Representatives of some of the groups that Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo met yesterday on the GECOM crisis. (Office of the Opposition photo)

October 26,2017 Source

Stating that the unilateral appointment of Justice James Patterson as Gecom Chairman is an indication of government’s plan to rig the 2020 general elections, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday made known his plans to launch campaigns locally and abroad to thwart any such an occurrence.

“It is clear to me that they are planning to rig the elections. It’s as clear as day to me …and we are not going to disappear because that is their intention…We will fight that intent to rig with even more vigour and we will do all that we have to do to block it”, he said during a press conference yesterday.

Patterson was sworn in last Thursday, two and a half hours after President David Granger met with Jagdeo to inform him of the rejection of the third list and his selection of Patterson.

The unilateral appointment of the 84-year-old retired judge, which both Granger and the Attorney General has sought to justify, has seen widespread condemnation from civil society.

Addressing the issue at his Church Street office yesterday, Jagdeo announced that the party will alert the diaspora about the situation in Guyana as it is very influential and has a lot of connections. He said that aside from briefing the international community locally, the party plans to visit Ottawa, Brussels, Wash-ington and London to sensitise the governments there about “the threat to our democracy”.

He said that there will be a heightened awareness about government’s suspected plan and the party is in the process of putting together a group that will look at all the ways that government can rig the elections and “start blocking them. We have already been doing some of this work in the PPP but now given this salvo that has been fired by Granger at our democracy …it brings heightened awareness to all that we are doing”.

Jagdeo said that the party has big concerns about the integrity of Gecom’s database and the potential tampering with birth certificates.

“We are training our polling agents already because we need strong polling agents to block the stealing at the level of the polling places”, he said while urging people not to lose hope but to stand together with the party to help protect the country’s democracy.

“This is not about who wins the next elections. We are not asking for international support for the PPP. We’re asking for the values that any democracy will have to be upheld and what kind of country we want to nurture and bring up our children”, Jagdeo stressed.

PPP MP Gail Teixeira is making arrangements to meet representatives of the ABC countries here sometime next week.

At a press conference held an hour before Patterson took the oath of office on Thursday, Jagdeo announced the party’s intention to pull back from co-operation with the APNU+AFC government. He specifically mentioned the withdrawing from border committee meetings.

“We will be pushing for serious non-cooperation against this government, on anything. They have just invited us to participate in some border committee because of an unravelling. Last week. I took a decision that we will participate but we will not participate. I am telling you just to give you an idea that we are not going to participate in any of that,” he had said.

Yesterday Jagdeo was cautious in addressing the issue but explained that the party will separate itself from the technical issues associated with the committee as its presence would not have any impact on decisions.

He made it clear that the PPP supports the government fully in its efforts to safeguard the country’s territorial integrity. “We have one view on this matter, that every inch of the 83, 000 square miles belong to our people and we in the PPP will defend the integrity of our state and our borders as vigorously as anyone else as we have shown in history”, he said, adding that the party will not participate in some of the “discussions that are taking place where we may not be part of determining the approach taken but we are invited to sit in”.

According to Jagdeo, the party will uphold its constitutional responsibilities to the people at all levels including Gecom. He stressed that the party’s representatives will participate in matters related to the commission over fears that if they don’t the decisions made can affect the future of democracy in Guyana.

He stated that the party will participate in all activities where it “can expose the wrongdoings and corruption of the government. So we will go to the parliament in the open session. We may not participate in all of the committees but in the plenary sessions we will be there to prevent and to expose wrongdoings…”, he said.

Jagdeo said that the party intends to participate in bodies where “we can advocate for benefits for people and we can defend their interests. Our whole purpose is to make sure that people of every political persuasion even if they belong to APNU…every race, every religion”.

According to him, supporters will now shun all government-related visits. “When Granger goes out now to the regions he will be faced with protest action exposing the illegalities that he has committed”, he said.

Jagdeo stated too that he will continue to engage persons during countrywide outreaches.

The Opposition Leader informed that last Thursday he received notice to attend a meeting with the President slated for 6 pm  at State House and he complied with the request.

He arrived as scheduled, along with his party’s Legal Advisor and executive Anil Nandlall and also executive Irfaan Ali and was ushered  into the meeting place where Granger had by his side Minister of State Joseph Harmon and Alliance for Change Leader Raphael Trotman.

Jagdeo said that the meeting lasted a mere five minutes as the President told him that it was called to notify him that his third and latest list of nominees for the post of GECOM Chairman, which he had summited in August was again rejected.

He said that the President also followed up by informing him that he had unilaterally chosen Patterson and handed him two envelopes; one containing a letter that the third list was rejected and another with Patterson’s Curriculum Vitae.

