Who will take over.  Not Harmon as he is reviled by much of the PNC base. I don't think that Volda has what it takes to appear credible to people who exist outside of the PNC, so no swing voters.

Show some respect and stop planning ahead.  Give it a rest and pray for the man.

When the head of state is ill prudent people think about what will happen.  Guyana is no exception to this.

Who will take over.  Not Harmon as he is reviled by much of the PNC base. I don't think that Volda has what it takes to appear credible to people who exist outside of the PNC, so no swing voters.

Show some respect and stop planning ahead.  Give it a rest and pray for the man.

Typical Black KKK just looking for his bowl of food stepping over the herd. 

When the head of state is ill prudent people think about what will happen.  Guyana is no exception to this.

I will not respond what I want to tell you

http://newssourcegy.com/news/b...o-begin-on-thursday/

word to PNC . . . Carl Greenidge!

I would think so but who knows. Does he appeal to the under 35 y/o masses because that is who he will need to get if the PNC has a hope of winning? 

We already know that the AFC brings nothing to the table this time.  If folks don't want the PNC they aren't going to vote AFC.

PNC needs LEADERSHIP most of all at this time

Carl Greenidge commands the respect of those most knowledgeable in the party

he is imperfect, but much better than the ragtag bench that has fallen in place by default

the youths are not yet ready for prime time . . . Jagdeo’s filthy RICH and (still) hungry crony β€˜businessmen’/advisors would run rings around them

it should not be forgotten that Granger beat Greenidge by a nose for the party leadership

word to PNC . . . Carl Greenidge!

I would think so but who knows. Does he appeal to the under 35 y/o masses because that is who he will need to get if the PNC has a hope of winning? 

We already know that the AFC brings nothing to the table this time.  If folks don't want the PNC they aren't going to vote AFC.

PNC needs LEADERSHIP most of all at this time

Carl Greenidge commands the respect of those most knowledgeable in the party

he is imperfect, but much better than the ragtag bench that has fallen in place by default

the youths are not yet ready for prime time . . . Jagdeo’s filthy RICH and (still) hungry crony β€˜businessmen’/advisors would run rings around them

it should not be forgotten that Granger beat Greenidge by a nose for the party leadership

Wasn't Carl the incompetent twit who as minister of finance under Burnham, ran the country into the ground during PNC version 1?

you demonstrably have no facts

only shakeabatty in a sour smelling panty

shouldn’t you be busying yourself wukkin yuh parts on some street corner trying to make lil small money?

Wanted to educate him, change my mind.

Come on now, even a pnc hardliner like you would acknowledge that Greenidge had the worst record of any finance minister during his stint from 83 to 85 when kakaba died. The dirtbag even interfered in the auditing of privatization accounts by stopping the then auditor general. He is just a pnc old house paintup that you are trying to pass off on us. 

Educate him on what?  He is 100% correct.

Don't worry with djangy, he just trying to pay back druggie for all the schooling I gave him and a few others here over the years. 

Maam call your life line for info on Greenidge.Both of you are clueless on Guyana Politics.

Don't worry with djangy, he just trying to pay back druggie for all the schooling I gave him and a few others here over the years. 

Don't kid yourself.  He is UN-school-able!

Come on now, even a pnc hardliner like you would acknowledge that Greenidge had the worst record of any finance minister during his stint from 83 to 85 when kakaba died. The dirtbag even interfered in the auditing of privatization accounts by stopping the then auditor general. He is just a pnc old house paintup that you are trying to pass off on us. 

how so shakeabatty? . . . you know NOTHING!

facts [that you don’t have] please

That's a personal attack. 

You really get around!!

Overview

Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma is cancer that originates in your lymphatic system, the disease-fighting network spread throughout your body. In non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, tumors develop from lymphocytes β€” a type of white blood cell.

Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma is more common than the other general type of lymphoma β€” Hodgkin lymphoma. Many different subtypes of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma exist. Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma and follicular lymphoma are among the most common subtypes.

Advances in diagnosis and treatment of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma have helped improve the prognosis for people with this disease.

Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma care at Mayo Clinic

Types

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma may include:

• Painless, swollen lymph nodes in your neck, armpits or groin
  • Abdominal pain or swelling
  • Chest pain, coughing or trouble breathing
  • Persistent fatigue
  • Fever
  • Night sweats
  • Unexplained weight loss

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if you have any persistent signs and symptoms that worry you.

Causes

In most cases, doctors don't know what causes non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. In some cases, it's due to a weakened immune system. But it begins when your body produces too many abnormal lymphocytes β€” a type of white blood cell.

