PPP/C accuses APNU of terrorizing GECOM staff:

Sunday, 23 October 2011 04:35
calls on police to scuttle opposition’s every plan:

Source: Chronicle news

THE People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) has called on the Police to scuttle whatever nefarious plans the fledgling APNU has up its sleeves, after flaying the party for intimidating and harassing Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) staff.

The incumbent Party said in a press statement yesterday that it is well aware that APNU has switched tactics from merely issuing press statements and mounting picketing exercises to now targeting GECOM staffers at their homes as well as their families.

This being the case, the PPP/C says in the statement: “We urge the Guyana Police Force and GECOM to take all necessary steps to thwart this dangerous campaign and urge that APNU desist from these threats against professionals.”

Taking a dig also at the Online publication, Demerarawaves, for carrying a news item on Friday night titled, ‘Returning Officer Mohabir tenders resignation – source’, the PPP/C said it found it passing strange that the first paragraph of that story comes across more as a statement of fact rather than a straight news report.

The paragraph in question, as quoted verbatim by the PPP/C, reads: “Controversial Returning Officer Jaigobin Mohabir has tendered his resignation from the position as the opposition parties looking to contest the November 28 elections up the pressure for his removal.”

Such a statement of fact, based on a source described as “usually reliable,” the PPP/C says, is not surprising, coming from Demerarawaves, and only serves to underscore what the party has maintained all along: That there is a well-orchestrated campaign afoot, and that it involves the political opposition and the opposition media working in cahoots “to intimidate, harass, [and] threaten, and when these fail, [to] spread misinformation to intimidate elections officials.”

Noting in closing that it will not countenance such behaviour, the PPP/C says: “This type of conduct of harassing electoral officers does not bode well for the smooth running of the Elections and must be condemned.”

Cobra's Note: Old habits are hard to die. APNU is an icing over the old PNC. As much as Granger acts like a statesman, he was a corrupted soldier by profession.

Cobra, welcome back to the political forum. Don't let dem AFC bai terrorize you again. Dem is only paper tigers.
We have our work cut out for us. Let's fight for another PPP/C victory on November 28.
B
Kwame McCoy accused of running over another woman with his vehicle
October 26, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News

“Just because he wukkin wid de President, he feel he could do whatever he like to people and de police can’t do he nothing.”
The words of an angry mother, whose 22-year-old daughter, Natalia Ross, was hospitalized overnight after she was allegedly run over by a Sport Utility Vehicle (SUV) driven by Information Liaison to President Bharat Jagdeo, Kwame McCoy.
Roxanne McKenzie is terribly upset that McCoy is apparently being allowed to get off scot-free for what she described a deliberate act.
“You know who is Kwame? De police can’t touch he!” exclaimed one of the eyewitnesses to the incident, which occurred around 00:15 hours yesterday on Robb Street near the junction with Albert Street. The victim has reportedly suffered severe concussions and bruises about her body.
This newspaper understands that the incident stemmed from an earlier altercation between volunteers from two major political parties over the erection of campaign material in Georgetown.
According to reports, volunteers from the ruling PPP/C were erecting posters on lamp posts along Regent Street when they were confronted by several persons who objected to the “obscuring of another party’s campaign material.”
This led to a heated argument and the PPP/C volunteers summoning McCoy.

