Pressured AFC Executive member apologizes to N/A Hospital doctor

March 11, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Alliance for Change (AFC) Executive Member Charrandass Persaud publicly apologized to all women and in particular to Medical Superintendent of the N/A Hospital Dr. Vishalya ‘Artie’ Sharma on television on Saturday evening for disparaging remarks he made about her at a recent AFC Public Meeting.
Persaud referred to Dr. Sharma as “a really oversized doctor”.
“Sharma is trying to control her own body weight and she can’t do that; she has to control the whole operation of the New Amsterdam Hospital—the girl is so fat, she could probably not fit in the front seat of her jeep. She can’t control, her own body weight, she is controlling our lives at the New Amsterdam Hospital…”
Those were the words of Persaud while speaking about the recent death at the N/A Hospital of a woman during a blackout.
As Guyana and the world just celebrated International Women’s Day on Friday, Persaud’s comments at an AFC public meeting at the Adelphi Market Square in East Canje about the doctor came in for severe criticism.
Present at that meeting were AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan and Members of Parliament Dr. Veerasammy Ramayya and Mr. Moses Nagamootoo.
As pressures mounted for a public apology and a pending lawsuit by the Women’s Progressive Organisation (WPO), Persaud apologized publicly on a Live TV programme.
He said “my statements would appear to be that I was attacking women who were obese. That was not my intention.”
“I will apologize to you people—to women in particular—women in Berbice. You know I have never been abusive to women…I have never said or done anything derogatory and if you want testimony to that ask—Shabana—Zulfikar’s [Mustapha’s] wife—the lady who punched me at the (2011) Diwali Motorcade—she knows she did it, but for one reason or the other, the DPP nullified the matter—and you can ask her that I did not lift a hand to wave at her, after she hit me.”

Attorney-at-Law Charrandas Persaud.

Persaud said that if his statement about the doctor seems to convey abusive intent, “I apologize to women across the country—I was referring to the medical and administrative skills of this woman Vishalya Sharma.”
“Administration is what I am looking for, not your size, and I apologize to you [Dr. Sharma],” Persaud said.
His words have sparked numerous condemnations from the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Region 6 Councilors at the recent RDC Board Meeting; Women’s Progressive Organization (WPO); and other women’s rights organizations.
It was Persaud’s second apology made on public television within recent times; the first being after remarks made about President Donald Ramotar’s qualifications and questioning whether the President did or did not graduate from the University of Guyana (UG).
Those comments were made shortly before the November 2011 General elections.
AFC Member Haseef Yusuf also condemned Persaud’s remarks at a recent RDC Boardroom Meeting in Region Six by saying that, “No person in any political party actually behaves like that; what he did was using one of the oldest fallacies known to mankind, ‘argumentum ad hominem’, which means argument against the man, that you leave the issues at hand and attack the person, rather than addressing the issues. Whatever he said was completely out of line because he was actually attributing the doctor’s physical outlook to her ability to run the hospital. He needs to apologise to the good doctor.
I don’t think the party will condone such statement and I don’t think he has the blessings of the party to behave like that but he is a guy who would normally go about make irresponsible statements, because one time he said that President Ramotar has never qualified and never graduated from the University of Guyana (UG) and later he apologized for that.”
Bijallie Motie, President of the WPO in Berbice stated, “We have individuals who reduce their self -esteem so low…and we attack, viciously. The AFC launched a vicious attack against women of this country. When you attack one woman, you attack all of us and it was Mr. Charrandass [Persaud] Attorney- at-Law.”
“There are rules and laws established in this country that have given Guyanese women the right to be able to be protected and I want to say that I condemn such an action. What the AFC leadership should have been doing is to commit themselves to the task of nation building, [and] I am calling on my AFC colleagues to call on their comrades that whatever they were doing, it was wrong. And he owes this doctor an apology.”
The AFC, she stated, capitalized on a moment, when Dr. Sharma, is in mourning, “when she is in a time of grief, because her father has died—the AFC took an opportunity in hitting her left, right and centre—well I am going to tell you—if you call me fat, that has nothing to do with my profession or political affairs!”
When contacted, Dr. Sharma was performing last rites on her father, and promised to issue a statement shortly. “I am still caught up dealing with my father’s death, but I heard about the comments (of Persaud).”

Written by HASEEF YUSUF, AFC Member/Councillor   
Sunday, 10 March 2013 22:42

THERE is a gutter mentality syndrome that pervades many of our so-called intellectuals of this country. It is suggesting that many of them are so intellectually bankrupt that they are unable to present sufficient facts and evidence to support their arguments when trying to convince the audience that their points of view are correct.