On August 25, Jagdeo submitted his third list of nominees, comprising Joe Singh, a retired Guyana Defence Force Major General, who previously held the post; former long-serving magistrate Krisndat Persaud; attorneys Teni Housty and Sanjeev Datadin; pilot and biodiversity advocate Annette Arjoon-Martins; and Adventist pastor and agriculturalist Onesi La Fleur.

Jagdeo yesterday insisted that the persons on this list as well as the other two are aptly qualified for the reason and he singled out a few including Housty. When asked about the decision of Singh and attorney Christopher Ram whose name was on the first list to resign from their government related posts, Jagdeo said that anyone would be uncomfortable with their character being publicly tarnished. He reiterated the difficulty he had in choosing the eighteen names he submitted to Granger.

Singh who was highly favoured for the GECOM post, tendered his resignation on Tuesday while Ram did so yesterday.

that boy getting paid extra for starting threads, he needs to feed he pickney. 

Here you go again,nothing of substance.

This article is about what course of action the PPP will be taken,regarding the appointment of the GECOM chairman.

I said earlier i blog for fun and time pass,no pay,haad head people have difficulty to comprehend what is said.

Past experience is a good guide. Pre-1992 the PPP had lobbied internationally for free and fair elections. Those efforts paid handsome dividends. The Party has my solidarity in its present crusade.

that boy getting paid extra for starting threads, he needs to feed he pickney. 

Bai, yuh getting me vex again. Why yuh obsessed wid "that boy"? Leh de man post he stuff and yuh post yuh own stuff, nuh. Do you know that your constant refrain is devaluing important topics? 

PPP is on the ball early. This will make a huge difference in stopping Granger in his tracks with his plan to rig the elections in 2020.

ABC countries will make the final call on this matter.

Constant lobbying abroad is important. Sometimes the ambassadors have an axe to grind but they are accountable to their respective governments and it is important for Guyanese to keep up the pressure abroad.

Past experience is a good guide. Pre-1992 the PPP had lobbied internationally for free and fair elections. Those efforts paid handsome dividends. The Party has my solidarity in its present crusade.

Call up your MP and tell him that Granger selected an old man who was a pallbearer at his friend's funeral. 

PPP is on the ball early. This will make a huge difference in stopping Granger in his tracks with his plan to rig the elections in 2020.

ABC countries will make the final call on this matter.

Constant lobbying abroad is important. Sometimes the ambassadors have an axe to grind but they are accountable to their respective governments and it is important for Guyanese to keep up the pressure abroad.

That's the problem with Guyanese Politicians they can't function with integrity and transparency,they always seek foreign intervention to resolve the political affairs of a Sovereign Nation,issues can be resolved,no, each leader are showing who have more power and their actions further divide the nation.

Guyana is a laughing stock in the Caribbean,shame on the political leaders,some are useless,a pack of waste.

How many Caribbean Countries seek International Intervention,anyone knows ??

Destructive politics has seeped into the matter of the GECOM Chairman.

October 26,2017

Dear Editor,

This opportunity is taken to call on society to focus attention to Article 161 (2) of the Guyana Constitution that attends to the matter of the appointment of the GECOM chairman and the ruling handed down by acting Chief Justice Roxane George-Wiltshire on this matter.

Of particular concern is the statement of Anil Nandlall “that Mr. Justice Patterson cannot be independent or appear to be independent or impartial” given that among other things he was a pall bearer at Desmond Hoyte’s funeral, is a member of a PNC facebook group, worked with the David Granger/Moses Nagamootoo Government, etc.

Article 147 of the Guyana Constitution protects the right to freedom of association and the ridiculousness of Nandlall’s claim, when he should know better, is demonstrating that at this moment in our history while the handling of the issue may give raise to justifiable concern, the raw naked opportunistic and destructive politics seeping into the matter could be of disservice to the nation. Handling this issue from the latter approach has the potential of creating fear and whipping up unease in the society at a level where it is not so deserving.

On the lists that were submitted by the Leader of the Opposition are persons who served under the APNU+AFC, PPP/C and other administrations. In the area of allegiance names were also submitted where some loyalty, politics and racial divisiveness have been publicly demonstrated over the years and well known. Given Nandlall’s expressed concerns their names should have been exempted from the lists and they would not have met the criteria for selection. Their ineligibility would be much stronger than Patterson yet the Leader of the Opposition found them worthy to be placed on the lists for consideration and appointment.

This is a small society where persons are likely to interact at various levels and would likely have encountered each other in their life’s journey. At the rate the discussions and qualifying conditions for appointment as GECOM Chairman are going nobody would be able to serve their country. Both sides, opposition and government, risk eliminating qualified and competent people from serving, going down this path.