Normally, lymphocytes go through a predictable life cycle. Old lymphocytes die, and your body creates new ones to replace them. In non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, your lymphocytes don't die, but continue to grow and divide. This oversupply of lymphocytes crowds into your lymph nodes, causing them to swell.

B cells and T cells

Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma can begin in the:

• B cells. B cells fight infection by producing antibodies that neutralize foreign invaders. Most non-Hodgkin's lymphoma arises from B cells. Subtypes of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma that involve B cells include diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma, mantle cell lymphoma and Burkitt lymphoma.
  • T cells. T cells are involved in killing foreign invaders directly. Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma occurs less often in T cells. Subtypes of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma that involve T cells include peripheral T-cell lymphoma and cutaneous T-cell lymphoma.

Whether your non-Hodgkin's lymphoma arises from your B cells or T cells helps to determine your treatment options.

Where non-Hodgkin's lymphoma occurs

Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma generally involves the presence of cancerous lymphocytes in your lymph nodes. But the disease can also spread to other parts of your lymphatic system. These include the lymphatic vessels, tonsils, adenoids, spleen, thymus and bone marrow. Occasionally, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma involves organs outside of your lymphatic system.

Risk factors

In most cases, people diagnosed with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma don't have any obvious risk factors. And many people who have risk factors for the disease never develop it.

Some factors that may increase the risk of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma include:

• Medications that suppress your immune system. If you've had an organ transplant, you're more susceptible because immunosuppressive therapy has reduced your body's ability to fight new illnesses.
  • Infection with certain viruses and bacteria. Certain viral and bacterial infections appear to increase the risk of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. Viruses linked to increased non-Hodgkin's lymphoma risk include HIV and Epstein-Barr infection. Bacteria linked to an increased risk of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma include the ulcer-causing Helicobacter pylori.
  • Chemicals. Certain chemicals, such as those used to kill insects and weeds, may increase your risk of developing non-Hodgkin's lymphoma. More research is needed to understand the possible link between pesticides and the development of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.
  • Older age. Non-Hodgkin's lymphoma can occur at any age, but the risk increases with age. It's most common in people 60 or over.

Survival Rates and Factors That Affect Prognosis (Outlook) for Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Survival rates tell you what portion of people with the same type and stage of cancer are still alive a certain amount of time (usually 5 years) after they were diagnosed. They can’t tell you how long you will live, but they may help give you a better understanding about how likely it is that your treatment will be successful. Some people will want to know the survival rates for their cancer, and some people won’t. If you don’t want to know, you don’t have to.

What is a survival rate?

Statistics on the outlook for a certain type of cancer are often given as 5-year survival rates. The 5-year survival rate is the percentage of people who live at least 5 years after being diagnosed with cancer. For example, a 5-year survival rate of 90% means that an estimated 90 out of 100 people who have that cancer are still alive 5 years after being diagnosed. Keep in mind, however, that many of these people live much longer than 5 years after diagnosis.

Relative survival rates are a more accurate way to estimate the effect of cancer on survival. These rates compare people with cancer to similar people in the overall population. For example, if the 5-year relative survival rate for a specific type of cancer is 90%, it means that people who have that cancer are, on average, about 90% as likely as people who don’t have that cancer to live for at least 5 years after being diagnosed.

But remember, all survival rates are estimates – your outlook can vary based on a number of factors specific to you.

Cancer survival rates don’t tell the whole story

Survival rates are often based on previous outcomes of large numbers of people who had the disease, but they can’t predict what will happen in any particular person’s case. There are a number of limitations to remember:

• The numbers below are among the most current available. But to get 5-year survival rates, doctors have to look at people who were treated at least 5 years ago. As treatments are improving over time, people who are now being diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) may have a better outlook than these statistics show.
  • These statistics are based on when the cancer was first diagnosed. They do not apply to cancers that later come back or spread, for example.
  • The outlook for people with lymphoma varies by the type and stage (extent) of the lymphoma – in general, the survival rates are higher for people with earlier stage cancers. But other factors can also affect a person’s outlook (see below). The outlook for each person is specific to their circumstances.

Your doctor can tell you how these numbers may apply to you, as he or she is familiar with your particular situation.

Survival rates for non-Hodgkin lymphoma

The overall 5-year relative survival rate for people with NHL is 71%. But it’s important to keep in mind that survival rates can vary widely for different types and stages of lymphoma.

For some types of lymphoma the stage isn’t too helpful in determining a person’s outlook. In these cases, other factors can give doctors a better idea about a person’s prognosis.

