Four dead in Nismes smash-up

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

…Six critical as car and minibus collide

By Alva Solomon and Tamica Garnett

AT least four persons are confirmed dead following a smash-up on the public road at Nismes, West Bank Demerara last evening.
Reports are that a minibus crashed into a Toyota Premio motorcar bearing registration PTT

691 along the roadway around 1900hrs as the latter exited a gas station. Persons on the scene reported that the Route 31 minibus was heading to the city when the car exited the D&L Gas Station at Nismes and ended-up in its path.

The minibus driver, Hensley Alleyne

Among those confirmed dead are: 29-year-old Ayesha Sealey of Patentia Housing Scheme, a 12-year-old girl, whose name was provided as Maria Bisnauth and the driver of the car, who was identified as Rawle Williams, a 52-year-old father of four.
Bisnauth died while undergoing medical attention. The identity of the fourth fatality is being ascertained. Several persons, including the driver of the minibus, whose name was given as Hensley Alleyne and passenger Mark Anthony, age 24, were hospitalised in critical conditions. They were among several persons who were transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation from the West Demerara Regional Hospital where the injured were taken to following the accident.
Anthony’s relatives told the Guyana Chronicle that the young man was on the way to work when the accident occurred. He works at the Pritipaul Singh Investment firm on the East Bank of Demerara. The man’s family said that he sustained mainly head injuries and they were hopeful that he would survive.

The accident sent shockwaves throughout the country as the nation has witnessed a number of road fatalities within the past week.

The minibus which was involved in the accident

Last Sunday morning, Republic Bank employee, David Headley, crashed into a bridge rail at Felicity, East Coast Demerara. He died while getting medical attention. Early Monday morning, off-duty police officer Carl Roach died after he collided with a car as he rode along the roadway near Brickdam and Lime Street.
On Tuesday, 55-year-old Raymond Cassal died after he was struck down by a pick-up at Coffee Grove on the Essequibo Coast.

On Wednesday night, the owner of Kosmos Bar and Grill, Dillon Dos Ramos along with Senior Superintendent of the Guyana Police Force, Brian Eastman, died after the vehicle the two were travelling in crashed into a fence at Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara.
Then on Thursday afternoon, a school child, Nifram Nezamodeen, died after a speeding motorcar slammed into a crowd at Bush Lot Village on the Corentyne. His sister and his mother also sustained injuries following the accident.
On Friday afternoon, rice farmer Bissoonauth Ramnarine called ‘Lora’ died after he crashed into a vehicle and fell into the opposing lane of traffic at Devonshire Castle, Essequibo Coast.

Earlier Saturday morning, another Republic Bank employee, Riley Charles Newton, of Ruimzeight, West Coast Demerara (WCD) died after crashing his car at Leonora, WCD.
During the past week, there were several other non-fatal accidents along the country’s roadways. On Friday morning, Nurse Darcia Bisson was struck down as she crossed the roadway at Queenstown on the Essequibo Coast. She remains in a critical condition. November has been designated as Road Safety Month.

The car which was involved in the accident

PUBLIC Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan said while the Police Traffic Department is more actively involved in public awareness campaigns, there is need for better individual responsibility. “If there are qualified persons – having passed the driving exam – driving irresponsibly causing deaths and damage to our public infrastructure as well as private property… it shows that the fault lies with individual driving, in my opinion.”
Minister Ramjattan noted that of the over 91 fatal accidents for this year, 77 resulted from excessive speed or driving under the influence. Once these are addressed, he opined, road fatalities can be reduced by half. He called on motorists, in particular, to pause and take a look at “what is happening to our society”.

Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson pointed to the fact that with the improved roadways constructed by the Coalition Government, “persons can commute quicker and at a safer rate to ease traffic congestion. However, some drivers have been taking advantage of this and that is a concern,” he said.

The public infrastructure minister opined that early education is needed and maybe relicensing, and pledged to implement more safety structures such as overpasses at critical junctions on the East Coast Demerara.

“I will continue to make all the necessary interventions, however, nothing could be effective as persons taking responsibility for the rate of speed at which they drive,” he remarked.
The use of speed bumps has proven effective in reducing accidents and unnecessary speeding at critical junctions according to Minister Patterson. This view was supported by Snr.  Superintendent Isles, who called on the operators of heavy-duty commercial vehicles to remember that their uses is restricted to hours of 7am to 9am on weekdays and any breaches will be dealt with.

Republic Bank staff loses life in Leonora crash

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Dead: Riley Charles Newton

A 26-year-old Republic Bank staff lost his life Saturday morning after crashing the car he was driving on the Leonora, West Coast Demerara (WCD).

The scene of the accident in Leonora

Dead is Riley Charles Newton of Ruimzeight, WCD. The father of one was the driver of motorcar PRR 1703 which ran off the road at Leonora at about 05:15hrs and turned turtle. There were two other persons in the car; Monesh Gopie who was in the front seat while Joseph Ramjohn was sleeping in the back. Both men walked away with minor injuries.

