Sources say that the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is leaning towards former Guyana Defence Force (GDF) Chief-of-Staff, Brigadier Retired Mark Phillips to contest as its Prime Ministerial Candidate alongside its Presidential Candidate, Irfaan Ali, in the upcoming general and regional elections.

Guyana Standard understands that he is not alone in the race but is definitely a front runner. Sources indicate that Minister Juan Edghill is also under consideration. However, if Edghill is selected as the party’s prime ministerial candidate, this would be a stray from the PPP’s tradition of choosing a civic member to run for the prime ministerial spot.

It was former President Donald Ramotar who approved Phillips’ promotion in 2013 and consented to his leading of the GDF. Phillips hails from Linden, where he attended the Christianburg Primary School and the Christianburg Wismar Secondary School (Multilateral School). He joined the GDF in December 1980 at age 19 and served until 2016. He is a graduate of the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst, in the United Kingdom and has held several appointments, including Colonel (Administration and Quartering), and Colonel (General Staff) in the GDF’s Defence Headquarters, during his 30 years of military service. He was also Guyana’s Head of Delegation to the Inter-American Defence Board from 2008 to 2009 and was, up to 2011, Guyana’s non-resident Military Attaché to Venezuela.

He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Management from the University of Guyana (1998), and a Master’s Degree in Public Sector Management.

http://www.guyanastandard.com/...iBLpwkv1468geMvDgSEY

Sources say that the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is leaning towards former Guyana Defence Force (GDF) Chief-of-Staff, Brigadier Retired Mark Phillips to contest as its Prime Ministerial Candidate alongside its Presidential Candidate, Irfaan Ali, in the upcoming general and regional elections.

Guyana Standard understands that he is not alone in the race but is definitely a front runner. Sources indicate that Minister Juan Edghill is also under consideration. However, if Edghill is selected as the party’s prime ministerial candidate, this would be a stray from the PPP’s tradition of choosing a civic member to run for the prime ministerial spot.

It was former President Donald Ramotar who approved Phillips’ promotion in 2013 and consented to his leading of the GDF. Phillips hails from Linden, where he attended the Christianburg Primary School and the Christianburg Wismar Secondary School (Multilateral School). He joined the GDF in December 1980 at age 19 and served until 2016. He is a graduate of the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst, in the United Kingdom and has held several appointments, including Colonel (Administration and Quartering), and Colonel (General Staff) in the GDF’s Defence Headquarters, during his 30 years of military service. He was also Guyana’s Head of Delegation to the Inter-American Defence Board from 2008 to 2009 and was, up to 2011, Guyana’s non-resident Military Attaché to Venezuela.

He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Public Management from the University of Guyana (1998), and a Master’s Degree in Public Sector Management.

Was he the officer who ordered the firing of rubber bullets at the Linden protesters?

just asking...

Was he the officer who ordered the firing of rubber bullets at the Linden protesters?

just asking...

No. That was my school friend Roy Brummel.   I hope the PPP consider him for something like home affairs.  Our school turned out some good hard-hitters.

Jagdeo should select Mr.Phillips for Prime Minister, this will strike out his bad choice for President, Ali. Them Blackman gun vex baad. if Mark is selected.

Why?  We dont know who he is.

Jagdeo should select Mr.Phillips for Prime Minister, this will strike out his bad choice for President, Ali. Them Blackman gun vex baad. if Mark is selected.

How come you didn't know that he is a PPP house slave? 

A Sandhurst trained chief of staff and you never heard of him!!   You have selected amnesia because he willing to serve with the PPP.  What this proves, there is nothing the PPP can do to satisfy you Afro racist.

Oi Base, is nah me but is dem boys say dat you say fo credit dem teachers using rubber bullets pon yall duncify goats turning yall into duncified....hard hittin goats.

Don’t worry, we passed or GCE/CXC without much extra weekend coaching!

Actual if I remember, Brummel’s dad was a PNC supporter, not diehard, but supporter!

Oi Base, is nah me but is dem boys say dat you say fo credit dem teachers using rubber bullets pon yall duncify goats turning yall into duncified....hard hittin goats.

Actual if I remember, Brummel’s dad was a PNC supporter, not diehard, but supporter!

And no body show you the exam papers before the sitting exams.

Nah, that was them GT big wigs thingy.  We were just lil country people going to lil country school.  We had to earn our way through studying hard!

He might well be.  I will let you know when I find out.  What I do know is that he isn't well known by the public so at this point isn't likely to bring black support for the PPP.

Juan Edghill Minister of Foreign Affairs 

No. Some folks may say PPP demoting Juan from favored house slave status to field slave logie. 

No worries. He will scream "beat me massa Bharat, oh I just loves you to beat me, because I am a good negro slave".

A Sandhurst trained chief of staff and you never heard of him!!  

He was probably quite mediocre as I have never heard any of the GDF folks who I know mention him.  But they soon will so I will get back to you.

Hopefully his Sandhurst training isn't of the type that Irfaan got.

