As the afc/pnc contingent continues to demand that govt should be running industry, it is the private investors who are leading the charge. We need more of these types of people instead of the state owned entities that operate inefficiently and at a loss.

Zhanghao shipyard building logging vessel locally : – PM, Minister Benn impressed with pace of work

THE speed and efficiency with which Zhanghao Shipyard has constructed a 63-metre long logging vessel, has impressed a high-level Government team which visited the shipyard at Coverden, East Bank Demerara, yesterday.

Both Prime Minister Hinds and Chinese businessman Suzhirong Su point to different parts of the vessel as it sits in the shipyard at Coverden, yesterday.

The vessel, Zhango Hao No. 1 which is 183 metres in width and 4.3 metres in height is 95 percent completed after just over three months of construction. “I felt very heartened, and excited by what we saw here some months ago, the establishment of this shipyard and the construction of this power barge, and we think it is a sign of what would be accomplished in Guyana, and what is being accomplished in Guyana, and we thought we come out here to bring attention to the fact that activities are being widened in Guyana so that you could think more of having ships built in Guyana; small ships, and repaired here in Guyana,” Prime Minister Samuel Hinds explained. The prime minister, who was accompanied by Minister of Public Works Robeson Benn, expressed hope that the investment would encourage Guyanese to make similar investments in their country. Zhanghao shipyard is operated by the Su family, which has been involved in the logging business in Guyana over the past six years. In 2009, the decision was taken to commence construction on the shipyard in Coverden. Simple construction started in this regard in 2012. However, to facilitate a logging concession that the family owns in Kwakwani, they realised the need for transportation and in this regard, building of the shipyard paused to make way for the vessel’s construction.

Tresey Su explained that her husband, Shuzairong, has invested US$4M on the entire operation thus far; US$2M on the construction of the Zhango Hao No. 1, and the remainder on the shipyard and on the 60 employees, 30 of whom are Guyanese. She said her husband, who is a Guyanese, was driven by his need to give back to his country. The vessel, whose design and engine are Chinese, and steel plates were also pre-formed in China. It has the capacity to carry 200,000 tonnes of logs and six crew members and will take about four days from their wharf in Kwakwani to Coverden with the logs. This was Minister Benn’s second visit to the shipyard since the construction began. “I actually visited whilst they were in construction a few months ago, and had a quick site visit,” he said. The minister explained that rapid construction and good quality delivery, on schedule, is always of interest to the ministry.  “We are excited that such construction to move our goods into markets could be done fairly quickly here based on technology that is planned and prepared and integrated. We are also interested in the fact that the cost of shipbuilding, based on Chinese engineering and construction materials, the cost is significantly lower than the sources that we have, so that is all of interest to us,” he said. All that remains to be completed on the vessel are minor works in the cabin and another coating of paint on the exterior. The Su family is hoping to, in time, construct and design similar vessels for interested buyers.

The Zhango Hao No. 1

CITIZENSHIP Company owner Suzhirong Su has been living in Guyana for the past 19 years, and has earned his citizenship as a Guyanese. The couple promised that when the boat is fully operational, their attention would be turned to enhancing the facility itself.

The couple told the media that the materials to build the boat came from China, and that also included the propeller which would be powering the boat. While this vessel will be used as a sample, the company is also offering businesses and entities the opportunity to come in with their specifications and drafts to have boats built according to those specifications. Some companies, they said, have already approached the shipyard with proposals for work to be done.

One of the men working at the facility has been working in shipyards in China for well over 30 years, it was reported. The vessel has been made with half inch steel plates. The logs which are to be ferried by the vessel would be carried above deck.

As the afc/pnc contingent continues to demand that govt should be running industry, it is the private investors who are leading the charge. We need more of these types of people instead of the state owned entities that operate inefficiently and at a loss.

Zhanghao shipyard building logging vessel locally : – PM, Minister Benn impressed with pace of work

THE speed and efficiency with which Zhanghao Shipyard has constructed a 63-metre long logging vessel, has impressed a high-level Government team which visited the shipyard at Coverden, East Bank Demerara, yesterday.

The vessel, Zhango Hao No. 1 which is 183 metres in width and 4.3 metres in height is 95 percent completed after just over three months of construction. “I felt very heartened, and excited by what we saw here some months ago, the establishment of this shipyard and the construction of this power barge, and we think it is a sign of what would be accomplished in Guyana, and what is being accomplished in Guyana, and we thought we come out here to bring attention to the fact that activities are being widened in Guyana so that you could think more of having ships built in Guyana; small ships, and repaired here in Guyana,” Prime Minister Samuel Hinds explained. The prime minister, who was accompanied by Minister of Public Works Robeson Benn, expressed hope that the investment would encourage Guyanese to make similar investments in their country. Zhanghao shipyard is operated by the Su family, which has been involved in the logging business in Guyana over the past six years. In 2009, the decision was taken to commence construction on the shipyard in Coverden. Simple construction started in this regard in 2012. However, to facilitate a logging concession that the family owns in Kwakwani, they realised the need for transportation and in this regard, building of the shipyard paused to make way for the vessel’s construction.

