President Granger pushes ahead with agenda; disappointed PPP would not work with national unity govt.

“I really want to see every Guyanese child, regardless of how poor they are in school, and if I can go through the streets and see no body liming and children selling papers during school hours I’d be very very happy,”

President Granger pushes ahead with agenda; disappointed PPP would not work with national unity govt.

Two days after being sworn in as Guyana’s 8th Executive President and on the first working day of his presidency,   Head of State, President David Granger has already set about working to leave what he believes will be a lasting legacy.

In a Monday morning interview, Mr. Granger said he feels a sense of humility and responsibility, now that he has the support of the majority of the population to discharge his responsibilities.

Granger, who is the father of two girls, disclosed that his legacy will be to leave a well educated population, abolish extreme poverty and ensure full employment.

“I really want to see every Guyanese child, regardless of how poor they are in school, and if I can go through the streets and see no body liming and children selling papers during school hours I’d be very very happy,” Mr Granger added.

He said the Guyanese people voted change and he intends to fulfill that promise.

Granger in an anxious tone said “meetings, meetings, meetings … I have to meet the people and let them know the direction we are going in,” when asked about his day ahead.

He will be working out of the Office of the President and promised to name his Cabinet within one week, after meaningful consultation, and subsequently set the 11thParliament into motion within 14 days.

A budget could be expected within 60 days.

The new government is yet to confirm how the economy is doing financially but Granger said his immediate focus will be to find money to keep the country rolling and provide security to citizens.

Mr. Granger said too that he was very disappointed that Former President Donald Ramotar, who he last spoke with on Friday night, has not accepted his offer for close working relations.

The President said Ramotar, who led the PPP Civic into the elections, has shown no indication of acceptance and reasoned that the win which the APNU+AFC coalition has secured is a movement that Guyana been waiting for and. To this end he explained that Ramotar could send a good message to his supporters by joining the movement for national unity rather than staying on sideline and criticize.

“Guyana has turned the corner. It will be better government… we are not in the business of winner takes all and locking people out. I would like a government of all the people and that is why I would like to ask former President Ramotar to reconsider his position,” said Granger.

Responding to reports of persons claiming and seizing state property as the transition is ongoing, the President said “if you take something that doesn’t belong to you, that is theft and theft is a crime. I am not witch hunting but its unlawful to remove state property without permission… if anyone does I will send police to get it back and if they commit a crime they will be prosecuted in accordance with the law.

He said his coalition government will also look to examine projects started by the last administration and look to continue those but has already outlined how improbably it would be to continue the Specialty Hospital, Fibre Optic Cable and Amaila Falls Hydropower Porjects all of which he said, the last administration killed.   (Kurt Campbell)

Regardless how they feel about losing, the PPP should reach across to Granger and work a "deal" in the interest of the nation.  Regardless how slim, they did lose (officially).  If Granger plays this well with the AFC, it will be while before the PPP stand a chance.

Regarding having ALL kids off the street and in school, Granger has baseman's vote, i mean who can criticize that.  He has a few low-hanging fruits, clean up GT, fix the roads, side streets (some of which look like trenches in the rain), clean up those criminal gangs and bring security, etc.  Regardless how people voted, he will have the vast majority of people with him.

Granger didn't help the PPP push through their agenda.  Now he wants the PPP to help him.

He has Moses and Ramjattan.  Let them help.  And by the way what national Government?

And the drum plays on while the Guyanese people shudder!  Maybe, it's an opportunity to protect some PPP gains and break with the BJ mold, don't you think?

Regardless how they feel about losing, the PPP should reach across to Granger and work a "deal" in the interest of the nation.  Regardless how slim, they did lose (officially).  If Granger plays this well with the AFC, it will be while before the PPP stand a chance.

Regarding having ALL kids off the street and in school, Granger has baseman's vote, i mean who can criticize that.  He has a few low-hanging fruits, clean up GT, fix the roads, side streets (some of which look like trenches in the rain), clean up those criminal gangs and bring security, etc.  Regardless how people voted, he will have the vast majority of people with him.

Agree. Bills that are in the interest of the Country must be supported. I was very disappointed with the Opposition with regards to the Money Laundering Bill but the PPP must show class and not just di Tit for Tat.

Jagan did that and they also support his inconsistencies which led to hardship.    IF they can't run the country too bad.  They get a big mouth.

What about jailing all the criminals?    Ramoutar should get out of politics. 

Granger didn't help the PPP push through their agenda.  Now he wants the PPP to help him.

He has Moses and Ramjattan.  Let them help.  And by the way what national Government?

the PPP had a leech scheme and no agenda. Granger is asking for their voluntary input. He does not need them. He can ignore them and still get his agenda passed.

So you don't have anything to worry about... 

Granger does not want any opposition.   It's a trick concocted by Moses.  He wants to reach out to the PPP after cussing them out before the election.  Moses lost all his indian friends.  He is trying to show his new found friends that he is a good guy. 

Doesnt need the PPP.  You dont seem to understand this.

If the PPP wants to be spectators no one is going to stop them.