Cattle rustlers wreak havoc on East Coast Berbice

September 18, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

…one caught, escapes from New Amsterdam Hospital

Suspected cattle rustlers continue to wreak havoc in the Number 19 area with cattle farmers losing cows and other animals on a regular basis.  The farmers are at their wits end and are calling on the authorities for help as cattle rustlers continue their rampage.

The latest attack on cattle occurred some time between September 11 and  Wednesday September 12, last  on the cattle farm of Leslie Budhoo, called Milkman and Breds of No 19 village. Two of his cows were stolen and slaughtered.

The man stated that three were initially stolen, but one managed to escape. This is the third major loss for Budhoo. There were earlier attacks just before and after Easter. Three cows were stolen on Good Friday.

A scene where the cows were slaughter in the cane fields.

Relating a similar story, his brother-in-law, Manoj, said that the man as usual penned up his cattle around 17:00 hrs on Tuesday evening at Suzannah and left for his home. On Wednesday morning he went on his usual rounds to check on his animals and to do some milking. To his shock three of his cows were missing.
One was found in the bushes not too far away while the other two could not be found.  Manoj stated that his brother-in- law contacted him and together with others they decided to launch a search, but nothing was found.  In the meanwhile other farmers were also crying out for losses.

Their breakthrough came on Saturday evening when they received word that some dead cows were found in the cane fields at Borlam Turn.  They immediately hurried to the area where they made the gruesome discovery. Four body parts of cows at different stages of decay were found.  Two cow heads, guts and skin were found, some were in a trench.

One of the cows was heavy with calf. Also found were bloodstained clothes (two shirts, one pair of  trunks, one hat) apparently belonging to the thieves.

The men said that they decided to stake out the area and see if anyone will return to uplift the clothes. On Sunday morning the men on lookout saw a strange man emerging from the bushes and heading to cane fields. When he was challenged the man made a dash for it and eventually hid in the bushes.

The alarm was raised and it took the villagers of about 20 men with two vehicles about three hours to locate the man about three miles away. He was apprehended and beaten and handed over to the police. According to the residents the suspected rustler was taken to the New Amsterdam hospital where he was left unattended. The man known as, King, eventually got away from the medical institution.

Budhoo said that the cows gave at least two gallons of milks daily. One farmer stated that he lost a serving Bull. The men depend on the animals for their living and are calling on the relevant authorities to do something urgently.  The residents have placed their loss at millions of dollars.
They said that they have lost goats, sheep, and poultry and are appealing for help.

One resident stated that all the Home Affairs and Agriculture Ministers are doing is just talking. They are not assisting at all. They have threatened to take matters into their own hands

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

It does look like a PPP conspiracy to drive the cattle farmers out.

Mara could also tell you, no free range coastal milk cow gives more than a gallon of milk a day. Even Holsteins cannot do it without some high protein feed. note one cow was with calf so that could not be contributing to his  2 gallon a day supposed loss of milk supply.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

You guys are laughable to come here and talk about stealing cows, and the stadium is useless to earn political mileage. You, Mitwah, GR and other should come up with something that sticks as a tick on cow ass.

It is a news story, one of serious consequence since the citizens are speaking of taking matters in their own hands ( it would be a war between thieves)  if the minister does not intervene ( don't know how)

By the way, you are the one speaking of stealing cows. Mit reprinted a story. I commented on a factual error in the story. You commented on stealing.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

It does look like a PPP conspiracy to drive the cattle farmers out.

Mara could also tell you, no free range coastal milk cow gives more than a gallon of milk a day. Even Holsteins cannot do it without some high protein feed. note one cow was with calf so that could not be contributing to his  2 gallon a day supposed loss of milk supply.

They would make up the diff with pond water.  I think he meant he gets about 2 gallons per day from his herd. Isn't Bolam your back yard kind of?

Budhoo said that the cows gave at least two gallons of milks daily. One farmer stated that he lost a serving Bull. The men depend on the animals for their living and are calling on the relevant authorities to do something urgently.  The residents have placed their loss at millions of dollars.

They said that they have lost goats, sheep, and poultry and are appealing for help.

One resident stated that all the Home Affairs and Agriculture Ministers are doing is just talking. They are not assisting at all.

Stealing cattle is a regular occurrence in Guyana dated back when I was shut tail. When a cow is missing, it's a loss for the owner and belly full gain for the thief.

speaking fron experience, I see. I was reliably imformed from a well placed source close to you, that you were once part of this cattle rustling bizness at one time in Bushlot.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Stealing cattle is a regular occurrence in Guyana dated back when I was shut tail. When a cow is missing, it's a loss for the owner and belly full gain for the thief.

speaking fron experience, I see. I was reliably imformed from a well placed source close to you, that you were once part of this cattle rustling bizness at one time in Bushlot.

