President’s daughter rubbishes report jewellery company got contract for investiture medals.

October 16,2017

President David Granger’s daughter has rubbished an online news report that her jewellery company benefitted from millions in a contract to make 69 medals for the recent national awards investiture ceremony.

“We never did that order and that is an outright lie. That is not true, we did not make any 69 medals,” Proprietor of Topaz Jewellery, Han Gaskin, told Stabroek News yesterday.

She was responding to online news outfit, Citizens’ Report and a subsequent Facebook-sponsored advertisement.

The Citizens’ Report stated, “President David Granger’s daughter, the co-owner of Topaz Jewelry has been benefitting from millions of taxpayers money without any form of public procurement. Citizens Report understands that the firm has been contracted to make tokens…”

“Sources also confirmed that Topaz was contracted to make the 69 medals for the Investiture Ceremony which was recently held at the Natural Cultural Center,” it added.

Gaskin, who is the wife of Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin, dismissed the claims saying they were designed to stir up political mischief. She explained that her company, which has been in existence for over 15 years caters to those seeking unique pieces of jewellery and has several lines dedicated to Guyana’s heritage.

She said that even before her father became president various ministries would purchase tokens for whatever purposes they sought.

“I wish it were true but we have never relied on government’s work and don’t intend to rely on government’s work. At Topaz, we have a very diverse and satisfied growing clientele that comes to us because we provide products and services that I don’t believe they can get elsewhere,” she said.

“In terms of government’s work, we have had a few small orders and purchases. Yes, it has increased since 2015 but I wouldn’t say to any significant amounts. We don’t rely on government’s work. A few ministries do buy gifts, but like I said not a lot and that is the bottom line. We have done work for a few agencies of the past government before. We have never promoted it but a few of them (have done business) over the past 10 to 15 years,” she added.

With jewellery lines made from local precious metals and stones and designed to represent the country, Gaskin said that those creations for those feeling nostalgic are great gifts for persons living overseas or to be presented to a foreigner to give them a taste of Guyana.

“I would say that I don’t think there is another jewellery company in Guyana that does the range of Guyanese culturally significant things and designs like we do. We have a number of collections that have a uniquely Guyanese concept. For example, we have a ‘Many Waters Collection’ which depicts our rivers in stylish pieces of jewellery. There is also an Anansi collection which plays on that folklore. Then there is also the Amerindian motif collection representative and dedicated to our first peoples. We have birds of Guyana, flowers of Guyana…we have done a lot of work over the years that other people have not,” she explained.

“When people want gifts to take abroad they want something that reflects Guyana, not just a map of Guyana or something like that. We have to take this thing to higher levels,” she added.

She said that she would not want her establishment to be overlooked when persons are looking for “something Guyana” just because she is the President’s daughter. She wants to be given a fair chance but also understands the transparency concern and it is why the company does not market itself to ministries or offices on the weight that she is the President’s daughter.

She said that she was sure that other jewellery establishments also get orders from ministries.

“I won’t like to be overlooked when people are looking for gifts but you may also wish to call some of the other jewellers to find out if they also sell to government agencies because I think they also do. So I don’t think we have any exclusive contracts and arrangements with anyone,” she said.

Granger’s daughter benefits from millions in contracts

President David Granger’s daughter, the co-owner of Topaz Jewelry, has been benefitting from millions of taxpayers money without any form of public procurement.

Citizens Report understands that the firm has been contracted to make tokens which the President takes on his overseas trips to give to ambassadors and other dignitaries during his engagements.

Sources also confirmed that Topaz Jewelry was contracted to make the 69 medals for the Investiture Ceremony which was recently held at the National Cultural Center.

According to information received, the jewelry pieces are being billed at exorbitant prices – way above market value.

I'm accepting Han Gaskin's explanation. Still, I want to know: who makes national awards medals? Give me the facts.

Bhai,that's a mystery,wondering if Freedom House have the info,

I'm accepting Han Gaskin's explanation. Still, I want to know: who makes national awards medals? Give me the facts.

Not likely; Citizens' Report is a pro-FreedomHouse outfit and it says Han Gaskin.

I am discussion, questioning your participation with AFC/PNC slop early in the morning.

Apparently the post is highly intellectual,for your meager intellect.

read your asinine response.

Not likely; Citizens' Report is a pro-FreedomHouse outfit and it says Han Gaskin.

Suh FH caught wan dead fish while fishing.

Spin as usual excite their base most are pill swallower's.

I am discussion, questioning your participation with AFC/PNC slop early in the morning.

Apparently the post is highly intellectual,for your meager intellect.

read your asinine response.

Rass bai, can you bruk dis up in fine change fuh me cyan handastan?

Is govt business NOT public information?  Why would Freedom House have the information on the business transaction between the PNC govt and the daughter of the President?

Are they not the Opposition Party residing there and are saying the President's daughter are benefiting from government contracts.

Let them show the contracts or are they throwing dirt and,some will will stick.

Django posted: Bhai,that's a mystery,wondering if Freedom House have the info,

DJANGO is wondering if FH has the info.

Are they not the Opposition Party residing there and are saying the President's daughter are benefiting from government contracts.

Let them show the contracts or are they throwing dirt and,some will will stick.

Django, the PNC can give you a Freddie Kisson bucket treatment and you would say "thank you Massa". When are you going to come to your senses that all politicians look out for themselves and their loved ones(if they have love in them)?  Thief man always ah seh dem ah thief nah? Since when you think the PNC have anything honest to show or publish?