The opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has picked up at least three seats in the Georgetown City Council, winning against its nearest rival A Partnership for National Unity (APNU)  according to unofficial results.

A senior APNU activist and a senior official of the Guyana Elections Commission confirmed that APNU’s Shondel Hope lost to the PPP’s Nalisa Feeguson in constituency 2 (Kitty north, Central & South & Subryanville); APNU’s Astell Collins was defeated by the PPP’s Dmitri Ali in constituency 3 (Bel Air Gardens, Bel Air Springs, Prashad Nagar, North East & North West Campbellville) and Andria Marks of the APNU lost to the PPP’s in Cummings Lodge/North, Central and South Pattensen Turkeyen to Param Persaud of the PPP.

APNU sources said it is likely the PPP could also pick up one or two more seats in the Proportional Representation (PR) arena of Monday’s Local Government Elections.

That would mean a significant improvement on the PPP’s performance in Georgetown, widely regarded as a stronghold of the People’s National Congress Reform/ A Partnership for National Unity, compared to the 2016 local polls when it had barely picked up two seats in the PR component of the elections.

A GECOM official could not immediately say if the Alliance For Change would be able to scrape up at least one PR seat.

The 30 seats in Georgetown are equally split between PR and first past the post.

Incumbent Mayor, Patricia Chase-Green also showed a healthy performance in Monday’s elections, despite much publicised concerns about her management of the City.

This is a major breakthrough given that the PNC was invincible in GT. PPP is on track for 2020 unless the PNC rigs. 

They also took Lethem away from the AFC and PNC. Major breakthroughs. 

We shall see. The USA wants to see a stable Guyana. No hanky panky will happen in 2020. 

PPP will phatkay the AFC PNC in 2020. 

Carib G was 1000 percent correct. The party which motivates their base wins. 

We shall see. The USA wants to see a stable Guyana. No hanky panky will happen in 2020. 

PPP will phatkay the AFC PNC in 2020. 

Carib G was 1000 percent correct. The party which motivates their base wins. 

They better change their communist ways...and don't go insulting American ambassadors...or cry out rape

Bai Ray, the PPP contested LGE effectively. The election in 2020 will be the same. 

I am certain that the PPP will not repeat the same mistakes.

Regarding rape comment, the PNC is paying for what they did in parliament In the same way that the PPP did to the US ambassador.

Karma is a bytch.

Anyway. I am happy 😃 that the AFC was demolished and paid the price for ignoring their base. I will throw a very big party for the AFC defeat. 

rigging machine will start up soon....funding is already on the way

Nothing to gloat about, unless you're jesting. Rigging will be vigorously combatted.

Dem bais clinging straws and trying to provoke the victorious PPP. We staying on track and on message. Onwards we go, AFC is dead. 

How so? Ask Putin to fix it??

Ah hear Putin looking to fix Ivanka

Well, in that case Uncle nehru can be a fixer

Dat chap Putin has very long hands and is reaching out to Trump by trying to grab IVank.  Trump cannot handle that Mercedes so Putin is offering to help. 

Yugi...yuh saying Trump can't handle Ivanka...like yuh confuse she and Melania

Old age catching up. Sorry Bhai. Darn PPP, the election results got me bassidy.

Yugi...yuh saying Trump can't handle Ivanka...like yuh confuse she and Melania

Old age catching up. Sorry Bhai. Darn PPP, the election results got me bassidy.

You r@ss always bassidy.

This is a major breakthrough given that the PNC was invincible in GT. PPP is on track for 2020 unless the PNC rigs. 

Why?  The areas that they won are all majority Indian areas. The losers are the AFC because that was the group that they won in 2015, not in Berbice as so many think.

Compare the PPP seats with that which they won in 1994 and then get back to me as to whether they got a higher %.

Why?  The areas that they won are all majority Indian areas. The losers are the AFC because that was the group that they won in 2015, not in Berbice as so many think.

Compare the PPP seats with that which they won in 1994 and then get back to me as to whether they got a higher %.

1994 to 2018 have different dynamics. I need to see the numbers from the last LGE compared to his LGE. Are you basing your assumption and comparing last GT LGE results to this year’s ?

