http://guyanachronicle.com/201...chair-constitutional

President Granger’s appointment of GECOM chair constitutional Appeal Court rules

President David Granger presenting Justice James Patterson with his letter of appointment after he was sworn in as Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) back in October, 2017

– Appellate Court upholds decisions of the High Court ruling

– says Opposition Leader should have engaged the President before submitting initial list to determine acceptability

The Court of Appeal moments ago ruled that the appointment of Justice (Ret’d) James Patterson as Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) by President David Granger is constitutional, thereby upholding the decision of the High Court.

Decision was handed down by Chancellor of the Judiciary, Justice Yonette Cummings-Edwards, Justice Dawn Gregory and Justice Rishi Persaud.

Alluding to Article 161 (2), Justice Gregory, in delivering the ruling, said she is of the view that a list of six names was contemplated by the framers, and also established the need for consultation.

She ruled that while the Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo submitted three lists with six sets of names, he should have engaged the President prior to the submission of the list to give rise to consensus.

“I find that to have submitted a list, three sets of names, and simultaneously ask the President, in submitting those names to choose a chairman, in my mind that could not have been contemplated as achieving consensus.

“So I read not unacceptable to the President as requiring the Leader of the Opposition to engage in a separate process of determining acceptability and then after the engagement process is undertaken then to have gathered one list of six names,” Justice Gregory explained.

Other elements of the case were considered by the Chancellor (ag), Justice Gregory and Justice Persaud in arriving at the decision.

At the end of the ruling, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams expressed satisfaction.

The now dismissed case was brought against the Attorney General by People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Executive Secretary, Zulfikar Mustapha, who is being represented by Attorney-at-Law Anil Nandlall.

Pick up a copy of the Guyana Chronicle tomorrow for a detailed report

"says Opposition Leader should have engaged the President before submitting initial list to determine acceptability"

I am not sure I am following the logic to this. Maybe one of you smart bannas can explain this to me...

How is it possible for the Opposition Leader to engage the President when the Constitution says the Opposition can submit the list? Should not the President engage the Opposition during and after the First List was submitted. Why then do they have to go through the process of having the Opposition submit a Third List? Or, is this Granger's way of belittling Jagdeo?. 

Something na rite here.

"says Opposition Leader should have engaged the President before submitting initial list to determine acceptability"

I am not sure I am following the logic to this. Maybe one of you smart bannas can explain this to me...

How is it possible for the Opposition Leader to engage the President when the Constitution says the Opposition can submit the list? Should not the President engage the Opposition during and after the First List was submitted. Why then do they have to go through the process of having the Opposition submit a Third List? Or, is this Granger's way of belittling Jagdeo?. 

Something na rite here.

Briefly, the process is ....

1. Opposition Leader submits a list of candidates.

2. President considers one or rejects all.

3. If all are rejected, Opposition Leader resubmit another list.

This process continues until one from the list is selected.

Note ... The only time that the president can unilaterally select a person is when the Opposition Leader fails to submit a list of candidates.

In this specific situation the Opposition Leader submitted lists of names to the President at all times.

Also of note ...

David Granger's name was placed on two separate lists by Desmond Hoyte when he was the Opposition Leader and a person was selected by the then Government.

Something na rite here.

Note ... The only time that the president can unilaterally select a person is when the Opposition Leader fails to submit a list of candidates.

In this specific situation the Opposition Leader submitted lists of names to the President at all times.

Also of note ...

David Granger's name was placed on two separate lists by Desmond Hoyte when he was the Opposition Leader and a person was selected by the then Government.

Blah blah blah, you're wrong. Get over it. Ole man Granger mo smarter than all y'all and I told you this since the day it happened. There is no constitutional breach and you will lose at the CCJ if you waste their time and go there. 

Something na rite here.

Also of note ...

Blah blah blah, you're wrong. Get over it. Ole man Granger mo smarter than all y'all and I told you this since the day it happened. There is no constitutional breach and you will lose at the CCJ if you waste their time and go there. 

The legislation was crafted by the PPP,giving power to the President to unilaterally appoint the GECOM chairman ,came back to bite them.

Court of Appeal upholds appointment of GECOM Chairman

-in unanimous decision

October 18 2018

The Guyana Court of Appeal (GCA) earlier today upheld the ruling of the Chief Justice (ag) that the President constitutionally resorted to the proviso, which allowed for him to unilaterally appoint Justice (ret’d) James Patterson as Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

The decision was unanimous and took nearly two hours to be delivered by acting Chancellor Yonette Cummings-Edward and Justices of Appeal Rishi Persaud and Dawn Gregory.

The appeal which was filed by PPP executive Zulfikar Mustapha, contended that Patterson’s appointment contravenes the constitution and for this reason the ruling of the Chief Justice Roxane George upholding it should be overturned.