It was only recently that Dr Ian McDonald wrote an appropriate article in the Stabroek News in which he highlighted the various fallacies used in arguments, but it seems to me that some of the ‘bright boys’ failed to read that article(‘Political Rhetoric’-March 3,  2013) or it came too late for a learned Attorney-at-law in Berbice to read it.
On March 2 at an AFC meeting at Adelphi, Attorney-at-Law Mr Charrandass Persaud made some extremely disparaging statements with regard to Dr V. Sharma, the Medical Superintendent attached to the New Amsterdam Hospital. He tried to project to the audience at that meeting that the problems at the Hospital was because there ‘is a really oversized doctor named Sharma’ and that ‘Sharma is trying to control her own bodyweight and she can’t do that; she is controlling the whole of the New Amsterdam Hospital operation’ then he dived deeper into the cesspool. The AFC National Executive Council member continued that, ‘the girl is so fat that she cannot fit in the front seat of a jeep. She can’t control her own bodyweight. She is controlling our lives.’ This statement is a disgrace to our women and people generally.          As a practising attorney, Mr Persaud should be very acquainted with the various fallacies which will invalidate his arguments, he must have heard about ‘argumentum ad hominem. This is where a speaker or writer launches a personal attack against a person without addressing the issues at hand. He must have also heard about ‘cum hoc ergo propter hoc’- correlation proves causation. This is a faulty assumption which states that one thing caused the other thing to happen-if someone is fat then that person cannot do his/her job properly. When people who are supposed to be the intellectuals in society are stooping so low to appeal and persuade their audience it smacks of intellectual bankruptcy.
History is replete with the achievements of ‘really oversized’ people- Sir Winston Churchill –Prime Minister of England; Mr. Howard Taft-President of the United States and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court; Theodore Roosevelt-President of the United States; Queen Victoria of England and Catherine the Great of Russia. These are just a few! Moreover, many of the nicest people I know are ‘really oversized’ ones. But it seems that some people feel that the most competent people today are the ones who have model-like bodies and are attractive and beautiful or handsome. Genetic fallacies make poor and useless arguments.
Unfortunately, this type of gutter language seems to pervade deeply in our society today and it is this type of language that seems to appeal to most people in society.
How can we bring about a change in society when we are behaving worse that the people we want to lead? Where is the intellectual honesty? Where is our moral compass? How can a person who belongs to a high profession stoop so low?
Lastly, we must deal with our intellectual ‘fitness’ before dealing with our ‘physical fitness’-the way a person looks, his/her bodyweight, his ethnicity ,race and all the other outward characteristics have absolutely nothing to do with his/her ability to do his/her job, and the sooner this is recognised the faster progress will be made.
Mr. Persaud,a word of advice:stop using formal and informal fallacies when presenting your arguments in the future. We need facts not fallacies!

This is a mountain out of a mole hill. If the lady is fat and is in a position of administrating health it is a matter of public concern.

If the PPP and their agents took the time to address the issue of the lapse of the sexual offenses act we would not have some 3000 of our kids drop out of school on being pregnant, many under aged hence raped. The idea of rehabilitating these young women would be high on the agenda of any concerned with women issues and women's rights. Note we had 34 women killed last year in domestic violence and clearly this is an unattended to issue in our society since the police habitually refuse to intervene

This is the usual PPP trying to seek political cover on a tactless misstep while neglecting to look truly to what is their  charge that they woefully neglect.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The Doctor should hit back hard at those rumsuckers who now dominate the leadership of the AFC.

If she is indeed fat,( could not find a current pic of the lady) then she could get back at her detractors by getting skinny. Otherwise, she will always be known as the fat lady and that does come with baggage and none good.

Its amazing to note, it took a lot of public pressure before the AFC Official give what some regard as a half hearted apology to the doctor, after publicly verbally abusing her.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Its amazing to note, it took a lot of public pressure before the AFC Official give what some regard as a half hearted apology to the doctor, after publicly verbally abusing her.

With Redux?TK is the KFC I am NOT surprise. GR not any better and Moses, Poor Moses, some things are BETTER felt alone.  DEm People Dis Want fuh Rule Guyana, Dem cant ever Rule dem House and dem ah fight to rule guyana!!!!!!!!!!

Same for Jagdeo. He could not manage one woman and he wanted to rule a nation. Ramotar could not manage Guysicko and he was selected by Jagdeo to run the country.

The AFC goons are trying their best to derail this thread, and shift the attention away from their disgrace comrade, as stated earlier, it too a loud public outcry, for him to offer a "half hearted" apology.shame shame shame

Why don't you shut your rass? The man has apologized, something your scummy govt needs to also do to its citizens, for stealing from them.

