damn about your sense that you are some cutting edge logic mage whose reasoning that leaves us us lesser mortals encumbered in  the weeds. I am increasingly convinced you are a craven shill of the worse sort. It has to be given you punctuate your posts with these  moronic phrases intended to insult and yet in the end of it have the gall to sanctimoniously  scream  non sequitur !

Regardless of botched job or not, it is the current constitution which was recognized by the CCJ in their ruling as valid and to which Saunders emphasized demanded elections within 90 days. He strongly stated that there is no pause to the clock started on June 18, 2019 but even dug in deeper by lamenting that elections should have been held by March 22, 2019. Saunders stopped just short of usurping the powers vested in the parties in Guyana. The amendments during the PPP governments intended to return to the citizens some of the burdens imposed on them by the chief despot Burnham. No one argued about the amendments prior to December 21, 2018 and the ones swallowing it are those who have surrendered their good conscience to the PNC mischief.

Because they are fools and don't understand how to cut Presidential Powers of the 1980 Constitution. The mischievous individual is Opposition Leader, his plot back fired.. PPP-ites good at daubing their stuff on on the other side.

I do not give a damn about your sense that you are some cutting edge logic mage whose reasoning that leaves us us lesser mortals encumbered in  the weeds. I am increasingly convinced you are a craven shill of the worse sort. It has to be given you punctuate your posts with these  moronic phrases intended to insult and yet in the end of it have the gall to sanctimoniously  scream  non sequitur !

amusing that one of the biggest dirtbag cussbirds on GNI calls me out over "insult"

lol

It is a a Westminster type. It is so defined by any scholarly commentary. No constitution on the planet are the same. Indian has a hybrid federal, parliamentary model as does Canada. We are more like most commonwealth type, unicameral and majoritarian. We do not have a queen who is merely ceremonial. Like all Westminster models the prime minister is supreme

ONLY the scaffolding of the Guyana Constitution is "Westminister" dating back to FPTP in colonial times

like you . . . so eager to show you 'smart' that you end up posting self-undermining crap like here:

smfh

It is crap like FPTP defines the  Westminster type that unfrocks your ignorance. We have many kinds of electoral system in Westminster systems. We have a majoritarian, unicameral system with de facto one constituency that consolidates centralized authority in the person of one individual. There is no separation of the legislature from the PM/President. That does not even speak to the rules of order we operate under in parliament which was borrowed whole cloth from the empire. Take a walk you moron,

sachin_05 posted:

i responded:

non sequitur much?

They were never denied their day in court they got what they wanted. Now  use your shake battie Iq figure out  What does the court has to do with the readiness of Gecom? 

that's called a non-sequitur

look it up or phone a friend, arite?

non se·qui·tur
noun
noun: non sequitur; plural noun: non sequiturs; noun: nonsequitur; plural noun: nonsequiturs
  1. a conclusion or statement that does not logically follow from the previous argument or statement.
     Statements, querys about Court delay tactics, Gecom not related to the argument - what a freaking moron...

smfh

It is crap like FPTP defines the  Westminster type that unfrocks your ignorance. We have many kinds of electoral system in Westminister systems. We have a majoritarian, unicameral system with de facto one constituency that consolidates centralized authority in the person of one individual. There is no separation of the legislature from the PM/President. That does not even speak to the rules of order we operate operate under in parliament which was borrowed whole cloth from the empire. Take a walk you moron,

the rules of order and other procedural stuff are embroidery and tradition

the guts of the GY Constitution was taken out and replaced by Burnham

that's why there are so many dead and loose ends

but at the end of the day, you remain a very light thinker

prone to posting stupid, self-undermining crap like below:

uh huh

Because they are fools and don't understand how to cut Presidential Powers of the 1980 Constitution. The mischievous individual is Opposition Leader, his plot back fired.. PPP-ites good at daubing their stuff on on the other side.

The Opposition Leader isn't delaying elections. Granger and his cohorts at GECOM are. The only element not subject to interpretation is the requirement to have elections within 90 days of the successful passage of a NCV. That occurred back on December 21, 2018. Regardless of whether there is a good list of not is irrelevant once that 90 days is breached. That 90 days isn't contingent on the delay or incompetency of GECOM. Making the Opposition Leader a scapegoat does not remove the fact that the PNC is only capable of despotic behavior.

Lastly, the highest court in the land already ruled that article 106 (6) and (7) are clear and MUST be obeyed.

the highest court in the land already ruled that article 106 (6) and (7) are clear and MUST be obeyed.

Rat seh keep hollering

you are the top candidate for the Region 11 brown bai Klan award planned in the new dispensation

Iffaan agree and seh is good dat a fellow Fullaman is de tap candidate . . . fughet dat lazy has-been Skeldon_man

The Opposition Leader isn't delaying elections. Granger and his cohorts at GECOM are. The only element not subject to interpretation is the requirement to have elections within 90 days of the successful passage of a NCV. That occurred back on December 21, 2018.

Regardless of whether there is a good list of not is irrelevant once that 90 days is breached.

That 90 days isn't contingent on the delay or incompetency of GECOM.

Lastly, the highest court in the land already ruled that article 106 (6) and (7) are clear and MUST be obeyed.

What !!! are you for real !! the same clauses harping on gives extension.

Regarding GECOM , recommendations to become independent of party hacks,  was handed to Bharat Jagdeo, why there was no follow through ?

sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun
noun: non sequitur; plural noun: non sequiturs; noun: nonsequitur; plural noun: nonsequiturs
  1. a conclusion or statement that does not logically follow from the previous argument or statement.
     Statements, querys about Court delay tactics, Gecom not related to the argument - what a freaking moron...

doan reach bai . . . dis ting lil above yuh IQ cohort

phone a friend, arite?

sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun

phone a friend, arite?