You are not.

DJ please post last LGE and 2018 LGE results for GT.

APNU retains lead in Georgetown Municipality

─ 28,868 votes cast from 119,374 eligible voters in the Municipality

─ APNU garnered an overall 18,127 votes

─ 28,436 were valid, 432 ballots were rejected

─ 112 spoiled ballots and a tender ballot was issued

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, November 13, 2018

The A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) has taken the lead in Georgetown at this year’s Local Government Elections (LGE).

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) today said that from the 119,374 eligible voters in the Georgetown Municipality, and the 28,868 votes cast, the APNU garnered an overall 18,127 votes.

Returning Officer of Georgetown, Duarte Hetsberger delivers the results in the presence of GECOM’s PRO Yolanda Ward [right] and the RO’s clerk, Michelle Miller.

The Alliance for Change secured 3,059 votes, the GNS 94, the People’s Progressive Party 7,050 and the United Republican Party 106 votes.

The results were both for Proportional Representation (PR) and the First Past the Post components.

“With the council having 30 seats, APNU occupies 21 of those seats, nine of PR, 12 from the FPTP, the AFC occupies 2 seats both from the PR, and the PPP will occupy seven seats, four from the PR and three from the FPTP component,” returning officer of Georgetown said today.

A breakdown of the 15 constituencies shows APNU Councilor, Ubraj Narine of Constituency One, occupying a seat on the City Council with 816 votes. In constituencies Two and Three, the PPP secured top numbers with 877 (Nalisa Ferguson) and 849 (Dimitri Ali) respectively. Constituency Four was won by APNU with a total of 654 votes, while Deputy Mayor Akeem Peters of Constituency Five has clenched some 1,473 votes. Parsram Persaud of the PPP leads in Constituency Six with 1,279 votes. APNU also takes the lead in Constituencies Seven through 15, thus leading the City Council.

Of the votes cast, 28,436 were valid, 432 ballots were rejected. There were also 112 spoiled ballots and a tender ballot that was issued.

GECOM’s Public Relations Officer, Yolanda Ward said this year’s elections has seen very little hiccups.

“From where I sit at GECOM, I think we have efficiently and effectively conducted these elections with no hiccups. Even where there were minor glitches, we were able to remedy those, and I think that at GECOM, we are satisfied with the conduct of those elections in the 80 Local Authorities Areas countrywide.”

According to the returning officer, the data represents a 28.3 per cent voter turnout.

1994 to 2018 have different dynamics. I need to see the numbers from the last LGE compared to his LGE. Are you basing your assumption and comparing last GT LGE results to this year’s ?

You are not.

No longer need to see 1994.  The PPP got 25% of the GT votes.  The Indian population is 30%.  Sorry your attempts to scream that the PPP is breaking through is pathetic.  This is the Campbelville and surrounding areas with their heavy Indian populations.

PPP received 54,000 more votes than APNU in the 2018 LGE.

When will PPP announce their Presidential Candidate?

Stay tuned. One victory at a time. Give us a few weeks to celebrate. All you worry about the PNC and AFC or whatever C. Moses got a big goady with the victory of the PPP/C.

PPP received 54,000 more votes than APNU in the 2018 LGE

That don't mean squat, nothing to celebrate.

The real win will be 2020  and won't be the crew from F.H,hold off don't bring out the Champagne glasses.

You are not.

So all your post of victory  are based on assumptions, well you are shallow.

Data is out there on the last LGE elections, do some work before blabbering.

PPP received 54,000 more vote than AFC PNC in 2018 LGE. Tek dat in your pice and smoke it. Don't choke.

Lick your wounds bai. Option two would be to join The PPP victory train. You convinced us that you are die hard PNC, no hard feelings but our PPP door is always open. The only exception is Mitwah, traitors are not allowed in.

Bai, DJ all you lick all you wounds. Live to see another day.

No wounds to lick, there were low turn out, PPP thumping their chest about amassing (x) amount of votes more than the other party is no major win. Alyuh should learn the differences between LGE and General Elections.

All them Indo Guyanese probably celebrating without knowing the facts about the Elections.