President says salary increases are meant to “differentiate” levels

August 3, 2015 6:00 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

President of Guyana, David Granger

[www.inewsguyana.com] – With scathing criticisms coming in from the political opposition and sections of society about considerations being made for salary increases to Presidential Advisors, Ministers and Members of Parliament; President David Granger has provided some clarity on the issue.

He told iNews during a very brief comment on Sunday August 02 that the considerations being made to the salary increases are meant to establish a pay grade.

The President explained that this will “differentiate” between Presidential Advisors, Ministers, Junior Ministers, Members of Parliament, and other persons who will be affected.

The President would not speak further on the issue. iNews had reported that Finance Minister, Winston Jordan confirmed that the salaries may be increased pending the outcome of considerations.

Jordan told iNews on August 01, that the salaries for these officials were “under active consideration;” however the Finance Minister did not state what amount the increases would be since according to him, it is being considered.

But the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) in a statement resisted this move by the new government insisting it was nothing more than “meat for the boys and bones,” for Guyana.

“This is same administration which had claimed there is no money in the treasury to continue the School Uniform Voucher Programme and to give public servants a promised 20% pay increase. Moreover, the APNU+AFC, while in opposition, had accused the PPP/Civic government of excessive spending. Clearly, the Granger Administration is more concerned with living extravagant lifestyles and earning big bucks, while the population suffers, it is meat for the boys and bones for the rest of the nation.”

But the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) in a statement resisted this move by the new government insisting it was nothing more than “meat for the boys and bones,” for Guyana.

“This is same administration which had claimed there is no money in the treasury to continue the School Uniform Voucher Programme and to give public servants a promised 20% pay increase. Moreover, the APNU+AFC, while in opposition, had accused the PPP/Civic government of excessive spending. Clearly, the Granger Administration is more concerned with living extravagant lifestyles and earning big bucks, while the population suffers, it is meat for the boys and bones for the rest of the nation.”

So what we can figure from the President's respond is that these salary increases are meant to quote “differentiate” levels.

The President fails to elaborate, if I were to speculate then, I would say that the increases is a far gone conclusion.

APNU+AFC taking away money from poor school children to give themselves fat raises. This is not right.

I actually support these increases, creates headroom and makes it easier to recruit those aspiring "talents" from the diaspora.  Let the locals continue what they are doing, make guave cheese, plant edoe, throw cast-net.  It's a matter of value proposition.

APNU+AFC taking away money from poor school children to give themselves fat raises. This is not right.

Ofcourse it does not seems right, that is the main reason why should Local Government Elections were to happen now............the people will remember this Shylock cut of salary extravagance.

Guyana can ill afford that right now.

Ahwe dayzz now!!  Dem bais salivating over the cookie jar.

Except, the PPP/C emptied the cookie jar.

Dem bais ain't acting like anything empty, except their promises!!

Originally Posted by asj:

Ofcourse it does not seems right, that is the main reason why should Local Government Elections were to happen now............the people will remember this Shylock cut of salary extravagance.

All alyuh skont jealous.  What's so extravagant with $100k salary??

Bai you should stop making yourselt out to be a Jackass and understand that we are not talking about $100K Salary increase.......we are taling about 100 percent salary increase.

Govt to award VPs and 27 Ministers 100%+ salary increases

Government mulls salary hike for Cabinet Members

That my friend is two different thing.

Bai you should stop making yourselt out to be a Jackass and understand that we are not talking about $100K Salary increase.......dummy we are taling about 100 percent salary increase.

ASsJack.  Read and comprehend before you bray.  It's not about the increase, it about the salary, the increase is just derived.  Nagamootoo salary is being pegged at USD 100k.  With that, Granger should easily be USD 150k.

Baseman supports the GoG seeking livable wages for the ruling class!!

Bai you should stop making yourselt out to be a Jackass and understand that we are not talking about $100K Salary increase.......dummy we are taling about 100 percent salary increase.

ASsJack.  It's not about the increase, it about the salary, the increase is just derived.  Nagamootoo salary is being pegged at USD 100k.  With that, Granger should easily be USD 150k.