Haul yuh rass to congress place..dem guh give yuh favorite reward - one dry coconut to defend their illegal squatting in office...

Last edited by sachin_05
sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun

phone a friend, arite?

dem guh give yuh favorite reward - one dry coconut

duh is good

dah ting is essential ingredient foh sugar cake, no?

sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun

phone a friend, arite?

duh is good

no, actually fuh yuh white mouth...

sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun

phone a friend, arite?

duh is good

as usual, vomit from a mangy, stink little racist dog too DUMB to even craft a proper insult:

Sugar cake

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Sugar cake is a confection made with coconutsugar and flavoringsmoulded and baked. It is a popular sweet among schoolchildren in Caribbean countries including BarbadosTrinidad and Tobago and Guyana

lol

sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun

phone a friend, arite?

duh is good

as usual, vomit from a mangy, stink little racist dog too DUMB to even craft a proper insult:

Sugar cake

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Sugar cake is a confection made with coconutsugar and flavoringsmoulded and baked. It is a popular sweet among schoolchildren in Caribbean countries including BarbadosTrinidad and Tobago and Guyana

lol

Check out the shakebatty while yuh at it....

The Opposition Leader isn't delaying elections. Granger and his cohorts at GECOM are. The only element not subject to interpretation is the requirement to have elections within 90 days of the successful passage of a NCV. That occurred back on December 21, 2018.

Regardless of whether there is a good list of not is irrelevant once that 90 days is breached.

Regarding GECOM , recommendations to become independent of party hacks,  was handed to Bharat Jagdeo, why there was no follow through ?

The clause give AN OPPORTUNITY for extension if at least 67% of parliament approves it. Parliament is under no obligation to extend the 90 days deadline and since it is clear that the despotic PNC have no honest intent on having elections the Opposition world be well advised to not participate in the PNC intent to usurp power.

I am afraid English can’t be made any simpler than that.

the rules of order and other procedural stuff are embroidery and tradition

the guts of the GY Constitution was taken out and replaced by Burnham

that's why there are so many dead and loose ends

but at the end of the day, you remain a very light thinker

prone to posting stupid, self-undermining crap like below:

uh huh

Lots of things in government are ornamental. It still remains a distinct legacy of a system we inherited or rather was foisted on us by Burnham. He always has a ken for the authority and what best can be the cover than a system that grants him absolute power as long as he remains in office?

It also conserves the idea of democracy to give him cover in that respect. He knew full well as long as we are divided this system affords him power. His legacy lives on. Each succeeding regime gravitated to the lure of authoritarianism in a majoritarian system that leaves no space between the executive presidency and the legislature and in essence create an elected dictator. That our society is vertically bifurcated by race and our population demographics closely matched the eternal ying and yang of the struggle is to win the state as an ethnic prize.

You being the perennial ass you are thinks repeating the a fact, a feature and a foundation element of Westminsterism denies its reality. Sorry, conveys nothing else than that you are a pompous ass. You do not think and that is an impediment to you ever making sense. Of course, the main ingredient that prohibits reason  is that grandiose notion that you are the brightest bulb in the land. 

The clause give AN OPPORTUNITY for extension if at least 67% of parliament approves it. Parliament is under no obligation to extend the 90 days deadline and since it is clear that the despotic PNC have no honest intent on having elections the Opposition world be well advised to not participate in the PNC intent to usurp power.

Well sorry for the Opposition, GECOM call the shots for readiness of Elections,they will inform Prezi Granger and a date will be declared.

sachin_05 posted:
non se·qui·tur
noun

phone a friend, arite?

No it is your low IQ one makes fun at. This constant need to be deprecating is that he gets a sense of personal glee and laughs at. Of course the use of the term there was gratuitous since you had no logical argument to follow through to a conclusion. You are simply being your usual idiot posting and making fun of an article and pretending everyone should immediate gravitate to your illuminating understanding. Sorry...dim bulb...source of merriment only because contempt would mean one seriously waded through your bilge to find something to stand on and wasted their time. 

GECOM has turned out to a fraud of an agency.  Big dollars passing under the table.  

The PPP had a chance to make the Commission more Independent. So the tug of war continues , we here pointing fingers at both pea of the same pod.

Well sorry for the Opposition, GECOM call the shots for readiness of Elections,they will inform Prezi Granger and a date will be declared.

GECOM does not call the damn shots. GECOM Is not a system unto itself. Like all institution in the land they are under-girded by rules and guidelines and the primary delimiter to what the can and cannot do is the constitution. Their imperative is to get off their asses and deliver a credible elections using contemporary means.

In the US, every state legislature ( some better than others) use historical lists and strategies to harmonize them to a sound representation of the electors in the local constituencies. They do not sell the crap that you have to start with house to house registration ever so often. This bullshit by the APNU is pure and simple political nonsense to hoodwink the public and game the system 

They could if they wanted clean the prevailing list and do statistical spot checks to verify its integrity. House to House is only to delay the process and who knows. for the APNU to create avenues to plan B our elections. 

If all systems ran by allowing a sub unit to dictate how and when things are right there would be failures all around. Every damn system on the planet maintains subsidiarity ie  set guide lines about self containment for success and rely on the integrity those guide lines to validate and confer on integrity of their process. There is no exception any place in any system, social, mechanical, institutional or political. GECOM deciding on its own what are valid dates for elections is ass backward.