PPP General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo (left) and PPP Presidential Candidate, Irfaan Ali.

April 30, 2020

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) will declare Irfaan Ali as President of Guyana, if the recount of votes cast in last month’s polls are is derailed, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo said Thursday.

Sceptical that the incumbent A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) would manipulate the recount, scuttle or discredit the recount and use the Region Four declaration by Returning Officer Clairmont Mingo to make an official declaration, Jagdeo said Ali would be declared the next leader of Guyana.

“Should they tamper with this process or alternatively try to sabotage it to return to the old Mingo declaration, then this is a possibility, this is a very real possibility,” said Jagdeo in response to a question on a virtual press conference on whether Ali would be declared President in a similar way as Juan Guaido in neighbouring Venezuela has been.

The PPP has claimed victory and has challenged  APNU+AFC to also release its Statements of Poll to prove whether it has won or lost the March 2, 2020 general and regional council elections.

The PPP General Secretary said his party was so far “sticking” by its promise to the international community  to see if the official declaration would be legitimate. “That is why we are giving this process an opportunity to work,” he said.

The PPP election commissioners- Sase Gunraj , Bibi Shadick and Robeson Benn- were last week defeated by Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Retired Justice Claudette Singh in their quest to have the commission recall and nullify the Region Four declaration. Singh reportedly said that the Region Four declaration would be held in abeyance until they are replaced by the results from the recount. Pro-coalition commissioner, Vincent Alexander has said all 10 Regional Declarations are legal and their fate would be determined after the recount.

But utterances and decisions like these are already not sitting well with the PPP General Secretary. He said APNU+AFC clearly intends to run the recount amok, but if they create problems the international community would punish those platers. “There will be sanctions. That doesn’t help them to get out of this without any consequence,” he said. Jagdeo added that the PPP would call for personal sanctions and an end to loans and grants and that no disbursement of oil revenues.

The United States (US), Britain, Canada, European Union, Commonwealth and the Organisation of American States  have cautioned that any declaration and swearing in of a President on the basis of the existing 10 declarations would  not be recognised.

PPP cannot declare its candidate as President of Guyana, even in situations where GECOM tabulations are done in a flawed and unacceptable manner.

True .

Jagdeo getting crazy ,he is like Kabaka.

You rass lie. I listened to the conference.  It’s a question someone posed which BJ batted away.  PPP will not do that without some international or US agreement that he will be recognized.  Other than that it makes no sense. 

So stop with your lies.  How come you did not report the entire PPP EC has Covid.  

Shameless scoundrels!

@Baseman posted:

You rass lie. I listened to the conference.  It’s a question someone posed which BJ batted away.  PPP will not do that without some international or US agreement that he will be recognized.  Other than that it makes no sense. 

So stop with your lies.  

How come you did not report the entire PPP EC has Covid.  

Shameless scoundrels!

Banna ,did Django write the article ?

Why should i post unconfirmed reports whom are affected by the virus ?

You don't make sense.

Although Irfaan Ali is the ligitimate President, Bj cannot make the declaration. Only GECOM can and we all know that they are not going to do that. The PNC members on GECOM are a disgrace. They lack the ability to be objective.   

The title of this post should have been

“ GECOM Threatens Democracy; PPP Will Take All Legal Actions To Have  Iran Ali Declared As President ” 

Django, please use appropriate titles to accurately reflect the content of the article rather than being opinionated. Cheers!

Ace
@Ramakant-P posted:

Although Irfaan Ali is the ligitimate President, Bj cannot make the declaration. Only GECOM can and we all know that they are not going to do that. The PNC members on GECOM are a disgrace. They lack the ability to be objective.   

Looku story hay.  Dis chap laan.  Dis manin me tell e dat only GECOM can mek the call and e bin a cuss. But e laan. Ramakant get wan C-.  

@Ace posted:

“ GECOM Threatens Democracy; PPP Will Take All Legal Actions To Have  Iran Ali Declared As President ” 

Django, please use appropriate titles to accurately reflect the content of the article rather than being opinionated. Cheers!

