The Ministry of the Presidency today announced that President David Granger has appointed the following individuals to serve as Presidential Advisors.

Aubrey Norton- Presidential Advisor Youth Empowerment

Brigadier Edward Collins Presidential Advisor National Security

Rear Admiral Gary Best Presidential Advisor on the Environment

Norton is a longstanding member of the PNCR and has held several positions in it including General Secretary. He is also seen as a key organiser in Region 10. He has had strained relations with party headquarters in recent years most recently over the recent elections for a leader.

Collins and Best are former Chiefs of Staff of the Guyana Defence Force

What's the big deal chap?

You AFC chaps got some Ministries and some nice titles. That's usually what a small party in coalition gets.

Granger is President. He can govern as he sees fit. Did you Mosaic Cultists really believe that Granger was gonna become some coolie rubber stamp? Why is that even desirable? Let the man form his Government and run the country. Granger will be held responsible. Not Moses. Not Khemraj.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Interesting!

People had talked about too many ex-military might get into govt.

Is this what they mean?

How much money would they pay these fellows?

Isn't the President free to choose his advisors and collaborators? What's the big deal? Did you think he was gonna appoint Moses' right hand men Sasenarine Singh and Aleem Ally as Presidential Advisors?

You AFC chaps got some Ministries and some nice titles. That's usually what a small party in coalition gets.

Granger is President. He can govern as he sees fit. Did you Mosaic Cultists really believe that Granger was gonna become some coolie rubber stamp? Why is that even desirable? Let the man form his Government and run the country. Granger will be held responsible. Not Moses. Not Khemraj.

Heye, control yuh keyboard. Me is no Mosaic cultist, eh.

President Granger is the best judge of who he can expect support and cooperation from. I have no problem with these appointments.

I doan mean you chap. The PNC is a Black nationalist party. The membership and supporters are almost exclusively Black. They won the election. I expect a lot of PNC party stalwarts who are Black people to be appointed into political positions. That's just how it works. Is Granger supposed to be appointing PPP Indians to fill his political directorate?

I'm going to evaluate them on policy. I have no wish to run to some childish conclusion of Black faces=Black conspiracy against Indian people. I'm perfectly happy with a competent Government staffed and run by Black people in the political positions that usually go to the victorious party. I will however expect meritocracy in the professional arms of the Government.

I doan mean you chap. The PNC is a Black nationalist party. The membership and supporters are almost exclusively Black. They won the election. I expect a lot of PNC party stalwarts who are Black people to be appointed into political positions. That's just how it works. Is Granger supposed to be appointing PPP Indians to fill his political directorate?

I'm going to evaluate them on policy. I have no wish to run to some childish conclusion of Black faces=Black conspiracy against Indian people. I'm perfectly happy with a competent Government staffed and run by Black people in the political positions that usually go to the victorious party. I will however expect meritocracy in the professional arms of the Government.

And I am endorsing your viewpoint.