He use to race them too.

It  is  a  fact  that  cattle  rustling has  been with  us  from  time immemorial.  However  it  is also  a  fact that   authorities ,  both  government and  law  enforcement can do a lot more  to stem  the tide and  ameliorate losses to   hapless  farmers. On  the other  hand,  from  personal  and  close up experience  i can say with  absolute  certainty that  the  most  effective  deterrence against  this  menacing and growing  scourge, is direct  action and pro activities by  individuals and  communities.  Action  speak  louder  than word and  when a few  dead  cow  thieves  pops out of a sluice  box  or  got  their  arms  lopped  off at  the  elbow,  words  spread like  wild  fire in  the  rustling  fraternity. Perhaps those  from  the  NA / Canje /Central  Corentyne  areas   would recall  some  notorious   characters from  the  70s & 80s  era  ( Asquith  Ridley, Patrick Leitch, Ramchand Dowlatram aka  Lagauw, Alphonso D'Aguiar aka Liver-  Bullit,  Buck  Tiger,   Hinckson, Chisloms... bet many  of  their progenies are  repeating  the  cycle       

Action  speak  louder  than word and  when a few  dead  cow  thieves  pops out of a sluice  box  or  got  their  arms  lopped  off at  the  elbow,  words  spread like  wild  fire in  the  rustling  fraternity

True, but then the GHRA will get involved, the opposition will no doubt want to put in their two cents worth and before you know it, the farmers will be demonized and the rustlers will  then become the innocent victims. 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

When Coolie man thief cow from e mattie

e does sell them to Blackman

When blackman thief pig from e mattie

e does seek out them pork loving Chammars for a sale

Thief a man cow or hog could result in a instant death sentence.

Dem people don't play.

This is wrong on many levels. Indians are the main cattle rustlers and they sell mainly to Indians because of the nature of the deal due to their numbers in this area and the ease with which the can filch a cow from their neighbors.The butchers are  also mainly Indians. Yes, many indians do eat beef and this is not speaking of Muslims. We would not be raising cows for slaughter if we awarded them the same status as in india.

Indians do rear pigs also as one can see in any village in the area. I bet the number of Indian pig farmers exceed that of black pig farmers. I also would not be surprised if the number of pig eaters in the Indian community does not exceed that of African community, After all, garlic pork is not a Christmas specialty in Guyana simply because of Africans but because Indians are some 25% of the Christian population as well.

As for the chamar part, most of Guyanese are of the similar low caste heritage. Chamar means tanner  and identifies the "jat" or worker caste so it is not simply "low caste"

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

When Coolie man thief cow from e mattie

e does sell them to Blackman

When blackman thief pig from e mattie

e does seek out them pork loving Chammars for a sale

Thief a man cow or hog could result in a instant death sentence.

Dem people don't play.

Guyana gat nuff poke-maraj mek-believe "Brahmins" but dem does eat it "outside" dem house, so it mek it aloo.

You guys are laughable to come here and talk about stealing cows, and the stadium is useless to earn political mileage. You, Mitwah, GR and other should come up with something that sticks as a tick on cow ass.

What a bunch of jackasses talking about cows.

You must be speaking in front of a cracked mirror. You are the only one speaking about cows.

I am speaking about the actions of the Minister of Home Affairs and the Minister of Agriculture. How many cows you received when you got married?

What a bunch of jackasses talking about cows.

What makes talking about cows problematic to you or the idiot above?  

Originally Posted by Mara:

It  is  a  fact  that  cattle  rustling has  been with  us  from  time immemorial.  However  it  is also  a  fact that   authorities ,  both  government and  law  enforcement can do a lot more  to stem  the tide and  ameliorate losses to   hapless  farmers. On  the other  hand,  from  personal  and  close up experience  i can say with  absolute  certainty that  the  most  effective  deterrence against  this  menacing and growing  scourge, is direct  action and pro activities by  individuals and  communities.  Action  speak  louder  than word and  when a few  dead  cow  thieves  pops out of a sluice  box  or  got  their  arms  lopped  off at  the  elbow,  words  spread like  wild  fire in  the  rustling  fraternity. Perhaps those  from  the  NA / Canje /Central  Corentyne  areas   would recall  some  notorious   characters from  the  70s & 80s  era  ( Asquith  Ridley, Patrick Leitch, Ramchand Dowlatram aka  Lagauw, Alphonso D'Aguiar aka Liver-  Bullit,  Buck  Tiger,   Hinckson, Chisloms... bet many  of  their progenies are  repeating  the  cycle       

Bhuddo has no land yet he is a cattleman. King has land and does not raise cows despite his daddy having left him many...now lost to the thieves,