PPP threatens to declare Irfaan Ali as Guyana’s President

Please click on source ,not my heading.

Thank you !!

As the supreme leader, you should at least ensure the accuracy of the title by reading the article in its entirety . Do you just look for article headings that would demean PPP. What was the point of posting misleading unless you want to get a lot of flak since it’s your post

Ace
@Ace posted:

As the supreme leader, you should at least ensure the accuracy of the title by reading the article in its entirety . Do you just look for article headings that would demean PPP. What was the point of posting misleading unless you want to get a lot of flak since it’s your post

You still don't get it, i haven't written the article .

What's your beef with Django ? spit it out !!!

PPP cannot declare its candidate as President of Guyana, even in situations where GECOM tabulations are done in a flawed and unacceptable manner.

You need to step out of your legal cap for a minute.

What if this charade continues, and in the end the GECOM decides to go back to the Mingo declarations, citing, after the "forensic" recount what they deem gross irregularities. Then the GECOM commissioners and chairs say they cannot declare a winner, as Alexander already said (see Kissoon article). The legal challenges will continue endlessly.

At that point, it might make sense for the opposition to declare themselves the winner and create a shadow government....like a situation in Venezuela.  

@VishMahabir posted:

You need to step out of your legal cap for a minute.

What if this charade continues, and in the end the GECOM decides to go back to the Mingo declarations, citing, after the "forensic" recount what they deem gross irregularities. Then the GECOM commissioners and chairs say they cannot declare a winner, as Alexander already said (see Kissoon article). The legal challenges will continue endlessly.

At that point, it might make sense for the opposition to declare themselves the winner and create a shadow government....like a situation in Venezuela.  

At best, your long-winded conjecture amounts to nonsense.

@VishMahabir posted:

not riots..dem indos afraid to riot.

Yo backside mad or wuh? Why would Indos riot should PPP declare themselves winners? Dem PNC peeps won't stand for PPP/BJ in power again, dem people also love a good riot if things doan go their way, mind you, they have toned down a tad.

@Ace posted:

Which Supreme Leader? 

@Sheik101 posted:

Nobody gets sworn in until an official declaration by Gecom is made, Jagdeo is trying to pull a Granger, but its all drama and he knows this.

He thinks he's in a Bollywood/Nollywood flick...

@Ace posted:

Why don't you check the source before posting nonsense? Yuh teck yuh raas and pass Django.

Afghanistan gat two Presidents. Venezuela gat two Presidents. It seems fashionable these days. Guyana going to get two Presidents too. If the Mighty Sparrow was alive, certain dey would have been a calypso for the trend.

@seignet posted:

Afghanistan gat two Presidents. Venezuela gat two Presidents. It seems fashionable these days. Guyana going to get two Presidents too. If the Mighty Sparrow was alive, certain dey would have been a calypso for the trend.

I believe the Mighty Sparrow is alive.   

@cain posted:

Oct 2018, I believe. He was playing in Antigua back around 2000 when I visited.

Ba Cain. The singer aka mighty sparrow, "birdie" lives in jamaica queens. Saw him at 169 st hillside ave. Spoke to him many times. Old but still wutliss. 

https://www.theguardian.com/mu...ghty-shadow-obituary

In the flamboyant world of calypso, Mighty Shadow, who has died aged 77, stood out as an eccentric counterpoint to the colourful norm. On stage, typically clad in dark cape and wide-brimmed black hat, he would perform with a slight frown while either standing still or moving in jumpy, jerky movements as his deep, tremulous voice conveyed a vulnerability that was matched by songs of personal frailty and wild imaginings.

https://www.theguardian.com/mu...ghty-shadow-obituary

In the flamboyant world of calypso, Mighty Shadow, who has died aged 77, stood out as an eccentric counterpoint to the colourful norm. On stage, typically clad in dark cape and wide-brimmed black hat, he would perform with a slight frown while either standing still or moving in jumpy, jerky movements as his deep, tremulous voice conveyed a vulnerability that was matched by songs of personal frailty and wild imaginings.

I like dis man tunes.