His attorney Anil Nandlall moments after the ruling expressed dissatisfaction and informed Stabroek News that he will be taking the matter to the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), Guyana final court.

Mustapha’s appeal contends that the ruling of George should be overturned for, among other things, the president’s refusal to provide reasons for rejecting a list of nominees submitted by the Leader of the Opposition and his unlawful resort to the constitutional proviso for making a unilateral appointment.

Justice George had dismissed Mustapha’s challenge to the appointment as wholly misconceived, declaring, “I hold that there is nothing before this Court to permit a finding that the President acted unlawfully or irrationally in resorting to the proviso to Article 161(2), or to rebut the presumption that Justice Patterson is qualified to be appointed to the post of Chairman of GECOM.”

Following the appointment and swearing-in of the 85-year-old Patterson almost a year ago, Mustapha filed an application, contending that the president had no power to make a unilateral appointment once a list of six names had been submitted to him.

He made this argument while noting that the head of state had failed to give reasons for naming Jagdeo’s 18 nominees as unacceptable.

Article 161(2) provides for the appointment of a Chairman based on a consensual process in which a list of six persons, “not unacceptable to the president,” is submitted by the opposition leader.

Lampy Pampy which Legislation or I forgot you just pull that one out of your ass.

Empty paper bag,you are clueless,when you want to have a discussion on a subject matter do some reading.

Something na rite here.

Also of note ...

The legislation was crafted by the PPP,giving power to the President to unilaterally appoint the GECOM chairman ,came back to bite them.

The President can ONLY unilaterally appoint a chairman when the Opposition Leader DOES NOT submit a list of candidates.

Lampy Pampy, so why Jagdeo was not able to appoint Surujbally without all the fights, Mo Fiah and Slo Fiah??/

The decision was UNANIMOUS,the Constitution is the Law of the Land.

Too bad for those who can't interpret the document..

GECOM Chairman – a look at previous lists

The issue of the appointment of a new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission has recently been brought into national focus following the announcement this week by His Excellency, President David Granger that he had found the list of names submitted to him by Opposition Leader Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo to be unacceptable.

The list submitted by Mr. Jagdeo is:

1. Ramesh Dookhoo
2. Lawrence Latchmansingh
3. Maj. Gen. Rtd Norman McLean
4. Christopher Ram
5. Prof. James Rose
6. Rhyaan Shaw

Since the Carter formula was implemented prior to the 1992 elections and subsequently enshrined in the constitution, there have been no prior instances of a President having found the list submitted him to have been unacceptable. We are therefore now in unchartered territory as a nation.

The list submitted by Jagdeo however can be reasonably deemed unusual and noticeably different from those which were previously submitted by opposition leaders which resulted in GECOM Chairmen who presided over General and Regional elections.

In 1991, then Opposition Leader Dr. Cheddi Jagan submitted the following list to then President Desmond Hoyte.

1. Ambassador Rudy Collins
2. Jules DeCambra
3. Joey King
4. Edward Luckhoo
5. Bryn Pollard
6. David Yankana

Ambassador Rudy Collins was named GECOM Chairman by President Hoyte.

In 1995 when the tables had turned the then Opposition Leader Hoyte submitted the following list to then President Dr. Jagan.

1. Justice Rudolph Harper
2. Edward Hopkinson
3. Randolph Kirton
4. Ambassador Charles Liburd
5. Justice James Patterson
6. Doodnauth Singh

Mr. Singh was nominated by Dr. Jagan and sworn in as GECOM Chairman.

In 2000, Mr. Hoyte once again submitted a list to Mr. Jagdeo who had been elevated to the presidency. This list was as follows:

1. Prof. Dennis Craig
2. Harold Davis
3. Dr. Gem Fletcher
4. Brig. David Granger
5. Justice Rudolph Harper
6. Maj. Gen. (Rtd) Joe Singh

Maj. Gen. Singh was named as GECOM Chairman by Mr. Jagdeo.

After the resignation of Maj. Gen. Singh following the March 2001 elections, Opposition Leader Hoyte submitted another list to then President Jagdeo.

This list was identical to the one previously submitted, save for one change – Maj. Gen. Singh’s name was replaced by Dr. Steve Surujbally who was appointed GECOM Chairman by then President Jagdeo.

1. Prof. Dennis Craig
2. Harold Davis
3. Dr. Gem Fletcher
4. Brig. David Granger
5. Justice Rudolph Harper
6. Dr. Steve Surujbally

Justice Harper, a former Chief Justice, puisne judge and Justice of Appeal, features on all three lists submitted by Mr. Hoyte.

In 1991, the list submitted by Dr. Jagan included attorneys-at-law Edward Luckhoo, Bryn Pollard (who is also a former Chief Parliamentary Counsel) and Joey King.

The list submitted by Jagdeo therefore is historic and unusual in that it is the only such list which does not include a former judge or a Senior Counsel who would have been qualified to be appointed as a judge (though it does include the eminent accountant Mr. Ram, who was also admitted to the bar as an attorney-at-law on October 5, 2009).

