Pregnant woman dies at GPHC

The administration of the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) is once again in for criticism following the death of a young pregnant woman who passed on Wednesday evening due to pregnancy complications. Carol Bollers was admitted to the medical facility on Monday June 8, but took her last breath in the wee hours of June 10.

According to a release from the medical institution, the now dead woman was less than five months pregnant. She was admitted after visiting the Accident and Emergency Unit complaining of abdominal pains. Upon inspection, it was discovered that that Bollers was suffering from ruptured membranes.

As a result, she was admitted and treated, but her condition worsened. Despite attempts by the doctors to save her life, she passed. A post-mortem examination is expected to be performed on the woman to determine the exact cause of death. The hospital extends it sincere condolences to the bereaved family.

In 2014, the Georgetown Public Hospital had a total of 11 maternal deaths. Five of these deaths were women referred from other health institutions. However, the hospital’s maternity ward admitted 9735 patients for 2014. Pregnant women are sometimes admitted to the hospital for observation though they may not necessarily be near delivery time, GPHC has stated.

Meanwhile, the medical institution said that a total of 6085 babies were successfully delivered at the institution in 2014, 1332 of which were born to teenage mothers. In total, the hospital did 6179 deliveries; however, 94 of those deliveries were stillbirths.

The GPHC iterated its commitment to the public and looks forward to providing more quality service to patients who visit the medical facility or its health centre across the country.

Yes, I have issues with a failed PNC government that shows ill will to correct the same mistakes they were crying about when they were in opposition. One death is too many.

You expect the new Govt. to correct all the ills and woes of Guyana immediately?  If so , then you need a magician. Your PPP had twenty three years to set matters right specially at this institution, but they never did.
Crawl back in your hole and stop being a prick.

Originally Posted by Nimoix:

The PNC was in opposition (as the shadow government) for 23 years. They should know how to quick fit a problem.

Your not the sharpest knife in the kitchen are you? 

One wonders how far you went in School, or if you ever saw the door in the first place, your ignorance is beyond comprehension! 

Welcome to the PNC horror story.

Keep this up Cobra and like they do to others, the PPP will chew you up in lil pieces and spit you out, when dem done with you, just before your heart attack. Take it from someone who was with the PPP for decades.

You should listen to Yuji and others who want the PPP to represent their voters in parliament.

If you think your one-man show is getting you anywhere, dream on.   

Originally Posted by alena06:

Welcome to the PNC horror story.

5 years from now will be the same story...priority is giving out medals to PNC criminals and cleaning up their shyte in the city.

Ah wonda if we can ever do a clean up of your shyte clogged mouth? Whah yuh tink gyal?

Dah is why I said dis in another thread to the worm meister.

I wish tampax would make a product that could be stuck in peoples mouths to absorb all the stupid shit they say.