President’s College attains 100% passes in 22 subject areas - institution observes 26th Anniversary and 21st Graduation Exercise

Georgetown, GINA, November 3, 2011
Source - GINA

President’s College graduating Class of 2011

Government’s investment in education continues to bear fruitful results as students are excelling in examinations. President’s College, one of the top secondary institutions, is maintaining the tradition of churning out excellent results, having produced some of the top Caribbean Secondary Examination Council (CSEC) achievers in the country and the Caribbean.

At its 26th Anniversary and 21st Graduation Exercise today, it was reported that the school was able to attain 100% passes, (Grades 1-3) in 22 of the subject areas offered at the institution. In Mathematics, English B, English A and Caribbean History, the percentage of passes attained (Grades 1-2) were 94%, 98%, 98% and 83% respectively.

The institution’s top student and best overall performer, Jonique Crawford attained at CSEC, 13 subjects, 9 Grade 1s and 4 Grade 2s. Other top performers are Sheena Chin, Nichole Haynes and Vikesh Bisson who attained 12, 11 and 9 subjects respectively.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds addressing the 21st Graduating class of President’s College

Prime Minister Samuels Hinds, who delivered the feature address at the graduation exercise, told the graduants that he was pleased to see Guyanese students continuing the onward trend of success as it relates to the CSEC and the CAPE examinations.

Spotlighting the fact that Guyana secured 16 of the 28 awards that will be given out to top performers in the Region who wrote the 2011 CSEC, the Prime Minister said that “Good academic achievements have always been the hallmark of Guyana,” and singled out President’s and Queen’s Colleges as among the institutions that continue to take the honour of enabling these academic achievements.
Education is the key to growth and development, Prime Minister Hinds told the graduats and provides the scope whereby an individual can evolve and grow into a better person.

A section of the attendees at President’s College Graduation exercise

He said that it’s important that they reflect on the lessons learnt throughout their five-year sojourn at the institution, more so the lesson about the history of the transformation and development of the world and Guyana and these lessons should impart on the youths a sense of reverence, a sense of responsibility to take on history and to extend on it, he said.

“It’s important to have those feelings of reverence, of the things that were before us and have been past down to us and to feel the effort to challenge and build on that which is there, that which we have learnt,” he added.

Government has aimed to attain a level whereby every child could have access to education and has steadily been able to move closer to realizing this goal, he said, adding that things are vastly different from his school days.

Valedictorian and Best Graduating CAPE student Afua Alder collects her certificate from Chief Education Officer, Olato Sam

Principal, Carlyn Canterbury challenged the graduates to strive for excellence not only in their future academic pursuits but in all facets of the future endeavours and urged them to allow excellence to occupy their daily lives.

The institution would not have been able to attain its continuing success without its many support systems, Canterbury said, and for this reason, it will continue to engage these supporting systems, inclusive of its staff, towards the continuing effort for excellence.

She said that the school has facilitated enriching activities that support the development of the students and they have excelled in these areas inclusive of extra-curricular activities. The school’s curriculum is also steadily updated to ensure the teaching programmes are relevant and in keeping with the curriculum of the Ministry of Education.

Valedictorian and Best Graduating CAPE student Afua Alder in her speech told the graduating class to cherish the bond of friendship established during their school sojourn and as they go further to look onward to bigger and better dreams for themselves. ‘Dream now for the future’, she urged them.

“There will be obstacles as you go on,” she said, but, “embrace the challenges of these obstacles as they will determine who you are.”

Also present at the graduation was Chief Education Officer Olato Sam.

I know that. So what is your point?? You are very Proud of deh Kabaka. Wink
Originally posted by Chief:
This college was the brainchild of the late President Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham and the PNC/ APNU.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
I know that. So what is your point?? You are very Proud of deh Kabaka. Wink[QUOTE]

What new college has the PPP built during their term of office/
Of course I am proud of The Kabaka for creating such a prestigious school despite the PPP condemnation at that time.

I know the man, you know the man and everybody know the man!!! panman yippie
I usually dont refer to him as a man but I will leave that for another occasion. THe PPP built HUNDREDS of SCHOOLS but I dont expect you to know.
I know that. So what is your point?? You are very Proud of deh Kabaka. Wink[QUOTE]

Of course I am proud of The Kabaka for creating such a prestigious school despite the PPP condemnation at that time.

WE all know the character who screwed us all. THE WHOLE NATION.

I usually dont refer to him as a man but I will leave that for another occasion. [QUOTE]

Your greatest has The kABAKA playbook, so anything you call The Kabaka is relevant to Jagdeo!!! panman
Originally posted by Nehru:
GOD BLESS THE GOVT AND PEOPLE OF GUYANA. LET PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY CONTINUE. OUR CHILDREN ARE THE FUTURE AND A DAMN BRIGHT ONE WITH THE PPP.
fool as soon as they finish school,they will have to leave the country to find a job
W
Originally posted by TI:
My take is you don't need a president college when you have QC and BHS already, and a series of good high schools all around.

East Coast needs this instead of students having to trek to georgetown
JACKASS, So you are saying they WILL have a BETTER life. DAMN DUNCE!!!
Originally posted by warrior:
GOD BLESS THE GOVT AND PEOPLE OF GUYANA. LET PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY CONTINUE. OUR CHILDREN ARE THE FUTURE AND A DAMN BRIGHT ONE WITH THE PPP.
fool as soon as they finish school,they will have to leave the country to find a job
JACKASS, So you are saying they WILL have a BETTER life. DAMN DUNCE!!!
you dam right when they go to a better country they get a better live.what about you dummy you have a better life.there is no jobs for young people in guyana when they finish school.unless you relate to the ppp crime family you racist fool
W
Originally posted by raymond:
Originally posted by TI:
My take is you don't need a president college when you have QC and BHS already, and a series of good high schools all around.

Wasn't students striking the other day at PC because of poor conditions?
TI
This college was the brainchild of the late President Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham and the PNC/ APNU.

And because of this the PPP tried to destroy it.

They should take NO credit for any progress this school makes.
Originally posted by caribj:

And because of this the PPP tried to destroy it.

They should take NO credit for any progress this school makes.

DITTO!!!!
Originally posted by TI:
Originally posted by raymond:
Originally posted by TI:

Wasn't students striking the other day at PC because of poor conditions?
student will do what adults will be scare to do,it happen all around the world.the adults of guyana, maybe can learn from these student and fight for a better way of life.one they should fight for is freedom of expression
W
you dam right when they go to a better country they get a better live.what about you dummy you have a better life.there is no jobs for young people in guyana when they finish school.unless you relate to the ppp crime family you racist fool

There are jobs, the problem is that some of the young ones are not seeking training in those fields. If Guyana have to import skilled labor then your claim that there are no jobs is bogus. hahahhahhahh
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
If Guyana have to import skilled labor then your claim that there are no jobs is bogus. hahahhahhahh

Because.

1. Most educated Guyanese leave.

2. The remainder are too poorly educated to be trained.