The injured Natalia Ross being assisted by her mother Roxanne McKenzie after she was discharged from the GPHC yesterday.
The PPP/C volunteers subsequently went to Robb Street where they continued to carry out their duties and again another verbal confrontation ensured.
McKenzie, who was at a residence at Robb and Albert Streets, told this newspaper that her daughter Natalia Ross and her aunt were heading there from a party nearby when they observed the confrontation in front of their home.
“They were making joke with some boys who were putting up a plaque, telling them don’t knock de lantern post too hard because wood ants eating it out and it gon fall down…anyway, Mr. Kwame come up in me daughter and me sister face and start talking and busing,” McKenzie told Kaieteur News.
Ross, who was discharged from hospital yesterday afternoon, told this newspaper that she was jokingly warning the men against hammering on the post lest it caused a problem with the electricity to their house when McCoy intervened.
“He came up and told the men, ‘allyuh do me wuk because I paying y’all. Don’t bother with people.’ then he asked me if the lamp post is me own and I tell he ‘no is GPL own’,” Ross related.
She claimed that McCoy became more aggressive and began pointing his fingers in her aunt’s face, leading to Ross forcefully upbraiding him.
“I tell he talk but don’t touch and he tell me shut me mouth, I gon see wha gon happen to me, he gon show me he is who.”
The woman said that McCoy then left and went to his vehicle which was parked on the other side of the road.
“I really thought that he was going to his vehicle to call the police to come and arrest me, but then I see these two bright lights coming and that was it,” Ross recalled.
She never regained consciousness until three hours later at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation.
Her mother related that she too would have been struck down had she not jumped out of the way.
According to McKenzie, as her daughter lay sprawled on the parapet, McCoy drove away and returned a few minutes later, still “ranting and raving.”
“I tell he I gon call the media and he tell me he ain’t frighten dem, he does deal with dem everyday,” McKenzie stated.
By then the police had arrived and were so preoccupied with getting the injured woman to the hospital that they paid no attention to McCoy.
McKenzie then went to the Alberttown Police Station where she made a report.
Kaieteur News understands that McCoy has given the police no official report on the matter.
When contacted by this newspaper last evening, McCoy denied that he was involved in any incident that led to the woman receiving injuries.
“I don’t have no time with people and their ignorance. I am not going to be part of the PNC/APNU drama to stir up a confrontation,” McCoy said, adding that he will not be distracted from carrying out his work.
But when asked how the woman received injuries that caused her to be hospitalised, McCoy replied “my vehicle did not come into contact with anyone. My workers called me and told me that she, the woman, threw herself down and began screaming.”
“Did they tell you that she was drunk. I don’t care, I am surprised that you called me,” McCoy told a reporter from this newspaper.
This is not the first time that McCoy has been involved in an incident like this. He was previously accused of driving his vehicle on another woman during a protest action in the city.
He was never charged. He was also accused to have been in an incident which involved the damaging of a vehicle belonging to social activist Mark Benschop . The police have not yet taken any decisive action in that matter.
“I can’t understand this thing because you working with the government and nobody can’t say nothing. People could drive over you and talk up and go away and lef you lying down pon de parapet,” McKenzie told this newspaper.
“When he don knock down me daughter, he drive away and come back fuh bad up and buse. I was not afraid when he came back like he brandishing a gun because when I see me daughter lie down deh, I done say is best Kwame kill me, is only because he had a gun and he had he people with he. But I need justice fuh me daughter,” she added.
McKenzie said that words cannot explain how she is feeling now that the police appear to have taken no action.
“We de poor people is like nothing, because he wukkin in de government, he can do whatever he want to do to people. I don’t find that is right at all,” she stated.
According to the woman, the police appear to have already taken a position since she overheard an officer at the Alberttown Station saying that her daughter had walked into McCoy’s vehicle.
“Dis man got plenty power. He got more power than de president how dis man operate. Thank God he ain’t kill my daughter,” McKenzie stated.
I am shocked to know that ROAR,WPA and GAP, a part of APNU, are condoning such acts by them..

This so call alliance that made-up APNU will not bring home the trophy for the new PNC. As elections get closer you will hear the old drum beat of the PNC. The Non-parliamentary and defunct parties have no choice and no shame to join allegiance with hooligans. It's just a matter of time when one backfire, all will get to burn in the process. Desperate time call for desperate measure as in mo fiya, slow fiya. That is the mantra of the PNC fear tactics.
Originally posted by Cobra:
I am shocked to know that ROAR,WPA and GAP, a part of APNU, are condoning such acts by them..

This so call alliance that made-up APNU will not bring home the trophy for the new PNC. As elections get closer you will hear the old drum beat of the PNC. The Non-parliamentary and defunct parties have no choice and no shame to join allegiance with hooligans. It's just a matter of time when one backfire, all will get to burn in the process. Desperate time call for desperate measure as in mo fiya, slow fiya. That is the mantra of the PNC fear tactics.

The PNC/APNU is not the alternative in Guyana, the AFC is.
The AFC is not an alternative to Guyana's prosperity. It's an alternative to themselves. I am standing beside the majority of Guyanese, who will make that determination on November 28, 2011.
Originally posted by baseman:

AFC could be a strong alternative in 2016, if it seriously restructure and refocus in a manner that is beyond reproach .. but not in 2011.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by baseman:

AFC could be a strong alternative in 2016, if it seriously restructure and refocus in a manner that is beyond reproach .. but not in 2011.

All the PPP and PNC rejects in the AFC will near 70 years old in 2016. They would be likened to old fossils..