No. Some folks may say PPP demoting Juan from favored house slave status to field slave logie. 

No worries. oh I just loves you to beat me, because I am a good negro slave".

Is this one good for you. 

CC9656E4-21E5-42F6-AF80-E300BAE7B473

• CC9656E4-21E5-42F6-AF80-E300BAE7B473

He was probably quite mediocre as I have never heard any of the GDF folks who I know mention him.  But they soon will so I will get back to you.

What happen he is not black enough to be a Black PM.

No worries. oh I just loves you to beat me, because I am a good negro slave".

Is this one good for you. 

CC9656E4-21E5-42F6-AF80-E300BAE7B473

That is for Irfaan, Edghill and Sam Hinds.  They love it when Jagdeo uses it.   Ramotar has felt it too, but reports are that he doesn't like it.

This mad man you all have leading you.

I said no such thing.  I merely said that he isn't spoken much about  and so will not have any more appeal than did your last black PM.

but what do you think of Nagamootoo and Ramjattan.  Indian enough when they were in the PPP but becoming neemakarams when they left.  Yes I have seen all the insults directed against them and you all now want to sling Ramkarran with that too.

I said no such thing.  I merely said that he isn't spoken much about  and so will not have any more appeal than did your last black PM.

but what do you think of Nagamootoo and Ramjattan.  Indian enough when they were in the PPP but becoming neemakarams when they left.  Yes I have seen all the insults directed against them and you all now want to sling Ramkarran with that too.

Those two are Turn coats, they came with PPP baggage.  Today they are useless to the PNC , they can't get their own family support. If there ever an election  Moses already said he is out, Rumjaat  will be a backbencher just like Charrandas.  PNC once bitten twice shy with the dutty Indians.

He might well be.  I will let you know when I find out.  What I do know is that he isn't well known by the public so at this point isn't likely to bring black support for the PPP.

If black people wouldn't support the PPP, that is their funeral, not the PPP.

Actually, it was Nagamootoo who said that he is a neemakharam. 

He was probably quite mediocre as I have never heard any of the GDF folks Political Discussionswho I know mention him.  But they soon will so I will get back to you.

Says a lot!!  He may spill the beans on Granger and his cohorts role in the 28 years rigging.

The man is no house slave. The Edgills were always PPP. Even during the height of Burnham repression the Edgills belief in the PPP was unmovable.

.This mad man you all have leading you.

The more you all demonize Jagdeo, the more I'm convinced he is the best leader for the PPP.

When Jagdeo's enemies start praising him, it would mean that he is serving his enemies' interests but not the PPP's interests.

.This mad man you all have leading you.

The more you all demonize Jagdeo, the more I'm convinced he is the best leader for the PPP.

When Jagdeo's enemies start praising him, it would mean that he is serving his enemies' interests but not the PPP's interests.

In fact, while Cribby is calling Jagdeo a mad man, all evidence on GNI is that Cribby is the one running mad. 

Braggatootoo at the mike. 

The man when from nemakaram to crabdog now he is braggatootoo.

No. That was my school friend Roy Brummel.   I hope the PPP consider him for something like home affairs.  Our school turned out some good hard-hitters.

So you're a CGSS product....

If black people wouldn't support the PPP, that is their funeral, not the PPP.

FYI the black identified population is around 30% and the majority of the mixed identified population operate within the same voting mindset as do blacks.

The Indian population is now just 40% so Indians alone cannot guarantee a PPP victory.

So how blacks vote definitely impacts the PPP, even if the PPP squeezes through a win.   You cannot govern a divided nation if 50% of the population is hostile to you.

Braggatootoo at the mike. 

The man when from nemakaram to crabdog now he is braggatootoo.

And then the PPP became so atrocious that he was forced to change his mind in 2011.

In fact, while Cribby is calling Jagdeo a mad man, all evidence on GNI is that Cribby is the one running mad. 

Like what evidence.  I told you that no one would side with Jagdeo in his mad haste to an early election.  So what evidence do you have about my insanity?

antabanta posted:

If anyone remains a product of their high school, which they left decades ago, then they must have seriously flatlined in personal and intellectual development!  But my high school did equip me to enter college in the US!!

antabanta posted:

If anyone remains a product of their high school, which they left decades ago, then they must have seriously flatlined in personal and intellectual development!  But my high school did equip me to enter college in the US!!

If you live to be 100 years, you're still a product of your parents. Likewise, high school, college, etc. There's nothing embarrassing about having attended CGSS.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

If you live to be 100 years, you're still a product of your parents. Likewise, high school, college, etc. There's nothing embarrassing about having attended CGSS.

I never said embarrassed.  I always said which school I attended.  I got my GCEs there and went to college on that here and went on.  It was like any school, intense, good teachers and lots of cricket, etc.  Roy brummel and others attended during my time.

I however, don’t hold onto that after all this time.  There are some basis established for sure.  But I have come a long way since.  It’s part of me, always will, but product, maybe a part.