Jagdeo discharged from hospital

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo

– stunned by malicious reporting in Kaieteur News, Stabroek News

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo was discharged from hospital on Tuesday after receiving treatment in Miami, Florida for dengue fever and pneumonia.

The former President is expected back in the country later this week Guyana Times was reliably informed. Jagdeo initially began receiving treatment in Guyana and was advised by his medical team to seek further treatment in a recommended hospital overseas.

The former President immediately agreed to go on the advice of his doctor. Jagdeo expressed sincere thanks and appreciation to the many persons who conveyed best wishes for his speedy recovery.

The former President, however, said he has been taken by total surprise by what he termed “malicious and deliberate” disinformation about his illness, as well as about other personal matters, as reported in the Kaieteur News, Stabroek News, and some online media entities in Guyana.

Jagdeo further described these reports as “insensitive, and irresponsible”, stating that they were clearly aimed as “personal attacks “on him by Kaieteur News and Stabroek News.

Specifically, the Stabroek News reported that Jagdeo was staying at “his home” in Florida, while the Kaieteur News speculated wildly about the costs for air travel.

Speaking after being discharged, Jagdeo said the assertion of property ownership is not only false, but also a “total fabrication” and “blatant lie”.

He asserted that at no time was he, nor is he currently, the owner of any property in Florida. This, he described, as yet another glaring personal attack aimed at damaging his credibility.

Jagdeo said he intends to pursue this matter further on his return to Guyana.

“What is even more shocking is that this attack was being orchestrated and carried out on the former President even while he was undergoing treatment and recuperating in hospital,” one member of the medical team said.

Jagdeo departed Guyana on Friday night and arrived in Miami, Florida early Saturday morning.  Medical personnel informed this publication that Jagdeo responded well to treatment while he was in hospital.

Jagdeo last month celebrated his 50th birthday. He recently returned from India where he represented Guyana and joined several high-level officials, including former United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan, at the opening of the 14th Delhi Sustainable Development Summit (DSDS) in the Indian capital, New Delhi, under the theme, “Attaining Energy, Water and Food Security for All”.

God bless President Jagdeo. A great son and saviour.

The man sets the record straight and should sue those who print and post misinformation.

Well please let him save the tax payers the cost of his medivac.

Yugi be fair, lil belly wuk and fever and you spend $40,000 US to come to the states.

If  he had to use his own money would he have done the same?

Well please let him save the tax payers the cost of his medivac.

Yugi be fair, lil belly wuk and fever and you spend $40,000 US to come to the states.

If  he had to use his own money would he have done the same?

He is no ordinary person. He is a former president. 

Nigel received assistance from the PPP when he almost died and no one said thanks or questioned how much was spent.

Let us be fair.

And yes, Nigel was no President.

Originally Posted by Observer:

Someone went to a meeting in India and had to be rushed back home to the US because he got seriously ill with pneumonia and e. coli.   

Facts please. No more "dem boys seh".

Someone went to a meeting in India and had to be rushed back home to the US because he got seriously ill with pneumonia and e. coli.   

This happened to a US citizen who travels to India extensively. Something with the food and water.

I know a friend who contracted hepatits B after visiting India.

Read nah Padna Read.  Lil  reading good but sometimes understanding is the prablem.

Me know is some gay pride party he gone to in Miami and he get running stomach from using too much crystals.

Last edited by Mr.T
Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Read nah Padna Read.  Lil  reading good but sometimes understanding is the prablem.

Me know is some gay pride party he gone to in Miami and he get running stomach from using too much crystals.

You dont need to go to Miami, half of the British Parliament does hang out at your Apartment.

When you guys start going down this stupid raod then the real essence of the debate is lost.

The issue here is Mr Jagdeo using over $40,000 US to travel to the Miami for belly wuk and fever.

Mind you $40,000 is just for the aircraft not all the added expense for staff and medical treatment.

This can easily run up in the thousands of dollars.

This is not fair to the hrad working taxpayers who for the most part cannot afford a trip to a private doctor or hospital in Guyana .

When you guys start going down this stupid raod then the real essence of the debate is lost.

The issue here is Mr Jagdeo using over $40,000 US to travel to the Miami for belly wuk and fever.

Mind you $40,000 is just for the aircraft not all the added expense for staff and medical treatment.

This is not fair to the hrad working taxpayers who for the most part cannot afford a trip to a private doctor or hospital in Guyana .

this money could out fit a new wing at the GTH GUYANA gone to the dogs or only for the dogs when they cannot treat some one for dengue fever 

Not fair at all. He run the country for 12 years and have to travel abroad for belly wuk and fever. What afailure. 

I know a friend who contracted hepatits B after visiting India.

Guys, yuji 22 says: "Berbicians had to boil trench water for bathing and drinking."

yuji22 recently visited India and didn't complain of diarrhea and belly-wuk.

The Berbice trench water strengthened yuji's immune system.

He should thank the PNC.

Originally Posted by ball:

THe sumotoo was no longer sweet in Guyana so he had to come to Miami fo suck America sumotoo and get better.

It is better to suck Sumutoo than what you are sucking. But I respect your choice.

