PREDISPOSED TO FLOODING

Jun 26, 2017 Editorial, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....isposed-to-flooding/

There were assurances from the Minister of Public Infrastructure a few weeks ago that everything is in place to prevent flooding in the city and outlying areas. But the rains came and flooded several villages along East Coast Demerara.

And once again the people are left to face the consequences. Heavy rainfall during the last few days have caused coastal flooding due to several canals being clogged along the East Coast of Demerara.

As reported, all the pumping stations in the region were in operation, but their pumping capacity could not cope with the deluge. Farm lands and yards in several villages from Turkeyen on the lower East Coast of Demerara to Enmore and as far as Number 28 Village, West Coast Berbice have been inundated.

Due to the large deficit in pumping capacity, several engineers have claimed that additional pumps will not solve the problem. They are of the opinion that the construction of a few deeper and wider canals or trenches to absorb the extra water is a better solution.

Of all the communities along the East Coast that were flooded, Buxton seemed to be the hardest hit. The southern section of the village was under at least two feet of water. It was difficult to distinguish between the road and the trenches in the village, since the former were covered with sheets of water.

Crops and livestock were adversely affected, the extent of which will be known in the coming days. Some streets in the capital were flooded but not as badly as during the last administration. In truth, they actually had accumulated water which drained off when the kokers were opened. This is not unusual since the reservoirs in the city can hold no more than two inches of rain. Those areas were submerged. Heavy rainfall coupled with high tide also flooded Charity and the Pomeroon-Supenaam region.

It seems that the drainage system currently in place continues to be what it is following the filling of some of the major waterways to make roadways and car parks. East Street is one such; Merriman Mall is another.

Losing livestock and farm lands to floods is not easy for the people to bear, especially those who depend on them to put food on the table. But such is the nature of the coast during excessive rainfall and high tides.

Some say that there is no end in sight to floods and there are no solutions. Every time there were floods in the past, the last administration had promised the people that they would develop long term solutions to solve the problem. It did not happen. The people should demand that the government solve the problem once and for all.

However, this may not be possible since the coastal plain in Guyana is several feet below sea level thus making the countryside prone to flooding.

The damage done to several affected villages on the East Coast of Demerara, West Coast Berbice and the Pomeroon-Supenaam areas has caused many to believe that the government was ill-prepared for the 2017 rainy season. But the truth is that there is only so much the government can do. It can install pumps in flood prone areas but these can only drain off the water at a certain rate. Flooding in Guyana is now an act of nature.

The floods have not only caused severe damage to roads and properties, but they have inconvenienced many.

Guyana is predisposed to floods therefore, how quickly the government deals the disaster is a true test of its ability to act.

PREDISPOSED TO FLOODING

There were assurances from the Minister of Public Infrastructure a few weeks ago that everything is in place to prevent flooding in the city and outlying areas. But the rains came and flooded several villages along East Coast Demerara.

And once again the people are left to face the consequences. Heavy rainfall during the last few days have caused coastal flooding due to several canals being clogged along the East Coast of Demerara.

Perhaps, this individual does not have a grasp of the basic issues.

It is unfortunate that Trump decided not  to participated in the  fight against global warming, when so much evidence points to this issue. It is believed that Miami will be below sea level  within  a few decades.

One of the most  frightening sight was sitting on  a high  rise restaurant in Georgetown and seeing the gigantic Atlantic on the top edge of the sea wall.  All it will  take is for that wall to be breached at just one spot and Georgetown is dead.

Flooding is not the capacity of a government to cope.  The county is below sea level  and it will be challenging for any government to find solutions. But cleaning drainage  canals, with  appropriate water pumps might help.

Last edited by Tola

Floods were one of the talking points handed down to pnc operatives cain, tola, lillymohan, jalil, d2, caribj, warrior and others to highlight ppp ineptness during the PPP time in power. Now we are hearing that all of a sudden floods are a force of nature not to be conquered from the same set of pnc apologists. 

You missed this part DG
It seems the last adminstration also did not have a grasp of the basic issues.

"Every time there were floods in the past, the last administration had promised the people that they would develop long term solutions to solve the problem. It did not happen."

So, we have a change in government and we get the same excuses or reasons. What does that say to you, Cain?

Z

Sad to see Guyana ravaged by floods. They need to get a team to assess the situation and come up with solutions. 

Our house is next to the Corentyne River. When I left Guyana in 1970, the high tide water was about 3 feet below the sea wall. Now I see the water splashing over the wall. You see the sea wall cracking and water leaking through the bottom of cracks.

The Dutch team might have had severe challenges  due to the country being so low below sea level. I believe most of the land space recovered from the sea in Holland,  was at sea level and easier to recover.

Due to global warming, it is predicted that severe flooding will occur in many countries located at sea level, including Florida and Guyana will be affected severely. Especially along the coast, with just mangrove sea protection. 

Sad to see Guyana ravaged by floods. They need to get a team to assess the situation and come up with solutions. 

Our house is next to the Corentyne River. When I left Guyana in 1970, the high tide water was about 3 feet below the sea wall. Now I see the water splashing over the wall. You see the sea wall cracking and water leaking through the bottom of cracks.

This is scary.   At our house at Belvedere in the 60s, I had to climb on the roof to see the ocean. Now I can see the ocean standing on a  nearby bridge. Less mangroves and higher tides. The land is so flat, that it seems to be just slightly above  the ocean.

Unknowingly, the mangroves as sea defence, was/is used for cooking. A team is working in Guyana to reforest mangroves, but the trees takes a long time to grow.  

