Proof of bribery for no-confidence vote could have serious implications – PM Nagamootoo

– “We accepted the ruling of the speaker, because as an Attorney-at-Law when a judge makes a ruling, you accept the ruling until you’re able to have that ruling withdrawn”

– Speaker of the House will also have to consider whether a simple 33 or 34 votes were needed for the motion to be carried

DPI, Guyana, Friday, December 28, 2018

Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo today said that Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Barton Scotland will have to review allegations that the vote by former Member of Parliament, Charrandass Persaud last Friday was procured by unlawful means.

Persaud, a former government MP voted in favour of the no-confidence motion brought against the administration by the parliamentary opposition. Several persons in the social domain have expressed their views that the former back-bencher might have taken a bribe, forcing the no-confidence vote to go through. Prime Minister Nagamootoo said Persaud is not even discounting “that he was bought.” He said, however, that this will have to be addressed.

“If a vote in the National Assembly was procured by unlawful means to overthrow a constitutionally elected government, that will have serious implications and the Speaker will have to address that issue. If you had a member of parliament who knew that he had lost confidence in his party or his slate, he should have indicated to the house that he no longer wanted to support his slate and he wanted to endorse another slate so that the house would know how to deal with that situation.” 

The Prime Minister explained that Speaker of the House will also have to consider whether a simple 33 or 34 votes were needed for the motion to be carried. He said there is an overwhelming view that the motion needed 34 votes to pass and that this was known to the opposition.

“They were privy to a legal opinion that says you needed 34. And so, they are in a quandary now how to deal with the situation because the Speaker had indicated at the last sitting that he will return on the 3rd of January to address the consequences of the votes, meaning, did it meet the threshold under the constitution for a majority?”

The Prime Minister said people are “coming to grips” with the reality that it is not a majority that is catered for in the standing orders, as the House regulates its own procedures. The majority, he said, is addressed in the constitution.

“So, the constitutional majority will have weigh, more significance on how does one arrive at a majority… The formula has been one half plus one. So, if you have 64 members of the parliament, your one half would be 32 and a majority would be 33. How then can you have 33 as a majority for 65, unless you can prove that 64 is equal to 65. So, you can see already that it is producing an absurd conclusion, and the constitution would have never contemplated the creation of an absurdity,” the PM said.  

To persons questioning the government’s decision to accept the ruling last Friday, the Prime Minister said the government made a decision to prevent disorder.

“We accepted the ruling of the speaker, because as an Attorney-at-Law when a judge makes a ruling, you accept the ruling until you’re able to have that ruling withdrawn, those are things a court would do if it found it had been in error,” he said.  

Alexis Rodney.

Image: Keno George.

Source:

Every Indian who joined the PNC ends up with their heads fckedup. Nagamootoo joining idiots, he was in cohots with them to hide 18 million dollars. Now they hoping to find bribe money. Nagamootoo is shameless. 

Another one of jagan's dunces running around in guyana afraid of what could happen him.  

he was in cohots with them to hide 18 million dollars.

???

like yuh don't read news yuh don't like

what was the crime?

the herd 1st swore that Coalition Gov't members stole US$21 million

then sheepishly backed down when it was shown that it was $18 million, and that everybady at MOF and BOG were aware of the signing bonus money deposited into an interest-bearing account

yes, a bunch of cabinet members lied stupidly about what they felt should be closely held . . . a slush fund idea by some is definitely a possibility

at the end of the day, another case of poor Coalition PR y'all turn into a capital crime

Every Indian who joined the PNC ends up with their heads fckedup. Nagamootoo joining idiots, he was in cohots with them to hide 18 million dollars. Now they hoping to find bribe money. Nagamootoo is shameless. 

Another one of jagan's dunces running around in guyana afraid of what could happen him.  

Banna, this would hold a lot of truth is you had stated that Jagan CREATED these dunces in the party he left behind...

...forget the coalition...but look at the cadre and quality of people who the PPP has to offer up as political leaders in this country....The PPP continues to surround itself with unintelligent yes men and women....which one of them have credibility to run the country?? They work themselves from PYO, with no exposure of the world or intelligent understanding of politics...

A minista waving his gun in public

Nandalall threatening media people

etc, etc

In many ways the PPP created its own monster....thats the reason why some people with intelligence, Raplh Ramkarran, left the PPP.

???

what was the crime?

then sheepishly backed down when it was shown that it was $18 million, and that everybady at MOF and BOG were aware of the signing bonus money deposited into an interest-bearing account

yes, a bunch of cabinet members lied stupidly about what they felt should be closely held . . . a slush fund idea by some is definitely a possibility

at the end of the day, another case of poor Coalition PR y'all turn into a capital crime

that 3 mil could have found it's way into somebody pocket...who knows

???

Reading needs you to learn your ABC, he is in Pre Kindergarten and hope to graduate from there before he gets his Pension

Amral posted:

Nehru you guh blow a vein Bai  tek it easy nah man. Go drink some grey goose

I gun rest today, was on a wedding flow since Friday, I gun take it easy but will pass on the Grey Goose only for today since tomorrow is sporting time.

???

what was the crime?

that 3 mil could have found it's way into somebody pocket...who knows

Exxon confirmed US$18 million

there is something called the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) passed by the Congress of the United States that rubbishes the kind of stupidness y'all fantasizing about

why you think loudmouth Chris Ram and the PPP machers done gone quiet on this issue

but here we have Freedom House slyly signaling license to the fellow traveling dummies abroad and elsewhere to beat the drums and keep the jumbie alive . . . knowing that the faithful always ready to swallow anything baited by the PPP whole, without smelling or chewing

???

Reading needs you to learn your ABC, he is in Pre Kindergarten and hope to graduate from there before he gets his Pension

stifling conscience more like it. Knows the truth but being stupid.

???

stifling conscience more like it. Knows the truth but being stupid.

what was the crime?

The constitution has a clause for a non-confidence vote. It is written there because it has relevace to the charters of it.

Now, Nagamootto is seying any member in parliament should advice their party of their dissent on any matter. So, the NCV clause is useless according to him.

Nagamootoo wasn't interested in dissent at any time. Charrandass stated that in his comments.

Nagamootoo opinions kills democracy, empower eyepass and he is not only an opportunists, he is a big time liar. We alll know it now. Consumed with prestige, he even lied on his mentor. Imagine this chap wanted to be President for Guyanese. He is worse than Jagdeo, no scrubles whatsoever.

Send his baxside to an American Exile and leh Trump deal with his lying ass. 

Naga, siding with hooligan PNC is not serving the Guyanese ppl. Caribj will be seying Indo KKK making black look bad. You are punishing blacks as well as Indians-for such arguments reveals you to be tyrant like your PNC comrades.

mITS, A nEEMAKARAM cRABDAAG LIKE THAT WOULD DO anything TO HOLD ON TO WEALTH , suv AND power. wHAT ELSE YOU EXPECT FROM A parasite!!!

Is how a .5 person got elected to become a MP?

Seems like Naga friken to go to the polls. 

mITS, A nEEMAKARAM cRABDAAG LIKE THAT WOULD DO anything TO HOLD ON TO WEALTH , suv AND power. wHAT ELSE YOU EXPECT FROM A parasite!!!

Well, people dozz be half dead yuh know!

Nagamootoo knows the writing is already of the wall for his one term gov't....he knows the consitution well, it his gut he knows his argument doesn't holds water.... #It is time.....To Resign 

Well, people dozz be half dead yuh know!

There is this show called two and half men.

???

He suffers from the Guialini-Kellyanne Syndrome. Facts are not facts and alternative facts.