Govt. must justify Jagdeo’s medivac as cost effective

February 26, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

… this must be of concern to the taxpayers of the country – Greenidge

“One would expect that the Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Shamdeo Persaud and/or the Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran, or whoever’s medical advice was sought, would be able to justify as cost effective, the decision to charter a jet from Florida to Guyana and back, to medivac former President, Bharrat Jagdeo for treatment. The Government

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo

needs to justify this.” This was the assertion of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU)’s, Financial Spokesperson, Carl Greenidge, who has been one of the fiercest critics of the open-ended nature of the Former President’s Benefits (and other Amenities) Act. Unconfirmed reports suggest that Jagdeo contracted dengue and it is for this reason he was flown overseas for medical treatment. When he was flown out of Guyana on Friday evening last, Jagdeo was reportedly suffering from persistent fever, vomiting and diarrhea. “Surely the cost of the overseas trip for the former President must be of concern to the taxpayers of the country, as it is they who would be footing the Bill!” Greenidge exclaimed. He declined however to comment on where a private person would want to seek treatment for whatever ailment they may have, but reiterated that since it is tax dollars being used, the resort to overseas treatment must be defensible. Greenidge again drew reference to the fact that it is not the individual that the opposition has a problem with, but rather the open-ended nature of the law. He noted as an example that the President can adopt how many persons he wants after he would have demitted office and that they too would become eligible for benefits under the Law, all of which would have to be paid for with taxpayers’ dollars. Efforts to contact CMO, Dr Persaud, yesterday proved futile, however Minister of Health, Bheri Ramsaran is on record saying that the Former President, Jagdeo, is a private citizen and can choose to seek medical help wherever he wants. Asked repeatedly about the fact that it is the State that would have to foot the bill for Jagdeo’s treatment, the Minister maintained that it is a ‘private matter’.

APNU’s Carl Greenidge

Asked whether the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC), could not have dealt with Jagdeo’s fever, vomiting and diarrhea, the Minister said that this is possible, but was adamant that he was unaware of what was afflicting the former President and as such could not offer an informed comment. He said that like any private citizen, Jagdeo is entitled to choose wherever he wants to seek medical attention. Jagdeo was flown to a Florida Hospital, Friday evening and accompanying him was Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop, who was described as his best friend. How long Jagdeo has had this condition is still to be ascertained. A privately-owned Lear jet out of Fort Lauderdale, Florida landed at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) shortly after 21:00 hours Friday night to medivac Jagdeo to the United States. His entourage, comprising Dr. Ramroop and his security detail arrived at the airport at 22:00 hours that night. The aircraft took off for Florida at 22:30 hours. This publication understands that the chartering of a Lear Jet, from Florida to Guyana and back for a medivac, would cost between US$35,000 ($7M) and US$40,000 ($8M). This would be in addition to the thousands more that would be used to pay the hospital bill and other expenditure related to his illness. In May 2009, then President Jagdeo assented to the controversial Former Presidents (Benefits and Facilities) Bill bringing it into law.

Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran

Under that Act, he and his successors would receive free medical attention and medical treatment, paid for by the state, or reimbursement of medical expenses incurred by them for the medical attention or treatment of themselves and the dependant members of their family.

Cannot understand the negative and inhuman comments some of you guys are posting , this is someone health, it's disgusting, and admin should not allowed any of these post to continue, who don't like the man, you have a choice, there is time for fun and silly things. 

Originally Posted by david:

Cannot understand the negative and inhuman comments some of you guys are posting , this is someone health, it's disgusting, and admin should not allowed any of these post to continue, who don't like the man, you have a choice, there is time for fun and silly things. 

go change bar-rat pampers

Why do you want to hide this under the rug?

Mithwa, you the last should ask that question, unless to are a hypocrite for a Hindu, this is about someone health, start a new thread if you want to criticize the man, love your enemies dame it, how you sleep in the nite,  

Like you I do not agree with some of the disgusting  comments.

However when you are saying that the admin should not allow this , you are behaving like a third world dictator, stop your foolishness.

Stop and ask yourself why all the negative comments, go on FB and see  folks are saying about President Jagdeo. What is written here by a few is nothing compared to what is on FACEBOOK.

go change bar-rat pampers

Have no problem with that would even change yours, if I have to. 

I see where your mentality came from, Guyanese have a different culture, Facebook is a different forum, I will Pray for you,  

My mamoo said when Mr Burnham died thousands celebrated. The same will happen when Mr Jagdeo meets his maker. 

I see where your mentality came from, Guyanese have a different culture, Facebook is a different forum, I will Pray for you,  

My mamoo said when Mr Burnham died thousands celebrated. The same will happen when Mr Jagdeo meets his maker. 

Tell yuh Mamoo I say hello and I will picking you up at 6 PM

This JB dude once posted here as Mahen. He always mentioned his fadda and mamoo.

That's right celebrate the life of the person, and Burnham did Great things for Guyana, you will also meet your maker, and we will do the same thing on this forum for you.

Burnham did great thing for Guyana? Since when?

The real issue is why taxpayers have to bear the cost for President Jagdeo belly wuk and fever.

The same happen to every former head of state, did you forget then opposition leader Corbin was send overseas and tax payers pay for him,  

The real issue is why taxpayers have to bear the cost for President Jagdeo belly wuk and fever.

The same happen to every former head of state, did you forget then opposition leader Corbin was send overseas and tax payers pay for him,  

Imagine yall in power for 21 plus years and still leaders have to go overseas for feaver and belly wuk. What a shame and failure. Jagdeo failed.

Burnham did great thing for Guyana? Since when?

Are you for real, as much as I suffer under him he introduced National Service and we all benefits from that, we learned to be self productive, grow locally,and be self independent, and Indians became richer.