The Chief House Slave had a lot to say prior to May 11 about Govt WASTE, DICTATORSHIP and so on, what happen now, his mouth in his Batty???

After May 11, the Chief House Slave had plenty to say about the PPP emptying the Treasury, then Chief House Slave, if so, how can the Country afford the increases??  Are you a SHAMELESS PARASITE not only a House Slave?????????????????

Bai you should stop making yourselt out to be a Jackass and understand that we are not talking about $100K Salary increase.......we are taling about 100 percent salary increase.

Govt to award VPs and 27 Ministers 100%+ salary increases

That my friend is two different thing.

Dem bais smiling like the big bad amazonian cyatt staring at an unattended open tub of butter. 

Come in deh Caribj with that amazonian steel cyatt!!

Base Batty, You are a worst skonthole than Granger and his gang. If you are going to speak about US Dollars then state it, ********.

Now now, why you so jealous with dem bais checking out the US peg.  They are worth their weight in gold, and that is priced in USD!!

Baseman supports these proposed salary levels for the ruling class!!

Bai you should stop making yourselt out to be a Jackass and understand that we are not talking about$100K Salary increase.......dummy we are taling about 100 percent salary increase.

ASsJack.  Read and comprehend before you bray.  It's not about the increase, it about the salary, the increase is just derived.  Nagamootoo salary is being pegged at USD 100k.  With that, Granger should easily be USD 150k.

Since you are an anti man why don't you go such on Granger dic k, ********

You appear on GNI like someone who is in the know, but you are just pimping to see how many men you can get to bugg er you.

Bai you should stop making yourselt out to be a Jackass and understand that we are not talking about$100K Salary increase.......dummy we are taling about 100 percent salary increase.

You appear on GNI like someone who is in the know, but you are just pimping to see how many men you can get to bugg er you.

Now now, ASsJack, you need to be an optimist, is the cookie jar half filled or half empty.  I actually believe it's the former but them PNC bais just playing dem ass with alyuh.  Ruling class in any nation is well compensated.  If those canecutter, guava cheese makers, shrimp picker want to join the party, go to college and get in on the action.  Once again, it's about value proposition.  This bunch of rulers will take Guyana to the mountain top, that's a promise.

The 12 Junior Ministers will each earn $700,000 monthly and like senior Ministers will be entitled to the $500,000 benefits. Therefore all the ministers- all 27 of them will also receive a duty allowance, an entertainment allowance, $45,000, housing allowance; chauffeur allowance of over $100,000 and annual vacation allowance of $420,000.

The APNU and AFC, when in Opposition, had vigorously spoken out against the “abuse” of taxpayers’ money to fill the pockets of the “greedy” government officials

Now now, ASsJack, you need to be an optimist, is the cookie jar half filled or half empty.  I actually believe it's the former but them PNC bais just playing dem ass with alyuh.  Ruling class in any nation is well compensated.  If those canecutter, guava cheese makers, shrimp picker want to join the party, go to college and get in on the action.  Once again, it's about value proposition.  This bunch of rulers will take Guyana to the mountain top, that's a promise.

Basebatty, if you are going to talk in parables, then no one will understand what you are saying, did you go to school in a whorehouse or a cave.

I just repost the figures to show you that the increase is not 100K, like you dream about last night, but 100 percent increase.

Vice Presidents deserves better pay.  We want no tiefing like IRFAAT ALI and Ruberth Persaud and BJ.

Basebatty, if you are going to talk in parables, then no one will understand what you are saying, did you go to school in a whorehouse or a cave.

I just repost the figures to show you that the increase is not 100K, like you dream about last night, but 100 percent increase.

Well, that would depend on the skill set you are referring to and within the context of the audience!!

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Vice Presidents deserves better pay.  We want no tiefing like IRFAAT ALI and Ruberth Persaud and BJ.

Absolutely, tell them, dem bais like ASJ, Redux, Caribj, et al jealous rass.  Instead of tiefing like under the PPP, dem bais building that shyte into the base salary, so at least we "legal".

your tendency to embrace and manufacture lies notwithstanding, please do not stoop to misrepresenting my position on this matter

thanks

your tendency to embrace and manufacture lies notwithstanding, please do not stoop to misrepresenting my position on this matter

thanks

Oh, were we on the same side?  Then sincere apologies bro!!  Fog of war, you know how it goes!!

