Recreating an Industrial development agency

Posted By Staff Writer On April 4, 2014 @ 5:06 am In Business | No Comments

Great progress has been made in Guyana’s water and housing sectors over the last 10 years because the Government of Guyana has deliberately built capacity of special agencies dedicated to and focused on each of these. GUYWA was changed and incorporated to GWI, effectively creating a more commercial approach to the water sector, and equipping the agency with a Board of Management and a management structure, human resources and systems that are business oriented. The Government created within the  Ministry of Housing a Guyana Housing Authority, again focused on capacity building that would enable the efficient and effective rolling out of what has turned out to be a record- breaking housing drive.

Today, I want to argue that reigniting manufacturing and industrial development in general requires this same capacity building of a specialised institution within the Ministry of Tourism Industry and Commerce that can mobilise engage in tackling head- on the problems in the sector. Let’s recreate a Guyana Manufacturing & Industrial Development Agency under MINTIC. It may be that “industry” got lost in the middle of the TIC!! It needs to be given special attention.

This coordinating agency must be created and given a budget for human resource and for seed capital that can be used to provide inputs for small business in manufacturing, especially agro-processors. And the fund will best serve the needs, if it is Guyanese owned money that comes from central government rather than a donor [development agency] which tends to come with onerous conditions for use. My work on the ground over the last several years, allow me to know that many of the agro-processors have problems related to access to bottles and modern packaging [such as foil insulated] which can be bought economically from China only in bulk.

Joycelyn Williams

This means that the purchase has to be made by a coordinating agency. This is the kind of Industrial Agency that is relevant to Guyana’s needs. It must have a locally endowed, owned and managed fund that will allow it to purchase inputs in bulk and then channel them on to small manufacturers/agro-processors at cost.

Last week, we defined industrial policy broadly as “planned and coherent use of government tax, subsidies, procurement and capital instruments to encourage investment or disinvestment”. We wish to add further the World Bank’s definition of industrial policy as “Government action to create productivity based growth”[WB , The East Asian Miracle, 1993”.   Both of these concepts underline the central role that Government plays in establishing the capacity and the institutional and incentive basis  for raising productivity in a sector. When will manufacturing receive the same level of policy attention that housing, water and now sugar have received?

In the first piece in this series, we had pointed out that stakeholder manufacturers had called for a Standing Working Group to address a strategic approach to manufacturing.

It may be that this Standing Group can serve as the Board for the Industrial Development Agency. And just a reminder of the central importance of manufacturing in utilising the country’s raw materials in agriculture, forestry and fishing.

Guyana is intervening in sugar in massive ways [G$6B in this year’s budget]. Let us start incrementally to move towards a figure like that for manufacturing with funds budgeted from central Government. It will allow for its easier disbursement and use by those who need it.

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-development-agency/

Copyright © 2010 Stabroek News. All rights reserved.

Let’s recreate a Guyana Manufacturing & Industrial Development Agency under MINTIC. It may be that “industry” got lost in the middle of the TIC!! It needs to be given special attention.

This coordinating agency must be created and given a budget for human resource and for seed capital that can be used to provide inputs for small business in manufacturing, especially agro-processors. And the fund will best serve the needs, if it is Guyanese owned money that comes from central government rather than a donor [development agency] which tends to come with onerous conditions for use. My work on the ground over the last several years, allow me to know that many of the agro-processors have problems related to access to bottles and modern packaging [such as foil insulated] which can be bought economically from China only in bulk.

Bai Kishan you ah do wan good jaab being the chief propaganda specialist fuh de AFC. Piece of advice: Hire Dick Morris again fuh advise de AFC. Ask am how much vote the AFC go get.

Me tink you and Brian Teekah go mek wan good political party in Guyana(BTBK party).

Bai Kishan you ah do wan good jaab being the chief propaganda specialist fuh de AFC. Piece of advice: Hire Dick Morris again fuh advise de AFC. Ask am how much vote the AFC go get.

Me tink you and Brian Teekah go mek wan good political party in Guyana(BTBK party).

Dick told the FOOLS in KFC that they would have won the Election. Yuh should have seen Ramjhaaaaaaaaaatan and Moses pouring El Dorado and celebrating.

AFC cannot win the election.  The political battle in the upcoming election is to stop the PPP from getting the majority.

Hands down the PPP will win the Presidency.

That is why they got to bring the clean faces like Dr Vindhiya Persaud to the front.

AFC cannot win the election.  The political battle in the upcoming election is to stop the PPP from getting the majority.

That is why they got to bring the clean faces like Dr Vindhiya Persaud to the front.

So KFC is a JHATU Party or as we would say in Skeldon, a bunch of Rass Klath Lagubagu!!!

AFC serves a very good purpose joker.

They continue to be the tool that deny's the PPP the majority and thus is the conscious of the nation; the middle crew that still got sense in their head and do not see everything through a prism of RACE.

GUYMIDA was a PNC creation shut down by a PPP government in 1992. In its place, GOINVEST was created by CBJ believing it would be a one stop place for investments. That idea was riddled with the igorance of the Operating Officiers appointed through cronyism. 

I was dealing with GUYMIDA since 1989. It was part of Hoyte's Recovery Programme. In 1992, the PPP closed the division and fired all the staff(all the resources of data just abandoned and left for the cockroaches). GOINVEST was to be the New Beginning-which is failing to this day. 

The Ministry of Industry, Tade & Commerce NO LONGER deals with investors-it is a Ministry riddled with Lazy Lying People. I could excuse them, simply because the Ministry doan have a Minister in Charge. The reason for no Minister, is because Investors are handled by NICIL and GOINVEST. AND THAT MY countrymen is confusion. The ppl doan have a clue about business transactions. THEY NARROW MINDED.   

GUYMIDA was a PNC creation shut down by a PPP government in 1992. In its place, GOINVEST was created by CBJ believing it would be a one stop place for investments. That idea was riddled with the igorance of the Operating Officiers appointed through cronyism. 

I was dealing with GUYMIDA since 1989. It was part of Hoyte's Recovery Programme. In 1992, the PPP closed the division and fired all the staff(all the resources of data just abandoned and left for the cockroaches). GOINVEST was to be the New Beginning-which is failing to this day. 

The Ministry of Industry, Tade & Commerce NO LONGER deals with investors-it is a Ministry riddled with Lazy Lying People. I could excuse them, simply because the Ministry doan have a Minister in Charge. The reason for no Minister, is because Investors are handled by NICIL and GOINVEST. AND THAT MY countrymen is confusion. The ppl doan have a clue about business transactions. THEY NARROW MINDED.   

You've just given all the reasons for the corruption. Those actions created the vehicle for all the thievery that followed the post-Jagan PPP.