When will Fat Boy Ramotar apologize for unstatesmanship language at babu John?

When people who are supposed to be the intellectuals in society are stooping so low to appeal and persuade their audience it smacks of intellectual bankruptcy.

Mr. Persaud (the AFC Official) verbal public attack on a citizen, speaks volume also of the political gathering he represents

When people who are supposed to be the intellectuals in society are stooping so low to appeal and persuade their audience it smacks of intellectual bankruptcy.

Mr. Persaud (the AFC Official) verbal public attack on a citizen, speaks volume also of the political gathering he represents

You still throwin up?

Likewise Jagdeo and Tub of Lard Ramotar.

Same for Jagdeo. He could not manage one woman and he wanted to rule a nation. Ramotar could not manage Guysicko and he was selected by Jagdeo to run the country.

Bhai, Nah talk stupidness, yuh see how he manage dat soldier Gal 

BhaiJi , I know Charandas as a hard working decent human being. I don't know how he slipped up and use those words and attacked a good lady doctor. I hope he apologize face to face with Dr. Sharma.

aH DEH LIKKA AND encouragement from GR.

Observer girl, what is she going to sue for? Calling a fat woman fat? It's not libel or defamation if you say that a fattie is fat. It might be rude but not against the law.

She is fat. She heads the office responsible for health in the region. She ought to be concerned for her health.

Where is your voice against the injustice of the police beating a woman? You folks are all about protecting political; turf and absolutely disinterested in real events that demands you actually be concerned for the good of women.

But I guess it is because it was a native woman and her child that got brutalized by the police it matters not. Instead you are here for days moaning about some insensitive infraction in calling a woman fat! What truly shameless pricks!

She is fat. She heads the office responsible for health in the region. She ought to be concerned for her health.

Where is your voice against the injustice of the police beating a woman? You folks are all about protecting political; turf and absolutely disinterested in real events that demands you actually be concerned for the good of women.

But I guess it is because it was a native woman and her child that got brutalized by the police it matters not. Instead you are here for days moaning about some insensitive infraction in calling a woman fat! What truly shameless pricks!

AND YOU ARE A SAINT PREACHING RIGHTEOUSNESS, MORALITY, FAIRNESS AND EQUALITY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU DONT HAVE ONE BIAS BONE.

First, quite the contrary bull about writing in all caps. It just emphasises you inanity. Second, I stated what I wanted to say and why. You on the other hand is being an ass as usual

Ok Jenny ASS.

my apologies for getting your gender wrong.

FEMALE MEDICAL PRACTITIONER SAYS ABUSE BY AFC OFFICIAL WAS AN ATTACK AGAINST ALL WOMEN NOT JUST HER

Thursday, 14 March 2013 12:55 administrator
Print PDF

Charrandass Persaud of the AFC

The female medical official who was at the receiving end of a disparaging tirade inflicted by a senior Alliance for Change(AFC) party member during a public meeting in Berbice has broken her silence on the matter. Speaking at an appreciation ceremony held by the Berbice Regional Health Authority (BRHA) to commemorate International Women’s Day, Dr. Vishalya Sharma described the attack as one not just against her, but all women.

Listen to Charrandass Persaud's attack here

She said that she was extremely humbled by the statements and the support given by everyone, including the Regional Health Authority, the RDC, the Arya Samaj Movement, the Domestic Violence Counseling Centre, the Women’s Progressive Organization and various youth groups and women’s groups across the country.

Go sell that crap else where. The man apologized and none of you creeps even acknowledged the brutal beating of an Amerindian woman and her child. That the government controlled news has a black out on it speaks to what you truly think about disrespect to women much less a native woman. This regime is not only corrupt. It is so obscene it disrespects us by having you shrill liars on social media selling a trivial matter for an ounce of political gain when out there in the society where it matters you neglect the relentless and despicable abuses against  our women. Shame on the government for sending you here and shame on you for thinking you have the chance of an ice cube in the summer sun of getting any one but the PPP dunces to not see through your lie.

This is what you nasty political pigs have a news black out on and is instead complaining incessantly for days on the tactless use of words against lady in addressing her as fat. Can you see the difference between the police mercilessly beating a woman  and her child as though they have no rights the verbal insult to one of you fat PPPites?

Get real. If the lady is fat she is fat on her own account and decorum should have caused her to accept the apology and not let herself be used as political bait by you creeps. This native woman did not ask for a beating. And she is still to get justice since her assailant is out there still on the job and thumbing his nose at the world.