International Prognostic Index (IPI)

The International Prognostic Index (IPI) was first developed to help doctors determine the outlook (prognosis) for people with fast-growing (aggressive) lymphomas. However, it has proven useful for most other lymphomas as well (other than slow-growing [indolent] follicular lymphomas, which are discussed below). The index depends on 5 factors:

• The patient’s age
  • The stage of the lymphoma
  • Whether or not the lymphoma is in organs outside the lymph system
  • Performance status (PS) – how well a person can complete normal daily activities
  • The blood (serum) level of lactate dehydrogenase (LDH), which goes up with the amount of lymphoma in the body

Good prognostic factors

Poor prognostic factors

Age 60 or below

Age above 60

Stage I or II

Stage III or IV

No lymphoma outside of lymph nodes, or lymphoma in only 1 area outside of lymph nodes

Lymphoma is in more than 1 organ of the body outside of lymph nodes

PS: Able to function normally

PS: Needs a lot of help with daily activities

Serum LDH is normal

Serum LDH is high

Each poor prognostic factor is assigned 1 point. People with no poor prognostic factors would have a score of 0, while those with all of the poor prognostic factors would have a score of 5. The index divides people with lymphomas into 4 risk groups:

• Low risk (0 or 1 poor prognostic factors)
  • Low-intermediate risk (2 poor prognostic factors)
  • High-intermediate risk (3 poor prognostic factors)
  • High risk (4 or 5 poor prognostic factors)

In the studies used to develop the index, about 75% of people in the lowest risk group lived at least 5 years, whereas only about 30% of people in the highest risk group lived at least 5 years. These numbers show the difference the index scores can make, but the IPI was devised in the early 1990s. Newer treatments have been developed since then, so current survival rates are likely to be higher.

Revised International Prognostic Index

A more recent version of the IPI is based on people with fast-growing lymphomas who have received more modern treatment, including a newer drug called rituximab (Rituxan), which is described in Immunotherapy for Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma. The revised IPI uses the same factors but divides patients into only 3 risk groups:

• Very good (no poor prognostic factors)
  • Good (1 or 2 poor prognostic factors)
  • Poor (3 or more poor prognostic factors)

In the study used to develop this index, about 95% of people in the very good risk group lived at least 4 years, whereas only about 55% of people in the poor risk group lived at least 4 years.

The IPI allows doctors to plan treatment better than they could just based on the type and stage of the lymphoma. This has become more important as new, more effective treatments have been developed that sometimes have more side effects. The index helps doctors figure out whether these treatments are needed.

Follicular Lymphoma International Prognostic Index (FLIPI)

The IPI is useful for most lymphomas, but it’s not as helpful for follicular lymphomas, which tend to be slower growing. Doctors have developed the Follicular Lymphoma International Prognostic Index (FLIPI) specifically for this type of lymphoma. It uses slightly different prognostic factors than the IPI.

Good prognostic factors

Poor prognostic factors

Age 60 or below

Age above 60

Stage I or II

Stage III or IV

Blood hemoglobin 12 g/dL or above

Blood hemoglobin level below 12 g/dL

4 or fewer lymph node areas affected

More than 4 lymph node areas affected

Serum LDH is normal

Serum LDH is high

Patients are assigned a point for each poor prognostic factor. People without any poor prognostic factors would have a score of 0, while those with all poor prognostic factors would have a score of 5. The index then divides people with follicular lymphoma into 3 groups:

• Low risk (no or 1 poor prognostic factor[s])
  • Intermediate risk (2 poor prognostic factors)
  • High risk (3 or more poor prognostic factors)

The study used to develop the FLIPI produced the following survival rates:

Risk group

5-year survival rate

10-year survival rate

Low-risk

91%

71%

Intermediate-risk

78%

51%

High-risk

53%

36%

These rates reflect the number of people who lived for at least 5 or 10 years after being diagnosed – many people lived longer than this. The rates were based on people diagnosed with follicular lymphoma in the 1980s and 1990s and before the drug rituximab was introduced.

The addition of rituximab, a monoclonal antibody drug, to chemotherapy has become standard treatment for follicular lymphoma and has improved overall survival rates. One study looking at just over 2,000 people with follicular lymphoma diagnosed between 2004 and 2007, the majority (~70%) of whom received rituximab, showed the estimated survival rates at 2 years to be:

Risk group

2-year survival rate

Low-risk

98%

Intermediate-risk

94%

High-risk

87%

Remember, all of these survival rates are only estimates – they can’t predict what will happen to any individual person. We understand that these statistics can be confusing and may lead you to have more questions. Talk to your doctor to better understand your specific situation.