african_emancipation_BV2

President David Granger, this evening, attended the a Cultural Evening hosted by the Beterverwagting/Triumph 8th of May Movement to commemorate the 180th Anniversary of the Abolition of Slavery, which was held at the Beterverwagting/Quamina Primary School Compound, East Coast Demerara. (Ministry of the Presidency photo)

August 1 2018

President David Granger Tuesday night- Emancipation Eve- urged Guyanese to become educated to take advantage of the country’s emerging oil wealth as the route towards economic emancipation.

In what appeared to be his frankest public address yet to the Afro-Guyanese community, he called on them to cease idling and depending on others for monies, but use their talent to create jobs, enrich themselves and ensure food self-sufficiency. “Go out there and use your talent to enrich yourself and your children. That is economic emancipation. We must go out there and use our talents. If we make our living by hanging around the corner and liming at the Guinness Bar, we will be forever poor but if we go into our farm, go into our workshop, go into our schools we will be able to bring prosperity,” he said.

The President said it was not time to reflect on the past but to focus on the next 10 to 18 years when “that mighty Atlantic starts to generate wealth for Guyana” Granger promised to ensure that oil revenues benefit all Guyanese in a fair manner, but said it was up to them to gear up to be hired in the petroleum sector. “I can do everything possible to make sure that the profits and benefits are equitably shared but you and your children, your sons and daughters must be educated and must be empowered to make use of that new talent,” he said. “This is a chance of a lifetime and you, who are living today, are witnessing the most transformative event in Guyana’s economic history- the coming of the petroleum industry. Don’t be sidelined, don’t be left behind. Go to school, educate yourself so you can do for your grandchildren and future generations what your fore-parents did for you,” he added.

Addressing residents at Beterverwagting village, East Coast Demerara to usher in the 180th anniversary of the abolition of slavery, the Guyanese leader told the gathering that the petroleum reserves belong to Guyanese. “There is out there in the Atlantic a powerful resource that belongs to all of us. It is not for foreigners, it is not for strangers, it’s not for outsiders. It’s for you, your children and generations to come and we in Guyana have to prepare ourselves for that economic emancipation,” said the President.

While stressing the importance of the oil sector in propelling Guyana’s development, he also highlighted the need for villagers across the country to become self-employed in the areas of agriculture, food processing and manufacturing to become self-sufficient in food.

“You must be ashamed if you do not have work. Some people are proud that they don’t have work. They want a raise. They always want a raise. People get a raise today, they expect to come back to come back to want another raise but we’ll have to promote self-employment in this village and other villages,” Granger said, adding that government services could not employ an unlimited number of persons.

The President said instead of hanging out at drinking spots and owning cellular phones and fancy clothing although they were unemployed, they should become educated and generate their own jobs to develop the village economies. He admitted that his message was hard-hitting but necessary. “So my brothers and sisters, tonight you’ve heard some hard words but emancipation was a tough thing. It was a hard thing for our ancestors,” he said.

The President appealed to the residents of Beterverwagting to ease up on alcohol consumption and ensure their children attend schools.

“Let’s put our monies in boats, buses and bicycles, not in vodka, rum and gin. Let’s put the children first. If our fore-parents were drunkards, we won’t be here today but they saved their money and they bought these villages not for themselves but for future generations,” he said.

Specifically referring to Beterverwagting, he promised to fund a project to write the history of that village if anyone was interested in doing so.  He noted that Beterverwagting was one of the “big six” villages: Buxton, Bagotville, Victoria, Plaisance, Queenstown on the Essequibo Coast.

• african_emancipation_BV2

"I can do everything possible to make sure that the profits and benefits are equitably shared "

Hey hey hey...meh see wan pig flying dis marnin juss like how Mr Ronan/Aka Dr Mr D. Hinds see ROAR baccoo peltin he house...hey hey hey

Amral posted:

he does have valid points about today's society

Dem new generation coolie bais dem doing de same since Jagdeo time. When abie grow up abie plan bora and okra and ketch patwa and shrimp. Abie ban abie belly and wuk summer foh buy skool supply. Den Mr Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr Jagdoe corruptocrats dem use nuff nuff fertilizer and chemical and kill de shrimp and patwa...and gee de people cancer. Dem F%$&^ corrupt daaags. 

Amral posted:

Valid points, but what is he doing about it? He promotes education but we have perhaps the worse school system in the Caribbean. Universities, high schools all surviving on the handouts from alumni overseas. It was his mentor who gave "free education", so let him at least upkeep the schools!

Easy to tell people stop liming and go to school, but has his administration presented ANY objectives to improve the school system? Good point on the drunkenness, but what is his ministry of health doing about the addiction crisis in the land?

All of these fking people in the AFC, PPP and PNC need to be put out to pasture. Bunch of clowns and nonentities.