RiffRaff posted:

raise the country above sea level

Buy some draglines and take them to Guyana and start digging. Where you get the dirt from, it's your call.

That's like digging a hole to full a hole. The solution is to move the city to higher grounds, even the government is encouraging poor housing planning by offering cheap house lots in low laying areas, give the people free lots ,but further inland.

Last edited by kp
Zed posted:
You missed this part DG

"Every time there were floods in the past, the last administration had promised the people that they would develop long term solutions to solve the problem. It did not happen."

So, we have a change in government and we get the same excuses or reasons. What does that say to you, Cain?

no one has the answer. It has been said before to move everyone from low lying areas more inland. That is quite a task especially when there are no guarantees the ocean(s) will stop rising, so how far in can they go to be out of harm's way, beats the heck out of me?

PREDISPOSED TO FLOODING

Perhaps, this individual does not have a grasp of the basic issues.

Perhaps you should write a letter enlightening said individual what the basics issues are and how to grasp same.

RiffRaff posted:

Give GADAHAS to run a Country and you will get plenty Donkey SHIT!!  Those incompetent Bastards cant run a Cake Shop much less a bloody Country. The SLOP CAN FILTH HEAD crew are the dumbest, most stupid and naive bunch of idiots!!!!!!

I hear yuh...PPP really did a crappy job

Reading and understanding has always been challenging for you. Do not give up, keep trying.

Riff. No one says that the PPP admin was perfect. They took a country with a degraded social, physical and economic infrastructure and system and made it better. Unfortunately, because of many structural and political impediments, there still existed lots to be done. It is now up to the present government to continue the improvement. It does not seem to be happening. We get excuses, etc and still blaming the previous admin. Well, they were continually criticizing  the previous admin and said that they had the solutions. Now they are in power, they seem clueless. The Hope canal that they opposed saved many farmers in the mahaica and Mahaicony areas.

Z
Zed posted:
You missed this part DG

no one has the answer. It has been said before to move everyone from low lying areas more inland. That is quite a task especially when there are no guarantees the ocean(s) will stop rising, so how far in can they go to be out of harm's way, beats the heck out of me?

The problem might not be fully solvable but can be alleviated. The first problem is drainage. Doesn't matter how many pumps you have if the waterways aren't clear for water to flow. The second is, the rainfall isn't steady and uniform. There is only so much saturation that the soil can take and it takes time to pump all that water out. When there is no flooding, those pumps are not being used. Build water holding reservoirs at the most heavily flooded areas. I mean reservoirs with walls above ground. Pump them out during the dry periods so that when rain falls, you can fill them back while using the coastal pumps. When the rain abates, gradually empty them again. Use the soil dug from the reservoirs to strengthen the sea defenses and use the reservoirs for fish farming and even sport fishing. 

Zed posted:
You missed this part DG

The problem might not be fully solvable but can be alleviated. The first problem is drainage. Doesn't matter how many pumps you have if the waterways aren't clear for water to flow. The second is, the rainfall isn't steady and uniform. There is only so much saturation that the soil can take and it takes time to pump all that water out. When there is no flooding, those pumps are not being used. Build water holding reservoirs at the most heavily flooded areas. I mean reservoirs with walls above ground. Pump them out during the dry periods so that when rain falls, you can fill them back while using the coastal pumps. When the rain abates, gradually empty them again. Use the soil dug from the reservoirs to strengthen the sea defenses and use the reservoirs for fish farming and even sport fishing. 

Draining the water through the canals will also depend on the tides. When the tides go out, kokers drain the water. What will happen when there is a flood and it's not fall tide yet? The inland water is at the mercy of the tides.

Zed posted:
You missed this part DG

Draining the water through the canals will also depend on the tides. When the tides go out, kokers drain the water. What will happen when there is a flood and it's not fall tide yet? The inland water is at the mercy of the tides.

That's where the reservoirs come in.

While effective, the reservoirs always have limited effects when there is a flood and it is not yet the time to release flows ocean-wise.

As notes many times, floods quickly emerge under these conditions.

While effective, the reservoirs always have limited effects when there is a flood and it is not yet the time to release flows ocean-wise.

As notes many times, floods quickly emerge under these conditions.

Remember I said "alleviate the problem". The reservoirs would be for all intents and purposes, giant holding tanks. Water unless assisted will always flow from high to low. At no flood times, draw the reservoirs down. When flooding starts, allow water to flow into the reservoirs until the level inside and outside is the same. Close intake tunnel and use pumps to continue draining water. As soon as possible after flooding abates and tides are conducive, start drawing down. Remember this is in addition to not instead of, what flood pumps are currently being used.

"Alleviate the problem" is recognized and understood in my reply.

Reducing the reservoir levels during low flows is a given factor.

Bottom line, it's not a simple solution but it is feasible.

During low flow conditions, the reservoir levels are always reduced.

One cannot have the reservoirs completely dry since water is needed for its local/personal existence.

"Alleviate the problem" is recognized and understood in my reply.

Reducing the reservoir levels during low flows is a given factor.

Bottom line, it's not a simple solution but it is feasible.

One cannot have the reservoirs completely dry since water is needed for its local/personal existence.

Ehhhh? Mind elaborating? These are as I said, giant retention tanks.

Reservoirs when completely dry do accumulate numerous deleterious material which form a basis for a noxious and uncomfortable state.

A quantity of water is needed to keep the reservoirs "alive".

This is identical to flowing streams, rivers, etc., a certain quantity of water is definitely needed for its natural and personal existence.

One will note that rivers when dry or do have very little flows at times, muck, grime and other conditions occur which cause deterioration of the supply for general consumption, swimming, recreation, etc..