President joins men against domestic violence walk

Georgetown, GINA, June 30, 2012 -- Source - GINA

Chants of “no more licks,” reverberated when a gathering of men led a walk through the streets of Georgetown today sending a strong message to the public that they abhor domestic violence and pledged not to countenance the culture of abuse plaguing the society.

President Donald Ramotar delivered on his promise to join the walk that ended in the National Park after participants assembled in the vicinity of Umana Yana at 7:00 h and proceeded along a route that included Main, Regent and Albert streets.

Men of society participating in a walk against domestic violence.President Donald Ramotar is in the midst

Leading the way was a banner carrying the theme, “When you heat up, Don’t beat up”, followed by activists including a few women from the government, the diplomatic corps, the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) and civil society.

The walk organised by the Mens’s Affairs Bureau (MAB) caught the curiosity of several onlookers some of whom hailed President Ramotar upon observation and commended the initiative with cheerful remarks.

It comes at a time when the country has recorded 13 domestic violence related deaths for 2012 and is seeing daily reports of a vise widely accepted as a global problem that has been perceived as part of the gender socialisation process.

President Donald Ramotar signing the resolution for men against domestic violence

Although in significant proportions women are often the victims, Rev. Patrick Findlay who heads the MAB, spoke about daily accounts of men filing complaints about being abused by their female partners.

The bureau was launched in March last year under the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security as a special unit for men with mandates similar to that of the Women’s Affairs Bureau catering to women.

Apart from finding a niche for men who are victims of domestic violence, MAB also promotes activities to help them realise their true potential as fathers, husbands, parents and role models.

Today’s activity saw men affixing their signature to a resolution that reaffirms their commitment to their spouse and their offsprings, to demonstrate love, servitude and protection at all times.

US Ambassador Brent Hardt signs the resolution for men against domestic violence as President Donald Ramotar looks on

President Ramotar who signed the resolution along with Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, United States Ambassador Brent Hardt, Mexican Ambassador Francisco Olguin, Rev Dr. Kwame Gilbert and Bishop Juan Edghill among others participants.

The Head of State hailed the initiative as one that will add to the process of building a humane society free from violence and where everyone is their “brother’s keeper,” as said in the good book.

He however, believes that the process begins in the home where socialisation is primary.

“Children growing up in an atmosphere where there is domestic violence… affects them tremendously… it has a serious physiological effect that will mark that child forever,” President Ramotar said.

The President linked domestic violence to other crimes in society and pointed to some of the cause factors that can be corrected like school drop outs and drug abuse.

Men against domestic violence walking along Regent Street with a banner leading the way

The call for action in line with conversation was made by Ambassador Hardt who on June 27 was an active participant when the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security launched a National Conversation on Domestic violence.

It was the first of a series of dialogue that will take place in all 10 administrative regions during the months of July and November of this year with the initial areas targeted being Matthews Ridge, Moruca, Mabaruma, and Port Kaituma, in Region One; Anna Regina, Region Two; New Amsterdam, Region Six; Bartica, Region Seven; Mahdia, Region Eight and Linden, Region Ten.

The psyche that teaches men to be head of the home was countered when Rev. Dr. Gilbert quoted scriptures from the Bible pointing to men and women as equals. He called on all men not to treat the societal issue with apathy.

President Donald Speaking to the gathering of men in the National Park after a walk against domestic violence.

Two years ago, I had told a female leader in the DV movement to solicit and enroll men in the fight against DV.  It would bring balance and gain a lot of credibility.  At that time she said "no", this is a woman's fight for justice.  Men reach and influence other men much more than a feminist group or the police.

Domestic abuse & violence is not just against men it is also against women. No one can ever say that only men are prone to violent behavior towards their spouses. They're many good men and fathers as there are women and mothers. This is not a feminist or sexist issue it's a people's issue.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Domestic abuse & violence is not just against men it is also against women. No one can ever say that only men are prone to violent behavior towards their spouses. They're many good men and fathers as there are women and mothers. This is not a feminist or sexist issue it's a people's issue.

That's not I was implying, i was comment on the perception.  Anyway, it's a good initiative taken up by the president.  And I do agree with you, it goes both ways as such my suggestion to have both involved.

Originally Posted by Wendy Holmes:

It's extremely heartwarming to see the President and these men taking a walk for mankind and womankind in a country that's very male-dominated.     

What you mean by Male dominated.??

-----------------

Take a look around this Political forum and you'll see it clearly manifested.  It has extended all the way to this forum where only a few females post.    Women's place is in the kitchen, barefoot and pregnant.  

-----------------

Take a look around this Political forum and you'll see it clearly manifested.  It has extended all the way to this forum where only a few females post.    Women's place is in the kitchen, barefoot and pregnant.  

Is there a control over women posting?

-----------------

How lucky they are. They dont have to go out in the Snow.

-----------------

How lucky they are. They dont have to go out in the Snow.

-----------------

Great  observation!  But  I  submit  women   by  default  allow  that  to  happen. Good  for  you  that  you are  here ,  but  be  careful  around  Nehru!  He  is  one  who  strongly   believe  that 'Women's place is in the kitchen, barefoot and pregnant'  and  given  the  opportunity,  I  am  110%  certain that  is  where  he  would  like  to  keep  you and  I  suspect   the  baseman  is  no different 

-----------------

Wendy Holmes you are a very pretty girl.  So I hope you are not really the Bookman or Albert in disguise.  Because that would be a disappointment to alot of the guys who like that pretty face of yours.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

Any abuse against women whether physical or verbal should never be tolerated. Period.

A study done by Harvard back in 2003 and some more recent research here on female bullyism concluded that women meite out much more verbal abuse and men more physical abuse.  I remember growing up in Guyana and women always say a woman's strength is in her mouth, words, etc.

Both sides need to work on being sensitive to what triggers the other.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

-----------------

Wendy Holmes you are a very pretty girl.  So I hope you are not really the Bookman or Albert in disguise.  Because that would be a disappointment to alot of the guys including me who like that pretty face of yours.

Here  is  another  sly  fox who   has  lecherous  design Wendy, so  watch  out! heard  he  got  10  pickney and wifey  is  again barefoot  and  pregnant  in  de  kitchen. 

Originally Posted by Mara:

-----------------

Wendy Holmes you are a very pretty girl.  So I hope you are not really the Bookman or Albert in disguise.  Because that would be a disappointment to alot of the guys including me who like that pretty face of yours.

Here  is  another  sly  fox who   has  lecherous  design Wendy, so  watch  out! heard  he  got  10  pickney and wifey  is  again barefoot  and  pregnant  in  de  kitchen. 

...and it's not even he own wife.

Guys I have to tell you that is the best way in making that woman not fight with me.

Oh  Raas!  And  I  was hoping  to  start  a fight  between you & wendy  and   all  dem odda  saga-bais then  make  my  move  like  speedy  Gonzalez! 

Mara, I am coming to Vancouver sometime in the future to meet friends. I will meet up with you and we can have dinner and beer at Mahony & Sons. 

Would  be  more  than happy  to  meet  with  you  Prash. But  be  forewarned, Mara  is  the brown  version a Hill Billey.   Keep  me  in  the  loop.