I've been reading BRITISH GUIANA HANDBOOK 1913 and a few pages have stirred my curiosity.

The publication says that 102 years ago a headmaster of a primary school received certain sums of money in addition to his/her basic salary.

The headmaster got extra pay for each pupil teacher instructed in the school.

In addition, the headmaster was entitled to an "attendance grant" of $3 for every 30 children qualified by attendance and presented for examinations.

On top of that, the headmaster received a "results grant" for each subject passed by each student.

Now, I remember the great attention which my teachers paid to the attendance register which was always neat and attractive. I'm now wondering whether those registers were used to compute the headmaster's attendance grant.

I also know that primary school headmasters paid special attention to pupils preparing for the common entrance exams, later dubbed the secondary schools entrance exams. I'm wondering whether they were motivated by self-interest to boost their results grants.

Does anyone know anything about headmasters getting extra money for training pupil teachers and about attendance grants and results grants?

I doan know about money they recieved. But in 1948, I remembered they used to round up the children that din attend school and have them enrolled. As well, there was a man who would travel in the village to enquire about those who were absent a long period of time. School Leaving Exams(Primary School Certificate), they grilled us real good to ensure we passed. The results were published in the Argosy-all the schools. For Pupil Teachers Appointment(PTA) very competitive-that was intense time of preparations. The Headmaster supervised the entire process of preparations for the exams. I was always awed by the interest shown by teachers, not realizing their was monetary gains involved.

How old is this saga boy? I have to start giving yuh more respect rass.

I've been reading BRITISH GUIANA HANDBOOK 1913 and a few pages have stirred my curiosity.

The publication says that 102 years ago a headmaster of a primary school received certain sums of money in addition to his/her basic salary.

The headmaster got extra pay for each pupil teacher instructed in the school.

In addition, the headmaster was entitled to an "attendance grant" of $3 for every 30 children qualified by attendance and presented for examinations.

On top of that, the headmaster received a "results grant" for each subject passed by each student.

Now, I remember the great attention which my teachers paid to the attendance register which was always neat and attractive. I'm now wondering whether those registers were used to compute the headmaster's attendance grant.

I also know that primary school headmasters paid special attention to pupils preparing for the common entrance exams, later dubbed the secondary schools entrance exams. I'm wondering whether they were motivated by self-interest to boost their results grants.

Does anyone know anything about headmasters getting extra money for training pupil teachers and about attendance grants and results grants?

interesting.

Opps, her comes a client, I am off to the catamaran.  Busy day, plenty Americas down here today.  Later

Originally Posted by ksazma:

How old is this saga boy? I have to start giving yuh more respect rass.