We are a nation of a small population and a smaller number of top professionals. Whereas Nandlall has taken the issue to the ridiculous President Granger needs to be reminded that in rejecting the eighteen (18) names of leaders, at various levels of society, submitted for his selection, all of whom were deemed not fit and proper, further serves to marginalise our limited human resources from public service, for among these persons could have been found one fitting to serve.

Exercising the option permitted in the Constitution to select without consensus that is so crucial at this point in our society, given the people’s mandate to the APNU+AFC to pursue such a path after the spiteful, destructive, exclusionary politics of Bharrat Jagdeo, the environment has been created for mistrust and opportunistic politics. This would take us further back into ethnic cleavages and political encampment and those who stand to suffer are the masses.

Yours faithfully,

Lincoln Lewis.

That's the problem with Guyanese Politicians they can't function with integrity and transparency,they always seek foreign intervention to resolve the political affairs of a Sovereign Nation,issues can be resolved,no, each leader are showing who have more power and their actions further divide the nation.

Guyana is a laughing stock in the Caribbean,shame on the political leaders,some are useless,a pack of waste.

How many Caribbean Countries seek International Intervention,anyone knows ??

Django, without international intervention from the Carter Centre particularly Guyana would not have had free and fair elections in 1992. The elections of 1968, 1973, 1980 and 1985 were rigged increasingly in favour of the PNC. This was confirmed by international observers and human rights groups. A British MP, Lord Avebury visited Guyana and observed the 1985 election unofficially. He reported that the results were crooked without doubt. Without pressure from international governments and NGOs the PNC would have been rigging elections indefinitely.

It has nothing to do about sovereignty. Right now in Myanmar/Burma there is ethnic cleansing of Rohingya muslims. People all over the world have condemned the Burmese government. Prime Minister Aung Sang Suu Kyi cannot claim "sovereignty" because she herself was a beneficiary of international intervention after spending donkey years under house arrest.

Yes I see you are now a Jagdeo disciple.

Rest assured that Jagdeo doesn't have the image that Cheddi Jagan had.  His contortions with Roger Khan are known to all.  

Like they say "tief from tief mek god laugh".  That Jagdeo had the same constitution slammed in his face that he praised when he was president is a laugh.

What Granger did is what he is allowed to do under the terms of the constitution.  So why is it illegal?  That he didn't follow the Carter protocol is irrelevant.  That is NOT the constitution.

??

Django, without international intervention from the Carter Centre particularly Guyana would not have had free and fair elections in 1992. .

The Cold War is over. No one cares about the Caribbean or even the larger Latin American nations. 

Is there any intervention in Venezuela, a nation much more important to them than Guyana? Not enough to curb MadBURRO's instincts.

But continue to be Jagdeo's tools. His intent is to raise racial panic and as usual he has succeeded.  Its amazing how former PPP folks rush back as soon as the horn blows.  It just proves why many didn't trust Moses in the first place.

??

Django, without international intervention from the Carter Centre particularly Guyana would not have had free and fair elections in 1992. .

The Cold War is over. No one cares about the Caribbean or even the larger Latin American nations. 

Is there any intervention in Venezuela, a nation much more important to them than Guyana? Not enough to curb MadBURRO's instincts.

But continue to be Jagdeo's tools. His intent is to raise racial panic and as usual he has succeeded.  Its amazing how former PPP folks rush back as soon as the horn blows.  It just proves why many didn't trust Moses in the first place.

What currency are you being paid by the PNC, Guyana Dollars, US or the Pound. With the amount of writings you are posting in the evenings make one to believe you have to wait for instructions from G/T.

Unlike you I have things to do during the day.  But continue to bow down to Jagdeo and tough your toes with your back turned to him.

What I write is NOT what Granger wants to see. Do you think that he wants to be described as a passive aggressive simpleton being used by Jagdeo and too dumb to see the trap that Jagdeo set.

I think not!

What you write is what Jagdeo orders you to write.

Yes I see you are now a Jagdeo disciple.

Carib, I appreciate your frank criticism of me. You have earned my respect as one of the fairest posters who lash left right and center without fear or favor.

Now, please bear with me while I attempt to explain my position. I supported APNU+AFC in good faith but they let me down one misdeed and act of deception after another. Granger's rejection of Jagdeo's 3 lists was the last straw ; from the 1st list Chris Ram was a suitable name and he would have become a no-nonsense GECOM Chairman. In the interest of honesty I declared that I've decided to move back to my original political home, the PPP. THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT I AM NOW A JAGDEO DISCIPLE.

During my 20+ years' PPP activism in Guyana I was never a docile yesman. I openly criticised the party leadership even in the press. It was therefore no wonder that the highest position I ever reached was Group Secretary. A group of about 12 active members. Lesser committed and lesser intelligent comrades bypassed me and made it up to the Central Committee but I soldiered on according to my conscience. I intend to criticize the present PPP leadership openly for their own good.