2 minutes ago

You should not set a base salary, when you do not have the money to pay, or give the pensioners (who worked their entire life for slave wages) or take care of the poor and needy in Guyana.

The respect that I once had for President Granger, has dwindled, how can he (the champion of the poor and needy) show a greediness just like Jagdeo, Ramotar and Forbes Burnham.

Words on the street is that he will be a Rice Flour President, just like Burnham.

thanks

Oh, were we on the same side?  Then sincere apologies bro!!  Fog of war, you know how it goes!!

Base Batty, Begging for lil mercy, you are not on anyone sides, that is just a figment of your imagination.

You should not set a base salary, (Is which world you been living, Alice in Wonderland?) when you do not have the money to pay, or give the pensioners (who worked their entire life for slave wages - Banna, dem is not productive.  You see how busy this GoG is, pensioners sleep all day) or take care of the poor and needy (they are uneducated and likely lazy.  Our dear leader(s) are educated and hardworking) in Guyana.

The respect that I once had for President Granger, has dwindled,(Granger donw give one shyte, you don't vote) how can he

(the champion of the poor and needy) show a greediness just like Jagdeo, Ramotar and Forbes Burnham (Live and learn clown).

Words on the street is that he will be a Rice Flour President (Nice, so what, ahwe dayzz now, tek it and shut up you lil antiman).

Hey hey, ASsJack, wake up to the new Jerusalem!!

thanks

we are NOT on the same side!

what u are engaging in is sophomoric snickering, sarcastic asides and 'clever' propaganda on behalf of anil dem and the tiefman Sanata 'braintrust'

spare me . . .

thanks

we are NOT on the same side!

what u are engaging in is sophomoric snickering, sarcastic asides and 'clever' propaganda on behalf of anil dem and the tiefman Sanata 'braintrust'

spare me . . .

Me believe you seh these salary are merited just like Kishanb and BT.  Not sure who else...oh, baseman.  Caribj and Itaname displaying sheer jealousy!

Mits, if the PPP empty the cookie jar, it means NO MONEY IN THE JAR. Where then would the APNU+AFC find the money to pay these huge increases to themselves? BTW did your Excellency rip the page off from his Bible that has the ten commandments which includes "THOU SHALT NOT STEAL"?

President says salary increases are meant to “differentiate” levels

August 3, 2015 6:00 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

[www.inewsguyana.com] – With scathing criticisms coming in from the political opposition and sections of society about considerations being made for salary increases to Presidential Advisors, Ministers and Members of Parliament; President David Granger has provided some clarity on the issue.

He told iNews during a very brief comment on Sunday August 02 that the considerations being made to the salary increases are meant to establish a pay grade.

The President explained that this will “differentiate” between Presidential Advisors, Ministers, Junior Ministers, Members of Parliament, and other persons who will be affected.

The President would not speak further on the issue. iNews had reported that Finance Minister, Winston Jordan confirmed that the salaries may be increased pending the outcome of considerations.

Jordan told iNews on August 01, that the salaries for these officials were “under active consideration;” however the Finance Minister did not state what amount the increases would be since according to him, it is being considered.

Soljabai can give all the reasons why after on the job for only two months his entire cabinet and VPs deserve more than 100% salary increases from the hard working citizens of the country. They should be ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES. DAYLIGHT ROBBERY.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Mits, if the PPP empty the cookie jar, it means NO MONEY IN THE JAR. Where then would the APNU+AFC find the money to pay these huge increases to themselves? BTW did your Excellency rip the page off from his Bible that has the ten commandments which includes "THOU SHALT NOT STEAL"?

And some alyuh rip the page saying "THOU SHALT NOT COVET".  It's very good to see this new admin focus on the predicament of the ruling class.  The previous Admin focused on the lower echelon, it's time someone champion the rights of the ruling caste.

Dem fire 3000+ Amerindians + 100's of Laptoppers+ OP Bloggers + Uniform money from de lil children and undisclosed dormant bank accounts.

Screw that, they can go "eat cake"!!