[www.inewsguyana.com] –President David Granger has made it clear that the new APNU+AFC administration does not support the race baiting philosophy, which he says is being promoted by another political party to score cheap political points.

Responding to reports that the racial divide has intensified during and post elections, particularly on social media, the President noted that his administration is built on “national unity and inclusionary governance”, pointing out that his mission is to promote and work to achieve racial harmony in Guyana.

The President has called on his supporters to understand and respect the fact that he is a President for all Guyanese and will continue to represent the interest of all.

“I want to give the assurance to our Indian brothers and sisters that we continue to see Guyana as one, our partnership are the only partnership that from the start has been calling for national unity, that’s why we call ourselves A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and we will continue to work to bring the races together. I am not aware of what is being said in the social media but it is completely inconsistent with the philosophy of the APNU+AFC.”

http://www.inewsguyana.com/pre...nese-of-inclusivity/

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
[www.inewsguyana.com] –President David Granger has made it clear that the new APNU+AFC administration does not support the race baiting philosophy, which he says is being promoted by another political party to score cheap political points.

Responding to reports that the racial divide has intensified during and post elections, particularly on social media, the President noted that his administration is built on “national unity and inclusionary governance”, pointing out that his mission is to promote and work to achieve racial harmony in Guyana.

The President has called on his supporters to understand and respect the fact that he is a President for all Guyanese and will continue to represent the interest of all.

“I want to give the assurance to our Indian brothers and sisters that we continue to see Guyana as one, our partnership are the only partnership that from the start has been calling for national unity, that’s why we call ourselves A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and we will continue to work to bring the races together. I am not aware of what is being said in the social media but it is completely inconsistent with the philosophy of the APNU+AFC.”

http://www.inewsguyana.com/pre...nese-of-inclusivity/

Looks like Granger will retain all the senior staff at finance to assist Winston Jordan and then Jordan can determine who he keeps or how he staffs that org.

Same at GRA and pretty much elsewhere so don't expect a purge of indians who were helping jagdeo with the banditry, they are now helping the new govt see where all the money went and how.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

And I am guessing that they should be thankful for this? This is a 50% government chap. The other half felt the election was rigged by GECOM.

Except for Jagdeo and Ramotar, who else in the country have expressed the view that the results were rigged?

If Granger was honest, he would have let a recount of the votes in region 7

happened, but he like Moses wants to have power at all costs, now he is talking as if he is a saint. Bullshyte!

Yuh think Granger is talking about you?

The more u people get on the way you all getting on the ore votes you all goan loose in the next 5 years. PPP done.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

And I am guessing that they should be thankful for this? This is a 50% government chap. The other half felt the election was rigged by GECOM.

Except for Jagdeo and Ramotar, who else in the country have expressed the view that the results were rigged?

Almost everyone I spoke to in Gy says it was rigged, Carter's behavior increases that suspicion.  However, they all want the new Govt to work and improve the situation.  They felt life had become hard and wanted new thinking.

happened, but he like Moses wants to have power at all costs, now he is talking as if he is a saint. Bullshyte!

Did the PPP allow any recounts in 97, 2001, 2006?

Be honest tell us the truth. Medicine can be bitter.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Almost everyone I spoke to in Gy says it was rigged, Carter's behavior increases that suspicion.  However, they all want the new Govt to work and improve the situation.  They felt life had become hard and wanted new thinking.

yuh need to speak to non PPP people

Almost everyone I spoke to in Gy says it was rigged,

given that you are an indocentric racist all this shows are the type of people who you speak to.

He said "almost" so you should give the man the benefit of the doubt as to the make up of the people he spoke to.

Did the PPP allow any recounts in 97, 2001, 2006?

Be honest tell us the truth. Medicine can be bitter.

When the PNC said that those elections were rigged the PPP screamed that every one said that those elections were considered free and fair.  This time people are again saying this.

So why doesn't the PPP accept the opinions of the observers just as they demanded that the PNC do in other years?

Granger prappa inclusive, action speaks louder than words...

New Govt begins to take shape

Foreign Affairs Minister Designate Carl Greenidge

Harmon, Greenidge, Jordan for key ministries

BY GOMATIE GANGADIN

The newly-elected A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition Government has begun to take shape with at least five persons identified to head key Ministries including foreign affairs, finance and security.

