“Put an end to the unhelpful political discord” – President Granger addresses National Assembly

President David Granger addressing the Parliament of Guyana.

President David Granger has urged that politicians put an end to the divisive and “unhelpful” political distort in Guyana.

The President made the appeal while addressing the National Assembly in Thursday January 14, where he declared that 2016 will be a year of National Unity for Guyana.

According to the President, while Guyana gained Independence 50 years ago, the covenant that was established then, remains unfulfilled.

“Colonial rule fomented divisions of race, religion and region which have imposed a big burden on the slender shoulders of our small society. These divisions, for fifty years, have frustrated our economic development, making national unity elusive. National unity does not preclude the existence of differences in philosophies or opinions. It does include a willingness to respect each others rights.”

He said that Guyana’s Golden Jubilee is a propitious moment for all Guyanese to put an end to hateful and unhelpful political discord, disaffection and disunity.

The President also stated that the Legislative and Executive branches of government, this year, must work together noting that this is the year for national unity.

“This is the year of fulfilling the unrealised objectives of economic independence.  This is the year for recommitting to the vision of a free, united and prosperous country – one in which ‘a good life’ is attainable by everyone.”

“We, Guyanese, chose to change the country’s political culture from the divisive, degenerate and dangerous ‘winner-takes-all’ model to one of inclusionary, participatory, multi-party democracy.  We aspire to strengthen national unity, expand national infrastructure, fortify national institutions, ensure national security and extend public services,” the President stated.

Do any one of you believe a word this fake of a President says? Granger pulling a wool over your eyes? Do you think the speech he has made is a distraction to Guyanese for not dealing with the suicide isues? Is suicide one in which ‘a good life’ is attainable by everyone.”?

My big fear is that the PPP/C (as they have always done) buy into this fake (Granger and the APNY/AFC)  and screw up the nation!

Dondadda posted:

Do any one of you believe a word this fake of a President says? Granger pulling a wool over your eyes? Do you think the speech he has made is a distraction to Guyanese for not dealing with the suicide isues? Is suicide one in which ‘a good life’ is attainable by everyone.”?

My big fear is that the PPP/C (as they have always done) buy into this fake (Granger and the APNY/AFC)  and screw up the nation!

Absolutely NOT. He started bad to reap good in return. Granger is a sweet talker with bad intention. He should think on the same line how he treated the PPP when he was in opposition. 

Remember how Burhham used to deliver long, long speeches with rubbish ?

Granger is following in Burnham's footsteps.

AFC/PNC were the most hostile opposition in Guyana's history. Granger is all talk and no substance, just like his hero Burnham.

I read a big portion of President Granger's speech and I noticed he used the phrase "next decade" two times when indicating the coalition's plans. 

So, "next decade" takes us to the year 2026. I think this is bad news for the PPP in 2020 and 2025.

Anyone looking ahead that far and haven't done anything for the country and its people cannot expect to win free and fair elections. This open the door for what lies ahead and what had happened on May 11, 2015. Congratulations to the PNC loyalists who supported a fraudulent president and prime minister.

I read a big portion of President Granger's speech and I noticed he used the phrase "next decade" two times when indicating the coalition's plans. 

So, "next decade" takes us to the year 2026. I think this is bad news for the PPP in 2020 and 2025.

That is true to form when it comes to an old PNC politician.  The plans are already underway to rig for eternity. 

Exactly what you wanted/expected him to say?

baseman posted:

GOOD TING PPP LOSE!

baseman posted:

"Mister Speaker, if my coalition's plans don't materialize, the chatree will tek yuh seat!" 

VVP posted:

Words have no meaning when action points otherwise.   I had great hope for this man, but it's not going to happen.

He has lots of Caribj dead-enders to fend off, and they have blood coming out of the ears, or their whatever!

BOOOO HOOOOO!!!!!Cry me a river yalll, cry me a river.

Puttuks, we nah crying boi, we commenting. Dat is something putagee people never consider of East Indians. Even though we may have a cane-cutter mentality, we done good in Guyana. Unlike the Putagees who reamed the Blacks of emancipation and got favoured by the whites and malattoes. And schemed their way to power and influence. Your people ain get a good stanging in Guyana's history. Suh, leave us Indoes to lament.

BOOOO HOOOOO!!!!!Cry me a river yalll, cry me a river.

Puttuks, we nah crying boi, we commenting. Dat is something putagee people never consider of East Indians. Even though we may have a cane-cutter mentality, we done good in Guyana. Unlike the Putagees who reamed the Blacks of emancipation and got favoured by the whites and malattoes. And schemed their way to power and influence. Your people ain get a good stanging in Guyana's history. Suh, leave us Indoes to lament.

Me miss this one.