President Trump commented on the controversy surrounding detention of illegal immigrant children at a White House event for the National Space Council (full event replay here).

"If I might, I -- I just wanted to make a brief statement on immigration and what's happening," the president said. "And I'll say it very honestly, and I'll say it very straight: Immigration is the fault, and all of the problems that we're having, because we cannot get them to sign legislation. We cannot get them even to the negotiating table. And I say it's very strongly the Democrats' fault. They're obstruction -- they're really obstructionist, and they are obstructing."

"The United States will not be a migrant camp, and it will not be a refugee holding facility. Won't be. You look at what's happening in Europe, you look at what's happening in other places; we can't allow that to happen to the United States. Not on my watch."

https://www.realclearpolitics...._a_migrant_camp.html

Seems the Germans keching sense!  She may lose her job while Trump will be re-elected by a land slide!

Is this Angela Merkel's moment of reckoning?

Germany's Chancellor, Angela Merkel, is facing the fight of her political life, as a major row over the country's migration and refugee policy threatens to topple her from the post she has held since 2005.

Rarely do German politics produce such high drama.

One minister likened the twists and turns of the government crisis to an episode of Game of Thrones, while a German newspaper trembled: "The wolves are howling outside!" alongside a picture of the chancellery besieged by giant, Photoshopped beasts.

In such a febrile atmosphere, it's tempting to imagine an embattled Mrs Merkel inside, furiously striding the corridors and wondering out loud who will rid her of this turbulent Interior Minister, Horst Seehofer.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-44500150

President Trump commented on the controversy surrounding detention of illegal immigrant children at a White House event for the National Space Council (full event replay here).

"If I might, I -- I just wanted to make a brief statement on immigration and what's happening," the president said. "And I'll say it very honestly, and I'll say it very straight: Immigration is the fault, and all of the problems that we're having, because we cannot get them to sign legislation. We cannot get them even to the negotiating table. And I say it's very strongly the Democrats' fault. They're obstruction -- they're really obstructionist, and they are obstructing."

"The United States will not be a migrant camp, and it will not be a refugee holding facility. Won't be. You look at what's happening in Europe, you look at what's happening in other places; we can't allow that to happen to the United States. Not on my watch."

Seems the Germans keching sense!  She may lose her job while Trump will be re-elected by a land slide!

Germany's Chancellor, Angela Merkel, is facing the fight of her political life, as a major row over the country's migration and refugee policy threatens to topple her from the post she has held since 2005.

One minister likened the twists and turns of the government crisis to an episode of Game of Thrones, while a German newspaper trembled: "The wolves are howling outside!" alongside a picture of the chancellery besieged by giant, Photoshopped beasts.

In such a febrile atmosphere, it's tempting to imagine an embattled Mrs Merkel inside, furiously striding the corridors and wondering out loud who will rid her of this turbulent Interior Minister, Horst Seehofer.

Baseman, you are a Trump supporter.. rite, read his statement you posted ... he FCk you up also .. claiming it’s the BAD immigration law American has in the whole world - and that’s the same law, that got you in America .

You don’t know me and how I came to America to make that comment.  Good, so why you don’t ask nice boy up deh todet up camps and tek them in.   

I actually like the Canadian system.   

You don’t know me and how I came to America to make that comment.  Good, so why you don’t ask nice boy up deh todet up camps and tek them in.   

Base, regardless of how you came, you can be only one of two things. You either came as a legal immigrant or as an illegal one. Either way, you came as an immigrant.

[[Quote from the article]]

President Trump: "The United States Will Not Be A Migrant Camp," "Not On My Watch"

[[Unquote from the article]]

Perhaps, Donald Trump forgot that his grandfather was a migrant from Germany.

How's the fresh air in America?

Last edited by Mitwah

Put your likes and dislikes aside about Trump. There is no secret about his immigration policy. He campaigned on that promise and American voters voted for him. That's all there is to know. If the candidate you voted for lost the election, you also lost the election. Better luck next time. All the fooish talks about Trump grandparents were immigrants and he is an embarrassment has nothing to do with his policies and style of governing. Some of you get too sentimental and take things too personal when discussing Trump and his policies. As far as I am concern, most of you guys would like to see America becomes a shithole country where any lago- bago can come in and out like a whore house. 

Prince, most are not opposed to illegal immigration. America has a right to protect it's borders as any other nation.

What some including myself are concerned about is the policy of separating families and locking up young children in cages. This is where this so-called policy crosses the line.

We cannot forget the fact that many of us came as immigrants to USA and Canada. You are a father with a young child, sit back and think as a parent. 

No president cannot satisfy our individual needs, and as a voter myself, I understand that. Unfortunately, the people who didn't vote for Trump are the biggest noise makers. Many on GNI wants to use Trump as a punching bag, but voiceless when it comes to Granger and Guyana. 

GTAngler posted

Base, regardless of how you came, you can be only one of two things. You either came as a legal immigrant or as an illegal one. Either way, you came as an immigrant.

What's the point.  How did all the immigrants get into Canada?  Trump supports a more "Canadian" system for the USA!

The people in question right now are illegals!

To some with pea brains this makes a lot of sense, but to the intelligent it is a heap of crap.

Trump wife was living and working in US since 1996 as a model .. got her residence card in 2001. 

I dont know about US immigration policy.. can foreigners work in US for extended period, let’s say 1996-2001. 

Go and figure out what your beautiful country of Canada could do to alleviate the refugee issue.  Set up shelters and house them and grant them status.  Settle them in your vast empty country and let them grow tomatoes.  

Charity begins at home, don’t point your finger.  

To some with pea brains this makes a lot of sense, but to the intelligent it is a heap of crap.

That’s why he is president and you a moose proctologist!