Also of note ...

Note on David Granger.

alena06 posted:

You win some, you lose some.  PPP needs to come up with Plan B if they have not already done so.  

Me think plan C gyaal.  Jaggy got bowled out of contention, now this.

Something na rite here.

Also of note ...

I thought this legislation is from the Constitution, the Burnham Constitution.

The 1980 Constitution was amended,to select the GECOM Chairman.Parts remained to give the President power to have the final say.

Don't tell you will buy that wasn't amended,when the PPP boasts of over 200 amendments.

Use Google you can get a copy of the Constitution.

The 1980 Constitution was amended,to select the GECOM Chairman.Parts remained to give the President power to have the final say.

Don't tell you will buy that wasn't amended,when the PPP boasts of over 200 amendments.

GECOM was Jimmy Carter's idea.  And it was after 1980.

Lampy Pampy, so why Jagdeo was not able to appoint Surujbally without all the fights, Mo Fiah and Slo Fiah??/

GECOM worked well before the PNC disregarded the Constitution.  Granger himself was nominated as GECOM Chairman and he had no objections.  This is bullyism and an insult to democracy.  In other countries there would have been a civil war for blatant disregard of the law.

Something na rite here.

Also of note ...

The President can ONLY unilaterally appoint a chairman when the Opposition Leader DOES NOT submit a list of candidates.

Correct.

GECOM was Jimmy Carter's idea.  And it was after 1980.

Did you not read the 1980 Constitution was amended.

Jimmy Carter idea was temporary,a better system from political interference needed,recommendations was made,the PPP sat on it thinking they will never be out of Government,now the chicken coming home to roost,they crying foul.

Good for them that does happen when you are power hungry.

I have the 1980 and the amended Constitution,can find at the moment.

Correct.

Alyuh missing "the list have to be acceptable " to the President.

Correct.

PNC might be dunce, but dem aint stchupit!

Correct.

Stop with your comics.  He had put Joe Singh name on his list and then turn around and reject the same Joe Singh from Jagdeo list.  This is pure hypocrisy, and barefaced skulduggery.  The man is worse than shameless.

Correct.

Stop with your comics.  He had put Joe Singh name on his list and then turn around and reject the same Joe Singh from Jagdeo list.  This is pure hypocrisy, and barefaced skulduggery.  The man is worse than shameless.

Prablim you have Bibi dawling, court agrees with the PNC!  Sad!!

GECOM worked well before the PNC disregarded the Constitution.  Granger himself was nominated as GECOM Chairman and he had no objections.  This is bullyism and an insult to democracy.  In other countries there would have been a civil war for blatant disregard of the law.

Stop talking tripe. The courts ruled that Granger acted in accordance with the constitution. Run off to the CCJ now and be disappointed again. 

Correct.

Read the clause,Granger put Jagdeo to his place.

The Judges  unanimously rule on the petition, the PPP can take it to CCJ,it will also be a no win there.

Suh alyuh start the war nuh,lots of braveheart in Freedom House.

Look how these folks who were the bastion of morality now selling their souls to the devil, using terms such as "fit and proper", "acceptable to the president" to justify their wickedness.  The slop emanating from their lips is sickening, however this is to be expected as it is their sole function in life. 

Stop talking tripe. The courts ruled that Granger acted in accordance with the constitution. Run off to the CCJ now and be disappointed again. 

Favorable CCJ is remote!

Correct.

The Judges  unanimously rule on the petition, the PPP can take it to CCJ,it will also be a no win there.

So then Granger's de facto govt is null and void as Surajbally was an unconstitutional GECOM puppet.

Correct.

So then Granger's de facto govt is null and void as Surajbally was an unconstitutional GECOM puppet.

Haven't heard that for a while,looks like copying from them PPP bhais FB page.

Alyuh hound Surujbally,since the loss started.

Correct.

If the list is unacceptable, the President must request another list from the Opposition Leader.

The President can ONLY unilaterally appoint a person when the Opposition Leader fails to submit a list, as outline in the Laws of Guyana.

In all instances, the Opposition Leader submitted a list of candidates.

I said Granger will win and his GECOM "unfit and improper" appointee will stay. So said and so it is written. This also put Jagdeo on the spot of not understanding the constitution, or he has been given half crack, coolie advise from Pinocchio Nandlall. 

The same skoant you start with "coolie". Why did you not say Frigging Niggro Granger? How come you know Jagdeo does not understand the constitution? Are you an expert constitutional attorney? Can you read and comprehend or properly construct a sentence? Does a dictator observe any constitution? You have too many laghu baghu nonsense ideas running in your head. It is time to go get professional help. If you can't, please let me know. I know a pandit who can make a strong tabeej for you. Maybe jumbie deh in you head.