President Granger pushes ahead with agenda; disappointed PPP would not work with national unity govt.

“I really want to see every Guyanese child, regardless of how poor they are in school, and if I can go through the streets and see no body liming and children selling papers during school hours I’d be very very happy,”

President Granger pushes ahead with agenda; disappointed PPP would not work with national unity govt.

Two days after being sworn in as Guyana’s 8th Executive President and on the first working day of his presidency,  President David Granger has set about working to leave a lasting legacy.

In a Monday morning interview, Mr. Granger said he feels a sense of humility and responsibility, now that he has the support of the majority of the population to discharge his responsibilities.

Granger, who is the father of two girls, disclosed that his legacy will be to leave a well-educated population, abolish extreme poverty and ensure full employment.

“I really want to see every Guyanese child, regardless of how poor they are in school, and if I can go through the streets and see no body liming and children selling papers during school hours I’d be very very happy,” Mr Granger added.

He said the Guyanese people voted for change and he intends to fulfill his promise of change.

Granger in an anxious tone said “meetings, meetings, meetings … I have to meet the people and let them know the direction we are going in,” when asked about his day ahead.

He will be working out of the Office of the President and promised to name his Cabinet within one week and set the 11th Parliament into motion within 14 days.

A budget could be expected within 60 days.

The new government is yet to confirm how the economy is doing financially but Granger said his immediate focus will be to find money to keep the country rolling and provide security to citizens.

Mr. Granger said too that he was very disappointed that Former President Donald Ramotar, who he last spoke with on Friday night, has not accepted his offer for close working relations.

The President said Ramotar has shown no indication of acceptance. He added that the win by the coalition has secured is a movement that Guyana has been waiting on. Granger believes that the former President could send a good message to his supporters by joining the movement for national unity rather than staying on sidelines.

“Guyana has turned the corner. It will be better government… we are not in the business of winner takes all and locking people out. I would like a government of all the people and that is why I would like to ask former President Ramotar to reconsider his position,” said Granger.

Responding to reports of land grabbing by persons in various communities, the President said “if you take something that doesn’t belong to you, that is theft and theft is a crime. I am not witch hunting but its unlawful to remove state property without permission… if anyone does I will send police to get it back and if they commit a crime they will be prosecuted in accordance with the law.”

He said his government will examine projects started by the last administration and seek to continue those although the coalition has already outlined how improper it would be to continue the Specialty Hospital, Fibre Optic Cable and Amaila Falls Hydropower Projects as they are currently set up.   (Kurt Campbell)

If Granger is able to lower the crime rate, institute a rigid clean up policy, make the roads safer, strengthen our primary health care institutions, the PPP will not see the inside of the Presidency for a very long time.

You better don't talk shyte, we coming back.

Not that crew. They will cannibalize themselves wit the blame game. Some are definitely going to face the courts for theft. Others are so marked with the stain of corruption they are going to be unacceptable to the common man. The PPP has years of rebuilding ahead.

Granger has made some key moves today by removing Rohee's Crime Chief.

Granger is sending an immediate message to the rank and file of the force the status quo will not be tolerated. He has elevated a gentleman with impeccable credentials to the role of Crime Chief and he is reviewing the roles of all the divisional commanders who more than likely are going to be replaced.

The Traffic Chief has also been slated to be put on ice.

Brilliant moves and this is day what 2? Rohee couldn't do this in 10 years. If you had given him 40 they would not have been able to do this.

This is a hardcore deep racist anti koolie Afrosaxon government. No national unity talks with them. The only talks should be about our people and supporters getting our own Independent sovereign country plus 50 percent oil royalties.

Former Member posted:

Didn’t I tell you we coming back?

Not that crew. They will cannibalize themselves wit the blame game. Some are definitely going to face the courts for theft. Others are so marked with the stain of corruption they are going to be unacceptable to the common man. The PPP has years of rebuilding ahead.

How many years of rebuilding?

Former Member posted:

Granger has made some key moves today by removing Rohee's Crime Chief.

Granger is sending an immediate message to the rank and file of the force the status quo will not be tolerated. He has elevated a gentleman with impeccable credentials to the role of Crime Chief and he is reviewing the roles of all the divisional commanders who more than likely are going to be replaced.

The Traffic Chief has also been slated to be put on ice.

Brilliant moves and this is day what 2? Rohee couldn't do this in 10 years. If you had given him 40 they would not have been able to do this.

So wuh happened with Granger brilliant moves?  Looks like it burn too brilliant, it flamed out in lilbit time!

The Gadaha FULL OF SHIT!!  HE IS AN ILLEGAL, CRIMINAL PRESIDENT WHO IS ILLEGALLY OCCUPYING THE OP!!!!!

Bai, that is how black people duz operate. Wrong and strong. We see the same trend everywhere, not only Guyana.

is that the latest addendum to your "Blacks are the Scourge of the World" manifesto?

has the Florida Chapter of the Aryan Nation accepted it for publication on StormFront yet? . . . you being a black skin foreigner and all

keep us posted, arite?

“If” Granger is able to lower the crime rate, institute a rigid clean up policy, make the roads safer, strengthen our primary health care institutions, the PPP will not see the inside of the Presidency for a very long time.

Hey Stormy, dem “if” even less than “iffy” these days!  Dem PNC bannaz Fall Flat (double F) on dem face!