The injured being taken to the hospital by police

The driver allegedly died at the scene of the accident. Newton was dropping off Ramjohn home after leaving an East Bank of Demerara (EBD) location for Parika, East Bank Essequibo (EBE). Exactly one week ago, another Republic Bank employee was killed at after crashing into a bridge near Felicity Embankment, East Coast Demerara. He was David Headley of 370 Powis Close, South Ruimveldt Gardens. Headley, who was employed as a Technical Operator at the Republic Bank, was reportedly driving his vehicle, PRR 2531, at a fast rate of speed at the time of the accident. Headley was driving west along the East Coast Demerara public road when he overtook another car, But he lost control and slammed head-on into a bridge. The driver that Headley had overtaken tried in vain to free the injured man from his wrecked car. Passersby eventually managed to pull Headley out of his vehicle.

Yall running out stuff to blame the govt on so now they get blame for the driving habits of idiots. Next we'll hear, the sun so hot is the PNC do it, they cyan even build a toilet how will they know how fo turn down the heat?

I could not have said it any better, you gat it correct.

PUBLIC SECURITY MINISTER HAS FAILED----Four dead in Nismes smash-up

The heading of this thread is hogwash , it's the responsibility of every Citizen to respect the Laws of the Country. When laws aren't obeyed , the citizens becomes Lawless.

Recently a politician and former AG , didn't appear before the Court to defend charges against him, due to the Political Party belonged to had a special event.

Every road user are guided by laws, signs are place at points on roadways to guide users , how to use the roadways , reckless road users cause the loss of lives and injury.

Banna you make my day with this statement.

So you indirectly admitted APNU is responsible for the lawlessness😊

When laws aren't obeyed , the citizens becomes Lawless.

I know you or some one , will come with such argument .

The Govt is ONLY concern with collecting Bribes. The lives of the citizens are not important to them. The Education Minister said fight in schools are regular business. Vulga the dunce Minister LYING about hospital Beds. THey are all cheats, thieves and liars!!

The heading of this thread is hogwash , it's the responsibility of every Citizen to respect the Laws of the Country. When laws aren't obeyed , the citizens becomes Lawless.

Recently a politician and former AG , didn't appear before the Court to defend charges against him, due to the Political Party belonged to had a special event.

Every road user are guided by laws, signs are place at points on roadways to guide users , how to use the roadways , reckless road users cause the loss of lives and injury.

That's your opinion and it does not count. You recently kiss up Rumjaat and now you obligated to defend him, look what one a kiss can do.

I knew you or some one , will come with such argument .

Moms will be calling you Rass . 

“ Djanjo, what the rass you writing bhai”  you exposing we mo .

The Govt is ONLY concern with collecting Bribes. The lives of the citizens are not important to them. The Education Minister said fight in schools are regular business. Vulga the dunce Minister LYING about hospital Beds. THey are all cheats, thieves and liars!!

They are no difference than the former Gov't , that country need sanitizing , there are no effective detergents currently.

The bloody, stinking, incompetent Govt is responsible for Traffic safety. If they cannot do their job they should get the HELL OUT!!!

Listen man, it's true that Ramjattan is not well liked and he suck at his job, but in this case u can't blame the man if they got a bunch a mad people driving like they on the Timehri circuit.

What code is that  ? help me out .

All my writing are my views , no prompting from no one.

What code is that  ? help me out .

All my writing are my views , no prompting from no one.

Volda Lawrence. 

That's your opinion and it does not count.

You recently kiss up Rumjaat and now you obligated to defend him, look what one a kiss can do.

By who ??

Perhaps only by you .

They are no difference than the former Gov't , that country need sanitizing , there are no effective detergents currently.

While you are half correct, the PNC mismanagement and incompetence has been there for over 50 years so you cannot compare them to the PPP

Eh Eh, I like the respect.. look what one kiss over the phone can do. 

Banna don't joke , do the math.

Two PNC employees on GNI, Vish was working the night shift tekking lash, now early this marning Django tek over his shift fighting hard to defend the incompetent.

You notice too... 😊

Two PNC employees on GNI,

Vish was working the night shift tekking lash,

now early this marning Django tek over his shift fighting hard to defend the incompetent.

Just come back briefly , to debunked your nonsense. Can one imagine you don't know the electoral system, used in Local Government Elections in Guyana.

That's what , you all can come up with , when alyuh behind get sore by lashes.

Two PNC employees on GNI, Vish was working the night shift tekking lash, now early this marning Django tek over his shift fighting hard to defend the incompetent.

Just come back briefly , to debunked your nonsense.

It's not fair you have to SPLIT the pay with Vish, wah happen, like Rumjaat give you a scolding. You have to be more an attack Stray Dog like Vish, even posting  only Fake News. You really slacking up.

Just come back briefly , to debunked your nonsense.

It's not fair you have to SPLIT the pay with Vish, wah happen, like Rumjaat give you a scolding. You have to be more an attack Stray Dog like Vish, even posting  only Fake News. You really slacking up.

Banna , haul you @ss , what FAKE NEWS , did Django post here ?? you are weak..yes... weak ... with your rebuttals .