Amral posted:

Valid points, but what is he doing about it? He promotes education but we have perhaps the worse school system in the Caribbean. Universities, high schools all surviving on the handouts from alumni overseas. It was his mentor who gave "free education", so let him at least upkeep the schools!

Easy to tell people stop liming and go to school, but has his administration presented ANY objectives to improve the school system? Good point on the drunkenness, but what is his ministry of health doing about the addiction crisis in the land?

All of these fking people in the AFC, PPP and PNC need to be put out to pasture. Bunch of clowns and nonentities.

Hey hey hey...abie na need skool system and university. Na yu seh get dem experience man foh run de kuntry? Give de hustlers and pushers to run de place...hey hey hey.

Dude, you sounding like a petulant clown. I said academics alone is not enough when it comes to running a country. How the hell does that translate to lil bais and girls not needing to go to high school and eventually university? or even learn a trade? Yuh disappointing man!

Hey hey hey...suh yuh is a certificate prositute den. Yuh do it online foh de doctor in fron yuh name foh impress dem simple coolie and blackman dem? Yuh do it but still value de hustler and pusha dem like Mr Trump? Hey hey hey...

Hey Hey Hey

Granger told blacks that they will have to bear with white mouth until aile money starts flowing. They have to open up plantain chips shop until then and send their children to school hungry belly despite the PNC cutting education subsidies and with the rising cost of living and a stagnant economy.

They killed the golden goose that laid the golden egg Twice.

Hey Hey Hey

Wait, what has the PNC done so far, they are sitting on their hands waiting for aile money and rebuilding Yumana Yana is their most innovative project so far.

Hey Hey Hey, Pre 1992 PNC is back in full swing.

Blacks and Douglas na stupid. Le we see how dem going to vote hungry belly in 2020 ?

Carib must be fuming that one of his own read the riot act to him. 

Hey hey hey...suh yuh is a certificate prositute den. Yuh do it online foh de doctor in fron yuh name foh impress dem simple coolie and blackman dem? Yuh do it but still value de hustler and pusha dem like Mr Trump? Hey hey hey...

Yuh is a cantankerous rass. Yuh kno full well wha ah mean. Education alone is a very necessary building block. As is experience and accomplishment. I posit that BOTH are needed for the high level positions, and not just education alone.

You want tek some Accabre graduate with a piece of paper and no real experience or track record and put he/she fuh run a bank. Doh is schupid, and we do dat enuff.

Suh...just curious...can someone explain this?

What happen to Black businesses and empowerment when dictator Burnham ruled for 28 years and controlled 85% of the economy and state resources (according to Clive Thomas)? What prevented Blacks for becoming entrepreneuring and businesslike like dem coolies who they always complaining about?

Did the PPP interven and take away the businesses from Blacks after 1992? If they complain about discrimination, like Lewis and Hinds, did Blacks have thriving small and progressive businesses under Burnham and Hoyte?

It look like Indos are better at business, whether they living under a dictatorship or not. Look what dem Indos did to Richmond Hill before they moved in...it was like a neglected city like Detroit decades ago...they made it into a thriving community today.

If this is the case (and its not a stereotype) then Indos will find innovative ways to establish business enterprises under the coalition.

The problem with dis scenario is that Blacks will not want to give up political power, since this is a guarantee for them to seek employment through state resources and largesses as long as they control state institutions, like the army, police, civil service, etc.

This is a lesson for all dem NAIVE Indos out there who feel 2020 will be free and fair and they can remove the PNC from office.

So my point is: Indos should take the advise of Booker T Washington, who advised Blacks to focus on economic interests and establishing Black-owned businesses, as the key to future security.

Lets hear comments from some of you learned citizens out there.

Yuh is a cantankerous rass. Yuh kno full well wha ah mean. Education alone is a very necessary building block. As is experience and accomplishment. I posit that BOTH are needed for the high level positions, and not just education alone.

You want tek some Accabre graduate with a piece of paper and no real experience or track record and put he/she fuh run a bank. Doh is schupid, and we do dat enuff.

Dis is the problem with Guyana today....too many square pegs in round holes. The country does not have the human capital and the skilled people needed to meet the challenges of the now projected boom that will result from the oil economy.

What happen to Black businesses and empowerment when dictator Burnham ruled for 28 years and controlled 85% of the economy and state resources (according to Clive Thomas)? What prevented Blacks for becoming entrepreneuring and businesslike like dem coolies who they always complaining about?

Did the PPP interven and take away the businesses from Blacks after 1992? If they complain about discrimination, like Lewis and Hinds, did Blacks have thriving small and progressive businesses under Burnham and Hoyte?