Speaking to Guyana Times on Monday afternoon, acting Head of the Presidential Secretariat Joseph Harmon disclosed that former Finance Minister under the PNC Government Carl Greenidge will take up the post of Foreign Affairs Minister; Former Director of Budget and Economist Winston Jordan will now head the Finance Ministry; Attorney Basil Williams will head the Legal Affairs Ministry, while Dr Rupert Roopnaraine is touted to be the next Natural Resources and Environment Minister.

Finance Minister Designate Winston Jordan

Dr Roopnaraine on Monday morning travelled to Region Eight (Potaro- Siparuni) where a mining pit caved in at Mowsie Landing, killing 10 miners. This had served to cement speculations that he would be made responsible for that Ministry.

Meanwhile, Guyana Times was able to confirm that Harmon will now be made Minister of State, which will replace the post of Head of the Presidential Secretariat.

He however cautioned that the identified persons have not yet been confirmed in the various capacities since Parliament has not yet been reconvened and they would first have to be sworn in as Members of Parliament before they take up the ministerial posts.

When Harmon was asked whether the new Government was considering convening Parliament before Independence Day, he replied, “Once it is possible for us to do that, I think we may. Parliament has been prorogued for far too long; it’s almost 10 months and so we need a reconvening as soon as possible.”

President David Granger has promised to reconvene Parliament within 14 days or “early June”, noting too that Parliament had been prorogued for far too long.

As it relates to other positions, Harmon said that Granger was meeting with Prime Minister-elect Moses Nagamootoo up to press time to first decide the number of Ministries which will be established, before deciding on the positions to be held and by whom. However, this publication has been reliably informed that there will be 15 Ministries, with the APNU taking nine while AFC will be given six.

In the meantime, General Secretary of the AFC, David Patterson indicated to this publication that the alliance has not yet decided on the persons to fill their allocated posts. He did however say that the Cummingsburg Accord was being followed and it was a guide to who was getting what.

According to the Cummingsburg Accord, which was signed between the two parties on February 14, the AFC would benefit from an enhanced prime ministerial position held by Moses Nagamootoo chairing the Cabinet.

The AFC will significantly also hold 40 per cent of the Cabinet positions, inclusive of the Ministries of Home Affairs, Tourism, Agriculture and Public Works.

Khemraj Ramjattan, Leader of the AFC will likely head the Home Affairs Ministry, while Cathy Hughes will hold responsibility for Tourism.  It is unclear who will head the Public Works Ministry from the AFC. Amna Ally who served in the 10th Parliament as Shadow Education Minister, will transition to hold that portfolio, with Nigel Hughes being tipped to become the next Attorney General if the coalition decides to split the Legal Affairs Minister and Attorney General posts.

Nah, two were dugla.  But I told them any rig could not have been significant, overall PPP lost due to AFC pull which they underestimated.  And actually, they are surprisingly supportive of the new Govt wishing they do a good job and reduce hardship.

40% of the ministers of the PNC dominated government will not be PNC.  Roopnarine isn't PNC so it is actually more than 40%

Can the PPP say the same?  Don't say Civic because Civic was not an independent group with the right to exit, if and when it wants.

40% of the ministers of the PNC dominated government will not be PNC.  Roopnarine isn't PNC so it is actually more than 40%

Can the PPP say the same?  Don't say Civic because Civic was not an independent group with the right to exit, if and when it wants.

Honestly, it's quite a lot of stock.  If this Govt plays it well, they will remain for some time without need for "military intervention".

Nah, two were dugla.  But I told them any rig could not have been significant, overall PPP lost due to AFC pull which they underestimated.

The PPP increased its votes share in both Regions 5 and 6.  It held its share in Regions 2 and 3.  The PPP was able to use Moses in order to scare out the Indian vote.

Try some other reason for this.  Clue. Compare votes in Regions 7 and 10 with 2011.  More APNU AFC voters out, but as the Indian populations there are small, there wasn't any anti Moses vote to scare.

This election was defined by PPP race panic.  They scared the Indians by telling lies on Moses and demonizing blacks.  They scared blacks/mixed by indicating what kind of racist regime they would continue to be if they won.