President David Granger has written to Opposition Leader, Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo to inform him of his intention to appoint Justice William Ramlall as Chairman of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA).

This appointment accords with Section 3 (1) of the Police Complaints Authority Act, Cap. 17:02.

A statement from the Ministry of the Presidency noted that Justice Ramlall, a retired judge of the High Court of the Supreme Court of Judicature of Guyana, specialises in criminal and civil law, particularly in the areas of analysis and assessment of evidence, the writing of judgements and the interpretation of statutes, among other skills.

According to the Ministry, Justice Ramlall also served as a magistrate for several years; a State Counsel in the Attorney General’s Chambers; a teacher of Commercial Law and led a successful private practice.

“The retired judge attended the University of Guyana, where he read for the Bachelor of Laws Part One before proceeding to the University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus, where he completed Parts Two and Three.

“He is also the holder of a Legal Education Certificate from the Hugh Wooding Law School and was a part of several professional training programmes.”

The former head of the PCA was Justice Cecil Kennard. Justice Kennard, 80, was asked to step down from the post by President Granger last year, who had noted that he was “focused on creating an atmosphere in which other persons, who are younger, are able to take a lead.”

Justice Ramlall is in his 60s.

Good move. Ramlall is a good fellow.

Wha derass, you know he too?

One day we gonna hear NASA found some life on a distant planet an we boy Prash gonna say how he know de banna an how de banna prefer his women with long underarm hair.

LOL!

Justice Ramlall is a well known man in Guyana.  His wife's reputation and character was dragged through the mud by a poster here on GNI.  She even created a handle to come on here and defend herself.  Only to be shut down.  Her handle is still active.

You must have missed you Prozac today as you seem in totally a cerebral spasm.

This individual (a lawyer) was the unofficial legal advisor to the Lusignan Learning Center in Guyana and a personal friend of the head of the Center.  She assisted with all legal matters in Guyana and offered advise for free.

She became very irritated and angry when a certain poster on GNI made slanderous statements in Aug/Sep 2015 about the Center and the administrator and sisters.  You stated that they were thieves and the Center was a place of illicit business.  She, by offering legal assistance, felt this was slanderous on her also.  She did tell someone she "may" join GNI solely with the aim of uncovering the poster's true ID for possible legal action.  I was unaware if she actually did join for sure.

Her name and person was never a subject of any discussion on this site.  The head on the Center, her sisters and the Center itself were slandered by you!  So, please take your meds and stabilize for the weekend!

Dirty LIAR skunk!