It look like Indos are better at business, whether they living under a dictatorship or not. Look what dem Indos did to Richmond Hill before they moved in...it was like a neglected city like Detroit decades ago...they made it into a thriving community today.

If this is the case (and its not a stereotype) then Indos will find innovative ways to establish business enterprises under the coalition.

The problem with dis scenario is that Blacks will not want to give up political power, since this is a guarantee for them to seek employment through state resources and largesses as long as they control state institutions, like the army, police, civil service, etc.

This is a lesson for all dem NAIVE Indos out there who feel 2020 will be free and fair and they can remove the PNC from office.

So my point is: Indos should take the advise of Booker T Washington, who advised Blacks to focus on economic interests and establishing Black-owned businesses, as the key to future security.

This is Vish Mahabir parading heself as the naif (see post from Ronan) and standing firmly pon it while he vomitting out he racist bile with he usual "looks like" shit. Yuh ignorance is no longer a cover fool.

The answers to your questions are in the archives, take your lazy ass and do a search. For the couple years I was reading here before registering, Caribj discussed how Burnhamism destroyed black entrepreneurship. Also mentioned how the colonial masters flooded areas and destroyed black farms. Failure there led black farmers to the civil service where they taught your illiterate ancestors how to read and write.

Guh look it up in the archives!

This is Vish Mahabir parading heself as the naif (see post from Ronan) and standing firmly pon it while he vomitting out he racist bile with he usual "looks like" shit. Yuh ignorance is no longer a cover fool.

The answers to your questions are in the archives, take your lazy ass and do a search. For the couple years I was reading here before registering, Caribj discussed how Burnhamism destroyed black entrepreneurship. Also mentioned how the colonial masters flooded areas and destroyed black farms. Failure there led black farmers to the civil service where they taught your illiterate ancestors how to read and write.

Roana/Redux/Guana man. You can only hide so much with your aliases.

Amral posted:

You mean valid points against Black people as in “ society” . Note, he is addressing the Afro Guyanese community. 

Roana/Redux/Guana man. You can only hide so much with your aliases.

Ayoo leave Mr Ronan alone. De man lookin foh dem ROAR bacoo, jumbies, moon gazer, oleheigue...hey hey hey...

Cockroach Ronan/Mr. D Hind spewing his racism.

Quote from the racist cockroach Ronan/Mr. D Hind post above:

"Failure there led black farmers to the civil service where they taught your illiterate ancestors how to read and write."

Amral posted:

You mean valid points against Black people as in “ society” . Note, he is addressing the Afro Guyanese community. 

Dave,

Imagine if an Indo President had told Afors to get off their asses, go plant a garden, stop asking for a raise, stop drinking Beer and get a job, GT would have been up in flames.

In fact, all of carib's claims have been trashed by Granger.

Dave,

Imagine if an Indo President had told Afors to get off their asses, go plant a garden, stop asking for a raise, stop drinking Beer and get a job, GT would have been up in flames.

In fact, all of carib's claims have been trashed by Granger.

Hey ignoramus, likewise if black President Granger had told and Indian crowd to stop drinking likka and malathon and restrain from beating their wives you and your Indo KKK band would be enraged! Right dumbass?

Each ethnicity has their stereotypical behavior. You point mine out, I can point yours out. You want to continue going? Cuz I'll make your lil punk ass look real stupid!

"Failure there led black farmers to the civil service where they taught your illiterate ancestors how to read and write."

Highlighted yellow is a statement of fact. Blacks went into the civil service, many were teachers at the best schools and taught the Indian children of canecutters. Where did y'all get literacy - from Uttar Pradesh? Blacks were also the midwives and nurses that traveled into the bush to deliver your canceutter babies and they did so joyfully. Pity they didn't abort the one that gave rise to a racist piece of shit like you!

It's an inconvenient truth for you because it doesn't fit with the narrative fed to you and VishMahabir from your handlers that blacks are a lazy, teefing people who made zero contributions to Guyana. Gilbakka can affirm what I wrote above, because he's not a neva see cum fo see racist piece of shit Indian like you! He knows the real history.

..btw clown, let me give  you fair warning since you seem to be a dullard in general.

a. I am not Ronan. He speaks for himself. Seems any poster with a modicum of education who deviates from the hubu backdam language from illiterates like you are grouped together as the same person.

b. I am not David Hinds. He is a public figure and you ought to be careful ascribing remarks to him, alright clown?

Despite his faults like all politicians I do believe Granger is a good man and actually a good leader if not forward looking enough. What he said is spot on, Entrepreneurship, Education and Enterprise are, and the only ways forward always has and always will be.

What we would all like to see is some form of masterplan,ecomomical, in education, health and in infrastructure, oil will provide the revenue but not the jobs never has . 

