@Spugum posted:

the man's inability to pronounce certain words overshadowed the speech. those mispronounced words edited have gone viral and presents a source of both amusement and embarrassment for guyanese

the content of the speech, in some quarters at least, rings hallow

Bro, we are Guyanese. Our English and pronouciations are unique. We ain no Englishmen.

In 1992, when the PPP won and took over the airwaves, complaint of Black people was how kulie can't talk proper. Language became a measure of education added to the other Black insults of eating with the fingers and curry and roti in the morning rather than bread and cow and girl butter.

DID YOU UNDERSTAND THE MAN?

Stop being a bigot.

@seignet posted:

Bro, we are Guyanese. Our English and pronouciations are unique. We ain no Englishmen.

In 1992, when the PPP won and took over the airwaves, complaint of Black people was how kulie can't talk proper. Language became a measure of education added to the other Black insults of eating with the fingers and curry and roti in the morning rather than bread and cow and girl butter.

Stop being a bigot.

ah, shut up. how did he get the title Dr.? weren't we told he has a PhD from UWI? this speech was prepared by someone else and he is reading it like a dunce. you see how The Boss watching him closely, is sheer slap up he got later

@seignet posted:

Stop being a bigot.

banna, he's representing us on the WORLD STAGE - not garbage filled georgetown.  why wasn't he familiar with his speech? if he was he would have done better. why do we have to be embarrassed yet again by this bumbling idiot

further, he's speaking on an issue that is sensitive to african guyanese, he is an indian, all the more important that he gets it right. period!

you jumped to his defence. have you heard him speak to poor people he considers below him? have you seen his behaviour towards poor indians who complain about what they're going through? did you see his behaviour at the ppp protest outside the Pegasus last year? he thinks he a BAD MAN

if you don't know shut your trap

So let me get this straight, Guyana, a country where racism is endemic, is lecturing the UN on eliminating racism and calling for reparations for racism? Is he and Ratman for real?????

Forget his poor pronunciation and evident grasp of the English language, he must have had the other Caribbean leaders and those who know Guyana pissing their pants with laughter.

Yes, we are a laughing stock. Not only for his language but his absolute hypocrisy and sanctimonious bullshit.

@Spugum posted:

the man's inability to pronounce certain words overshadowed the speech. those mispronounced words edited have gone viral and presents a source of both amusement and embarrassment for guyanese

the content of the speech, in some quarters at least, rings hallow

What word he mis pronounced? - did he say ‘arry instead of Harry, ‘at instead of hat, ‘ammer instead of hammer, or  â€˜anger instead of hanger? Got to give you a break because you a lil slow, you should complement him for trying to impress to gathering with his  Guyanese black Ebonicsâ€Ķhahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

@seignet posted:

Language became a measure of education

Language has ALWAYS been a measure of education. Do you think Rashleigh Jackson or Sridath Ramphal, 2 truly educated men would have spoken this way?

This man demonstrated on the world stage the true measure of the education he claims to have.

@sachin_05 posted:

What word he mis pronounced? - did he say ‘arry instead of Harry, ‘at instead of hat, ‘ammer instead of hammer, or  â€˜anger instead of hanger? Got to give you a break because you a lil slow, you should complement him for trying to impress to gathering with his  Guyanese black Ebonicsâ€Ķhahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

i'm going to ignore you for now - you hardly ever know what's going on

Language has ALWAYS been a measure of education. Do you think Rashleigh Jackson or Sridath Ramphal, 2 truly educated men would have spoken this way?

This man demonstrated on the world stage the true measure of the education he claims to have.

kapa won't diss Rashleigh Jackson. Nuff respect to him. But Ramphal delivered aluh Burnham constitution wid the career opportunist Shahab. World court needed wan brown face...suh played de game well. He gave Burnham he loophole constitution and Burnham nominate he foh be the brown face pon de world court. Abie still na recover from de Burnham law.  Who could talk more dan Burnham? Smooth talk...But guess what, de delivered a DANKEY CYART ECONOMY. A backward society! Burnham didn't understand Finance 101 and Econ 101. Otherwise he won't mek de stupid decisions he mek.

Ali needs help to clean up his diction and to sound more professional. seems like he was reading the script for the first time.

You should  check outpresidential bloopers of a two term president of the greatest nation on earth, ifart would be like a Harvard professor compared to himâ€Ķ

Last edited by sachin_05
@Spugum posted:

banna, he's representing us on the WORLD STAGE - not garbage filled georgetown.  why wasn't he familiar with his speech? if he was he would have done better. why do we have to be embarrassed yet again by this bumbling idiot

further, he's speaking on an issue that is sensitive to african guyanese, he is an indian, all the more important that he gets it right. period!

you jumped to his defence. have you heard him speak to poor people he considers below him? have you seen his behaviour towards poor indians who complain about what they're going through? did you see his behaviour at the ppp protest outside the Pegasus last year? he thinks he a BAD MAN

if you don't know shut your trap

I know he is a terrible manager. He good at slipping out the back door. Speech is not an important thing. It is what you do.

ah, shut up. how did he get the title Dr.? weren't we told he has a PhD from UWI? this speech was prepared by someone else and he is reading it like a dunce. you see how The Boss watching him closely, is sheer slap up he got later

Yuh ever listened to David Hinds or Tarron Khemraj or any other educated Guyanese. We are comfortable with speaking in our natural tongue.

Try watching a Nigerian Movie.

@Totaram posted:

When you have a chance find a speech by Dr. Ralph Gonsalves, the PM of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, listen and compare it to U of WCD graduate Irfaan Ali's and decide who has a real Ph.D.

Irfaan gat nuff flaws of the financial corruption variety...but no way was Irfaan was serial womanizer and molester like dat PM. Suh ah cyan understand why he gat a smooth tongue. Dem is de kind of men who help bruck up Caribbean integration.

The discussion is about speech and education, not speech and sex.  Tell us what you know about Irfaan's "doctorate" from UWI.  BTW, how come a man with a name like Kapadulla Wood condemning womanizers?

@Totaram posted:

The discussion is about speech and education, not speech and sex.  Tell us what you know about Irfaan's "doctorate" from UWI.  BTW, how come a man with a name like Kapadulla Wood condemning womanizers?

ðŸĪĢ😁 Kapa is a wood pieces from a tree. You inferring sex 😁. Yuh mind...lol! Yuh know dem PPP bais seh dem have nuff street sense. Dem is hustlers. Dem does do what it takes foh get big titles.

@seignet posted:

Juss listening without seeing, one could tell when a Black Guyanese speaking. Same wid a Cooolie Guyanese. Putagees doan speak like a cooolieman or a Blackman.

Races of people have their unique way of speaking.

It also has to do with where one comes from and who they tend to be around. I have some relatives originally from Buxton an dem bies does talk likea dis. Some from GT who sold their wares to market vendors, they were around both GT markets and mixed a lot, dem does talk de same.

In our household if we spoke bruk up we used fo get $hit so we spoke proper English.

What did surprise me however, while on a scouting trip we went off the Linden Highway to an AmerIndo village, some spoke broken English while others spoke perfect. I even heard one woman call out from her kitchen window to another woman next door, she asked, "Hi Mavis (not the right name) do you have a cup of sugar I can borrow?"