All through the years, race never decided my actions. I have always had a socialist consciousness, even today, with class as my chief criterion. So, with only 2 choices---APNU+AFC & PPP---I have resumed my support of the PPP whose constitution still retains the affirmation that it is a Marxist-Leninist party.

For all his almighty power, despite his crony capitalist practices, Jagdeo FAILED to get the PPP membership to remove Marxism-Leninism from its constitution. That is a telling situation that shows Jagdeo's limitations. THAT is what gives me hope in the PPP, that one fine day the party will return to its working-class roots, policies and practices. I repeat: I am thinking long-term. Neither Jagdeo nor my ethnicity plays a part in my decisions. 

Carib, I endeavored to be honest and sincere with you herein. You may or may not agree with me. You still have my respect.

You are part of a Jagdeo plot that Granger foolishly fell into.

1. The constitution is illegal. It came out of the most nakedly imposed form of rigging. Burnham loudly boasted the results of the referendum before the votes were counted.

2. The constitution was designed to centralize all power around Burnham and to make him above the law.

3. In the 23 years in power the PPP did NOTHING to change this. They did NOT even TRY.

Granger is NOT in breach of the constitution. He did NOT act illegally.  He did what this constitution is designed to do which is to centralize all power around the president, put him above the law and to ensure that he is answerable to noone.

You see Guyanese are shameless. No other Caribbean people, even those which are still colonies, with the exception of those in the French Antilles, so shamelessly do nothing and hope that foreigners will fix the situation. Look at all the screams that ABC nations should "rescue" Guyana.

Guyanese ought to demand that the constitution be changed and that it should be done so within a 2 year time frame.

THAT should be the conversation.

But listen the PPP massa has cracked his whip and even those who escaped the plantation have this psychological need to obey. Critical thinking has NEVER been a trait of PPP supporters and apparently you aren't any exception.

. That is a telling situation that shows Jagdeo's limitations. 

It hasn't. In fact it has shown how shrewd he is that he can so easily manipulate people.

The man knows full well how the constitution works as he knows full well that when he was president he was NOT going to allow an independent thinking Afro Guyanese to be GECOM chair. Had that been offered he would demonized that person and acted unilaterally.

But feel free to think that Jagdeo really cares about the integrity of the electoral system.  The PPP had plans to rig the last election and these plans were exposed.  This why they still scream about it and wail that the US made them lose.

1. The constitution is illegal. It came out of the most nakedly imposed form of rigging. Burnham loudly boasted the results of the referendum before the votes were counted.

2. The constitution was designed to centralize all power around Burnham and to make him above the law.

3. In the 23 years in power the PPP did NOTHING to change this. They did NOT even TRY.

Granger is NOT in breach of the constitution. He did NOT act illegally.  He did what this constitution is designed to do which is to centralize all power around the president, put him above the law and to ensure that he is answerable to noone.

You see Guyanese are shameless. No other Caribbean people, even those which are still colonies, with the exception of those in the French Antilles, so shamelessly do nothing and hope that foreigners will fix the situation. Look at all the screams that ABC nations should "rescue" Guyana.

Guyanese ought to demand that the constitution be changed and that it should be done so within a 2 year time frame.

But listen the PPP massa has cracked his whip and even those who escaped the plantation have this psychological need to obey. Critical thinking has NEVER been a trait of PPP supporters and apparently you aren't any exception.

Look at this fool.  The Burnham Constitution has nothing to do with GECOM.  Burnham was long dead and gone when Jimmy Carter came up with the GECOM idea.  People y'all don't believe this man.  He telling lies!!

Gilly, in addition you are not a RACIST!!!!

()
Take Action

Thank you for recognizing it, young man. It puts my old mind at ease.

It hasn't. In fact it has shown how shrewd he is that he can so easily manipulate people.

The man knows full well how the constitution works as he knows full well that when he was president he was NOT going to allow an independent thinking Afro Guyanese to be GECOM chair. Had that been offered he would demonized that person and acted unilaterally.

But feel free to think that Jagdeo really cares about the integrity of the electoral system.  The PPP had plans to rig the last election and these plans were exposed.  This why they still scream about it and wail that the US made them lose.

Please write a book about Jagdeo. You sure have some interesting THEORIES about him. I shall buy your book when it hits the market.

I will buy that book too. 

Look at this fool.  The Burnham Constitution has nothing to do with GECOM.  Burnham was long dead and gone when Jimmy Carter came up with the GECOM idea.  People y'all don't believe this man.  He telling lies!!

The problem with Carib is that he is too anti Indo at times.

He makes excellent points and observations when he wants to be balanced and I enjoy reading those both then he goes off into this Brer Nancy stuff and then he looks so one sided.

If I were president, I would still hire him as one of my advisors to bring a different angle on issues, minus the Brer Nancy stuff.