If you look at GT, Berbice ,Linden and Bartica collectively it's roughly the size of Singapore as such why not look at it as one large municipal from a development perspective.

But back to the topic said Mr Granger 

Opposition parties regardless of ethnic group always try to bring the gov't down and they try to corrupt the people while doing so

Politicians in Guyana are like crabs in a barrel so there never will be any long term progress

Amral

Banna,

This is why people leave this site....because of knuckleheads like you...stop living in the past. You thing anybady got the time to waste like you? Who gat time to look in de archive? You living in the past man.

Instead of trading barbs (and I notice you only attacking people as racists) and acting like the cyberbully you are, why dont you answer the questions I posed above? 

Read slowly...one letter at a time...and then respond:

Dougla_80 posted:

Despite his faults like all politicians I do believe Granger is a good man and actually a good leader if not forward looking enough. What he said is spot on, Entrepreneurship, Education and Enterprise are, and the only ways forward always has and always will be.

What we would all like to see is some form of masterplan,ecomomical, in education, health and in infrastructure, oil will provide the revenue but not the jobs never has . 

If you look at GT, Berbice ,Linden and Bartica collectively it's roughly the size of Singapore as such why not look at it as one large municipal from a development perspective.

But back to the topic said Mr Granger 

I agree with you brother...from one dougla to another...

Highlighted yellow is a statement of fact. Blacks went into the civil service, many were teachers at the best schools and taught the Indian children of canecutters. Where did y'all get literacy - from Uttar Pradesh? Blacks were also the midwives and nurses that traveled into the bush to deliver your canceutter babies and they did so joyfully. Pity they didn't abort the one that gave rise to a racist piece of shit like you!

It's an inconvenient truth for you because it doesn't fit with the narrative fed to you and VishMahabir from your handlers that blacks are a lazy, teefing people who made zero contributions to Guyana. Gilbakka can affirm what I wrote above, because he's not a neva see cum fo see racist piece of shit Indian like you! He knows the real history.

Lizard boy,

There we go again, getting all riled up for no reason....I dont particularly disagree with anything you said above. 

Read my comment again...I never said Blacks were lazy. 

I simply suggested why I think the 2020 elections might not possible be free and fair. based on the attitudes of the players and the two racial groups.

Stop wasting my time with your obtuse comments...you are not scoring points for doing so...all you are doing is lowering this discussion. 

But still waiting for your answers to my questions.... 

Granger initiated a very important discourse regarding blacks and their future. Unlike other black leaders who told them that they are entitled as preached by the likes of Caribs, Granger is calling a spade a spade with blacks.

Indos are more successful at businesses in general and it is time that blacks step up and stop believing other blacks who preach the victim game. Kudos to Granger.

Guana, Carib, Ronana, D2 and others have all been kicked in the Ball* by Granger's wake up call.

99 percent of what Granger said can also be applied to Indos.

I hope that Guyanese now engage in a very serious debate going forward.

..btw clown, let me give  you fair warning since you seem to be a dullard in general.

a. I am not Ronan. He speaks for himself. Seems any poster with a modicum of education who deviates from the hubu backdam language from illiterates like you are grouped together as the same person.

b. I am not David Hinds. He is a public figure and you ought to be careful ascribing remarks to him, alright clown?

Ow, man. Don't mash up me lil brudda. He does get carried away most times but he got a kindly heart.

Banna,

This is why people leave this site....because of knuckleheads like you...stop living in the past. You thing anybady got the time to waste like you? Who gat time to look in de archive? You living in the past man.

Instead of trading barbs (and I notice you only attacking people as racists) and acting like the cyberbully you are, why dont you answer the questions I posed above? 

Mahabir, gwan suh wid yuh pseudo intellecutal pretend interest in black people condition under  Burnham. Caribj documented it accurately, and he wasn't kind to Burnham. Look up his posts you lazy wastrel, the same way you took time to inform your low IQ self that "Indians are better at business". I am not here for your edification and to educate your dumbass or participate in your subterfuge shit wid "answer the questsions". You have no interest in the answer.

Me, a cyberbully? Funny how when you and your Indo KKK wolfpack piling on pon blackman it's "licks like peas" to alyuh. Yugi hollering and hicing up he dhoti in victory. But when lash start drop pon alyuh lazy, mentally challenged  minds it's "cyber bullying". I'm one man. Don't need a pack wid me to deal with alyuh low IQ clowns. 

Ow, man. Don't mash up me lil brudda. He does get carried away most times but he got a kindly heart.

Sorry Gilbakka, don't agree with you. This Yugi character is pure evil. He is the definition of racism - believing in the superiority of one race over another. Some of his most virulent posts are in the archive to prove it. We are clearly dealing with a worm who believes he is superior by virtue of his Easter Lily boat Brahmin self. And I'm here to remind him he is not.