Tresey Su explained that her husband, Shuzairong, has invested US$4M on the entire operation thus far; US$2M on the construction of the Zhango Hao No. 1, and the remainder on the shipyard and on the 60 employees, 30 of whom are Guyanese. She said her husband, who is a Guyanese, was driven by his need to give back to his country. The vessel, whose design and engine are Chinese, and steel plates were also pre-formed in China. It has the capacity to carry 200,000 tonnes of logs and six crew members and will take about four days from their wharf in Kwakwani to Coverden with the logs. This was Minister Benn’s second visit to the shipyard since the construction began. “I actually visited whilst they were in construction a few months ago, and had a quick site visit,” he said. The minister explained that rapid construction and good quality delivery, on schedule, is always of interest to the ministry.  “We are excited that such construction to move our goods into markets could be done fairly quickly here based on technology that is planned and prepared and integrated. We are also interested in the fact that the cost of shipbuilding, based on Chinese engineering and construction materials, the cost is significantly lower than the sources that we have, so that is all of interest to us,” he said. All that remains to be completed on the vessel are minor works in the cabin and another coating of paint on the exterior. The Su family is hoping to, in time, construct and design similar vessels for interested buyers.

The Zhango Hao No. 1

CITIZENSHIP Company owner Suzhirong Su has been living in Guyana for the past 19 years, and has earned his citizenship as a Guyanese. The couple promised that when the boat is fully operational, their attention would be turned to enhancing the facility itself.

The couple told the media that the materials to build the boat came from China, and that also included the propeller which would be powering the boat. While this vessel will be used as a sample, the company is also offering businesses and entities the opportunity to come in with their specifications and drafts to have boats built according to those specifications. Some companies, they said, have already approached the shipyard with proposals for work to be done.

One of the men working at the facility has been working in shipyards in China for well over 30 years, it was reported. The vessel has been made with half inch steel plates. The logs which are to be ferried by the vessel would be carried above deck.

you dumb shit. That is incidental to his pillage of the forests.

Necessity is the father of invention. You miss the point,  harvesting the natural resources is not pillaging. The shipyard will be an asset to Guyana while you continue to be a talker and the Su family doers.

you are an idiot

You are a jackass. Keep on braying.

Who built Torani and the Canje Pheasant?

What happened to Sprostons under the PPP/C watch?

I hope someone juck yuh goadee for Xmas.

Last edited by Mitwah
Originally Posted by Danyael:

The Zhango Hao No. 1

He is a worthless piece of shit.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

The Zhango Hao No. 1

He is a worthless piece of shit.

the blood from his goadee is blocking his brain

Originally Posted by raymond:

you are an idiot

And you are a talker just like d2. The people in Guyana who are investing their money are the credible ones, not dummies like yourself who want to impose the PNC/AFC on the nation.

GUYANA TOO SWEET, TO THE MOON, TO THE MOON GUYANA GOING TO THE MOON WAY BEYOND THE MOUNTAIN TOP. WHILE THE CUNUMUNUS CRY LIKE THE BABIES THEY ARE, SWEET SWEET SAPADILLA GUYANA PROGRESSING. HIP HIP HOORAY.  MERRY CHRISTMAS TO THE PROGRESSIVE PEOPLE OF GUYANA. OTHERS CAN BURN IN HELL!!!

. The people in Guyana who are investing their money are the credible ones, not dummies like yourself who want to impose the PNC/AFC on the nation.

If Guyana wasn't blessed with virgin forest these people wouldn't be in Guyana, so whats your babbling about.  The PPP didn't put the trees there and Chinese will go any where in the world to get what they want.  If the go to DRCongo they will go ANYWHERE!

Guyana has vast unexploited resources so why are we the poorest in the Caribbean, aside from Haiti?

Druggie like you forgot that we used to build vessels like the Torani and the Malali.  So what's your screaming about?

Who we?  So now you should be happy that once again large vessels are being built in Guyana rather than being the consummate sour puss and eternal pessimist to any of the nation's accomplishments under PPP rule. 

Druggie like you forgot that we used to build vessels like the Torani and the Malali.  So what's your screaming about?

Who we?  So now you should be happy that once again large vessels are being built in Guyana rather than being the consummate sour puss and eternal pessimist to any of the nation's accomplishments under PPP rule. 

Jackass, who built the Torani and the Canje Pheasant?